Ten on Tuesday (4)

November 3, 2009 at 8:25 am 22 comments

Thanks for all of the prayers for Stephen. Please keep them coming. He’s in a lot of pain and it just breaks my heart. Many of you were curious about the pictures. Stephen was on a bachelor weekend trip with some guys, he made them take pictures. So he could see? So he could show his mom? Probably so his wife could blog about itWe are all infinitely grateful.

Here we go again! I loved reading your comments about toilet paper and Tom Cruise. And it’s always fun to know what everyone’s reading so I can get ideas. If you’re playing along, I’ve attempted to add Mr. Linky to the bottom. Be sure to add a link to that post. There were about 13ish of you that played along on your blogs last week, it’s easier to click around when the links are all in one place. So add and then visit each other. You won’t regret it- you guys are funny!

”10 on Tuesday

1. What animal should cease to exist? (Not including bugs. That’s too obvious.)
A lot of them. Possums, snakes, rats, ferrets. I’m not a fan of cats but since they bring so many people joy, I’ll take one for the team and keep them alive.

2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
I loved most things about elementary school. I loved the desks, overhead projectors, cheesy bulletin boards, recess, silent reading time, lined paper. I loved when teachers had chalk holders so that their fingers wouldn’t get messy and they’d never accidentally scratch the chalkboard. I loved book reports and assemblies. I loved that I was never tired and I got home early enough that I could still play with my friends after school. Man, those were the days.

3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think we should implement it? Or should we just keep them quiet?
I’m really torn on this. Sometimes I’d LOVE to hear what Rookie is thinking. But I’m afraid I’d be disappointed. I could learn that the only reason the stands in from of me and fusses is because she’s bored or she thinks is funny to watch me try to figure her out. I’m not sure I’d like to hear why she licks herself or what she really thinks about the television we choose to watch. Plus, if all dogs could talk, the world would be a lot louder.

4. How do you order your Starbucks?
I only go to Starbucks when I have a gift card or a really bad day. Otherwise, I just can’t spend the money on it. Plus, I think their actual coffee sucks. With that said, my drink order depends. This time of year I get a tall pumpkin spice latte extra hot. In the summer I get java chip frappachinos with peppermint. Around Christmas I get mocha with peppermint extra hot.

I suppose I should explain my extra hotness. It’s not that I like really hot drinks because I don’t. But I like my drink to last for a long time. I order it extra hot so that it can sit in my car with me and smell delicious and I can build up the anticipation. Once it’s drinkable I can savor it and love it! I just find that if I don’t get extra hot I drink it quickly and then it’s gone and I’m sad.

5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who don’t use smack their food?
Both are awful. AWFUL. I think I’m going to go with the smacking though. If there is an incorrect grammar user, I can just ignore their blog or facebook or emails. But it’s hard to ignore smackers. They are loud and disgusting and ALL OVER the place. You can’t easily delete, minimize, or close a stranger who is smacking near you. Or maybe you can, but I’m pretty sure it’s not legal.

6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
One of George Strait’s old greatest hits cds. Or Passion’s Hymns Ancient and Modern cd. Or Shane & Shane’s Upstairs cd.

7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
The schedule! I took naps regularly, even during the semesters that I worked. It was also shocking that it’s so hard. I found out that I’m not nearly as smart as I thought I was! Before college, I didn’t know what a B was but in college, I celebrated B’s.

I shocked myself in college. I’m not always very outgoing. I’ve gotten better about it because I’ve forced myself to be outgoing. But I am shocked that I forced myself to join a spirit group and a community group all by myself. Nobody at my side. Completely out of my comfort zone. I’m sure I had my fair share of migraines and nervous poops in preparation. (TMI??)

8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
I’ve probably gotten a few good deals in my time. I’m good at deals. Last week I got a pair of shoes for $3.50! That was awesome. When Stephen and I bought our house we went to Big Lots and found an area rug for our living room. It was originally like $150, marked on sale for $100. It rang up for $40. We were thrilled. I’m not a fan of the rug anymore because it’s kind of rough but it’ll do until we have crawling children. And also the table I mentioned yesterday. A brand new dining room table for $100.

