Second Thoughts on That Lottery Thing

October 15, 2009 at 9:30 am 24 comments

I’ve really enjoyed reading your comments the past few days. I love when some of yall come out of the wood-work to leave a little message here. I know you’re coming, I can see the numbers. But it’s always nice when you say a little something. So thank you for sharing with me! You guys are great. We have a few things to address though.

First of all, the lottery question. I asked “If you won the lottery, what would be your one random, off-the-wall purchase?” Two issues here. The first being this- I didn’t mean that you won a scratch off. You didn’t just win some measly $10,000 prize. You won THE lottery. You are a multi-millionaire so it’s not acceptable to say “Put money aside for a house/education/future/etc.” You have money coming out of your ears, you don’t need to put any aside.

Also, “random, off the wall purchase.” Something totally random. When you’re being interviewed and they ask you what you’ve bought and you say, “Back surgery and an on-call chiropractor. And a closet full of designer shoes since I will finally be able to wear them.” They say, “Huh… back surgery. That’s random.” My mother-in-law got this. Her answer was a horse. That is random. And I like it. Furniture and houses are not random. Every lottery winner buys those. Would any of you like to change your answers?

The second item on the table. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing what some of your favorite posts are. TiffanyB said this, “I’ve only been reading your blog for about 3 and a half months now, but I still remember one of the first posts I ever read… Ignorance is Bliss. I love it when you feel like you make a fool of yourself, and still tell us about it! It really does brighten my day.” Here is the link to Ignorance is Bliss if you want to revisit that. I went back and reread it. Cliff’s Notes: I ran a bunch of errands while looking like an idiot. Tiffany, this one’s for you…

On Wednesdays, Stephen and I don’t carpool. He has breakfast with some men from church so we drive separately. I usually use Wednesday afternoons to run errands since I’m alone. I planned to stop by Target on the way home because I wanted to look for a cheap dress that I could wear to some weddings. I had looked online and they had quite a few cute ones. But towards the end of the day I wasn’t feeling well and didn’t really want to stop. I decided I would just go straight home and save the dress shopping for another day.

Then I realized I needed a few toiletry items. I could either stop at CVS, Kroger, or go a little out of my way and stop at Target. Well, I’m no idiot. I toughed it out and went to Target. I had a goal: look at a few dresses and buy one if I find one I like, and buy my few items. But let’s get real here for a second- This is Target. I would like to meet the woman who is able to walk into Target and get only a few items. Puh-lease!

Once in there I remembered that Target sells groceries. I knew I needed to get a few items for this weekend so I gathered those items. Then, on my way to the dresses I saw a few clearance racks. I swear they whispered my name. It would have been rude to just ignore them so I changed my path. Summery cotton dresses for $12? Yes please. I’ll take two! I got back on my path and gathered a few more things in my arms while I walked. Let me just pause this story for a second to say this: Why oh why does Target have a 6 garment rule?? Six items in the dressing room? Really? If you are going to have that rule, don’t have 72 items in my pathway that I want to try on. I ended up having 8 items in my arms but was only allowed to take in 6. The other two are still waiting for me at the fitting room desk. I can’t be bothered to take my clothes off AGAIN for two more items. Come on Target! End rant.

So as I was making my way through the racks I found a few dresses that could work. (FYI, none worked.) I wanted black or gray so I could change accessories and not feel like I was wearing the same dress over and over even though I was wearing the same dress over and over. Then I saw one a few racks away. It was cute. I walked over to it and started petting it. Soft. I held it up and it seemed like it could fit. It was flowy but had a tie so it would still give me a waist. I looked up at the sign above the rack to find the price. I looked around me and noticed the other women. One of these things not like the other. I immediately put the dress back and made a beeline for the dressing room to hide. The sign said: “Jersey Maternity Dress….. $29.99”

So I take it back. If I won the lottery I’d like massive amounts of Target gift cards so that when I walk in to get “a few things” and walk out spending $82, it’s not a big deal. I’d also maybe like to buy some dignity… and maybe a class that will teach me about the difference between maternity clothes and clothes I should be wearing.

Or maybe I should just learn to stop reading the signs because, you know, ignorance is bliss!

(If you haven’t entered my 200 post giveaway, click here!! It’s open until tonight at 10:00. Winners will be announced tomorrow!)

