Ten on Tuesday – Because My Mind is Still Mush

October 20, 2009 at 8:58 am 23 comments

I don’t plan to do this each week but I fear that there is a great chance I’ll post something ridiculous right now if I don’t. I’ve been really overwhelmed lately. I have this problem where I can’t say no so I over commit until I crash. I’m in crash mode now. I’m doing my best to clear out a few things so I can relax a bit. So bear with me today and lets just chat. Ten more riveting questions that we should definitely know about each other.

Once again, answer in the comments. If you answer on your blog, leave us the link in the comments so we can all visit.

1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
Chelsea Lately, don’t judge my morals. She’s just so funny. She’s quick and her delivery leaves me in stitches! Plus she always has great clothes and her name is Chelsea. My sister lent me her book, “Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea.” I haven’t started it because I’m such a prude and don’t know if I can handle it. But I’m going to give it a shot because I imagine I’ll really like her writing style.

2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
I think I’d go to New York and do EVERYTHING. But since I should really consider my husband’s feelings, we’d probably go to Europe. I’d like to go to France or some place with lots of good cheese, like Switzerland. Stephen would like to go to Spain. Since his desire to go to Spain is greater than my goal to eat cheese (not by much), we’d probably go to Spain.

3. What’s your stance on Botox?
I think wrinkles are charming. They show character and that you are a human and not a robot.

4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
I can’t answer this.

5. Have you ever broken any bones?
I broke my arm in elementary school. I fell off a trampoline. I wasn’t even jumping! I just stepped backwards and there was no trampoline left. I was such a cry baby when I was younger that my parents didn’t believe me. (Insert boy who cries wolf lesson here.) I went two days without going to the doctor.

6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
In no particular order: The Office, Biggest Loser, Big Bang Theory, Grey’s Anatomy, and Iron Chef. (The last one is a toss up. I just think Iron Chef is educational and I enjoy watching the creativity. But the same applies to Chopped, Barefoot Contessa, etc. I just really love cooking shows.)

7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
I used to LOVE Oprah. I even own a DVD set. Now? Not so much.

8. Best movie line ever?
“I don’t know… I don’t know if we’ll have time.” – Old School
“You can say that about anyone until the first time they don’t show.” – For Love of the Game
“I wanted it to be you. I wanted it to be you so badly.” – You’ve Got Mail
“Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies. I’d send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.” – You’ve Got Mail

9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
Cupcakes. They are so cute!

10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
I can’t answer this one either. But I’d like something gray and I’d like it to be under $50 because I’m poor.

It feels sort of weird answering my own questions! But I do it… for you… because I love you so much. Now you should answer my questions since you love me so much.

Other things you need to know. Biggest Loser tonight! Also, I got a pumpkin spice latte this morning and it was glorious.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Rainy Day. Tags: , , , , .

In Heaven There Is No Beer Loser 8.06: Nobody Said Anything Funny

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  October 20, 2009 at 9:50 am

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    im a Jay Leno fan. Chelsea Lately is pretty hilarious though. gotta appreciate the quick wit and dry humor, especially when it’s a girl delivering it! 🙂

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    either Australia or Italy…or Greece. any of those would be amazing! and my hubby would tag along!

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    annoying when people cant smile or make normal facial expressions anymore. i think wrinkles add character and elegance!

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    remember Anne of Green Gables…did you ever read that? used to be one of my favs!!!

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    nope…knock on wood! thankfully thats never happened!

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    In no particular order: Biggest Loser, Greys, CSI, Law & Order: SVU, How I Met Your Mother

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    I own almost every Disney movie and LOVE watching them…and singing along.

    8. Best movie line ever?
    “Harry, I took care of it!” and “our pets heads are falling off!” – Dumb & Dumber
    not from a movie but..
    “People ask me if I’d rather be feared or loved. I say both. I want people to be afraid of how much they love me.”
    -Michael Scott
    such a good one!!! – “I wanted it to be you. I wanted it to be you so badly.” – You’ve Got Mail

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    mmmmmmm….brownies!!! devoured with milk of course

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to Target has some reaaaally cute ones!!

  • 2. Lyndsey  |  October 20, 2009 at 10:13 am

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    I dont do late night talk shows.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    I would send my parents to Germany. Or I would trade in my trip for two for a four week trip for one to Italy.