9. Who is your role model? Why?
I have many for different reasons and this is not an exhaustive list. My mom because she’s a fantastic mother and did an amazing job running our household while keeping us close and making us all feel loved. My dad because he is SO smart. So so smart. My aunts who are both breast cancer survivors and some of the strongest women I’ve ever known. My Meme because she and my Papa are a beautiful picture of true love. Seriously, they can make you melt if you watch them dance. My grandma because she is so selfless. She loves everyone, serves, cares, she makes everyone feel important. There’s a woman at my church named Lisa. I’ve always loved her and respected her. But as I’ve grown, I realize how truly rare it is to meet someone so genuinely loving and I’m sure that everyone that’s had the pleasure of meeting her feels the same way. I cherish my relationship with her.

10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
Nothing actually. I’ll want to see New Moon when it comes out. I’ll want to see that one with Sandra Bullock when they adopt that teenager. That looks amazing. I’m not much of a movie-goer so I don’t even know what else is coming out. And (true story) I had to go to Cinemark’s website to even see what’s out. If there is something good coming, let me know!

Hopefully this Mr. Linky works. Add your link to the list. Everyone else, click around and leave some comments! (Okay, he’s not working like he is supposed to. But if you click that little icon, it’ll take you to the list of participants. I’ll try to get it figured out for next week.)

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , , .

Budget Shmudget Loser 8.08: Rudy Has Banana Hands

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ten on Tuesday (vol. 1) « SoJo Life  |  November 3, 2009 at 9:56 am

    […] our boring past few days, I decided to jump on the bandwagon and join my friend Chelsea with her Ten on Tuesday post. You can click here to see a list of everyone else’s […]

  • 2. osarah  |  November 3, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I, too, discovered the power of naps in college. I was also surprised at how crazy my sleep schedule could get.

  • 3. osarah  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:34 am

    Ugh, of course I would make a typo on Mr. Linky. Sorry my & is supposed to be an @. It’s not even like those keys are close to one another on the keyboard. My typos are becoming a huge problem. Eek.

  • 4. Taryn E  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:47 am

    1. Bufo Toads. Both my dog and my child like to chase them around the yard. My dog also likes to try and actually catch them and lick them. Bufo toad slime and dogs are not friends. I’m tired of washing Yoda’s mouth out with the hose.

    2. Scheduled reading time and nap time. My work days would be so much easier to get through if I had a half hour to read and a half hour to nap interspersed throughout my day.

    3. I would love to know what Yoda is thinking most days.🙂 Especially if he’s like the dogs in “UP.” LOL

    4. I’ve been trying really hard to eat better and exercise, so I have not be frequenting Starbucks lately (difficult when vising SuperTarget, tho!) The two weeks of the year it’s cold in south florida I either get a Grande peppermint mocha or a peppermint hot chocolate. The rest of the year, I get Iced venti nonfat chai latte.

    5. Food smackers. Ugh. Even worse when they’re a food smacker who also gets food stuck in their goatee (I work with one of these!)

    6. Metallica’s Black album or BarlowGirl’s self-titled album (yes, strange combination, i know.)

    7. I agree with you, Chelsea… that I could celebrate B’s (and Cs) because I wasn’t as smart as I thought I was. However, I quickly discovered that I did much better in my upper level courses because they were subjects I was actually interested in (as opposed to my horrid two semesters of calc-based physics and organic chemistry!)
    If you ask my dad, he’ll tell you I was just happy to be able to go to class in pajamas…. thank God i never had to deal with uniforms at any point in my elem/high school life!!🙂

    8. Craigslist…. my Dutailier glider for Luke’s room… $500 glider for $80… tan wood and blue cushions, even. Matches his room perfectly!

    9. I have too many to list, but my Dad is probably the first one that pops into my head….smart, smart, smart…sarcastic.. has a true passion for teaching kids and spreading the word of God.

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
    Nothing right now. Can’t see Avatar with dad when he’s here for Christmas. Also looking forward to The Blind Side (the Sandra bullock movie) and The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus.

  • 5. Molly  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I had to look it up on Moviefone so we’re in it together. And you’re right, that one with Sandra Bullock does look awesome.

