Seven Quick Takes (vol.13)

October 30, 2009 at 9:15 am 25 comments

It’s FRIDAY! Friday is a beautiful day. It’s almost better than Saturday because there is so much weekend anticipation. Am I the only one that thinks that?? Maybe. This Friday is especially wonderful because tonight it our Houston Blogger meetup. Granted there will be very few of us because some of you are out of town or working or actually living in other cities. But we will celebrate anyways.

I shall start the celebration with my weekly Seven Quick Takes. Head over to Conversion Diary to see more or to add your own!

Seven Quick Takes

The first three will answer some of your questions from this week. The other four have no rhyme or reason. Well actually I think that everything I write has reason, but nothing has rhyme. I am no poet.

1.
My dress from my Monday post is from Old Navy. It was cheap and I love it. The first time I wore it, I wore boots with it. Apparently that turns a lot of heads. Being 6′ tall with boots and a short dress draws attention… who knew? In my defense though, it really isn’t short. It’s a good 3 or 4 inches below my fingertips, but it just looks short since I’m a giant. Also, if you are going to be 6′ tall and wear boots and a (not actually) short dress, but sure that your wedding rings aren’t at the jeweler’s when you go out in public. Just, you know, hypothetically speaking. Trust me on this, I’m here to help.

2.
I’m hesitant to tell you the winning toilet paper. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, please visit yesterday’s post. You won’t regret it.) I wish you’d do your own experiment and decide for yourself. But since I love you and I don’t want you to ever EVER use Scott Extra Soft for anything other than exfoliating the bottoms of your feet, I will give you the goods. Let me just first say that Charmin has changed it’s product since the experiment took place. They now have Charmin Extra Soft and Charmin Extra Stong. Back in the good ‘ol days they just had Charmin Ultra and something else like that. With that said, the results may change if the experiment were to take place in the present time.

The winning toilet paper was HEB brand Twice As Soft. It was soft, had a wonderful design that was pleasing to the eye, it didn’t chaff noses, and it didn’t break the bank. Close seconds: Angel Soft Pretty Prints (the flowers were quite charming!) and Ultra Quilted Northern (Stephen said it felt like he was riding on a cloud).

3.
I apologize for the yellow in all the photos yesterday. I used my phone. And even if I had used my camera, the photos would probably still suck because I’m not good at taking pictures. So, no. The wall behind me in the picture yesterday is not yellow. It’s actually the white that you find in old houses. So it’s sort of creamish white.  Ugly white. It’s one of the only rooms in the house I haven’t painted yet and I won’t paint it until we’re pregnant. It is the future baby’s room. I understand that nobody actually asked me about the walls. I just wanted to make sure you knew that I know that the walls are ugly.

4.
I have burned food two nights in a row. I never burn food. Two nights ago I was making a big dish of roasted vegetables. I burned the garlic something awful. Burned garlic is NOT good. Last night I was cooking some onions to add to some steamed green beans and I burned them too. I cook onions ALL THE TIME. I don’t know what’s wrong with me but I fear that my husband is going to walk out because this is not the woman he married.

5.
My husband volunteered me to make chocolate pumpkin muffins for him to take to a customer meeting on Tuesday. I don’t mind. I just think it’s funny. “I’ll have my wife make muffins!” That’s funny. I just hope I don’t burn them…

6.
I think I’m addicted to cheesecake. It’s a real problem. I promise.

7.
Yesterday I saw on My Thoughts Exactly that Oprah gave out a Payless coupon. If you go to her website you can download a 50% of coupon that is good toward your entire purchase. The only catch is that it expires today. I knew I wouldn’t be able to go today (remember, Houston blogger meetup…) so I stopped on my way home from work yesterday. Sometimes Payless shoes suck, but sometimes they don’t. I have two pair of flats that I LOVE that I got there a couple years ago. So I thought I’d give it a go. Check out my loot.

Shoes

Ladies and four gentlemen, I bought 7 pairs of shoes. SEVEN. My total (excluding tax and the other items I bought that I can’t tell you about because they may or may not be for someone who reads this blog) was $45.99. No you didn’t hear me wrong. I bought seven pairs of shoes for under $50. I win!

See ya Monday!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Marriage, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , , , .

People Do Stupid Things In College Budget Shmudget

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  October 30, 2009 at 9:51 am

    WOO HOOOOOOO!!! I agree that Payless is pretty hit and miss. But, my gosh, if you have 50% off everything you have to at least try! Glad you found some cute stuff! I totally have those silver ones. I’m also like you in the sense that I’m 5’9 and can pretty much only wear flats. I look like the Amazon Woman in anything but a less than 1 inch heel.

    I’m jealous the store I went to didnt have all of your cute finds! Oh well…maybe I’ll try again over lunch today.🙂

  • 2. Caroline  |  October 30, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Must go to Payless!

  • 3. osarah  |  October 30, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Wow 7 pairs! Good job!

    Go figure that HEB had the best. I love HEB and miss it terribly. John keeps reminding me of their combo locos. There’s no way the commissary has better deals than that!

