Loser 8.07: Baseball Has Never Been So Talentless

October 28, 2009 at 9:02 am 14 comments

First of all I need to say that we are all suffering the loss of Sean. It’s been a few weeks now and nobody has stepped up to be the funny one. I’m extremely disappointed in these contestants. Danny brings the tears, Tracey brings the crazy, Shay brings the opinions, Abby brings the inspiration, Liz brings the bitterness, but nobody brings the funny. SOMEONE, please bring the funny.

So the black team came in from the elimination. Nobody seemed shocked. We learned a bit more about the bond between Shay, Daniel, and Amanda. Liz seemed to be really angry about their decisions. Has she forgotten what show she is on? I don’t understand why she is always so pissed. Chill out lady. If I’ve told you once, I’ve told you a million times: You are ugly when you’re shooting flames out of your eyes. Whatever happened to southern charm??

The contestants headed out to meet up with Ali. She told them they were going to be going head to head this week. Each contestant would be paired against a contestant from the other team. They’d only compete with each other. Whoever lost the most got a point for their team. Whichever team got the most points stayed above the yellow line. The teams had a challenge to play for the ability to pair everyone up. They had to run under a bar and touch a hanging disc, turn around and run back under the bar and touch the hanging disc on the other side. Each time they touched a disc, they got one point. The winner was the first to reach 500 points. Only one person could go at a time, and each contestant could only go once. You with me?

It stayed pretty close for most of the game. Black was down for a bit but caught back up. It came down to Daniel and Rebecca, both hitting the 400 point mark at the same time. Rebecca ended up winning it by 3 points which gave the blue team the ability to match everyone up. Okay listen, I always feel bad for the losing team because they have just worked their tails off and they always cry but come on! Stop whining. I can understand being disappointed, but not whining. Get over it. They won for a reason. Because they were better, they competed harder, they didn’t let up. This brings me back to last season when the whole world was mad at Tara for winning everything. Give me a freaking break people, you don’t play to lose. You play to win. *Stepping off soap box now.*

Alison gathered everyone in a boxing ring (really?) to announce who was facing off against each other. They pairs are as follows.

Rebecca vs. Amanda
Tracey vs. Abby
Allen vs. Danny
Rudy vs. Shay
Liz vs. Daniel

It’s during this time that we are reminded that Tracey is not funny. She thinks she is, I’m sure. She said something like, “Who’s excited to work out?? ME!” in some tone that I think was supposed to be sarcasm. It wasn’t funny. But then Abby showed us that she can be kind of funny when she said, “Tracey’s just crazy! You just never know what she’s going to do.” And she waved her hands in some crazy way. Normally that isn’t very funny… but coming from Abby, it is.

(DING)

(That was supposed to be the ding that happens in boxing matches. Did that not transfer over?)

The blue team headed to the pool with Bob. I know you can burn calories in the pool, but can’t you burn more in the gym? It was weird to see them in there while the black team was in the gym. Maybe this was just a quick workout for some variety. That’s probably the case. Bob is really big into weight-loss yoga but we haven’t seen that either. Just thinking out loud.

The black team went to the gym so Jillian could start on her first therapy session of the week. Amanda was the victim. I thoroughly enjoyed watching Danny casually walk away and watch them from afar. Amanda cried and walked away and Jillian looked up at the camera people and said, “Why are these contestants so freaking difficult this season??” Umm, Jill. Read my blog. They are always like this. They scream and cry and fight you. It’s how it goes.

The teams then headed to a baseball field for their next challenge. They were wearing custom jerseys and (unfortunately) baseball pants. I felt very mislead with what happened next. Alison said this schpeal about some baseball player and blah blah, “Say hello to Derek Jeter.” Everyone freaked out (including Tracey because she’s his biggest fan) and then he appeared… on the jumbotron. Seriously? What’s that about? Last season they had some football player on. I can’t remember who it was because I don’t really care about football and I don’t feel like searching my old posts. The point is that there was an actual person there.

I don’t really know what he said because I was distracted by the ridiculousness of the jumbotron and it was also at this point that I was wondering why the heck my house was so cold. But I heard something about his career batting average is 316 they had to get 316 baseballs in someone’s  class=”hiddenSpellError” pre=”someone’s “>bin to get them out. Last man standing won lunch provided by Curtis Stone and a 2 pound advantage at the weigh in. Everyone was pumped about that prize… Tracey especially because she’s his biggest fan. Not the most entertaining game. Although I did laugh when I saw Liz try to throw a ball. SHEESH. And many of the contestants talked some smack. Apparently these challenges bring out the mean side of everyone!