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    I am pro-botox

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    Anything by Jane Austen

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    My nose. It was very bloody and now it is crooked and make my sunglasses crooked.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    In no order: Private Practice, Bones, Friends, Sex in the City, and Greys Anatomy. If shows that are no longer on don’t count… I add One Tree Hill, and How I Met Your Mother.

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    I am too embarrassed to admit it.

    8. Best movie line ever?
    Ever? “Tell them I’m through. For Love of the game.”

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    Cake. Wedding Cake.

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    http://www.target.com/Merona-Petites-Ponte-Waist-Dress/dp/B0026GO5DE/ref=sc_qi_detailbutton

    That dress comes in Gray. I have it in black and I LOVE it. It is so comfortable and fits really well. I think it is on sale now.

  • 3. Joy  |  October 20, 2009 at 10:22 am

    1.Letterman (but not recently, toddler fatigue)
    2. One week Ireland (Hubby”s homeland and I’ve never been) and then Belgium where I’m from and have relatives who have never met my husband or daughter
    3.wrinkles are beautiful
    4.I agree with pp, Anne of Green Gables & Pride and Prejudice
    5 Toe once
    6 Waltons, West Wing, Mad about You, Mash, As time Goes By
    7 I talk to myself
    8 Mawwage is what bwings us togethew today, Princess Bride
    (agree with your You got Mail quotes)
    9 Cupcakes!!
    10 Try Dress Barn or Christopher Banks

  • 4. tiphanyb  |  October 20, 2009 at 10:23 am

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    I don’t watch talk shows very often, but when I do, I like The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    I would go to Denmark with my husband. It’s where he was born and he hasn’t been back since he left when he was 14. (I would have to take Paige too though, at least if it happened anytime soon. She’s only 11mos.)

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    I don’t like it. I don’t think we should manipulate our bodies. Be happy with what God has given you… crow’s feet and all.

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    I really want to read The Portrait of Dorian Grey, by Oscar Wilde. I think it sounds very intriguing for being a classic.

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    I broke a toe when I was younger by kicking a door frame (by accident.) I was a klutz growing up.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    So You Think You Can Dance, CSI, Project Runway, Iron Chef, Without a Trace

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    I still watch the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, even when Paige is still asleep in the mornings. 🙂

    8. Best movie line ever?
    “The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.”- Verbal Kine, The Usual Suspects

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    Cakes, in particular, cheesecake

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    It’s a little bit above your price range, but with a coupon it could work- http://www.kohls.com/kohlsStore/womens/dresses/empirewaist/PRD~449565/Chaps+Scroll+Empire+Dress.jsp Kohl’s always has great deals.

  • 5. Erin  |  October 20, 2009 at 10:48 am

    I blogged it 🙂
    http://www.mamagooch.wordpress.com

  • 6. mom  |  October 20, 2009 at 11:05 am

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    are you crazy??? bedtime and read!

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    Greece – I think the Mediterreamn is BEAUTIFUL or Italy – I LOVE Italian food! My husband, of course (although he DOESN’T love Italian food, he LOVES wine!) 🙂

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    think my wrinkles are charming ! ewwww -enough said

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    hmmmm not sure I can remember the names of too many “classics”… what makes it a classic anyway??? BORING??? Old English????

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    yep – and most recently 2 fractured toes at once! OUCH!

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    Castle, Biggest Loser, Big Bang, Grey’s Anatomy, How i met your mother/Private Practice

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    That I watch Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice – there is NO redeeming value to watching these 2 shows. don’t have anything good in them!!!!

    8. Best movie line ever?
    First you are assuming I go to the movies and second you are assuming I have a memory…no go..

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    hmmm I like all of them but I would have to say a good cupcake with yummy choc icing is the best…or maybe a good cake (chocolate with chocolate) or maybe the brownie with the chocolate bits….you get the idea?

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to I told you Palais Royal had one in their flyer that could be dressed up or down. under $50

  • 7. mom  |  October 20, 2009 at 11:09 am

    P.S. I did think of a movie line….”my name is ??? mantigo, you killed my father, prepare to die” from Princess Bride…

  • 8. Caroline  |  October 20, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I did it. Go to http://carolineandfredsmithwick.blogspot.com

  • 9. Jessica  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    I used to kinda like Letterman because of his “top 10 reasons why…” But I don’t watch much late night tv. I’m sure there’s funnier.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    I think I’d want to go to Panama City Beach, Florida, but I’d want to take my mom so we’d probably end up going somewhere with mountains so maybe the Swiss Alps. That’d be fun.

