Ten on Tuesday (5)

November 10, 2009 at 8:00 am 26 comments

Welcome to Ten on Tuesday!! I’m pretty excited about this round of questions. I got some input from a few people and I think I ended up with a pretty good set!

rr10tuesday

1. What gift are you most proud of giving?
My friend Lyndsey once told me that when she was a teenager her mom kept a journal and every day she wrote something she loved about her. I plan to do this when I have teenagers since sometimes teenaged girls aren’t very lovable. But I took this idea and did this for Stephen when we were dating. I started in on Jan 1, about two and a half months after we started dating. At this point, I knew he was “the one” so it seemed like a great gift idea. I would not recommend doing this if you are dating someone and you aren’t quite sure if he is the one. I kept the journal for a year and gave it to him on Valentine’s Day. We love to read through it and laugh about the goofy things that I love about him. Everything from, “I love your smile” to “I love the way you eat a fried egg” to “I love the way you open the car door for my mom.”

2. What’s the best gift you ever received?
My engagement ring. It’s beautiful and sparkly. But most importantly, I love it because Stephen gave it to me with a promise. He told me he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me. And if you ask me, that’s pretty special!

3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had?
I’ve only broken one bone. I fell off of a trampoline and broke my arm. That’s not really that bad though. As far as pain goes, getting my wisdom teeth out was pretty awful. Do migraines count? I’ve had some migraines that have made me wish I were dead.

4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too long? (The Gosselins are not acceptable answers, be more creative.)
So so so many people. I’ll try to narrow it down to one two three four/five. Lindsay Lohan. Joe Jackson. Octomom. Brangelina.

5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
Probably a bike for Stephen- if he could decide in 20 minutes. If he couldn’t, I would probably cheat and buy a $1000 gift card to Amazon or Target. If Stephen couldn’t decide and I couldn’t cheat and I had to spend the money I would buy: a big soft rug for our living room (I’d Google it so I could find it quickly), a coat and a few cardigans and scarves from Old Navy, a Keurig (<- that’s a link, because I know you’ll ask), and maybe the Wii Fit. OR I’d just give it all to a maid service and have them clean my house once a month for a year.

6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.
I’m not even going to mention Pioneer Woman because if you aren’t reading her by now, you must live under a blog rock and you cannot be helped. (By the way, her cookbook is now #1 on the NY Times.)

1. Big Mama – She’s the love of my blog life. I’m not being dramatic.
2. Young House Love – I LOVE this blog. One of you emailed me about this site when Stephen and I were about to paint our wood paneling. (Sorry, I forgot who it was. I still have the email but I’m too lazy to search for it!) They are this young couple who started a blog to document their kitchen remodel. It took off. They are INSANELY successful in Blogland.
3. We’ve got a tie here. There are a ton of 3rd placers and I couldn’t decide. So I settled on two.
a) Bake at 350– All around deliciousness. Those caramel brownies… I will make them.
b) This Heavenly Life – I don’t know her but I consider her a blog friend. She’s not blog famous. She’s just a great writer and she’s funny.

7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life?
Ice cream. I need pizza in my life. Plus, there are so many other delicious desserts. I’d always choose a fudgy brownie or some cheesecake over ice cream anyways.

8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain?
Beach beach beach. A million times, beach. I hate the cold weather. The only good thing about snowy mountains is sitting in a warm cabin by a fire, drinking hot chocolate while looking at them out the window. Take me to any beach and I’ll be happy. I’ve always known that I’m a beach lover but after spending so much time in Galveston the past few months, I’m realizing that it’s a deep love. Not just a love of sun and sand… but a love for the beach life-style, the wind, the sounds, the waves, the relaxation. Love it.

9. Are you a night owl or a morning person?
Night owl. Big time. I have a hard time waking up every single day. I’m at my best at 10:00 pm.

10. What word do you always misspell?
Embarrass. There really shouldn’t be two r’s in there.

(I found out that in order to make Mr. Linky show up in the post, I have to pay for an upgrade. That’s not going to happen just yet. I think it’s only $5. I may do it for next week or so. Until then, just click the icon and another window will pop up. Click around and visit the other TOTers.)

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

I Should Have Seen That Coming Loser 8.09: Twice! Dad Gummit!

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  November 10, 2009 at 8:40 am

    I think I did the Mr. Linky thing… I’m not sure. Let’s hope so. Stephen is doing the questions tonight too! 🙂

  • 2. Janet in Toronto  |  November 10, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Okay, so now I feel like a doofus for recommending Pioneer Woman. But I did my answers last night before I saw yours.