The black team won. They were thrilled. They went to the house to have lunch and met Curtis outside. He was going to make burgers. Burgers? You win a meal prepared by a gourmet chef and he makes burgers? With ginormous mushrooms as the buns? Please oh please, if I ever win something cool like that, don’t feed me discs of fungus. Gross. I think they got screwed. Lame meal. Oh and I think they were advertising some panini press.

Hour 2 started in the gym. Basically the rest of the show was breakdown after breakdown. It really never gets easy to see Abby cry. Hearing her tell her story is hard. My heart just breaks for her. On top of that we saw a breakdown from Shay. Also not easy to hear. She talked about her mom buying drugs in front of her and shooting up in front of her and having men in the hotel room while she hid in the closet. That’ll mess you up. But Jillian just kept pulling and pulling until they sobbed even more. I know she knows what she’s doing, I know they need these breakthroughs… but it seems harsh.

On to the weigh in. Ali’s dress! She wore some cute pink number with some chunky ruffle looking thing. I love it. Can someone from the Biggest Loser crew tell us where she gets her clothes? Seriously. Because no fewer that 15 people will come to my blog this week by googling something about Alison Sweeny’s pink dress. This is how the weigh in went down: Amanda had the 2 pound advantage. It didn’t help her. In Amanda (2) vs. Rebecca (9), Rebecca won. In Abby (3) vs. Tracey (5), Tracey won. In Danny (12) vs. Allen (8), Danny won. In Daniel (5) vs. Liz (7), Liz won. In Shay (9) vs. Rudy (14), Rudy won. Which means that the blue team won.

If you’ve been keeping track of my weekly count of Rudy’s weight loss you’d know that he was on track to break Dane’s record of the quickest to lose 100 pounds. Right when he got up to the scale, Alison mentioned the record and then Dane came out! It was exciting! He still has a bit of a belly, but I’m not sure about the timeline and when this was recorded. I’m still so proud of him. He said that 12 Biggest Loser contestants were doing a triathlon the next morning. Super cool.

Into the elimination room. Abby had pleaded to go home. She said she’d done what she needed. She learned to live and she learned to love. Everyone else had learning to do. They voted her off. It was quite sad. Her homecoming was quite emotional. She can just open her mouth and it’ll make me cry. She gave a little speech about how everyone talks about how she lost her husband and kids, but they all lost them too. And they lost her in the process. Heart wrenching. I love her.

She looks HOT now. HOT. She went from 247 to 167. She is speaking about opportunities and hope. She is smiling and looking just beautiful. Her parents are beaming with pride and joy. It was fantastic to see!!

Next week: They are in DC. That’s about all we know. Oh and some past choices are going to come back and bite Tracey. Finally.

(Houston bloggers: be sure to visit this post for details about our meet up! I can’t wait to meet yall!)

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday (Volume 3) People Do Stupid Things In College

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cio  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I’m eating breakfast this morning, thinking. OH I hope Chelsea has posted about B.L. already, cause I don’t think I could wait all day to read it. lol Even though I did watch the whole show ahahaha…

    a) Derek Jeter thing. TOTALLY funny. I was alll “AHAHAHAHA PSYCH! You could tell on their faces (as they try to be excited to see him on TV) that they were all WTF??? Well at least Daniel got a shout out. lol

    b) I think this week was VERY emotional one. So much so that I…IIIIIIII…wrote a blog post about it. It’s lame so don’t go read it. lol I got all personal and stuff.

    c) also. Tracy. Not funny. She’s NOT funny I SAID. I didn’t get to catch the next weeks clip, but if you’re saying she’s going to get her comeuppance I will walk away with a smile on my face lol
    Thanks Chelsea!

  • 2. Lindsey  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Great post! I can’t stand Tracy, ugh! And I totally cry during every BL but this one especially!

  • 3. Alice Rosenhagen  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Thanks for the update – we didn’t get to see it – for the 2nd time in a row! Yikes! I love Abby and am so happy she is doing well. Should get to watch next Tues at cousin Kim’s house! Yea!

