Loser 8.09: Twice! Dad Gummit!

November 11, 2009 at 9:27 am 13 comments

It’s week 9 and there are 8 people left.

They met up with Ali and quickly learned that two people will be going home this week. There will be a red line and a yellow line. The person with the lowest percentage of weight loss will go below the red line and automatically be sent home – true Biggest Loser. The next two contestants with the lowest percentage will go below the yellow line and go into elimination room as usual.

They started with a pop challenge. Fifty tennis balls were velcroed to a sign thingy. They had to jump and grab a tennis ball, run it to their bucket, and go back and do it again. The winner got a one pound advantage. For some reason, Amanda and Liz couldn’t participate. Anyone know why? Allen won, Rebecca came in second and was not pleased.

“Whoa WHOA WHOA!! Hold on!” Bob and Jillian were quite dramatic about the red line. Jillian stressed her concern about Shay. She and Bob talked at length about who NEEDS to be there and blah blah. I’m not sure why that’s their concern. YES! Shay needs to be there more than anyone but Bob and Jillian need to focus on them all equally. They need to work them all out as if they are the number one clients. Am I right? I am right. I know.

What was up with Bob’s talk with Rudy? It seemed that Bob has a bit of PMS and blew up on him for no reason. “What are you going to do today????” Sheesh Bob. What’s going on? He’s just trying to walk to the gym.

Jillian spent a lot of time with Shay. We had to take a DVR pause so I could show my dad what plank was and why Shay was screaming about it. We held plank for about 15-20 seconds and he said, “So wait. How do you breathe while you’re doing this?” Exactly dad. That’s why they scream.

Bob spent some time with Danny talking things out. Danny is quite emotional. Yes he cries a lot, yes that annoys some people. It doesn’t annoy me. I think it’s okay. He’s going through a tough time. So y’all, lay off!

(I will now pause this blog for a message from 24 Hour Fitness. Cue motivational music and a look of concern on Jillian’s face.)

The contestants headed to the circus where they learned they were going to “jump through hoops.” They each had a hoop and they had to jump through each other’s hoops. Whenever they jumped through someone’s hoop 100 times, they were out. I HATE THESE CHALLENGES. In my mind, in all challenges you should win if you’ve been the best competitor… NOT if you’re the last man standing since all the true competitors have been ganged up on. These seriously make me angry. My anger was slightly relieved when Amanda tripped and fell on her face. Then things got heated. Rudy and Shay had made a quick “hoop alliance” and said they wouldn’t jump in each other’s hoops unless they were the last two standing. Turned out that Rudy lied about that. He ended up jumping in Shay’s while Danny was also still in. That didn’t really bother me. It’s a game. Whatever. What bothered me is that they were screaming at each other and it was pretty destructive.

“Daniel and I stole two spin bikes…” Awesome. The pinks and oranges decided to work out in Shay’s room when they were supposed to be sleeping. Kind of funny, but also not too smart since you need sleep. 

Lara Bar anyone?

The last chance workout took place at some trapeze place. It looked kind of fun… in a painful, you-want-me-to-do-what? way… but still fun. Then Jillian made them have a real last chance workout. Jillian, cover your girls. A low cut V-neck isn’t always flattering. Okay?

On to the weigh-in. Alison’s hair was super cute in the thick black headband, but this wasn’t my favorite dress. Black V-neck? I could do that! This week began the weigh-ins where the guys got to keep their shirts on. Normally during this time, the girls also got the form-fitting shirts. I wonder why they didn’t do that yet. Here’s the weight-loss:

Rudy (8) – He won immunity, why didn’t he add a bunch of water weight?
Shay (17) – SHEESH!!!!! She beat Kristen’s record and lost 100 pounds in 9 weeks! Kristen took 12 weeks. AMAZING!
Amanda (5) – Not good, but man she really looks good!
Rebecca (10) – Huge number for Rebecca! Fantastic!
Danny (17) – Out of control! These are huge numbers.
Was Bob’s hoodie actually a button up cardigan?? Please say no.
Allen (10) – Nothing to report.
Liz (12) – Wha??? 5.5% – highest percentage weight loss this week. Gross.
Daniel (5) – Below the red line.

Rebecca immediately started crying  and ran up and hugged Daniel which proves that all of you bagillions of people who come to R&R by googling “Are Rebecca and Daniel dating?” are right. Yes, they probably are. So for the second time, Daniel was told that he is not the biggest loser.

The two below the yellow line are Shay and Amanda. Jillian’s and Bob’s favorites. What a crappy week! Seems pretty easy to me. Keep Shay, Amanda is good to go. She’s skinny, she’s hot, she can LIVE if she goes home. Shay really can’t go home. Most people weigh less than Shay when they get to the ranch. So the contestants voted, and they thoroughly disappointed me. They voted Shay off. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL decision people. I think that’s cruel. As (former) overweight people, they should know how important it is for her to be there. Not for the game, but for her health and for her life. Disappointed.

And there goes the orange team.

Daniel’s homecoming was sweet. Did y’all see the really tall dude in the back? Sheesh! Looking at Daniel’s old pictures is shocking. He really looks great. We saw what they looked like today, he’s lost 215 pounds. We saw David from last season. He still doesn’t GET IT. It’s awful and it makes me sad and it makes me want to shake him. I hope Daniel can help him.

Shay went home and had a great reception. I was nervous that she wouldn’t.

My parents DVR cut off after Daniel and David talked so I didn’t get to see how Shay looks now or what’s happening next week. HELP ME!

Two weeks until the finals!!!!