    I did the link to my blog but it won’t be posted today since I had to finish my halloween post. Forgive me! I do love this new blog idea though! Thanks for doing it.

  • 6. mrssjohnson  |  November 3, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Okay! When I clicked on the “Ten on Tuesday” button yesterday, the question said what do you like most about the beach, not elementary school, so mine and Jim’s are different!

  • 7. Joy  |  November 3, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Added my post on Mr. LInky, with yesterday”s #2, thanks for hosting!!

  • 8. Kyla Roma  |  November 3, 2009 at 11:27 am

    1. What animal should cease to exist? (Not including bugs. That’s too obvious.)
    Ooh, I’m not good at this. I love animals and I wouldn’t want to wipe any of them out! Maybe the scary fish with a light that lures other fish in, like in Finding Nemo? He was totally intense. Maybe his being gone would be a stress relief for other fish.

    2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
    Story time. I loved being read to, and I loved having time in the day that was designated to being quiet!! I’m trying to do that with my mornings now.

    3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think we should implement it? Or should we just keep them quiet?
    Um, mine are loud enough as it is!! I think if they spoke English it would be a lot of “CAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!!!! OMG OMG OMG CAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAR!!!!!!”. I can do without that.

    4. How do you order your Starbucks?
    My favourite drink is a high maintenance one- a short soy espresso with equal parts soy & espresso. I’m super allergic to milk, so I love a little hit of caffeine and a little honey to brighten it up.

    5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who smack their food?
    Food smackers, no question. Poor grammar is one of those things where I go “Huh, noted.” but something that I can hear?? That would make me want to die.

    6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
    Moby’s Play, I still keep going back to it now and then.

    7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
    That life didn’t get uncomplicated because I was out of high school!

    8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
    I demanded a $10k credit against the purchase of my Dodge Caliber for trading in my old civic with crank windows and burned seats. And I got it!! Inexplicably!!

    9. Who is your role model? Why?
    My dad, no questions asked. He’s such a strong man and has been through so much- I hope I can be as wise as him some day!

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
    Men who stare at goats & Where the Wild Things are!

  • 9. bigjimou  |  November 3, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I have never heard of Mr. Linky. Good deal…ours is posted there.

  • 10. Lindsay  |  November 3, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    1. What animal should cease to exist? (Not including bugs. That’s too obvious.)
    Possums and rats…yuck yuck yuck!

    2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
    2 things…the Accelerated Reading Program..aka ARP. You just read..and the higher the reading level, the more points it was worth. Then you could pick prizes with your points at the ARP store at the end of the week. It was AWESOME. Also, Mr. Myers. He rocked. Best principal ever. “Everyone makes mistakes, that’s why pencils have erasers!”

    3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think we should implement it? Or should we just keep them quiet?
    I think it should be a collar like in Up. So that we could take them off. I really want to hear what Molly thinks…or if she thinks at all. But I think her high-pitched, yippy voice would get annoying.

    4. How do you order your Starbucks?
    I only go to Starbucks when I have a gift card. And I always get a Java Chip Frap..tall.

    5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who don’t use smack their food?
    Bad grammar. HUGE pet peeve. I blame Mrs. Palmquist b/c had I not had such a rockin English teacher, I wouldn’t know my grammar so well.

    6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
    Anything Relient K or Jason Mraz

    7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
    How much I didn’t like it. People always said it’s amazing, the best time of your life. Well I think I chose wrong or something because I hate college. I’m so ready to get out and be home. I know people that are already out and working think I’m nuts, but I’ve thought this through..and I want to be done…

    Also, how easy it is. I love my major so I enjoy what I do in my classes. I thought I’d be getting C’s and stuff but I get shocked when I get a B.

    8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
    3 pairs of shoes, a purse, and a scarf for $47

    9. Who is your role model? Why?
    Haha this might be weird, but through my whole life it’s been the same two people…even if they were beating me up or yelling at me…You and our brother, Justin. Remember when I was really little, if you listened to 92.9, I listened to 92.9. If you changed to Mix 96.5, I did too. It was pretty ridiculous. Now that you’re off on your own and married, it hasn’t changed. I want to be just as amazing as you are. As for Justin, he knows what he thinks and stays with it..knows how to argue his point. I’m bad at supporting my thoughts. When I get into an argument I get all hot and sweaty and forget EVERYTHING.

