Seven Quick Takes (vol.11)

October 16, 2009 at 9:18 am 25 comments

What a glorious Friday it is, my friends! Almost every minute of my weekend is planned, but I’m okay with that. Anyone else doing Seven Quick Takes? Make sure to add your name to Mr. Linky over at Conversion Diary.

7_quick_takes

1.
Bloggers, be prepared to be jealous. Last night I had dinner with Kathleen from Kapachino and Lauren from, well, Lauren from Texas. Long story short, they went to the same conference and made plans to have dinner afterwards. Luckily they asked if I wanted to meet up too. Of course I do! So we had a great dinner. We talked about our lives, our blogs, how the non-bloggers in our lives think we are weird, and we talked about y’all.

Let me just say that I was quite naive when I began blogging. I thought I’d just write and maybe my mom and husband would read. I had no idea that strangers read blogs. Or that you get to know other bloggers via their blogs. Or that sometimes you actually meet them in real life. I didn’t know this. But its a nice surprise!

2.
So… that balloon boy… yeah…

3.
Stephen and I are having dinner with Lauren and her husband on Saturday. Of course we are thrilled because we just love them to pieces…. not literally, you know, like Lennie. Just metaphorically… We like them a lot. Anyways, if you don’t follow Lauren (you should), she recently got her wisdom teeth taken out. She’s still in a lot of pain so we aren’t quite sure what she’ll be able to eat. I’m bringing dessert and a side. I’m bringing PW’s roasted garlic potatoes. This is the third time I’ll be making them in ONE WEEK. I can’t help it, they are just that good. And easy. But the question is this: Is it cheating if I take dump cake and vanilla ice cream?

4.

\m/

For those of you who don’t know what that is, I’m not talking to you. For the rest of you, what time is it?

5.
I’ve only had two pumpkin spice lattes this season… both were the first week they came out. This is a travesty, I tell you! I think I’ll get another one sometime this weekend. I think I’d feel better about myself if I got one. It’s really a disservice to Autumn if I don’t, right?

6.
When you have some spare minutes on a computer with speakers, visit this site: http://www.iamsecond.com/ You won’t regret it. I haven’t watched them all but I’ve watched the one with Colt, Colt and Sam, and Michelle Aguilar (from Biggest Loser) and I’ve been thoroughly impressed!

7.
Congratulations to the winners of the giveaways!! I wrote up all the entries, put them in a bowl, and Stephen drew two names. We took our jobs very seriously.

DSC01369

draw1

molly

DSC01378

southerngal

molly won the custom onesie! (Which is perfect since she’s pregnant!)
Southern Gal won the jewelry tote! (Which is perfect because she probably has some jewelry to tote!)

Email me to claim your prize!! chelsea.hurst (at) hotmail (dot) com

Visit these two Etsy sites when you’re looking for Christmas gifts. Apparently we had another issue with the text of the link being too close to the regular text. I’ll help you out: CLICK HERE to look at EdieCastle’s shop and CLICK HERE to look at Taryn’s shop. I hope you enjoyed the giveaway. That’s just a little preview of what’s to come in the next couple months! So stick around!!

Have a good weekend, y’all! It’s 9:18 and OU still sucks.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Nights Out, Rainy Day, UT. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Second Thoughts on That Lottery Thing In Heaven There Is No Beer

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. molly  |  October 16, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I am screaming in my house! I have never won anything before and this will be my first baby item! Woo hoo.

    Also, what is dump cake? I think I need to know this. I have been eyeing those PW potatoes too and they look awesome. My other food blog posted these and they look good too! http://fortheloveofcooking-recipes.blogspot.com/

  • 2. Kyla Roma  |  October 16, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Have a good weekend! =)

  • 3. Gae  |  October 16, 2009 at 9:46 am

    What are pumpkin Spice Lattes and where do you all get them?
    I don’t know that such a thing exists in Australia, but then I don’t buy coffee out.
    Blessings

  • 4. Caroline  |  October 16, 2009 at 9:46 am

    i hate balloon boy. I knew it was a publicity stunt once I found out that he and his family had been on “Wife Swap”. Idiots.

    I may have to try those potatoes!! They look delicious!

  • 5. Southern Gal  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Yay! Thank you so much!

    My son is wondering what’s going on with me right now. I’m excited!

