Happy 200th Post to Me (And You)!

October 14, 2009 at 8:29 am 44 comments

Before you freak out, the Biggest Loser recap is coming later today. If I wrote the Biggest Loser post before this one, this would not be my 200th post and would make me a liar. Wordy and ridiculous, I am. A liar, I am not!

At first I was just going to title this “Happy 200th Post To Me” but I realized that without you, there is no me. Well, that’s not true. There will always be me. But without you, there is no point in this wonderful celebratory post complete with two awesome giveaways.

Can you believe it? Two hundred posts. That’s a lot. I’m actually pretty impressed with myself. I have never stuck with anything this religiously except my husband. And bills. And frozen Double Stuf Oreos.

But that’s beside the point! We should celebrate. In these 200 posts I’ve vented, I’ve had good days, I’ve had bad days, I’ve realized my passion, I’ve cooked, I’ve accomplished goals, and I’ve met friends. Most of the friends that I’ve met, I haven’t actually met. Which of course you would know since, chances are, we haven’t met. But I love you all anyways! So in honor of you, dear blog friends, I’ve got TWO super cute giveaways.

A blog friend of mine named Taryn is in the process of opening an Etsy shop that is so creatively called “to a T.” But she is “one of those” who won’t do anything until it’s good and ready. So she has yet to open the shop up to the public. Fine! But lucky for you, she likes you. She’s giving away a free custom item to one Roots and Rings reader. (Edited to add: here is the link to her site!! www.TarynPeine.etsy.com)

Here are a few samples of the things she does.

heart

shoe

Taryn may be a great at this and I may be great at rambling about nothing, but neither of us excel at photography. Please don’t judge! Here’s a photo of the items she made for my sister-in-law. I think my voice raised two octaves when I opened the package. So stinking cute!

lauras onesies

But wait! There’s more. (I’ve always wanted to say that!)

Etsy seller, EdieCastle is giving away a jewelry tote. Yall, these are cute. Her fabrics are just wonderful. After sweat and tears and a tension headache, I picked the perfect one to give to one of you.

Jewelry Tote

Isn’t it great? Amy Butler Gothic Rose. I love Amy Butler fabrics. I only know this because I have a slight addiction to Etsy.

Jewelry Tote 2

Make sure you check out these sellers. Christmas is sneaking up on us! Great ideas for baby shower gifts, bridesmaids gift, etc. (Obviously don’t give the onesie as a bridesmaid gift…. you know what I meant!)

Here’s how this will work. I’ll draw two winners. The first name I draw will win one custom item from Taryn. The second name I draw will win the jewelry case.

How to enter:
1. One entry: Leave a comment. Just one. It would be fun if you’d tell me your favorite R&R post.
2. Second entry: Blog about this giveaway, come back and leave the link to that post in another comment.
3. Third entry: Okay, I guess you can tweet about it even though Twitter is of the devil and I have no way of reading your tweet- I think.

Contest ends Thursday night at 10:00 pm. I’ll announce the winners on Friday.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday Loser 8.05: This Marks The Beginning of GAME ON!

44 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren From Texas  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Does it count if I tweet about the giveaway?

    My favorite post(s) are your Biggest Loser recaps. You should have your own show. Like Chelsea Lately. But Chelsea… Hurstly?

  • 2. Lyndsey  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:57 am

    My favorite posts are the ones about your 101 in 1001. It is such a cool idea and I like knowing all the fun things you are doing.

  • 3. Karen  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Congrats on the 200th, now get on with the Biggest Loser.
    Just kidding, I just love your BL post, and I have soooo much to say.LOL

  • 4. Lauren From Texas  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Entry #2! http://twitter.com/laurenfromtexas/status/4862352874

  • 5. kelsey @ seattle smiths  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I just started following you and love your blog – count me in!

  • 6. Joy  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Found your blog by way of your Quck 7’s, and now read everything you post because they are fab and give me my Houston fix!!

  • 7. Darla  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:16 am

    OHH…love a contest!

    And actually Twitter is kinda fun. 🙂

  • 8. Erin  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Ok now I really want frozen Double Stuf Oreos!!!!!!!!!!

  • 9. Lesley  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Ask the hubby posts are really cute!!

    Who knew double stuffed oreos were good frozen? Thanks for the insight!

