Loser 8.06: Nobody Said Anything Funny

October 21, 2009 at 8:42 am 18 comments

First and foremost, let me just say this: This was not my favorite episode. I thought it was pretty boring. There was only one competition and it was D-U-M-B. I hope none of you are first timers and chose last night to start watching. If you are, give it another go. Please. Glad I got that off my chest. On with it.

It started off where we ended last week. The blue team walked back into the house. Without Coach Mo, but with Tracey. Of course the black team was shocked but they did their best to cover it, just asking “What happened?” They chatted a bit and then Tracey started crying and going on about “I hate going into the elimination room. I HATE IT.” Visible eye roll.

We saw one quick workout. Just enough for us to see Tracey on a treadmill. “Yes! I am on a treadmill!” Nice work Tracey, only took you 6 weeks. Yall, did we ever figure out what was wrong with her? Besides the obvious. I mean physically, what’s wrong with her?

The teams headed out to the beach where they were greeted by Alison, some tiki torches, a large fire, and a bunch of mounds of sand. She announced that each team had 4 keys hidden under their sand piles. They needed each key to open their case and whoever opened their care first, won. What did they win? She wouldn’t tell but she did say, “It will determine who will stay on the ranch.” Which sounds like a huge deal to me. But to all of you who didn’t forget the teaser from last week, you probably figured out that it was tickets home.

These things were buried like 6 feet under the ground in these big boxes. It actually looked pretty tough – but not nearly as hard as most of their challenges. Tracey and Abby had to sit out for injuries, Amanda had to sit out so that the teams would be even. Halfway through the challenge Ali encouraged them, “Remember what you’re playing for!” Someone screamed out, “WE DON’T KNOW!” And she giggled a little and said, “Oh yeah!”

There was about 40+ minutes of digging and what seemed like hours of Tracey standing on the sidelines being the most annoying cheerleader that ever existed.

It was at this point that I realized I am torn. Blue verse black, who am I pulling for? Honestly, I’ve always been a Bob fan. I think Jillian is necessary to the show but I prefer Bob. Since Jillian has won the past 47 seasons, I’d like Bob to win this one. But then again Tracey is on the blue team. I’d like them to lose the weigh-in so they can vote her off. But then I love Rudy. I think he’s my favorite contestant but he’s on the blue team, so I want his team to do well. And then again I don’t want Shay to go home because I know she’s not nearly ready to go. See, torn.

The blue team ended up winning the challenge. They had the choice to go home for a week or to send the black team home for a week. They decided to send the black team home so they could stay at the ranch with Bob and the gym. I think that’s a good choice.

The at home portion of the show was really scattered. What do bloggers do with scattered thoughts? We make lists. So here are my thoughts in bullet form.

  • Daniel’s homecoming was sweet. I loved when his grandma grabbed his neck!
  • When Danny walked into his house, his kids and wife ran at him and hugged him. No wonder the man is homesick, there is a lot of love in that house!! It was nice to get a glimpse into his life. I’m proud of him for staying home and grilling and teaching his family a bit about what he’s going through.
  • Shay came home to her husband and step kids. Seemed a little awkward, but maybe that’s just because there were camera crews all around them. She took them to the grocery store where they shopped for organic produce and Jennie-O turkey. Ugh.
  • Dina’s son is precious. He was so cute when he was watching her run.
  • We saw that most of their families didn’t alter their diets for their homecomings. Well done families.
  • Eww, Danny’s ponytail. Gross.

Meanwhile, the blue team worked hard. Tracey worked out with her eyes wide open, Liz continued to be less than charming with her attitude and spite. Seriously, did she change from the first week?? They took a quick trip to the LA Food Bank to volunteer a bit. I didn’t mind that commercial so much. I DID, however, roll my eyes when they started talking about milk. I’m in full agreement that milk is good, but why the cheesy commercial?? Same with Subway. Yes, it’s a healthy choice but the extreme product placement and script is just too much.

Last chance workout. We saw lots of bellies this episode. And whoa!! Those wall sits that Daniel was doing… just whoa. I don’t know how he didn’t die. I’m not sure why Jillian is complaining that he isn’t losing much weight each week. Yeah it’s only week 6, but he’s been on this weight-loss journey for much longer than 6 weeks. He’s already lost a bagillian pounds. Anyways, he had a break-through last night. He broke down about how his mom always encouraged him to lose weight but he always thought it was because she didn’t think he was good enough, he’s now realizing that it’s because she loves him. GREAT progress! I’m so proud of him!