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?

    Where the Wild Things Are. I already have my tickets for THE MIDNIGHT SHOWING to New Moon. Don’t Judge..it’s the only showing that Katlin could go to b/c she has work.

  • 11. Alyssa  |  November 3, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    OMG! I HATE when people use the wrong tense of your/you’re…hello people! Say it out loud!!! “Hope you’re birthday is great” really you hope you are birthday is great? That doesn’t make sense!

  • 12. Taryn E  |  November 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    as an addendum to #2…. I miss playing “Oregon Trail!”🙂

  • 13. Stephany  |  November 3, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    My #2 question was different! And here I was trying to plan ahead and schedule my post.🙂 It’s all good, though. I add my link!

  • 14. Lyndsey  |  November 3, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    1. What animal should cease to exist? (Not including bugs. That’s too obvious.)
    if eliminating snakes would not upset our ecosystem I would have to say snakes. I could also live without roosters (they are evil and scary) if we could still have no chicks and eggs.

    2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
    I have no idea. I think it was any time we got to be outside. I was a natural athlete then (you wouldn’t know it now) so I loved playing sports outside with my friends. LOTS of kickball

    3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think we should implement it? Or should we just keep them quiet?
    I don’t think I would want to hear dogs talk. Mostly because I doubt they would be saying anything interesting, and because where would it stop? Cats? Horses? Cows?

    4. How do you order your Starbucks?
    In the mornings very quietly with a confused/angry look on my face. Any other time I order it venti and fat free (but definitely not sugar free)

    5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who don’t use smack their food?
    Smackers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know a girl who smacks. We are not friends for MANY other reasons… but I considered not being her friend after the first time we went to dinner and she smacked SO loudly with her mouth open. Not cool.

    6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
    Past CDs include Shania Twain- Come on Over, George Strait – Pretty Much Anything, Kelly Clarkson – Breakaway, John Mayer – Room For Squares (throw back, pre-simpson, John Mayer, And now Taylor Swift. I am so lame.

    7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
    Everything was surprising about college both good and bad. The most positive surprise was how easy it was to make friends.

    8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
    I LOVE finding deals. The dresser in my bedroom is from a garage sale. I paid $30. The shelf in my bedroom is from big lots. I paid $15. And this weekend I got a $250 pair of boots for $100 (I love you DSW).

    9. Who is your role model? Why?
    I have several. My mom, because she is an amazing mother and wife and she keeps the most amazingly clean and organized home (seriously… it’s shocking). My dad, because at 73 he still works really hard and because he rolls with the times by staying up with technology.

    My new thing is finding something about everyone in my life to admire.

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
    Where The Wild Things Are
    A Christmas Carol
    New Moon – Already Have Tickets (Are you shocked?)
    Precious
    Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs
    Whip It
    If you want a movie rental suggestion, I suggest The Proposal with Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds. SO good.

  • 15. Janet in Toronto  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Here’s mine…

    http://janetsdomesticbliss.blogspot.com/2009/11/ten-for-tuesday.html

    Another great set of questions!

  • 16. Maureen (MIL)  |  November 3, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    First of all, let me thank you for taking such good care of our son. He is blessed to have you for his wife! Hugs for my boy.

    1. What animal should cease to exist? (Not including bugs. That’s too obvious.)
    I don’t know if lizards are considered bugs but they are taking over our front and back porch. I’ve never seen so many and I hate them. I detest possums and so they could become extinct as far as I’m concerned.

    2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
    choir, and these delicious cookies sold in wax paper bags

    3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think we should implement it? Or should we just keep them quiet? Oh let them talk! I’d love to hear what Pepe is saying!

    4. How do you order your Starbucks?
    non fat for whatever I’m drinking, and if it is hot, I also order extra hot for the same reason you do.

    5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who don’t use smack their food? your and you’re!