    And dang! I didn’t think of the Keurig! I will buy a cheaper TV for my son and slip a Keurig into my $1000.

  • 3. Joy  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Thank you for hosting, have hopefully added my post to Mr. Linky.

  • 4. Sarah  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I am too lazy to go to my actual site and post so I am keeping it real and posting it here…

    1. What gift are you most proud of giving? OMG. This is sad. I have given some pretty good gifts in my day, but my favorite gift still is the fact that my fiancee didn’t have any recent pictures in his house (of him or of anyone else) and now he gets a new picture for Valentine’s Day plus his sister-in-law has started sending him framed pictures too.

    2. What’s the best gift you ever received? Ooooh. I am totally stealing your answer here because I never would have thought of that but once I read it I was like “she is so right.” So, my engagement ring (mine’s not from Stephen).

    3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had? Either stitches in my eyebrow when I was a kid or breaking my wrist in a hit-and-run car accident in high school. They were both awful in different ways. Or the time I was drunk and rolled across 6th street in Austin and all of my friends said I was lying when I said I was hurt and it turns out I broke two foot bones.

    4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too long? (The Gosselins are not acceptable answers, be more creative.)
    Perez Hilton (I just don’t like him). Chris Brown.

    5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
    Purses. Lots & lots of purses. And some shoes.

    6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.
    Martinis or Diaper Genies?
    My Husband is Annoying
    a life more exciting… (What? You thought I wouldn’t put myself?)

    7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life? Ice cream. When I visit NYC I eat pizza for breakfast and lunch (this routine is only broken up by a pretzel from a street vendor). Pizza is the one food I could eat everyday and not get sick of it.

    8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain?
    Well, I prefer cold weather to hot weather, but I have never skiied, so I am not sure what the hell I would do on a mountain. But I am still going to say snowy mountain.

    9. Are you a night owl or a morning person? I am an asshole in the morning. A total asshole. But I also like to be in bed by 9. I’m difficult.

    10. What word do you always misspell?
    Receive. No idea why. But I always have to think really hard before I spell it. Also, what will be my married last name. If I don’t get into the groove of spelling it, I will spell it wrong.

  • 5. kelly  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:51 am

    3. worst injury – friday night i slipped in my friend’s apartment and slammed my face on a piece of furniture. bloody nose (that is still swollen), black eye, and 2 gashes on my brow bone. try explaining that at work. not as bad as stephens, but make -up can only cover up so much!

  • 6. Debbie  |  November 10, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Link added! 🙂

    ps – we have a Keurig at work…LOOOOOVE it! :

  • 7. Taryn E  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:10 am

    1. Drove all the way from Rochester, NY to Houston to surprise my parents during fall break of 2001. I had been teaching at Seacamp all summer and then went right back to school, so I didn’t really get to see them for a long time. We had 18 days off between fall and winter quarter, so I decided to make the trek home and didn’t tell them I was coming. J

    2. My engagement ring, because it was from Rob, and given to me at a baseball game in the presence of Billy the Marlin. However, a close second is my CR-V…Rob surprised me by doing all the legwork and paperwork and the down payment while I was away. It was just waiting for me at the dealership when he took me there the next day.

    3. Broke 3 ribs and right big toe during a rugby game. Hurt to breathe, hurt to walk. Not fun.

    4. Paris Hilton, Lindsey Lohan, all of the Kardashians, anyone who has ever appeared on Real World or Road Rules.

    5. New dining room set that I’ve been eyeing at Rooms-to-go. It’s pretty…. Dark cherry wood, black leather seats…. Sigh…..

    6. 1) http://madeinthemountains.blogspot.com/ (my friend Julia)
    2) http://www.reluctantgourmet.com/blog/
    3) http://www.themomjob.net/

    7. Ice cream. I couldn’t live without pizza!!!!

    8. Beach. There’s a reason I lived in Houston, went to school in San diego, and now live in Florida! (I’m trying to forget about those two years in Rochester!) J

    9. Before Luke, night owl. Now that I’m a mom and have to be up with him, I’ve transitioned into being awake early in the morning, even though I don’t like it!

    10. Definitely. I always want to switch the “e” and the “l”.

  • 8. mom  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:41 am

    1. What gift are you most proud of giving?
    You will have to wait on this – have been working on this for a little while – almost done with it

    2. What’s the best gift you ever received?
    Have to be “the chair ” in my kitchen – not because it is the most WONDERFUL chair, but because of the thought that went into getting it. My dear daughter, Chelsea, ALWAYS remembers what you say and files it away…..