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    Ok, so we learned about Botox in biochem the other day and what it does to people who uses it is just WEIRD. So I’m deathly afraid of that stuff now. I’ll take the wrinkles when I get them.

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    YES! Anything by Jane Austen is usually pretty good, although a bit long (but then again they all are). You should definitely read something by Emily Bronte.

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    I don’t think so, although that’s debatable because I tried to overhand pass Stresman’s serve during practice senior year and it STILL hurts sometimes when I play volleyball or bend it afterwards.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    This can’t be in order because they’re all too different but Bones, Grey’s Anatomy, One Tree Hill, Psych, and the Big Bang Theory. I’m actually pretty sure that I have way more than this so this was a very had question!

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    That I love One Tree Hill, but I already admitted that in the last question. I can’t really think of anything else right now.

    8. Best movie line ever?
    Ok, I really really like You’ve Got Mail but I’ll pick something different because you used one of my favorite quotes.
    “I do not think that word means what you think it means” from the Princess Bride. (This is one of my favorites because I usually end up using really big words incorrectly, but I TRY!)

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    Brownies. Particularly, coffee brownies. They’re amazing.

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    I really like Kohl’s for dresses. That’s where I got mine for the wedding I went to this summer.
    http://www.kohls.com/kohlsStore/womens/dresses/viewalldresses/PRD~511954/AB+Studio+Empire+Sweaterdress.jsp
    It’s even on sale!

  • 10. Aunt Bonnie  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    1. No late night TV for me.
    2. One week anywhere in Europe is NOT long enough. Too much to see and do. I’d take a week in Lake Louise, Canada in the summer. Beautiful!
    3. Botox…tried it once for migraines…didn’t help.
    4. Have read too many classics & loved them. How about the Bronte sisters??
    5. Collare bone ad 9 mos. Toe about 10 yrs. ago
    6. HGTV, Food TV, History Channel, Grey’s, Movie channels
    7. Not easily embarassed
    8. Can’t remember movie lines. Ask Dennis and the boys….they carry on conversations using movie lines!
    9.Cheesecake
    10. Don’t you have any exclusive resale shops around you? Be worth it to investigate!!

  • 11. Taryn E  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    Letterman, although I only Tivo him when he has someone funny on… I can’t stay up that late!

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    Greece!!!

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    Injecting Botulinum into my face? I think not.

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    jane Eyre, Portrait of Dorian Grey, Dracula, Frankenstein, The Time Machine.

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    most of my fingers and toes, and 3 ribs.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    Big Bang Theory, Grey’s Anatomy, Roject Runway, Top Chef, and CSI (vegas)

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    That I LOVE the movies legally Blond and Clueless!

    8. Best movie line ever?
    I guess it’s not really a “line”… I have the whole scene btwn Arther and the Black Knight memorized. 🙂

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    Brownies. I hate cake.

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    JCPenney has had some really cute ones lately!

    http://www3.jcpenney.com/jcp/X6.aspx?DeptID=50434&CatID=70419&GrpTyp=PRD&ItemID=1716ba3&attrtype=&attrvalue=&CMID=50434%7c50444%7c70419&Fltr=&Srt=&QL=F&IND=16&cmVirtualCat=&CmCatId=50434|50444|70419

    http://www3.jcpenney.com/jcp/X6.aspx?DeptID=50434&CatID=70419&GrpTyp=PRD&ItemID=169f77b&attrtype=&attrvalue=&CMID=50434%7c50444%7c70419&Fltr=&Srt=&QL=F&IND=3&cmVirtualCat=&CmCatId=50434|50444|70419

    http://www3.jcpenney.com/jcp/X6.aspx?DeptID=50434&CatID=70419&GrpTyp=PRD&ItemID=169f594&attrtype=&attrvalue=&CMID=50434%7c50444%7c70419&Fltr=&Srt=&QL=F&IND=4&cmVirtualCat=&CmCatId=50434|50444|70419

  • 12. This Heavenly Life  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Definitely go to Switzerland if you ever can. You won’t be sorry. It’s like a wonderful mixture of Germany, Italy, and France, all in one country.

    Classic Novels – Pride and Prejudice, of course. Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier, Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

    Favorite Movie Line: “Yes, is be my answer. To zee question.” – Aurelia in Love Actually when Jaime proposes in broken portuguese. Commence the tears.