    6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
    Lately, the Best of the Jackson Five

    7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
    Well, I left after my first semester, and went back at age 40, so I’d have to say the first time I was NOT prepared at all, the second time around, how much I enjoyed it.

    8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
    Our big sofa! We needed a large one for my 6’7″ husband, and got one at Fingers Basement with a little tear in the back. Full price was $1600, we got it for $479.

    9. Who is your role model? Why?
    Sadly, I don’t have one.

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
    I don’t go to the movies very often, so I don’t even know what is showing right now. Although the movie with Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw looks good.

  • 17. Lisa D  |  November 3, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Um, did I totallly make up my own question 2 or something? Somehow mine is what is your fave part about the beach. I am kind of lacking sleep, so am guessing i somehow morphed your question!!

  • 18. The Husband  |  November 3, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    1) I don’t think any animal shouldn’t exist because GOD made them for a reason, and my thinking I know better and that they shouldn’t exist is simply too wrong and against the greater plan.

    2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
    -mine was learning to use the recorder in music, the animals we had in Mrs. Gliddens class, and learning how to write in cursive with the metal guide

    3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think we should implement it? Or should we just keep them quiet?
    -No, frankly because I just don’t want another thing expressing their wants to me in more than suttle actions we already have established with eachother.

    4. How do you order your Starbucks?
    -the same way my wife does because she has good taste

    5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who don’t use smack their food?
    -I would have to say the “your / you’re” issue because they can help it. Smackers have at least some issue they can’t control.

    6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
    -NONE! I don’t like listening to the same CD over and over unless its a really good mix CD

    7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
    -That I turned out to be one of those guys who get engaged in college. I knew a bunch of them and always thought, “weird, they are so young!”

    8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
    -My house, the county called it an estate sale, but we all know that it was just a really really great deal!

    9. Who is your role model? Why?
    -Jesus, duh!

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
    -ALL OF THEM, BECAUSE I MISS THE MOVIES!!!!!

  • 19. Jill  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    I’m sorry but I laughed when I read “nervous poops.”

    I too was a college napper. I’d still be one if it weren’t for that crap called work.

  • 20. Mom  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    1. What animal should cease to exist? (Not including bugs. That’s too obvious.)
    Possums!!! YUK!

    2. What was your favorite part of elementary school?
    Man that was a LONGGGG time ago! I do remember loving recess! And I LOVED eating in the cafeteria on Fridays because we had the BEST enchiladas! And in 4th grade my teacher, Mrs. Kay, made us study Social Studies by doing a project where we “visited” countries and we did a notebook on each and ate the food and dressed the part.

    3. If scientists found a way to allow dogs to talk, do you think
    I sometimes wonder what Molly is thinking – especially when she cocks her head to the side…but I think I don’t want more noise in the house now.

    4. How do you order your Starbucks?
    Yea for gift cards! I like their coffee with a tad bit of sweet and low and some cream. If I am splurging I get a mocha or if it is hot outside a java chip frap..

    5. What’s worse? People who don’t know the difference between your and you’re OR people who don’t use smack their food?
    That sentence really doesn’t make sense but I am assuming you are asking about people who smack their food? I do NOT like to hear bad grammar – EVER! That comes from my daddy. I absolutely HATE HATE HATE to be around smackers though. It is disgusting!

    6. What CD can you listen to over and over?
    don’t really listen to CD’s that often except at Christmas….

    7. What was the most surprising thing about college?
    IT was soooooo hard but I didn’t give it enough effort! And that you could gain sooo much weigh so easily.

    8. What’s the best deal you ever got? (Biggest sale item.)
    A brand new dining room table for $100.

    9. Who is your role model? Why?
    I have many (by the way, thank you Chelsea). My dad, he is amazing. My mom cause she has faught so hard after all of her illnesses/surgeries. My husband, he is such a hard worker and so committed to all he does. My sisters because they are fighters.

    10. What movie would you like to see that is in theaters right now?
    Movie? What’s that?

  • 21. mediumcrazy  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:52 am

    I’m a day late. Typical.

    http://mediumcrazy.com/

  • 22. Courtney  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Argh, I wanted to participate this time! Next week for sure.

    I want to see that Sandra Bullock one, too! Double date?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