    Now I’m off to the museum and to make a stop to purchase a Pumpkin Spice Latte on the way…

  • 6. Joy  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:08 am

    #4: You betcha!

    #5: Last enjoyed yesterday, come on in the lattes fine

    Great list, congrats again on 200

  • 7. Jimbo  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I’m going to the game tomorrow. You’re jealous, aren’t you? Those PW potatoes are delicious! I think you’ve neglected the pumpkin spice lattes because it’s been ninety degrees everyday in Houston!

  • 8. Ashley  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I have no words for the ballon boy…

    Have a super weekend!

  • 9. Samantha  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Mmm… pumpkin spice lattes!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  • 10. Aunt Bonnie  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Tried pumpkin pie blizzards yet? Like pumpkin pie in a blizzard…..how can that be bad????

  • 11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  October 16, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Lucky you getting to meet up with bloggers!!

  • 12. Lyndsey  |  October 16, 2009 at 11:53 am

    #4 almost tricked me… I am glad you gave the hint.

    Check my facebook status in response to # 4.

  • 13. Pippy  |  October 16, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I love that I knew what #4 was!! \m/ I can say that, cause it’s a different conference…

  • 14. Rachel  |  October 16, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    #5- I think of you anytime I see the international creamer commercial where they trick you into thinking they’re in a coffee house when really its a husband and wife in their kitchen.
    #4- I hate OU, so hook ’em tomorrow… but not next week. Next week I will not agree with you on this point.

  • 15. jill  |  October 16, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    of course I knew what \m/ was…hook em horns…I admit the first time I sat that on the computer I had no idea!

    I have never had a pumpkin spice latte. I’m afraid of spending $5 on it and then not liking it. Do you ike pumpkin roll? It is the bomb. I also have a recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies but I haven’t tried them yet.l

  • 16. angie  |  October 16, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    this is my first year of blogging and I am having lots of fun would love to meet one of my blogging buddies in person

  • 17. Darla  |  October 16, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Chelsea- Your bowl of names to draw from is SO much better than mine!!! Actually I just used my hand. But I think there were only 3 pieces of paper (which is part of why I’m gonna lay low on the blogging : ) for awhile. 🙂

    Thanks for your sweet words. I have time to go mail your book now! Hope to meet you when PWoman is here or maybe at your church sometime.

    See ya!

  • 18. Amanda  |  October 16, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I loved the Lennie reference 🙂 Happy Weekend!

  • 19. Debbie  |  October 16, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    balloon boy….ugh. his family…..WOAH! weirdos!!!!! they said they were abducted by aliens for crying out loud?! what did you think would happen next?!

  • 20. Lisa D  |  October 16, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    I love these updates.

    And balloon boy – i am really glad I didn’t see any of the news updates until after they realized he wasn’t in the balloon.

    And how weird that the dad has been on wife swap twice. I just don’t get that show.

  • 21. Kathleen  |  October 16, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Yay for us meeting! We need to do it again SOON!

    If UT doesn’t win tomorrow…I just don’t even want to go there. It won’t be pretty.

  • 22. ashley duncum  |  October 16, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Your Lennie reference cracked me up. Didn’t really enjoy the book though…

    And I guess hook ’em since I am part of a crazy football/UT loving couple now. Luckily, I won’t be here to listen to him clap and yell at the TV. Yay!

  • 23. osarah  |  October 17, 2009 at 3:44 am

    I still need to make a PW recipe. Those potatoes sound like a good place to start!

    Where are you guys watching the game? I’m surprised that we finally hae people to watch the game with here. Our Saturday schedule is pretty full! We have a club meeting, an Oktoberfest party and the game watching fun! Yay!

    It’s 10:43 AM in Germany and OU STILL SUCKS! (And I’m wearing clothing that proudly lets everyone know “O Who?”)

  • 24. Mom  |  October 17, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Got this too late to really comment about the game but now that it is over I can say….”I wasn’t ever worried”….HOOKED ‘EM!

  • 25. Stephany  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Your blog is adorable! And I am insanely jealous you met up with bloggers! I want to but fear to since I’m so boring in person. I like to think I’m incredibly funny and exciting on my blog, though. 🙂

    Have a great weekend! (Or what’s left of it!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

