I Got My MRS Because I’m Smart

October 22, 2009 at 9:52 am 25 comments

I was 22 years old when I got married. It was fall of senior year when we got engaged and we were right out of college when we got married. I always thought that’s how life worked. I come from a long line of young marryers. It never really occurred to me until freshman year of college that most people didn’t get married right after graduation. Up until that point, I was quite naive. I thought I’d go to school and get a degree that wouldn’t matter because I wouldn’t work for long anyways and meet the man I was going to marry.

I went to school. I got a degree that doesn’t really matter because I’m doing something that isn’t even closely related to my major. And I met my husband. Yep, I got an MRS.

Let me just say this. Marrying young is not for everyone. Marrying isn’t even for everyone. So please don’t think that I think my way is THE way. With that being said, let me add this: Marrying young IS for me. Of this I’m sure.

I forgot what it was like to be single. Stephen and I have been married a little over 2 years. Some days it feels like it has flown by, other times it seems like much, much longer. We’ve shoved a lot into those two years and all of that stuff seems to push away the old memories. What was my life like back then?? I can’t remember what it’s like to live with a girl. I can’t remember life without stacks of bills. What did I do in the evenings before marriage? What did I eat for dinner every night before I had to cook food for a man who required meat in every meal and didn’t think soup was food? I can’t remember.

Now that it’s Thursday, I can tell you that Stephen has been out of town since Monday. I chose not to share these details with you incase you happened to be a hatchet murderer and wanted to break into my house and steal my 30″ television or my collection of DVD’s from the $5 bin at WalMart while I just stood there helplessly yelling for my husband and while Rookie peed all over the floor. But he’s back now, so set your sights on someone else’s copy of Mr. Deeds.

Anyways, I must admit that when I found out he’d be gone I got slightly excited. He left on Monday around noon and got back last night at an hour that I don’t want to speak of. Monday evenings I go to Bible Study so we don’t really spend much time together anyways. Tuesday I watch The Biggest Loser so that means there is a two hour slot in which he’s not allowed to speak to me. So it seemed that Wednesday would be the only time I’d notice he was gone. That and the fact that our bed is colder, I wouldn’t get hit in the face in the middle of the night, and nobody would be there to pop my toes. But sometimes it’s nice to be alone. It’s nice to have total control over the remote. It’s nice to be able to sit and read with the television off! I pumped myself up to have a Chelsea-centered three days.

Monday night I slept like a baby. A full night! That just never happens to me. I woke up on Tuesday morning and thought, “Uh oh! It must be Stephen’s fault that I can’t sleep through the night.” While that may be partially true, it’s not entirely. I slept a total of 3 hours on Tuesday night. I am the only one to blame for that!

I planned to eat dinners that Stephen doesn’t really care for. Salad, grilled cheese with tomato soup, and more salad. I had high hopes for myself and my decision making. But it turns out, when someone isn’t watching me, I don’t make great decisions. Monday night I had a Totino’s pepperoni pizza, Tuesday I had Velveeta Shells & Cheese, and last night I had a cheeseburger and small fries from McDonald’s. I am currently hanging my head in shame. I need accountability!

In the almost two years we’ve lived in that house, I’ve probably seen only 3 roaches. That is a big deal since we live in a neighborhood full of trees and surrounded by water. Roaches like it around here, but for some reason they have stayed away from Hurst Castle. Of course the first night my husband is gone, a roach shows up in my living room. I’ll have you all know that I killed it all by myself! Granted it was the size of a nickel, but it was still crunchy. I considered putting a pot over it like I used to do in college but since our living room floor is made from thin tiles, I figured the little goober could get out through one of the indentions from the grout.

Three days without my husband has made me realize that the single life is just not for me. I can’t handle it. I guess there was a part of my brain that was screaming “This chick needs a man!!” throughout my life. I may be terrible at accounting and world history, but I got a degree in the area I am good at!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Marriage, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , .

Loser 8.06: Nobody Said Anything Funny Seven Quick Takes (vol.12)

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lyndsey  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Pre MRS: You hung out with your girlfriends almost every night, you went to A LOT of baseball/football/basketball/volleyball games (but mostly baseball), you scrapbooked, watched endless hours of friends on DVD, talked about every thought and feeling you have had or will have, you drank beer, and you watched kelly sleep in strange positions on your floor.

    You ate lots and lots and lots of ice cream… sometimes for dinner.

    Remember?

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:32 am

    As you can see from my post of the 18th, I was married super young – 17. My parents married even younger. My grandparents married young also. As did my husband’s parents and grandparents. It runs in the family. My daugher married this year at 20…old lady. Ha! Yes, I was meant to be married. Never even thought of what it would be like to be single and out on my own. It was a good thing for me.

    How did you sleep a full night without your husband there? That never happens to me. I always sleep like a baby when I know he’s there. When he’s not there my youngest gets to sleep in my bed with me. It’s a treat for him….but I need him to be there! Shh. Don’t tell him.

  • 3. Kathleen  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I got married at 26, and sometimes I do wish I had married younger and get envious of those that did. But I can’t change the past, and I think it was just the right time for me. I had a few precious years living in apartments with girlfriends, and although I would NEVER want to live in an apartment again, I made lifelong friendships that I never would have known otherwise. I also learned a lot being on my own for awhile, have an awesome career to show for it, and I feel a lot more mature now.

  • 4. Caroline  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I know the feeling. My husband and I thought you found the love of your life in college, but after we both graduated, we found out that it wasn’t true. It was 2.5 years after college. I’m glad I didn’t marry any of the previous boyfriends. I know now that I never want to be single again. Plus my parents are always bugging me to hang out with them when Fred’s gone.