  • 10. rachel  |  October 14, 2009 at 11:14 am

    i haven’t been lurking long enough to pick a favorite 🙂

  • 11. Caroline  |  October 14, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I love the dachshund items!!! So stinkin’ cute!! Happy 200th!!! And I haven’t watched The Biggest Loser yet; so, don’t tell me!

  • 12. Karen Rivas  |  October 14, 2009 at 11:57 am

    I think that this is a great way to promote your friends business. And I could totally see Sadie in one of those onesies. She wears 0-3 months btw 🙂

  • 13. carrie presley  |  October 14, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    LOVE Taryn’s goods! I CAN’T WAIT to purchase some of her Etsy goods! Thanks for sharing the giveway! 🙂

  • 14. Mom  |  October 14, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Congrats to my daughter on doing something you REALLY enjoy – WRITING! I love meeting with you each day on the pages of your blogs. My fav??? Your tribute to your sister on her bday and your daddy on his. 🙂

  • 15. Mom  |  October 14, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Now I think I am supposed to submit another comment and do something with some link and YOU KNOW I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT so this will have to suffice. I love the jewelry bag! (I love the onesie’s too and could EASILY save one for one of my grandkids…)

  • 16. Lauren From Texas  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    “(I love the onesie’s too and could EASILY save one for one of my grandkids…)”

    YOUR MOM IS BRIBING YOU! haha. I love your mom 🙂

  • 17. Jimbo  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Favorite post?! That’s an impossible thing to narrow down…it’s like asking about my favorite book or favorite movie…there are just too many!!! If forced to choose one, I think I would go back to your post about the congratulatory party for your family member who works for NASA. The picture of Stephen is, well, classic…as is the recap of the night.

    R&R has reached the point in my life where if I was limited to only five feeds on Google Reader, it would be there. This is always a bright spot of my day!

  • 18. Samantha  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Yay! Congrats on 200 posts! I’m going to do a little dance when I reach 100… let alone 200!

    I LOVE the little onesies! Too cute. Makes me wish I had a baby. (But not for another year or two) 🙂

    I don’t know if I can choose just one post as my favorite. I love the Biggest Loser posts, and the posts where you tie two random words together!

    Here’s to 200 more posts!

  • 19. DebbieQ  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Congrats on 200 posts!! And, I don’t think I can pick just one favorite R&R post. Don’t make me do it, my head might explode.

  • 20. Southern Gal  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Happy 200th post!! Thanks for telling me about it.

    Since I’m a new reader I’ll have to say your Biggest Loser recaps are my faves right now. Especially when I miss an episode (which is happening a lot this season).

    And OOOHH, I love those baby items! They are gorgeous. You’ve got me in the mood to sit down and start sewing again with all the talk of the Amy Butler fabrics.

    Now I’ve got to go read the Biggest Loser post!

  • 21. This Heavenly Life  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Congratulations on 200 posts! Apparently I missed the class in blog school that said you should have a giveaway in celebration – all the cool kids are doing it. Cute stuff you’ve chosen!

    I can’t pick a favorite – they’re all unique and wonderful and profound and witty. (Does that count for two entries? *wink*)

  • 22. osarah  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Ugh my browser went crazy and posted my previous comment before I was ready. Please delete it so I don’t unfairly have an extra entry.

    Anyway, I said:

    Cute stuff! Congratulations on your 200th post.

    I don’t know if I can pick a favorite. I might have to get back to you on that. However, one of my favorite moments was your story about riding in the car with Stephen when you said “I didn’t hear that” and he raised his voice to tell you the same thing again. So funny!

  • 23. molly  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Numero Uno: My favorite post is definitely “selfish parenting” You know why.

  • 24. molly  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Numero Dos. Not sure how to do this but my twitter name is MollyCamp so check it out:
    mollycamp http://bit.ly/9ZoBE
    less than 5 seconds ago from web

  • 25. Aunt Bonnie  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Favorite blog??? Nope, that would give me a migraine…..too much thinking:) Your humor is “delicious”, just like your cooking.
    Congrats on sticking to it and making it to 200!!!!

  • 26. timlinzrowland  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    HAPPY 200th post Love reading your blog. I am not able to watch The Biggest Loser much but I don’t have to sweat it I can always get the recap on your blog! THANKS!

