Seven Quick Takes (vol.14)

November 6, 2009 at 9:33 am 30 comments

It has been a LONG week. I’m pretty excited about my weekend. I only have one thing on my planner and it doesn’t involve setting an alarm. There is nothing better than an alarmless Saturday morning!

As always, visit Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes.

7_quick_takes

1.
Stephen’s parents bought him the Lego Star Wars game for the Wii. This is good for many reasons. He said, “This is so cool” about 7 times within the first 2 minutes of playing. He is forced to sit up while he plays, which means his face won’t swell. It keeps his mind off the pain. He always breathes through his mouth when he plays video games (don’t ask) and since he has to breath out of his mouth anyways, he doesn’t notice or complain about it.

2.
I’ve been having a lot of typos lately. Spell check doesn’t catch those. But you do. And, uh, thanks… I guess. I write posts every day so the odds that there are a few errors are pretty high. I suppose I could write less often and spend more time proofing my posts, but that just doesn’t seem reasonable. So you’re just going to have to deal. Deal?

3.
I forgot to get two important items at the grocery store on Sunday. In all fairness, I didn’t really forget them since they weren’t even on my list. I just never wrote them on the list. I thought I knew the recipes by memory so I wrote down what I thought I’d need. I was wrong. One was for the meal I planned to make Monday, one was for the meal I planned to make Thursday. This is really messing up my meal planning. Good thing my husband isn’t demanding any good food this week! (I just reread this and it’s so dumb. Why do I feel like you need to know this??)

4.
Tonight I saw an Old Navy commercial that said that all outerwear is 50% off this weekend and on Saturday scarves are $1. Holy moly! On an entirely unrelated note, my birthday is in 11 days. Also on an unrelated note, click here and here and here and here.

5.
So Stephen can’t smile right now, it hurts his face. Imagine you were sliced open underneath your nose and it was stitched back together. Now smile. Feel how it pulls that area?? Yeah so last night we watched The Office and he had to walk out of the living room 3 times because he laughed and it hurt his face. Then 30 Rock came on. He lasted about 2 minutes and started laughing. He yelled and went to our bedroom. During the next commercial break I went to our room to get some socks for my freezing toes and I found him curled up in bed watching Fox News.

6.
Also click here and here and here and here.

7.
I’ve got this stew in the crock pot. I can’t wait to get home and smell the deliciousness in my house! Although I’m a little nervous because I used a different wine. I usually use one called Cowtown Red from D’Vine Wine but we’re out. Hopefully it’s just as delicious.

Have a great weekend, y’all! Any fun plans?

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Rainy Day, Stephen, Television. Tags: , , , , , .

Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut I Should Have Seen That Coming

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren From Texas  |  November 6, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I think I will taking a trip to Old Navy on Saturday morning!

    I don’t have anything planned either. I am SO HAPPY. I am going to clean and clean and clean and clean.

    I have your roast in the crock pot! YUM!

  • 2. ThatMarriedCouple  |  November 6, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Oh dear – I even have an Old Navy gift card burning a hole in my wallet. Looks like I’ll be hitting it up this weekend also! Thanks for the heads up!

    And the stew sounds great!

  • 3. Kyla Roma  |  November 6, 2009 at 10:19 am

    People point out your typos? My goodness, that’s pressure I couldn’t deal with! I spelled Cleveland “Cleaveland” in someone’s comments yesterday and just had to leave it. I can only do so much some days lol

    I’m going to Minneapolis this weekend, very excited!

  • 4. Samantha  |  November 6, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I’m in need of some winter clothes, so I think I’ll be visiting Old Navy this weekend!

    Hope your stew is delicious!

  • 5. Kathleen  |  November 6, 2009 at 10:37 am

    $1 scarves? I might have to break out the “clothing” cash envelope for that sale.

  • 6. DebbieQ  |  November 6, 2009 at 10:47 am

    We would all like to know what is in the stew please.

  • 7. Amanda  |  November 6, 2009 at 11:25 am

    looks like I’m going to Old Navy tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  • 8. Christina  |  November 6, 2009 at 11:47 am

    There is nothing better than an alarmless Saturday morning. Nothing!
    Poor Stephen, not being able to smile? Ugh. Hope he heals quickly!

  • 9. Lyndsey  |  November 6, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    i would never point out your typo. I woudl just assume that was the way the word was spelled because i cant spell… unless it was my name.

    I don’t like stew. Dumb… i know.

    I too will be at old navy tomorrow.

    I would like to talk to the person in the Texas athletic department who schedules the football games. if it ends in a.m. it is an unacceptable time to have a game. Im just saying.

    I have very few plans this weekend. I am reading wuthering heights right now and I am totally into it.

  • 10. kelly  |  November 6, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    i’m going to feast with the beasts. some houston press thing with a bunch of restaurants at the zoo!

    are you planning a trip to the artic any time soon? you picked out totally cute stuff…but its usually only cold about 30 days in the entire year here. wait. are we going to kc? you could use all those goodies there. lets go to kc!

  • 11. Sarah  |  November 6, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    1. I’m glad. I want him to feel better.