  • 4. Karen  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Daniel needs to go, I am so sick of seeing his fake concern in having to vote people off, Danny was right, he has been there too long, and contributes nothing, please go. Sorry but he is really getting on my nerves.
    Yeah, the jumbotron was stupid, if he could not be there, then get some one else.
    Shay’s story breaks my heart, how could some one put a child through such things, there is too much help out there, give your child to some one to care for if you can not control your problems, no excuse for her mother.
    Abby just breaks my heart too, I have a lot of respect for her being able to survive such tragedy in her life, I know I could not, that beautiful little red headed girl and blond boy gone would be the end of me, I would have to go with them.
    I don’t really have a favorite this season, except for Abby, but more so respect. Each year I usually have some one that I am rooting for, but these contestants are just booorinnng. I still like Tracey and her craziness, (but she is on the blue team, I can not root for the blue team, I just can not), and I think Liz has gotten a cup of what ever she was drinking and it was a bit stronger than Tracey’s cup, she is becoming rather loony and her obsession with Danny is just too weird.
    Jillian, you can not loose to Bob, do you hear me, you can not do that to me, you must beat the crap more out of your team, they are not pulling the weight, figure it out and fix it stat, you can not loose, you can not let Bob have a win, not even one, don’t you dare let it happen. Ok, please, thank you.

  • 5. Chelsea Hurst  |  October 28, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Just saw this… Jillian is getting her own show. Seriously?? I think we are on Jillian Michaels overload. Enough.

    http://tv.msn.com/tv/article.aspx?news=438781&gt1=28103

  • 6. DebbieQ  |  October 28, 2009 at 11:51 am

    OK, Tracey is still the most annoying person around at the moment, I can hardly stand to watch her whine and complain and role those buggy eyes but Liz….Oh. My. Word I just want to smack that woman really hard. Can you be any less sympathetic lady. And I still think her obsession with Danny is creepy. Of course, if both Liz and Tracy go then I will have no one to dislike.

    Karen, I thought I was the only one who thinks Daniel has outstayed his time. He is all totally surprised when he only loses 4 pounds but I surely don’t see him working very hard. I am pulling for Rudy and Danny and that is that.

  • 7. Lemonade Gal  |  October 28, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    This show wore.me.out last night. I was a crying mess.

    Have I mentioned that I cannot stand that Tracey? So glad that Abby represents the good part of Texas. And why – oh why – does Tracey get so much camera time? There were times when she was the only one talking for the testimonials. AUGH!!!

  • 8. Kaitlynn  |  October 28, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Chelsea – You don’t know me, but I’ve been following your blog for a little while now and I just want you to know that I love it! I found it through Molly C’s blog (I actually know her, so that makes me less creepy right? She can vouch for me) Anyway, I LOVE BL and love reading your posts on Wednesdays. Last night when I was watching, though, I thought for SURE that your title today would be Abby’s quote about Tracey being crazy – that was way too funny!!

  • 9. Southern Gal  |  October 28, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I’m so sad Abby is gone. But a ray of hope for next week?

    “Oh and some past choices are going to come back and bite Tracey. Finally.”

    I second that comment. Hallelujah!

  • 10. The Husband  |  October 28, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Once again, these are fat people because when they lose they don’t have the urge to try again to win, they simply give up, wimper to themselves or anyone willing to give into their depressed world, and then eat themselves silly because that is the one thing that never fails to feel good, even if initially.

    Food is such a great thing, but if you constantly have greatness surround you, how can you notice it being great any longer? …what a waste of recognition of food…

  • 11. Sarah  |  October 29, 2009 at 9:27 am

    I am afraid Tracey is going to win so I am going to stop watching.

  • 12. Debbie  |  October 29, 2009 at 10:47 am

    – I was pissed about the whining after the challenge, too. So annoying.

    – Then the Derek Jeter thing..that was such a load of crap. I don’t think I heard “24 hour fitness” enough and there definitely werent enough logos on that screen! Then to spout off all your records and that was why the #s they had to achieve in the game were there. Uh, vomit. Get over yourself Derek Jeter!

    – Tracey was as annoying as ever. I can’t stand her fake cheerleader voice during competitions. I can’t stand her fake sarcasm crap in the interviews.

    – I was BAWLING this week with Abby! I can’t imagine going through that. Poor sweet girl. She did look smokin hot though!!!

    – I’m totally with you on the Curtis Stone meal. Okay the turkey burger…not so bad…but seriously, mushroom buns?!?! DISGUSTING! I’d rather just have the patty than eat those dirt filled fungi “buns”.

  • 13. Debbie  |  October 29, 2009 at 10:49 am

    oh yeah, and I’m so over Daniel. He really should have left Tuesday. What’s up with his crappy weight losses?!!? He should have been gone last week too!

  • 14. osarah  |  October 30, 2009 at 5:12 am

    I was giving Liz the benefit of the doubt untiol this week. I finally think she’s not so appealing any more.

    I, too, thought it was amusing to watch Danny slowly creep away while Jillian was having it out with Amanda. Then you see him in the background looking at them. Too funny.

    Abby’s story at the end finally make me break down and cry. Before, I would just tear up, but this time, wow. I really like her, and I’m so glad to see how well she’s doing at home.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