(Tomorrow we are going to discuss crock pots, come prepared!)

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday (5) Slow Cooking is Still Cooking

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spotty Prep  |  November 11, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Ohhh Rebecca and Daniel dating makes sense…I thought she was juts being way melodramatic. I didn’t get to see the homecomings! I need to go look up how they look now…

  • 2. Lauren From Texas  |  November 11, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I DIDN’T GET TO SEE SHAY EITHER!!!!!! Grrrrrrrrrrrrr

  • 3. Karen  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:16 am

    No one missed the Shay recap, they did not show one, is that not ridiculous? But, she was on Leno and she looked great, they try and act like it is right after the show, but Shay mentioned that she lost an additional 50 lbs and when Leno made a comment about they were just voted off, Shay looked at Daniel and they started giggling, so no Jay it is not the same day or time. LOL You can also see Shay’s “where are they now” on NBC’s site and she looks really good.

    I am not sure what I think of Rudy now, he did make sort of a deal with Shay and I thought he was rather mean to her about it, even if she misunderstood, he was a little rough with her.

    Danny sure is emotional, oop, I mean tender hearted. LoL

    And yes, for me, last night proves that Daniel and Rebbecca have a thing, I think at the end of Daniel’s recap, written at the bottom, it said that he has a girlfriend and can’t wait to show her at the finale, I am ready for the finale, I think it is going to be a good one.

    I loved it when Jillian asked them if they wanted to play with Bob or workout, I laughed it was funny. I thought at first he was going to do yoga with them, but it was cool what they did, but then they got their butts kicked. LoL

    And surprisingly, I did not even think about Tracey not being there, I thought I would miss her and it would be boring, but she never even crossed my mind.

    Next week is make over week, should be good.

  • 4. Lindsay  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Had to miss it again because of class…boooo…but what’s funny is hoe Jillian is taking over the world. I was reading this, about Jillian and then went back to Facebook for a sec and BAM! There was an ad with Jillian on it..

    Gross.

  • 5. Sarah  |  November 11, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Interesting news…they didn’t show Shay at the end except within the first 24 hours (I was watching live until Jay Leno came on and then I had to leave the room). Methinks they are bringing her back.

    And for the record, I was a little pissed Rudy voted off Shay. That was a dick move.

  • 6. DebbieQ  |  November 11, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    I only caught the last 15 minutes owing to being in Florida and sitting through 9 hours of baseball yesterday. Now I understand why Daniel was sent home. And I agree with Sarah about Rudy.

  • 7. osarah  |  November 11, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Hey…we just finished a late night of Biggest Loser-watching and were disappointed to see our DVR cut the show off as well. However, there’s good news. NBS has her transformation moment featured on their website. Here’s a direct link: http://www.nbc.com/the-biggest-loser/video/clips/week-9-shay/1174422/

    Enjoy!

    PS I took a photo for you today. I will send tomorrow. It’s late, and I’m sleeeeeeeepy!

  • 8. Stephany  |  November 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    I thought it was so awful that they voted Shay off! But then again, I love Amanda to death so I wanted her to stay. lol. For me, it was a win-win!🙂

    I’ll definitely miss Daniel, though. I loved him. And I like how he treated David when you know he wanted to shake him and bop him upside the head but he just listened. Hopefully, Daniel’s success will fuel David. Who knows?

  • 9. Lisa D  |  November 11, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I was so bummed to see those 2 go home. They were 2 of my favorites.

    Good theory on Daniel & Rebecca dating – I bet you are right!! Never thought of that!

  • 10. Cousin Kim  |  November 13, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    I couldn’t believe they didn’t show Shay’s progress…But I saw as I was lamenting…that Daniel and Shay were both on Jay Leno (Primetime) right after Biggest Loser aired. Soooo…I tuned in. I HATE JAY LENO’s SHOW!!…but gritted my teeth thru it – only to find that Shay didn’t look like she had lost that much more weight (can’t remember how much they said)…and Daniel still wouldn’t tell who his girlfriend was…. UGH!

  • 11. White Rabbit Advertising  |  November 15, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I was sad they didn’t show Shay now. I really hope she does ok. She has so much weight to lose that it’s going to be a long process for her. Or should I say “journey” – can I tell you how over that word I am? That word is used every 10 minutes on BL.

  • 12. Debbie  |  November 16, 2009 at 10:18 am

    They probably are dating, but I just can’t picture those two together…at all. Maybe it’s because in my mind, Daniel looks like he’s 13? Especially now that all that weight’s off…man, he looks so young!

    I was pissed/not surprised at all, when they showed David still the same size (if not bigger). Seriously… you don’t “have time” to lose weight and save your life right now?! Annoying!!

    ps – I’m with you on Shay’s homecoming. I was like please don’t just let her walk into her apt with her hubby and step-kids…give her something! I was glad she had a nice(r) one this time.🙂

  • 13. Abby  |  November 16, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I couldn’t believe they didn’t show Shay’s progress. When that happened, I immediately assumed, “Well, she must be back to 400 + pounds, or they would’ve showed her.” Then she was on LENO and looked great! Good to see!!

    I agree about not being to excited about Bob/Jillian’s favoritism. I don’t get how they pick someone every week to focus on — and then totally ignore the others. It makes me feel like this show is somewhat rigged? However, I don’t know how you could “rig” weight loss.

    I am SO excited for tomorrow night! I really want Rebecca off. I don’t know why — she’s doing awesome, and looks beautiful! — But she just drives me up the wall.

    Looking forward to your recap!🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