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: , , , , , .

Loser 8.05: This Marks The Beginning of GAME ON! Seven Quick Takes (vol.11)

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cio  |  October 15, 2009 at 9:43 am

    changing: Off the wall purchase: On-call massage therapist. and a week in NY shopping with Stacy London and Clinton Kelly.

  • 2. JenBA  |  October 15, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Thanks for posting on my blog! I just spent some time reading yours and it’s great!

  • 3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  October 15, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I would most definitely buy at least four houses all over the world if I was a MULTI-millionaire!

    I think I’m lucky that we don’t have Target in Canada. I get sucked into spending WAY too much money in stores like that!

  • 4. DebbieQ  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:01 am

    I was at Target yesterday…to get one thing….and managed to buy more. I feel your pain.

  • 5. This Heavenly Life  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I would buy one of those pools that the water kind of overflows off the side of a hill so it looks like there’s no boundary on one side. Do you know what I’m talking about? But to do that would require a house on a hill in a warm climate. Then I’d like to soundproof that house so I could have parties while not worrying about waking up all the babies I’d have because we’d be super rich and could afford a housecleaner while I play with the kids all day. And while I wasn’t playing with the kids, I’d sign up for pastry chef classes. Baking all sorts of sweet treats and giving them away for free to people I deem worthy. And on my down time from baking, I’d want a library in my house on the hill filled with novels – classic, romance, mystery, literary masterpieces, smutty feel-goods, every novel possible that may catch my interest. The library needs a fireplace and a balcony overlooking the cool pool.

    Done 🙂 For now.

  • 6. Tina  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Yesterday I felt sorry for this nice Target employee because she was working at ten a.m. when I was there with the twins to pick up some thank-you notes. She was STILL there at eight p.m. when I was back to get milk. Then I realized that I was so addicted to Target, I had been there twice in one day. And then I felt sorry for me (although not really).

  • 7. kelly  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:46 am

    thats what i feel like when i accidentally find myself in the petite’s section of a store. lol. me petite…not since 5th grade.

  • 8. Jimbo  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Chelsea, be realistic…you wouldn’t make Target gift cards your random purchase. You would make a Target STORE your random purchase.

    As for me, I would buy a farm and farm animals.

  • 9. Samantha  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I would buy an island. There is one for sale near my parents’ house. 🙂 Then I’d need a boat to get to my island.

    My hubby and I went to Target the other day for throw pillows and left with a bunch of other random things like a yoga DVD, t-shirts, and an ice cream scoop. Go figure.

  • 10. Ashley  |  October 15, 2009 at 11:06 am

    I’ve totally looked at maternity clothes… they look the same to me and they don’t divide the sections really great.’

    My random purchase would be a goat, because I’d want to live on a lot of land and I think a pet goat would be cool.

  • 11. Mom  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    This is HARD because we have always been taught to be content with what we have!!! 🙂 okay – a few large vacation homes – big enough for ALL my family – in Maine or Vermont to go to in the summertime; one in Florida overlooking the BEAUTIFUL beach; one in Italy by the vineyards; a private plane and pilot to take us there anytime we want; a massage therapist on call at all times; a library full of ANY BIBLICAL books your dad would want/need; a maid once a week; cooking lessons with my daughter; set up a business for Chelsea and Lindsay to be able to have their own business together……is that better????
    I LOVE TARGET!!!!!!! I spent $271 there on Wednesday – OOPS and OUCH!!!!

  • 12. Jessica  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I ALWAYS end up spending way too much money at Target!
    I was actually going to go by there today to pick up some stuff and get my mom’s birthday card, but after reading this post I might have to go somewhere where I won’t spend that much money.

    My random purchase would be volleyball nets and a crank for the intramurals here. But hmm… maybe I’d buy a movie theater. That’d be fun.

  • 13. Rachel  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Rodney carrington says WalMart is the only place you can walk in for QTips and walk out with $800 worth of sh**. I disagree because target is SO much better. I hate that the closest target to me is 45 minutes away. Boo.
    Don’t go criticizing my lottery choices. If you’re going to make me use my money even more frivolously than I was planning on doing, would buy photography classes and lots of airline gift certificates.

  • 14. Rachel  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    and maybe an indoor basketball court with real hardwood… I always wanted one of those.