  • 27. Cousin Kim  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    YAYYYYYYY!!!! 200! WoW! Lovin’ it! Wouldn’t miss them! What did I ever do with out Roots & Rings? (R&R.)…hey it’s kinda like someone telling me, “Looks like you need a little R&R.”
    And I say, “Yeah – I doooo need some Roots and Rings I haven’t read it today, yet!”
    Favorite post(s): The posts in which you mention my adorable daughter (and sometimes include pictures), Sophie. She is a VERY worthy subject to blog about.
    I also LOVE your Biggest Loser recaps! (Of course!)
    I love you…keep on keeping on!
    Here’s to 200 more!

  • 28. Cousin Kim  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Since I don’t have a blog….
    I posted your link on my profile… Hope this is fulfillment enough for #2 of the requirements for giveaways. (I don’t twitter…so #3 is out for me).
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=690836552&ref=profile

  • 29. Kyla Roma  |  October 14, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Congratulations on your 200th post!

    This is my favourite post of yours =)
    https://rootsandrings.wordpress.com/2009/09/24/the-right-place-at-the-right-time/

  • 30. tiphanyb  |  October 14, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    I’ve only been reading your blog for about 3 and a half months now, but I still remember one of the first posts I ever read… Ignorance is Bliss. I love it when you feel like you make a fool of yourself, and still tell us about it! It really does brighten my day.

  • 31. tiphanyb  |  October 14, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I don’t have a blog… I’m a reader, not a writer, but I’ll try to tell everyone I know about you…

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/profile.php?id=8356537&ref=profile

  • 32. tiphanyb  |  October 14, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    And I’m new to the whole tweet thing, but here…

    https://twitter.com/tiphany81

  • 33. Holly  |  October 14, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Ahhh! SO cute!

    Where were you on Monday? We missed you

    To make up for your absences, I’m requiring cupcakes be brought next week.

    Sound good? 🙂

  • 34. Becky  |  October 14, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Oh these are both so cute!!! I would love to enter 🙂 I don’t really use twitter that much anymore…I guess I just don’t have that exciting of a life 😛

  • 35. Mandy  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Um…I want that jewelry thing…so cute! – I dont comment as much as I should, I can never think of anything witty and clever to say like all your other blog friends! lol

    But…I can say that my favorite blog entry so far was the one where you talked about when you got stuck at the train and then compared it to Hobby Lobby Christmas decorations. I thought it was great and slightly genius like. I would have never thought that these two things went together…but it so made sense when you explained it…I loved it!

  • 36. Lisa D  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Happy 200th post! Yea! So glad I found your blog!

    I love Etsy shops. There is so much fun stuff out there!

  • 37. Rachel  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Yea for you! I don’t think I could tell you my favorite post because they all give me a little piece of your life even though I’m so far away.

  • 38. The Husband  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    YAY!!! Happy 200th post, Wife!!!

    I love you and am so glad you get to do this.

    My favorite posts (non-entry) have to be the ones where you put the two words together.

    Congrats again and Love you!

  • 39. Aunt Bonnie  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:42 am

    What I would get if I won the lottery…..we’re similar, so similar….my own massage therapist….Cassie, chiropractor…..John, and accupuncturist…..Karen….plus a daily maid and yard man. Yep, might as well indulge!
    Oh yeah, and I have some of my friends who’ve started reading your blog……does that count?

  • 40. Amber Warren  |  October 15, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Love them – want them! And my favorite posts are the BL posts of course, being as obsessed as you are 🙂

    Ok, I’m going to go tweet about this post. I hate Twitter too.

  • 41. Amber Warren  |  October 15, 2009 at 11:21 am

    WhiteRabbitAd is my Twitter name – just posted your link and tweeted about it.

  • 42. Rachel  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    After giving myself more time to think I think my favorite post is the one where you did housework in your crazy outfit… I still laugh picturing you scrubbing your floors in your shoes/shorts, as well as Stephen’s face when he saw you.

  • 43. Mendy  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Congrats on your 200th post! So many of your posts make me smile but the ones using the two words are my favorites! I also love Etsy…didn’t know about it until your blog…THANKS!

  • 44. Gabby  |  October 16, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Ignorance is Bliss!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