  • 5. Gabby  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:06 am

    My hubby pops my toes, too! I hate it, but he makes me giggle and squirm so he loves it. I have rarely spent a night without him in the past 13 years, and for that I am very, very grateful. Sounds like we both got a “keeper”.

  • 6. Erin  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Amen, girl! The single life sure isn’t for me either 🙂

  • 7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Haha, aww this is so cute. I have no problem with people marrying young I just know that it’s NOT for me the same way you knew it IS for you.

    I’m 21 (in my senior year) and me and my boyfriend have been together for FIVE years, but I still can’t imagine marrying him just yet. I can imagine marrying him, yes, but not for another 3 or 4 years.

    Also, we’re in a long-distance relationship right now due to his work and while I miss him terribly every single day, I also kind of love living alone 🙂

  • 8. Dionne C  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:47 am

    I’ve been married just a year, and I know how you feel – i have forgotten what it’s like to live with a roommate that isn’t the guy I am in love with, and forgot what it’s like to walk into church alone. It’s so weird that in such a short amount of time, it’s become so natural.

  • 9. Jimbo  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I would love to see a study on whether or not the age at which parents get married has an effect on when their children marry. I think that it may be the most dominant factor. It dramatically affects what one considers as “normal” for marriage age. My parents also married young and I just knew that I would get married sometime in college or right out. That didn’t quite happen but it still didn’t take long (and, as you can attest, I was on the hunt for a wife from the moment I set foot in Austin)!

    You’re absolutely right, though, I have a hard time remembering what single life was like. I have slept apart from my wife a total of three nights in our almost two years of marriage and I hated it!

  • 10. kelly  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:50 am

    i remember Lyndsey! i remember!!!!!

  • 11. Mandy  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Whats wrong with pizza for dinner? Thats my easy way out on “those kind of days”…I hope you at least had time to read without the tv off 🙂

  • 12. Alma  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Adorable blog, Chelsea. I smiled all the way through it.

    Oh yeah, don’t kick yourself too much about Micky Dees. Those golden arches are embedded deep within our subconscious mind. It’s best not to fight it.

  • 13. Lesley  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    When I was single I seriously had no idea what fantasy football was…. I miss those days sometimes 😉

  • 14. Debbie  |  October 22, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I’m SO with you! I got married right out of college and it’s been the best 3 years since! so lucky to have found my husband so early in life! 🙂

    ps- badi’s the same way about dinner. salad, soup, or anything cold (like sushi) dont count as dinner. or any meal. oh well, their loss! 🙂

  • 15. This Heavenly Life  |  October 22, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Soup isn’t real FOOD?!!? He’s not right in the head.

    I got married in my junior year of college – I’m all about marrying young. Looking back, single life seems so…lifeless to me. For me anyway. You’re right – I need accountability. And a hot man in bed 🙂

  • 16. Sarah  |  October 22, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    I know a lot of people who married right after college and are amazingly happy. I think it is irrelevant how old you are as long as you have the right person.

    I secretly love it when S goes out of town so I can watch even crappier TV than normal and eat terrible food!

  • 17. Maureen  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Well, I for one am very happy that you married young, because you married my son! And I don’t know what he or we would do without you in our lives!

  • 18. Kyla Roma  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    My whole life I was horrified at the idea of marrying young. My mom had us when she was 24 after getting married at 19, and I was convinced that everything could be traced back to that.

    And I was totally wrong. I love her, but her bad decisions in her life & her parenting were about her- not when she got married.

    Imagine my shock when I was engaged at 22 & happily married at 23 =)

  • 19. Jill  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Ok, sweetest comment ever from your MIL!

    I too married young. I was 21, and I was not even finished with college. If my future child tries to do what I did, I will beat them. Do as I say, not as I do, LOL

  • 20. Heather  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Wait, I thought y’all got engaged in January (or February?)??

    I’m single every evening these days b/c Shawn works until 11pm; it’s kind of weird, but nice at the same time. I get a lot more done, but I miss him a lot!

    And good job killing the roach! I do everything in my power to not have to squish them b/c the sound is so gross….I usually try spraying them with various things to see if it kills/drowns them.

    See ya soon!

  • 21. Alice Rosenhagen  |  October 23, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    YOu could have eaten yummy chicken and some good ole brown rice on Tuesday night with your parents and grandparents so you would have had at least ONE decent meal while Stephen was gone but NOOOOO, you wanted to be alone! 🙂

    Marrying at any age is an adjustment and each person is different, but I am grateful I married when I did and had my children at a young age cause I”M STILL YOUNG and THEY ARE GONE – well, sort of, and I GET TO ENJOY MY ADULT CHILDREN NOW!!! 🙂

  • 22. Kristin  |  October 23, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    You couldn’t pay me to go back to the single life!

  • 23. Lisa D  |  October 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    If you had asked me at age 18 when I thought I’d be married, I would have defnitely said around 22-24. That’s pretty much the age that all of my silblings, except 1, have gotten married. So I never anticipated being 28 (almost 29) and single. But it has it’s perks and in general, I enjoy my lifestyle.

    That said, I do look forward to being married – some day. And I have gotten better and better about not trying to think about what age it will happen. Because when I did that before, and then reached that magical age and nothing happened, it was really disappointing. So now if I do say when i think I will get married, I put the age pretty far out so that my chances of being disappointed are significantly less!

  • 24. d.a.r.  |  October 24, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Love this post!!

    I am so grateful to be married!!! How do people our ages meet people now? Bars? Ummm no thanks…

  • 25. Kellie  |  October 27, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    So cute. I married young too (not young from the small town I’m from, but young for Los Angeles). It’s fun, but I definitely have no idea how life works not being married/with someone. If I had to go out in the dating scene, I would probably just curl up in a ball and fill my house with cats.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