  • 15. Tiffany  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Hi Chelsea!
    I have been reading your blog since this summer and find it a little weird the fact that we are related through marriage but I know you better through your blog than personally. We need to plan a trip and spend more time together. 🙂

    One of your posts that is my favorite was one of the first ones I read and I already told you this before but the one about your addiction chapstick. You and Patrick are both just alike in that way and I thought it was hilarious!

    If I won the lottery I would take the following:
    A lifelong travel to vacation homes in any and every country I wanted and my own pilot and first class plane to drive me. A never ending closet full of new accessories and a wardrobe with my own stylist and makeup/hair person (daily) as well as a professional photographer for Riley. (I believe that the photographer is the only one that I actually try to do myself now )
    I could go on and on but it would just make me depressed.

  • 16. tiphanyb  |  October 15, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Loved today’s post…

    But I must say that I think that your affinity for maternity clothes just shows that you need to have a baby!!!

  • 17. mediumcrazy  |  October 15, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    I have an amazing $80 Target phenomenon. Basically when I go to Target I pay no attention at all to how much I’m spending, and then when I pay it somehow ALWAYS comes out to $80 no matter what. It is truly incredible.

  • 18. molly  |  October 15, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I never answered the first one but I’ll re-answer.

    Laser hair removal surgery. Imagine NEVER having to shave your legs again. EVER!!!

    Laser teeth whitening. Can you tell I like lasers?

    10 roombas so they can always be going and never have to charge.

  • 19. Sara  |  October 15, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    TARGET! Love it! Greatest. Baby. Stuff. Ever. Too bad I don’t have a baby. I do, however, have a really cute nephew!

    You should have gotten the dress. Just think, you could still wear it when you got pregnant! How fun!

  • 20. ashley duncum  |  October 15, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Target is my weakness. I go there for one thing, but always end up looking at the DVDs, the books, the purses, the watches, the PJs, and then I drop 200 bucks only to walk out wondering what the heck I just bought that cost $200.

    I have to say, if I won the lottery I would by an apartment in New York City. Not just a trip to the city, I would move there. And also a house outside the city, like in Connecticut… only because Daniel refuses to visit/enjoy NYC. And he has to live somewhere, right? Also, I would spend a few months (or a year) in Europe.

    Off the wall purchase… I would fund a school for the arts. Because hello, you know that’s what I love. And I would work 24/7 making it AMAZING. For kids and adults. Also, in relation to my post today- I would give a lot of money to libraries. Are these really purchases? Maybe not, but I would be spending money just the same right? If I had to choose something to buy for myself… It would be an original Georgia O’Keeffe. There! An off-the-wall purchase, done.

  • 21. Lyndsey  |  October 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    FINE! I would buy several cars. A winter car (a black range rover sport), an everyday car (probably a black Cadillac CTS-V), and a summer car (a silver Cadillac XLR). I would also buy an ungoldly amount of designer shoes… Christian Louboutin, Manolo Blahnik, Prada, Gucci… etc. And LOTS of jewelry. I don’t know if any of those things count as random, but it does border on absurd.

  • 22. Lisa D  |  October 15, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Yep, my lottery answer (grand piano) was lame – I admit it. But I have piano on the brain right now because I miss playing it SO MUCH. But… the guy I just started dating has a full size keyboard so I am so excited about that. 🙂

    The 6 garment rule IS dumb. Wish I could change that!

  • 23. osarah  |  October 17, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Ok but really I don’t do off the wall purchases. After a lot of thinking, however, I decided I would build us a large wine cellar and fill it with tons of Old World wines. Yup. That sounds fantastic.

  • 24. Jen Halligan  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I know I’m way behind!! Life has been crazy but I just had to comment!!

    1. Speaking of ignorance is bliss: my mom tends to buy the same types of clothes, the same shirt in two colors, the same pants in two colors, the same shoes in two colors…you get the point! So her and my dad went to run errands one Saturday and my dad comes back into the house with a story to tell. My mom had been walking around all day with one black shoe and one brown shoe, sadly not the exact same but close enough of a design that the dark closet fooled her! She realized in walmart after about 2 hours of errands!

    2. I have picked up maternity clothes at target more than once. Liz Lange or whatever her name is makes so cute stuff! I’ve even tried on…warning: it looks cute on the rack and questionably not pregancy wear…on the body its not the same story.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