On to the weigh-in. We see that all starts off as usual. Bob and Jillian stood there looking tough, Alison is in a cute outfit, and Tracey’s hair is all out of whack. The blue team goes first. Tracey lost 4 pounds. How is that possible? Isn’t she a witch? Hasn’t she been losing weight even when she wasn’t working out? How is it that she is working out and is only losing 4 pounds?? Makes no sense to me. (Side note: When I choose the titles of the posts, I like to pick a short one-liner that is either funny or sums up the episode. There weren’t any of those this week. There was one funny line, which I am about to share, but it was about four or five words too long for a title. Plus, Tracey said it and I don’t really want her quote on my title.) But Tracey knows that her four pounds is not very good. She says, “Four shmore! Go roast some marshmallows because it’s not enough!” WHAT? Seriously, what?

Okay, that’s the last time I’ll mention Tracey tonight.

Rudy lost 14 pounds. Amazing. He’s now lost 87 pounds in 6 weeks. If he loses 13 pounds next week, he’ll hold the record for the quickest person to lose 100 pounds on the ranch. I hope he does it! At this point we learned that the black team needs to lose 45 pounds to stay safe. Since they were at home, the chances aren’t good. Shay lost 5 pounds and is excited. I’m not quite sure why. Yes, losing 5 pounds is great but when you are 411 pounds, you should be losing more. I’ve seen this show a lot, I should know. Abby only lost four but ever the optimist, she says, “I’m just happy because now I know that this can be done in real life.” Very true. Good message. We got a quick glimpse of hope when Danny lost 15 pounds (whoa!) but it was quickly ripped from our grasp when Daniel gained a pound. Black team to the elimination room.

Before entering the elimination room, it looked like they were debating between Dina and Daniel. There was a quick mention of Shay but I think they all know she needs to be there. Danny had immunity so he was out of the question. I don’t want to be insensitive but why aren’t they even considering Abby? I know she’s gone through some awful stuff but she’s injured and probably can’t lose as much as Dina or Daniel. Don’t hear what I’m not saying- I don’t WANT her to go… I just don’t see why they aren’t considering her.

In the end, Dina got voted off. No tears were shed. That’s odd.

She looks great. She went from 253 to 188! In other news: she finally was able to jump on the box (yay) and she got a make-over (double yay).

Next week looks like a great episode! It looks like the players will be going up against one other player in the weigh-in. At first glance, it appears that Tracey (oops, I mentioned her again) will be against Abby. I wonder who we’re all going to be cheering for! It also looks like there will be a number of breakdowns. CAN’T WAIT!!

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday – Because My Mind is Still Mush I Got My MRS Because I’m Smart

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren From Texas  |  October 21, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I can’t stand Tracey, and Liz is annoying me so much. “It’s so nice without the black team, no drama!” Excuse me? Tracey is still there, which means there’s more than enough drama to go around. Liz sold out. Didn’t she hate Tracey and love Danny about a second ago? And now she is buddy-buddy with the crazy-haired witch? I DON’T GET IT.

    Dina looks AWESOME. I’m kinda glad she’s gone, she didn’t have a whole lot of personality. Um, I thought Shay was “alone in this world” – she’s married with two step-kids?! I feel lied to.

    I want Allison’s hair and wardrobe.

  • 2. Karen  |  October 21, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I did not get to see much of the show last night, so I do not have much to add, other than I did not think that it was fair to send Dina home. Daniel has already had a chance on the show and twice he has failed to pull the numbers, one water loading (possible), but I thought he should have gone, I like Daniel, I just did not think it was fair.
    I did notice that Dina seemed to not have much support from her husband and some have mentioned that in the video after she was sent home that her husband was never mentioned and she was not wearing her wedding rings, mmmm, because of weight loss? or some thing else, like her trainer looked really good, maybe? mmmmm But Dina looked great and her make over was awesome. Her son is absolutely adorable, and bless his heart for his excitement in working out with his mom.

  • 3. Sarah  |  October 21, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Tracey is a witch doctor. I am convinced.

  • 4. Lindsay  |  October 21, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Being sick has its advantages..I was able to see Biggest Loser for the first time this season. I can’t stand Tracey…like..what was up with her instant freakout on the scale? She’s weird.

    I love Dina’s son. He’s adorable!

  • 5. Samantha  |  October 21, 2009 at 11:33 am

    I totally agree with you – last night was kinda boring and it was probably one of my least favorite episodes. I even walked away for a while, lol.

    And yeah, Tracey is a witch.

  • 6. golonghorns  |  October 21, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Thanks for your visit. Always fun to blog meet another Texan! I have not been watching this seaon of Loser but it sounds quite interesting from your post. I am very excited to get back to Austin missing yummy Tex-mex, they don’t know good mexican food here in Canada. But the donuts are pretty good!

  • 7. Stephanie  |  October 21, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    ok—yeah….not the best episode this season. However, I do like Abby…and here is why: She knows why she is there and she is transparent. She’s not manipulative or crazy. She is level-headed and doesn’t feed into drama like she’s in high school. So, I do like Abby and I’m a big fan. I’m still ready to see Tracey go. She adds a lot of drama and it’s funny to see how pissed people get with her, but she’s just annoying.