    3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had?
    Just recently fractured 2 toes. REALLY hurt for quite awhile and still ugly and fat! (Ouch, poor Kelly!)

    4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too long? (The Gosselins are not acceptable answers, be more creative.)
    I am assuming Branjolina is Bradjolina….I am sick of seeing their faces on EVERY magazine…I don’t know much of any other famous people cause I don’t read magazines (except in check out line I see the covers) so can’t really mention any

    5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
    Probably a really good coffee, etc machine – don’t even know the name – just something that makes all kinds of drinks. Or a new couch for the beach house and a rocker/cushy chair for the beach house

    6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.
    Chelsea’s, Lauren’s and ???? Are you kidding??? I don’t read any blogs…just yours and sometimes Lauren from Texas

    7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life?
    Definitely Ice cream – I love a GOOD pizza!

    8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain?
    Beach beach beach. A million times, beach. I hate the cold weather. The only good thing about snowy mountains is sitting in a warm cabin by a fire, drinking hot chocolate while looking at them out the window. Take me to any beach and I’ll be happy. I’ve always known that I’m a beach lover but after spending so much time in Galveston the past few months, I’m realizing that it’s a deep love. Not just a love of sun and sand… but a love for the beach life-style, the wind, the sounds, the waves, the relaxation. Love it.
    DITTO DITTO DITTO!!! You are your mother’s child!!!!!! (although I do like some colder weather, the beach is waaaay better!)

    9. Are you a night owl or a morning person?
    Night owl. NOT a morning person – wish I was….

    10. What word do you always misspell
    definitely (I think that is correct) 🙂

  • 9. Gabby  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Keurig + Carribou Coffee Daybreak = happiness and joy for night owls who have to get ready and kids off to school by 7:30.

    You will not regret asking for one for Christmas.

    My hubby is a beach lover, he is trying to convince me to sell everything and move to the NC coast… he promises me that we can have shrimp every night and our dog, Cooper will be in heaven.

    Contemplating…

  • 10. Lindsay  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:46 am

    1. What gift are you most proud of giving?
    the huge bowl I made for Meme. I made one for Grandma too but Meme’s reaction was better. She was amazed that I actually made it myself.

    2. What’s the best gift you ever received?
    My ring from James Avery, DUH! One person cries every Christmas in our family, that year it was me because I unexpectedly got this ring that I have been dying to have for years.

    3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had?
    Posterior and Anterior Instability in my right shoulder…aka my tendons in the front AND back were so stretched out that my shoulder was no longer being held in place, it was just sitting in my socket, about to pop out at anytime. Had to have surgery..it was sooo painful.

    4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too long? (The Gosselins are not acceptable answers, be more creative.)
    Hannah Montana, The Jonas Brothers, Kanye West

    5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
    I would raid hobby lobby for art supplies i know i would need..and get top of the line stuff

    6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.
    I”m not a blogger

    7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life?
    Ice cream. if you would have asked me this 5-8 years ago, i would have said pizza because I was a diehard ice cream fan. But I’ve given up ice cream and it’s been fine. Plus, i LOVE pizza!

    8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain?
    HA!I live in houston and we have a house in galveston…BEACH. Snow suck and I never want to see it again. I love being hot and feeling the sun on my skin and just sitting in the water while talking with friends. LOVE.

    9. Are you a night owl or a morning person?
    Night Owl. I could stay up all night w/out any trouble

    10. What word do you always misspell?
    there are too many…thank god my mac has spell check on EVERYTHING

  • 11. bridget{bake at 350}  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Oh, thank you! I’m so honored to have tied for 3rd! 😉 Yay!

  • 12. Lyndsey  |  November 10, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    1. What gift are you most proud of giving?
    I didn’t think about the fact that by suggesting this question I would have to answer it. I am proud of a lot of gifts I have given. I really love to give gifts. It is one of the great joys in my life.

    2. What’s the best gift you ever received?
    I think Chelsea’s answer to #1 is my answer to #2. My mom wrote the journal for me during the hardest year we have ever had in our relationship. She wrote 365 entries on reason’s she was/is thankful for me (she got the idea from oprah). I cry EVERY time I read it. My mom is a beautiful writer and it is amazing feeling to have the positives about your personality or character pointed out.

