I Should Have Seen That Coming

November 9, 2009 at 9:36 am 18 comments

There are some things you come to expect in life. Your senior year in high school, you expect to have a major case of Senioritis and long for the future days of college. During the months of October – January you can expect to put on a few pounds and have severe Starbucks cravings on a daily basis. When you go into Sam’s, you can expect to spend at least $60 even if you’re only stopping in for one item.

When you go into Hobby Lobby on November 6, you can expect it to look like a winter wonderland and have a deep desire to put your Christmas tree up and hang your stockings by the chimney with care. Deep, deep desire. I happened to stop in to Hobby Lobby on Friday after work. I did my best to avoid the Christmas section, which was difficult because that only left about 3% of the store to wander through. But I did allow myself to walk down the gift wrap aisle and I was this close to rolling around in the tissue paper, wrapping myself in thick, wire-edged ribbon, and hugging the beautiful rolls of wrapping paper. I have a thing for beautifully wrapped gifts. I don’t know where it came from but it’s something that I truly love. It’s one of the reasons that a goal on my 101 in 1001 is to have all of my Christmas shopping done by December 10th. It’s like the wrapped gifts to sit under my tree for a while.

But that’s not the point of today’s post. I have a point, albeit small. But a point still.

What do you expect when you go to a wedding? I’d say that it depends on your age and life stage.

As a little girl you can expect to look at the bride as if she were a princess. She’s wearing this big beautiful white dress. Her hair is flawless. Her face looks perfect. She’s smiling and glowing and she appears to be the happiest person in the world. She probably is, it’s her wedding day after all. But to a little girl, the bride is an idol.

As a preteen you can expect to envision yourself as the bride. Whatever crush you have at the time is the groom. You see yourself in that dress, standing in front of that church, surrounded by those people. You dream about how perfect your life will be. You’re filled with butterflies.

As a young woman in her late teens or early twenties you can expect a bit more. You can probably expect a small bit of jealousy. You can often expect some joyful tears. You can expect to take notice of every detail and add it to your mental “wedding day loves and hates” list. No flower, food, color, chair, or dress goes unnoticed. You can expect to dream about your wedding day with the man you are in love with, or possibly even a faceless groom. But you can definitely expect to desire a wedding.

I went to a wedding on Saturday. A dear friend of mine got married and it was a beautiful night. I won’t go into too much detail because not everyone wants their life’s details floating around on the internet and I’m not sure where the couple stands on this. I’m also not going to tell you the city, location, or other details because of this…

When you are married and attend weddings you can expect one of two things. First, you can expect to remember your own wedding, fall more in love with your husband, and relive the emotions you felt on your wedding day. OR, you could fall in love with the flower girl. (I’m not going to show you her face because she is someone’s child… and that someone may not want their precious girl on the internet!)

DSC01449

You could see an intoxicating little blonde girl with a tiny white dress and baby-fine curls. You could see her jumping up and down on the dance floor for hours. You could see her look at the bride as if she were seeing an angel. Her smile could make you melt and make you tell your husband over and over, “I want her. Let’s take her!”

When you are married and attend a wedding you can often expect to get severe baby fever. I totally didn’t see that one coming!

I guess I’d be in trouble if I didn’t post at least one photo of Stephen and I from the wedding. Well here’s one of him trying to smile.

DSC01466

Creepy? A little bit. His smile has gotten better. Practice makes perfect.

DSC01469

———–

Ten on Tuesday questions are loaded. Click the Ten on Tuesday link on the right sidebar to get them. Be sure to add the button to your blog and make sure it links back to Roots & Rings. I’ll add Mr. Linky again so we can all visit each other.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Seven Quick Takes (vol.14) Ten on Tuesday (5)

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  November 9, 2009 at 10:57 am

    awww, excellent descriptions of stages of your life with weddings! i love them…so fun! such a cute flower girl, too!🙂

    stephen’s nose looks so much better!

    glad you had a nice weekend!

    ps – im totally going to try your stew recipe!

  • 2. Alyssa  |  November 9, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Tell me about it! Baby fever has severely set in at our house-hubs included!!! Stephen looks pretty good considering his stitches. Sounds like a fun time!

  • 3. This Heavenly Life  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Oh, I’m loving this list of wedding thoughts by age — so true!

    As far as your baby fever, It is TIME! Get to work!

    Let’s make this place Roots & Rings & Receiving Blankets! Roots & Rings & Rock-a-bye Baby! Roots & Rings & Rumbilical Cords!

    Somebody stop me!

  • 4. Molly  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    That last picture is so cute!!! Stephen’s nose seems to be getting lots better too!

  • 5. Kyla Roma  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    lol! This is happening to me all the time now. I am falling in love with other peoples babies all the time. Don’t even get me started on my whole week’s worth of dreaming that I’m pregnant every night.

    It’s a sickness. I don’t even want babies of my own right now, they’re just lodged in my brain!

  • 6. mom  |  November 9, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Yea!! Baby Fever!!! We love Baby Fever!!! (well, not me, but my kiddos) 🙂

  • 7. Ashley Brenstein  |  November 9, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    This comment is from Matt.

    LOL. I totally said the picture of Stephen with the sparkler was “creepy”, and then I read it, and I laughed louder.

    Somebody I know is getting married too! It’s happening all over the place.

  • 8. ThatMarriedCouple  |  November 9, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    How cute and true! And you’re definitely not alone – we have baby fever here, too!

  • 9. Lindsay  |  November 9, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I’m at the “notice every detail” part of my life. I’ve suddenly become obsessed with shows like Say Yes to the Dress and Flowers Uncut. LOVE wedding things. I just know that when it comes to mine, I’ll probably be stressed so I want as many ideas as possible right now.

  • 10. The husband  |  November 9, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    I would have said no to that picture! My god i look scary! Also! You will not be getting a little blonde baby girl because then i will question you!!!

  • 11. bigjimou  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Stephen: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Glad you’re feeling better.

  • 12. Abby  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    You definitely hit the nail on the different points of views women experience throughout life on weddings!

    Funny how our opinions/views change throughout phases of life!

    Good luck with the new bout of ‘baby-fever”. You may have wanted to stick around a little later to see when the cute, lovely flower girl had a possible 10 o’clock 4-year-old melt down. Your mind may have changed?😉

  • 13. Maureen (MIL)  |  November 9, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I second what Alice (mom) said! Three cheers for baby fever! Stephen does look good!

  • 14. Stephany  |  November 9, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Baby fever! I get it all the time but I think it’s just because people all around me are getting married and then they’ll start having kids and I feel like I’m so behind. (When I’m so not!)

    So, when can we expect this baby?😉

  • 15. Lisa D  |  November 9, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    What an adorable flower girl! I can see how that would lead to baby fever.

    It is interesting how going to weddings change as you get older. It definitely leaves me with a sense of longing now that I am in my late 20s. But that feeling of longing is of course over-shadowed by my feelings of happiness for the couple

  • 16. Veronica  |  November 9, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    and the baby fever returns!! 🙂

  • 17. Uncle Rory & Aunt Chris  |  November 10, 2009 at 6:50 am

    WE are thrilled you have baby fever….

  • 18. Taryn E  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:05 am

    LOL.. I love that you have baby fever🙂 I’m totally not in that stage right now with a 16-month old who is getting in his upper canine teeth. Argh. He is soooooo cranky… up with him every two hours to give him orajel and let him hug on mom and be clingy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