    2. I haven’t noticed. Does that make me a bad reader?

    3. I always forget stuff at the store. Literally. ALWAYS.

    4. I got an e-mail about it this morning and so I ordered a jacket. I am doing this for America.

    5. Ouch.

    6. $1 Scarves are a good deal.

    7. I am going to register for a crock pot so I can make things. And I don’t cook.

  • 12. Mandy  |  November 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I don’t mind typos…I have so many of my own that I’ve become quite acquainted with them πŸ™‚

    Ans,,,I totally need to know about your grocery adventures…stuff likes that makes me feel normal (because I am sooo guilty of doing the same thing several times over)

  • 13. Mama Fuss  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    2. OMG, I have tons of typos. Thankfully, no one seems to be mentioning them so far. I never re-read my posts before posting, so of course there are typos. And as long as it doesn’t mess with the meaning, I don’t really care.

  • 14. Heather  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Did you know your picture comes up next to the website address in the little website address bar?

    Neat

  • 15. ashley duncum  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I think its important for me to note this: The $1 scarf sale at Old Navy on Saturday is for performance fleece scarves. Not all the super cute scarves (P.S. I have the one on your 3rd link in the yellow/tan combo and LOVE IT.) Just thought I would clarify before everyone goes out into the madness.

    Also, I just bought the second coat in blue plaid. And love it. 26 bucks with my discount, yay!

  • 16. This Heavenly Life  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I always always always forget something at the store. It makes me want to cuss. But I stop myself before it get really ugly.

    I have a feeling, though, that I’d not forget a half priced coat…mustcheckout.

  • 17. Rachel  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I always forget stuff at the store… and that takes on a whole other level of frustration when the store is 15 minutes away.

  • 18. Stephany  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    So, I’m just the total opposite and furiously proof-read everything I publish on my blog. I’m just anal about it and have to make sure I sound OK and don’t have any typos. I wish I could be more relaxed about it, lol.

  • 19. Joy  |  November 6, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Old Navy: Thanks for the heads-up

    And you read my mind, beef stew this weekend, hope your house smells delish when you get home.

  • 20. Jill  |  November 6, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    I LOVE scarves and I have to go to Bed Bath & Beyond tomorrow to return something…and it happens to be conveniently located near Old Navy! Hmm, pit stop!? πŸ™‚ I was kind of jealous when I read the first part of your post. I always set my alarm on Saturday 😦

  • 21. Autumn  |  November 6, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Wishing I could send you my son to play Lego Stsr Wars with your poor banged up hubby! Hope he’s feeling better!
    Have a great weekend!

  • 22. Lisa D  |  November 6, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    I once went to the grocery store to get the ingredients to make spinach dip. And I didn’t buy spinach. So I feel your pain.

    Hope Stephen is able to laugh/smile without pain very soon!!

  • 23. Darla Baerg  |  November 6, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    I looked on the Old Navy site and found the 50% off outerwear but I can’t find anything about the scarves. I SO want some $1 scarves!! Hopefully the ON in Little Rock will have the special! Thanks for the heads up!

  • 24. Ashley  |  November 7, 2009 at 12:06 am

    $1 scarves is awesome!

    I hope the hubby can smile soon without pain…

  • 25. Abby  |  November 8, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    First of all — Old Navy is so evil & taunting! I live in AZ, where it has been in the 80’s – 90’s all up until about mid November. But Old Navy starts selling their sweaters and adorable scarves in August?! I still buy them. and they must waste away in my closet until I decide to wear the sweater despite the heat and look like a fool. So enjoy! πŸ™‚

    Second — I saw your comment about Biggest Loser?? I am way excited about reading your posts. I am obsessed with the show. It’s pretty sad.

    Definitely looking forward to Wednesday!

  • 26. Julia  |  November 8, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    You have such a good sense of humor.

    2. I don’t think blogging is about catching all the typos as long as we get what you are saying.

    5. Funny–except for your husbands hurt face of course.

  • 27. jfowens  |  November 9, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Sorry if I pointed out a typo… Tell “The Husband” that I hope he gets to feeling better soon, and I’m sorry that he has to watch Fox News instead of 30 Rock. There is absolutely nothing to smile about when watching Fox News. :-/ He’ll be back to his smiling, laughing self before he nose it. (Too stupid of a pun?)

    One more question… did you meticulously read this post for typos?

  • 28. Gabby  |  November 9, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Poor hubsy!

  • 29. bigjimou  |  November 9, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Stephen, Lego Star Wars is on my Christmas list. Yes, that makes me feel a little like I’m nine years old. No, I don’t care. What’s cooler than breaking a Lego Clone Trooper into tiny lego pieces?!

  • 30. Rachel  |  November 10, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Old Navy owes you some money… You convinced me to go online and look since I couldn’t get to an ON… I ended up spending over $112. I couldn’t resist… TALL sizes on coats at 50% off? Plus, I got 30% off and free shipping since I’m a card holder. Btw… The amount of things I got for that $112 was RIDICULOUS. I’m pretty proud of my savings.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