    3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had?
    When I was about 14, my high school boyfriend and I went out for a four-wheeler ride (which we did most days). We rode down the road at 65 miles per hour and bounced around on trails all afternoon. Then on the way home in his front yard, going pretty slow, we hit a bump. The four-wheeler went into the air and my foot slipped of off the peg simultaneously. The four-wheeler ran over my foot. I had a third degree friction burn on the inside of my left ankle and my left knee cap came out of socket. It was one of the most painful experiences of my life. We wanted to keep it a secret because we were afraid our parents wouldn’t let us ride anymore, but I went into shock. Since that day my knee cap has slipped out 15-20 times. Each time it does, I faint and fall on the ground. VERY painful!
    I also had 15 stitches in my forehead once. Not very painful though.

    4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too long? (The Gosselins are not acceptable answers, be more creative.)
    Jessica Simpson. Yuck.

    5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
    I would buy a Southwest airlines gift card.

    6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.
    This is hard because I don’t live in blogland. So, Chelsea’s, LaurenfromTexas, and I really love Taryn’s blog but I have no idea what it is called

    7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life?
    Neither. I couldn’t. I just couldn’t.

    8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain?
    The beach. I would always choose the beach. Of course I would prefer Monterey or some other expensive/beautiful beach town like that.

    9. Are you a night owl or a morning person?
    I don’t do morning. I am grouchy and confused. I don’t talk or smile or think clearly for about an hour after I wake up.

    10. What word do you always misspell?
    There are HUNDREDS. One that is odd is WEIRD. I cannot spell it correctly. And of course appreciate.

  • 13. Samantha  |  November 10, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Yay, I joined in the fun. 🙂

  • 14. Stephany  |  November 10, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    You’re at your best at 10pm…and I’m ready for bed at 10pm. But then again, I’m so not a morning person either!

    I did mine on my site. So much fun!

  • 15. Alyssa  |  November 10, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Pizza or ice cream is a tough call but an easy decision. I would live without pizza…I could seriously live on Elvis Pretzely everyday (it’s from local shop Silky’s-vanilla custard, pretzels, caramel and hard shell chocolate-to die for!!!).

  • 16. This Heavenly Life  |  November 10, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Did you hear my audible GASP?! Thank you for mentioning my blog so sweetly! And alongside the likes of Big Mama?! Awesome.

    I love reading all these ToT’s – you’ve got a good thing here, darlin’. Especially when you post complimentary links 😉

  • 17. Darla  |  November 10, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    OHH… I like Bake at 350. Had never heard of it. I’ll check out the other one too. 🙂

  • 18. Ten on Tuesday (vol. 2) « SoJo Life  |  November 10, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    […] glad Chelsea at Roots and Rings has already taken care of the subject of today’s post: her Ten on Tuesday […]

  • 19. Lisa D  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    That is awesome that you wrote that journal for Stephen. What a special gift! And how sweet that he opens your mom’s door! What a gentleman!

  • 20. Maureen (MIL)  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    1. What gift are you most proud of giving?
    I am a gift giver, I love giving people things that make them happy. I don’t know if there is any one thing that I am most proud of. I guess giving my kids the gift of life. (does that count?)

    2. What’s the best gift you ever received?
    Well, that goes along with #1, my children are the best gift I’ve ever received. On a more material level, my engagement ring, and one year Courtney made me a huge stocking, like the ones I made all of the kids, and I was totally surprised!

    3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had?
    When I almost sliced my finger off while cutting a tomato.

    4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too (The Gosselins are not acceptable answers, be more creative.)
    Brangelina, Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes (yuk)

    5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
    That bike for Stephen.

    6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.
    Yours, Courtney’s, and Tiffany’s, the only 3 I read, or even know about!

    7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life?
    pizza

    8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain? beach

    9. Are you a night owl or a morning person?
    night owl (or I used to be before I started working 5 days a week with 4 year olds, and now I fall asleep before 9!)

    10. What word do you always misspell? When making my shopping list I always misspell “broccoli.” Did I spell it correctly?

  • 21. bobbygee  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    The best gift I was given is eternal life. Jesus died and rose from dead so we can have etneral life. The Bible is the truth. http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

  • 22. Kyla Roma  |  November 10, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Look how this feature is taking off, great work miss! =)

    I love the journal idea, I did that for Mister when he was in the US for a month when we were first dating & I still flip through it from time to time. It’s so adorable, I’m like a cartoon version of myself, all sweet & pining for him.