    The most redeeming quality of last night was watching the visits home…you get to see the support (or lack of), the love, and to see how people are going to cope. I think this is good for people who watch who are on their own weight-loss journey as well.
    Ok—long enough comment. I’ll shut up! 🙂

  • 8. Ashley  |  October 21, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    I have to say, when Tracy had that mental breakdown, I have realized that that girl is officially nuts!!! She is absolutely insane! She needs to be kicked off of the show asap. I can’t stand her anymore, whenever I just see her it makes me want to yell because I dislike her so much lol. She’s so annoying!

    Also too, I know Shay has a lot of weight to loose and everything but im starting to feel like she is relying off of the show to mentally become able to loose weight. All she did was talk about how much she needs to be there, which she does, but other people need to be there too, and if she doesn’t start to work out more and loose more weight then she might have to go home, which would be sad. But she needs to mentally get herself to loose weight instead of relying on Bob and Jillian.

    I cant wait till next week!

  • 9. mom  |  October 21, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Didn’t watch and don’t have time to watch the DVR so thanks for the update. (However, because of all the comments on the cutie patootie little boy, I might have to find a time! – and I might just fast forward to the end to see Dina) Glad I didn’t see it if Tracey was CRAZY again…not sure how much of her I can handle.

  • 10. Cio  |  October 21, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    So, once upon a time my DVR hates me, and only recorded half the show. Thanks to you, now I know what happened the first half.
    As soon as I saw the ponytail on Danny (old school), I thought to myself “ohhhhhhhh i HOPE Chelsea blogs about it.” for real for real. Ew. Gross. and oh so funny at the same time.
    Mad props to him though for losing so much in one friggin week.
    how does that happen? IIII need that to happen to ME. lol

    Liz and “the one we do not speak of” are frenemies. Right?
    or has Liz changed her mind all together?

    Rudy and Abby are my favs in this season. I would have voted for Dina, if I was on the black team. She seemed a little dull, to say the least. It looked like sending her home was a good thing. She looks great.

    Next week is going to be GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD. If my DVR doesn’t work correctly I might kill it.

  • 11. Spotty Prep  |  October 21, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    As soon as I read your title, I was like “what about the weird crazy eyed s’mores comment from Tracey?!” Glad you thought that was wacko too, haha.

  • 12. Kelly Lininger  |  October 21, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    I have never watched the show but I have heard such positive remarks…

    Love your post.
    Kelly

  • 13. Autumn  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Great recap! I missed most of it due to late night 4th grade homework… fun.
    Glad to know that I’m not the only one who thinks Tracey is nuts!

  • 14. Lyndsey  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Dear Tracey,
    I dislike you on a level that is unhealthy considering we have never met. Do something with your hair. And please do not murder another contestant in their sleep.
    Thank you,
    Lyndsey

    At the beginning of the episode I was hoping it would be Dina that went home. And obviously I hope Tracey goes home next week. All night I was thinking… “Dina needs a make-over” Did the producers somehow make me think that? I bet they did. Sneaky

  • 15. Southern Gal  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I was able to watch this week. It was kind of boring. I’m getting tired of watching because of Tracey. PLEASE someone SEND HER HOME!! I may have to read your reviews and just quit watching myself. It’s that bad.

    The commercials are another reason I want to stop watching. Gag. Run regular commercials for the products – don’t make the contestants and Bob and Jillian shamelessly hock their wares.
    You said it…cheesy!

  • 16. White Rabbit Advertising  |  October 23, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Thanks for the recap – my DVR didn’t record it so I missed the first 40 minutes! I concur with all of your torn feelings. I really like a lot of the members of the blue team – but I can’t decide if I hate Tracey enough to justify hating all the blue team. She’s gross. 4 Scmore? Go roast a marshmallow really? Wow. I have high hopes that she will stop losing weight altogether and get sent home. When do they change it to individuals?

  • 17. DebbieQ  |  October 27, 2009 at 11:46 am

    OK, so I didn’t get to watch this until yesterday do to the trip. Do we really care that Tracey hates to go into the elimination room? I have to agree with you about being torn between Blue and Black teams. I am hoping for more clarity soon.

  • 18. Lemonade Gal  |  October 27, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Just getting around to reading your update. I agree it was a less than interesting show. I still hate Tracey! I still love Abby! I so wish they had showed Jill when she learned that Tracey stayed. I agree with the PP that Daniel has had his chance so I was surprised they didn’t try and throw his name in the mix. Can’t say I’ll miss Dina. I think she has a terribly unsupportive husband. Glad to see her get a makeover. I kept telling my hubby, “If she would cut her hair, she would lose 10 pounds on the scale!’ HA!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