    Check out mikarose.com for dresses. Theirs are really beautiful and mostly in your price range. I don’t know if they have a style or color you’d like, but it’s worth a look 🙂

  • 13. Southern Gal  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    If I’m up late I’m usually reading or watching a movie. No late night talk shows.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take? I’d love to see the Grand Canyon and the Rocky Mountains in the USA. But my biggest dream is to see Italy! I’d take my hubby, of course.

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    I love the line in one of Martina McBride’s songs:
    This is for all you girls about 42
    Tossin’ pennies into the fountain of youth
    Every laugh, laugh line on your face
    Made you who you are today…

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    Oooh. How much time do you have?
    Les Miserables by Hugo (skip the chapter on the French sewage system)
    Lorna Doone by Blackmore
    Wuthering Heights by Bronte
    Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility – anything Jane Austen
    I’ve read most of Charles Dicken’s works. I grew to not like his writing as much the more I read. Redundancy in plot, characters, etc.
    Can you tell I love reading old books? It depends on who you ask as to what is classic. I love Christy and The Last of the Mohicans. Mark Twain is wonderful. Is there a list you can choose from?

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    No. But my first two children made up for it by breaking bones before they were two. Stitches were my forte.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    In no particular order: The Food Network is my favorite channel. I love Biggest Loser and American Idol when they are on. I used to be a huge ER fan. Not much I watch now.

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    I honestly can’t think of anything right now. Maybe that I watch American Idol?

    8. Best movie line ever?
    “You have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.” – Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice
    “So what do you recommend to encourage affection? Dancing. Even if one’s partner is barly tolerable.” – Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice
    “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” Inigo Montoya, of course – The Princess Bride
    “You know I love you more’n my luggage.” – Clairee, Steel Magnolias
    “Here’s a nice stick to beat the lovely lady.” – The Quiet Man
    “If you say three, mister, you won’t hear the man count to ten.” – Sean Thornton, The Quiet Man

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    Brownies – chocolate rules. Or cake if it’s carrot or some other gooey concoction.

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    I have no idea. I’m horrible at picking out fashions. Look at my closet if you don’t believe me. Try Big Mama’s site. She’ll take your fashion questions and answer them on her blog.

    Yay for Pumpkin Spice Lattes! I got mine Friday. Went out of my way to go to Starbucks to pay almost $4 for coffe. What’s wrong with me?

  • 14. Southern Gal  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    *coffee

  • 15. osarah  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    Honestly, I don’t watch late night talk shows. Yes, we do get them here, but sometimes they air at odd hours. I do enjoy catching some Leno or The Daily Show when I get a chance, though.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    I would take John on a week long cruise either to Spain, the Canary Islands and Morocco or to Italy, Croatia, Greece and Turkey. Probably the latter, though we both also really want to go to Spain.

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    Did you know it can be used to stop excessive sweating? The only reason I know that is because my hands and feet and sometimes, uh, under my arms (TMI?) sweat too much. The options were Botox, surgery (which isn’t always successful) or just deal with it. I’m just dealing with it. Botox creeps me out. However, did you also know that Botox can be used for migraines? John told me this just last week.

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    Pride & Prejudice
    The Great Gatsby
    Animal Farm
    Fahrenheit 451
    John recommends Great Expectations, Lord of the Flies and 1984

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    Wow! That stinks about your arm 😦
    I believe I broke my left pinky finger in 5th or 6th grade while at basketball camp. They said it might have been a hairline fracture. I wore a brace thing on it and had to tape it for awhile.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    I love your choices. Hmm, for me I think I’ll have to go with 30 Rock, Ugly Betty, How I Met Your Mother, Scrubs and LOST. I know, I know. I am missing some other big ones, but these really are my all time favorites. That’s even leaving off BSG, which, as you know, is huge.

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    Sometimes I start singing and don’t know that I’m singing until someone gives me a funny look.

    8. Best movie line ever?
    I can’t pick. I have issues. Bear with me…I narrowed it down to the following list of 10 quotes from 8 movies:
    “Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here. This is the war room!” – Dr. Strangelove
    “Here’s lookin’ at you, kid.” – Casablanca
    “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.” – Gone With the Wind
    “Surely you can’t be serious!” “I am serious… and don’t call me Shirley.” – Airplane
    “It’s only forever, not long at all” or “It’s so stimulating being your hair” – Labyrinth
    “Inconceivable!” – The Princess Bride
    “No touchy” – The Emperor’s New Groove
    “I’m very important. I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.” – Anchorman

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    brownies…mmm, chocolate. Oh, and the gooey ones are better than the cakey ones.