  • 4. bigjimou  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:03 am

    You burned onions?! Couldn’t you just play it off by saying, “No, they’re not burned, just REALLY caramelized!”

    Burned garlic truly is awful…because it makes your house smell for about three days! I wouldn’t worry about Stephen, though, if he left you he’d have to make his own pumpkin muffins!

  • 5. Lauren From Texas  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I hope the present is for me! JK. I mean, kind of. I am so sad I didn’t get a chance to go yesterday, it was POURING DOWN RAIN and now Michael is gone and my car is in the shop, so unless I want to walk, I guess no shoes for me.😦 Soooo sad.

    Houston Blogger Meetup!! FTW!!

  • 6. DebbieQ  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:14 am

    7 pairs of shoes!! You would get along with The Shoe Queen just fine I am thinking.

  • 7. Molly  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I wish I lived in Houston. Totally jealous of your blogger meet up!

  • 8. thatmarriedcouple  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I’m glad to see Angel Soft got a nod – that’s my personal favorite. Although I’m not familiar with the Pretty Prints, so I may have to investigate the next time I hit that aisle!

  • 9. Southern Gal  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Yay for being tall. I used to be real thin, too. And yes, boots with anything on a tall woman turns heads.

    Charmin rules at this house.

    Your photos are fine.

    Burning things…are you sure you’re not pregnant?

    You hit the jackpot! I’ll have to go today. It’s the only place in town that sells my size 12 in half way decent styles.

  • 10. Stephanie  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Ok, I’m really surprised about the TP. I only buy Charmin (the blue one) but I guess I’ll have to try the HEB brand. You wouldn’t steer me wrong, now would you? LOL

  • 11. Courtney  |  October 30, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I love those striped ones! And the pink ones. And the glittery black ones. Darn, looks like I might be spending some money.

  • 12. jill  |  October 30, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Wow…I obviously need to go to Payless. Too bad I have NO freakin’ time.

    At your next Houston blogger meet up you should do a live webcast/chat thingy so all us non-Houston bloggies can be a part of the fun!

  • 13. Kathleen  |  October 30, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I hate that I live in Houston and can’t come to the meet-up. Ugh.😦

  • 14. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  October 30, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    What a STEAL! Thanks for sharing the news about that coupon, I super muchly hope it works in Canada!!!

    Cheesecake is amazing and there are worse things to be addicted to!

  • 15. HoustonGurly  |  October 30, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I went to Payless with my coupon in hand and got:
    -a belt
    -a wallet
    -a pair of shoes
    -sunglasses
    -slippers
    All for $30! Yay me! I LOVE 50% off coupons!

  • 16. This Heavenly Life  |  October 30, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I’m so impressed by your Payless finds! I won’t be able to get by there today, but still…it’s nice knowing SOMEone got something good out of the deal.

    I always get Quilted Northern Ultra. Except for immediately following childbirth, which requires something like a silk hankie if you don’t want it to feel like razor blades. Is this helping you with wanting to fill that ugly-walled room? No?! Weird.

  • 17. Jessica  |  October 30, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    I use HEB brand Twice as Soft!
    How awesome is that? My answer: very
    I seriously laughed really hard when I found that out.

  • 18. Ashley  |  October 30, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Oh, you are tempting me with those shoes. I’m also feeling pretty ashamed of my own toilet paper choices after your post yesterday. I go for the Target brand every time even though it is far from the best.

    Have a great weekend!

  • 19. Rachel  |  October 30, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I am jealous… Number one, you won’t be sitting at home emailing me tonight, you’ll be out… with people your own age. Number two, the payless close to me sucks. I never knew a payless could so constantly be out of any cute shoes in size 10 but they are notorious in my book for it. So unless I drive 45 minutes… no cute shoes for me. Boo. (Horrible pun intended… that’s why you have a blog and I don’t)

  • 20. Debbie  |  October 30, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    okay, so you convinced me to hit up another Payless. got yet another pair of beauties for under $10! man, some people went in and just RAVAGED the size 9 and 10 aisle!!! thankfully, I managed to come out something!

  • 21. Ashley  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    yay! for great shoe deals🙂

  • 22. Erin  |  October 31, 2009 at 11:48 am

    1. Long legs are a curse! They make everything seem SHORTER. Yet I wouldn’t trade them for short legs🙂
    4. I hate burning things. Spending time to cook something and have it not turn out is the WORST feeling in the world.
    6. Join the club, girl. Join the club.

  • 23. Lisa D  |  October 31, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    First off – I had no idea you were 6′! So how tall is Steven?

    And wow, you got some major bang for your buck at Payless. Way to go you!

    I hope your blogger meet up was fun!!

  • 24. Stephany  |  October 31, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Angel Soft? That’s my mom’s favorite brand…even though I love, love, love Kleenex Cottonnell (the dog gets me all the time!).

    And, erg, wish I knew about this coupon (and had money!). Successful shopping trip indeed!

  • 25. Alyssa  |  October 31, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Great deal at Payless! The chocolate pumpkin muffins sound delish-you might have to post that recipe.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