  • 23. Courtney  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Finally joined in the fun, and just barely made the deadline!

    I’m touched that mom mentioned the stocking I made her – I actually picked that as my favorite gift to give (BEFORE I read the comments – promise!)

    http://courtneyhurst.com/2009/11/10/ten-on-tuesday/

  • 24. Southern Gal  |  November 11, 2009 at 8:28 am

    I’m a day late and a dollar short, as usual. Sorry. But I still wanted to answer.

    1. What gift are you most proud of giving?
    The first watch I ever gave my husband (then boyfriend) our first Christmas. It is a Timex. Nothing spectacular. I remember it costing $35 and asking my mom to buy it for me. She did even though I had only known my husband for two months. Anyway, he still wears the thing. He has other watches, but he loves that old Timex and so do I>

    2. What’s the best gift you ever received?
    My second engagement ring, the ring guard two years later and my journey necklace given to me about three years ago. They are all diamonds and I love them dearly. (The first engagement ring was a cluster bought from my aunt who had just gone through a divorce. It was all he could afford at the time.

    3. In honor of my husband: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had?
    When I was five I was playing with a friend while mom was in the backyard sun bathing. Friend and I decided to slide down the car which was a 50’s something. Anyway it looked like it would make a good sliding board. (I had already been told NOT to do this.) We’re sliding and all of a sudden my friend yells, “Your LEG!” and starts running home. I look down and I’ve got a good 5 inch gash in my leg. I can see the bone. (The bumper on the car rattled so dad used the metal ties they use to tie up brick to secure the bumper to the car. It had a sharp end on it.) I call for my mama. I’m not crying. I can’t feel it at all. so she brushes me off. Then I tell her I’ve cut my leg badly and she jumps. It took 4 stitches inside and 15 stitches outside to close that baby up. It also took my mama laying across my chest, the doctor sewing my leg, two nurses and an intern to hold me down while he sewed me up. Five years old and my leg would come up off the table everytime he would stick me. They wouldn’t believe I could feel it. Trauma.

    4. They say everyone gets 15 minutes of fame. Who’s 15 minutes has gone on far too long?
    Can’t think of anyone you haven’t named.

    5. You have 20 minutes and $1000. What do you buy?
    A new gas pack for our home. Had to purchase it last week. I would pay it off.

    6. Tell me three blogs that I need to read.

    I’ve got her cookbook and it’s GREAT!

    1. Big Mama – So love her.

    2. Bring the Rain – Angie Smith’s blog started when she found her daughter she was carrying wouldn’t live outside her womb. She’s such an inspiration.

    3. Annie Blogs – Single gal with a heart for Jesus and fun.

    7. Would you rather go without pizza or ice cream for the rest of your life?
    Pizza. I try to stay away from it anyway because of all the sodium. Too many other things I like. BUT I love ice cream.

    8. Would you rather go to a beach or a snowy mountain?
    Beach baby. I live in SC. We can take a short hop to the beach or the mountains anytime we want. I grew up vacationing at the beach every year. Didn’t make it to the mountains until I was 18 and married! Mom and Dad would always take anniversary trips to the mountains and family trips to the beach. I love the mountains in fall. (See my recent anniversary trip photos on my blog.) Winter would be a little much for me.
    Give me a good book, a beach chair, my toes in the water and I’m good to go all day long. Don’t even need the book. Open the windows to hear the waves crashing into shore at night and I’m in heaven. (Beach entries there, too.)

    9. Are you a night owl or a morning person?
    Night owl. I don’t usually hit the sack before 11:30. But my inner alarm clock wakes me at 7 on the dot every morning…Saturday and Sunday included.

    10. What word do you always misspell?
    I’m a pretty good speller. I have to think about a rat being in the middle of separate, but that’s about all.

    Off subject. I think you asked about your, you’re last week? I hate that. Just say you are in the sentence. If it doesn’t fit then you know it isn’t you’re. Big pet peeve. I also didn’t realize people had problems with then and than until I started reading blogs. Don’t get me started on there, they’re and their either. What’s up with that?

  • 25. Sue  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I’m tardy to this party but I’ve finally added my link

  • 26. Jenna  |  December 3, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Ever since I read this particular post, I have not been able to stay away from Big Mama’s blog. I have (I kid you not) sat in front of my computer for THREE HOURS reading her blogs continuously. I mean… I have three years of catching up to do! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    I enjoy your blog very much!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