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    This is the best I could do: http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=404638&CategoryID=47107
    It’s $59.25 and comes in charcoal heather. If you order through the store and have it shipped there, you often won’t have to pay for shipping. I’m not sure about Macy’s, but I know other stores have done this for me in the past.

  • 16. bigjimou  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Blogged my ten answers at: http://jsjohnson.wordpress.com/2009/10/20/ten-on-tuesday-jim/

    Also, I love that “pumpkin spice latte” is one of your tags for posts. 🙂

  • 17. Kyla Roma  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Good luck fighting off burnout! Ive been battling this for the past two weeks, it’s tough!

  • 18. Sarah  |  October 20, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    I love The Soup. Does that count? What about Watch What Happens Live?
    Are You There Vodka is HILARIOUS.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    Back to Paris and I would stay at the Four Seasons.

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    I would do it in a heartbeat.

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    War & Peace, Shakespeare, To Kill A Mockingbird, Pride & Prejudice (These are not all books that I like, just suggestions)

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    My foot (twice), a finger and a wrist.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    All shows on Bravo are my favorite.

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    See answer to Question 6.

    8. Best movie line ever?
    When you are in a relationship, it means you are obligated to give a shit. – Confessions of a Dangerous Mind

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    BROWNIES

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    Go black or grey. You can switch it up with different shoes, etc.

  • 19. rachelheather  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Ok, I’m only gonna do the book question, because I’m a nerd like that.

    Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, Sense & Sensibility – Jane Austen
    Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
    Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
    Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
    Brothers Karamazov, Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoevsky
    Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie
    Things Fall Apart – Chinua Achebe
    Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
    Pilgrim’s Progress – John Bunyan (if you can, find an edition with the Scripture references in it)
    Three Musketeers – Alexander Dumas
    Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
    The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera
    Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    1984 – George Orwell
    The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
    Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
    The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
    Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien
    The Space Trilogy – C.S. Lewis

    These would probably be considered new classics, but they are excellent:
    The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
    The Life of Pi – Yann Martel
    The Road – Cormac McCarthy
    Atonement – Ian McEwan
    The Poisonwood Bible – Barbara Kingsolver

    OK, that was probably waaaaay too much information.

  • 20. jill  |  October 21, 2009 at 8:21 am

    1. What’s your favorite late night talk show?
    I don’t really have one. I’m boring.

    2. If you got an all expense paid week-long trip for two, where would you go and who would you take?
    Bora Bora and my husband of course!

    3. What’s your stance on Botox?
    I would totally get it in my underarms, because I hear it helps reduce sweating. And perhaps between my eyes because I have a crease there already from “furrowing” my brows when I’m irritated…

    4. I have to read a few classic novels for my 101 in 1001. Do you have any recommendations?
    Sadly, no. If you were asking about chick lit I could totally help you out.

    5. Have you ever broken any bones?
    Yes–my right arm between the elbow and shoulder, my right hand/fingers, dislocated my right shoulder several times, and broken my pelvis. Obviously I’m a little accident prone.

    6. What are your top five favorite television shows?
    Gossip Girl, The Office, Cash Cab, Law & Order, SATC reruns

    7. What is something you are embarrassed to admit?
    I thoroughly enjoy Days of Our Lives.

    8. Best movie line ever?
    “MOM! The meatloaf!”–Wedding Crashers
    “You’ve got a baby! In a bar!”–Sweet Home Alabama

    9. Cupcakes, cakes, or brownies?
    cupcakes, duh

    10. Can somebody PUH-LEASE help me find a dress to wear to a few weddings this winter??
    I’ll see what I can do…

  • 21. ashley duncum  |  October 21, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Totally stole this: http://ashleyduncum.wordpress.com/

  • 22. Autumn  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Amen to the Pumpkin Spice Latte! And my sad little confession… I, too, enjoy Chelsea Lately. I know, a bit trashy at times, but pretty funny.

  • 23. bobbygee  |  October 23, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Great blog. Try Dickens or my favorite the Bible. I don’t watch late night TV. The best movie line Go ahead and make my day. Clint Eastwood Dirty Harry. or Asta la vista baby-arnold. http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

