Ten on Tuesday (6)

November 17, 2009 at 8:30 am 29 comments

Welcome back to the next installment of Ten on Tuesday. For future reference, the next set of ten questions will be posted by Monday morning each week. You can click on the Ten on Tuesday button on your right to get there.

Here we go!

1. What are some of your family traditions?
I don’t really think we have that many. Well maybe we have a lot, they just aren’t huge things. They are smaller things that matter to us. Also, it depends on where we are that year. If we are in Houston on Christmas Eve we go to church and then go to my grandma’s house for family present time. Christmas morning we do “Santa” then get together with the family to eat and hang out all day. My mom, sister, SIL, and I usually have matching PJ’s. But not that we’re grown, things have changed. We now split our time with my mom’s family, my dad’s family, and Stephen’s family.

Oh also, my mom’s family marches. I’ll let my mom or one of my aunts explain that one.

2. Do you know how to change a flat tire?
No. (Gasp, shock, horror.) Lay off! Even if I did, I never would. I’m too scared to do something like that. I would call Stephen or AAA or something. I’ve only had one flat tire in my life. I was in college. I just called my boyfriend at the time and he took care of it for me.

3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites?
LOTS. Real Simple, Family Circle, Better Homes & Gardens, Redbook, Good Housekeeping. My faves are Family Circle and Better Homes & Gardens.

4. What are your top three favorite office supply items? (If you don’t share the love of office supplies with me or if you are male, you may skip this question.)
The Pilot V5 Rolling Ball Pen – They write so smooth and perfect! They last a long time to. It’s the only pen I use at work.

A box of brand new Crayola crayons – We didn’t get Crayola brand when we were little. My dad thought the other brands were exactly the same. Come on dad! They aren’t even close. But I love the smell of a new box of crayons and how pretty the tips look.

I’m going to assume that a planner is not in the office supply category. It’s more in the “Essentials for Life” category. So my third will have to be Post Its. I have a Post It dispenser in my office and it’s awesome. I love when I get to the end of a pad and get to use a new color!

5. Are you a good public speaker?
Absolutely not. The mere thought of it makes me get dry mouthed, develop a stress headache, and want to hurl.

6. How do you feel about acronyms?
I’m not a fan. I think they are forced and cheesy and they make people “on the outside” feel dumb.

7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done? (Bloggers, feel free to include pictures!)
My sister came up with this question… She’s a graphic design major. I think it’s probably the 10 Reasons We Know You’re Meant To Be scrapbook I made for my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary. Or maybe my blog, I think it’s creative. On a much different level than people who repurpose clothing or make cookies so beautiful that you don’t want to eat them, but still creative.

In 7th grade we read The Hatchet and had to do a book report. There were no guidelines. I made a backpack out of construction paper and filled it with the items he had available to him- all made from construction paper. My favorite was the pocket knife. I put a brad on it so you could pull out the “knife.” For a 7th grader, this was huge. My teacher liked it so much that she wouldn’t give it back to me. She wanted to keep it as an example for the following years. I wanted to keep it for myself. I have yet to forgive her.

8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
-go an hour without Chapstick.
-listen to any Shania Twain CD.
-eat a boiled hot dog.
-run.
-watch Glee or High School Musical or any other super cheesy teen show.
-dance.
-eat any of that weird Fear Factor stuff.

9. What company has the best advertising?
I’ve always loved Target and Sonic. Lately I’ve really loved the Intel commercials. They usually end with “Our _____ isn’t like your _____.”

10. When is your birthday?
You have to know I asked this for a reason. Mine is TODAY! I’m officially a quarter of a century old! Last night Stephen surprised me with Dr. Pepper and Reese’s cookies. YUMMO.

Your turn. Add the button to your blog and link it back here. Put your link here on Mr. Linky and visit around.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Stephen, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , , .

Did You Hear That? Loser 8.10: That’s Like a Whole Jillian

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet in Toronto  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Happy Birthday! Blessings to you and all those you love!

  • 2. Samantha  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Happy Birthday Chelsea! I hope you have a wonderful day🙂

  • 3. Taryn E  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:39 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!🙂

  • 4. Joy  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Happy Birthday! Hope you have a great year!

    I’m sure to remember going forward as today is my half-birthday!!

    Answers linked on Mr. Linky

  • 5. Kim  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Happy Birthday!!!! The mid-20s are the best.

    8. You really should give Glee a chance, I hate High School Musical too but Glee isn’t really a “teen” thing at all and definitely is not anything like HSM.

    9. I do really like those Intel ads. Good pick!

  • 6. Darla  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Happy, happy birthday!!!

  • 7. Taryn E  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:56 am

    1. What are some of your family traditions?
    When I was a kid, we’d always go to Concordia, MO to spend Christmas with my grandparent’s… the whole Baacke clan would be there. We would walk to church for the 7pm service, then walk home, eat christmas cookies and open presents on Christmas Eve. The next morning, we would get our “santa” presents… one of them was always hidden… we would get a small box with a clue in it and would spend the better part of an hour gon around the house, finding more and more clues which finally led to our present (the one that was hidden was always the “big” one.) LOL I think the best year was when Matt got Castle Greyskull and I got the Crystal Castle (He-Man and She-Ra, for all you youngins!)
    These days, Christmas involves driving to the Keys and having key lime pie and margaritas on Christmas! I can’t say I’m disappointed!
    I’m also looking forward to Luke getting older and being able to start our own traditions with him!

    2. Do you know how to change a flat tire?
    Yes. And have, many times.

    3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites? Nintendo Power (yes, i’m a nerd), RealSimple, The Food Network magazine, Women’s Health, Parenting.

    4. What are your top three favorite office supply items?
    The new Sharpie pens that don’t bleed through paper, my highlighters with mini Post-It flags built into the pen, and white-out tape.

    5. Are you a good public speaker?
    I wasn’t… until I worked as a tram tour guide at Space Center Houston for a summer! Really helped me get used to speaking, and answering questions, in front of a large crowd!

    6. How do you feel about acronyms?
    Necessary for certain things… like NASA and such. Indifferent to them otherwise.

    7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done?
    I work as a medical illustrator, so I’ve having to be creative and artistic all the time…. outside of work, I guess the “baby name art” drawings I have done for my girlfriends who have recently had kids.

    8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
    -eat onions (I’m allergic.)
    -give up reading Stephen King novels.
    -watch giggly, cutesy, girly movies (I’m with you on Glee and HSM.)
    -give up my flip-flops when it’s chilly out.

    9. What company has the best advertising?
    I love the Burger King ads, even though he is a little creepy.

    As Christmas approaches, I can tell you the advertising I’m looking forward to the LEAST….. Lexus…. the ones with the sappy music and the big red bows. UGH.

    10. When is your birthday? March 28th, 1978…. I’ll be 32.

  • 8. Mama Fuss  |  November 17, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Happy birthday!

  • 9. Debbie  |  November 17, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Happy, Happy, HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYYYY!!!! Yay! Hope you have a fan-freakin-tastic day!

    Answers are linked on Linky.🙂

  • 10. Caroline  |  November 17, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 11. Lyndsey  |  November 17, 2009 at 11:38 am

    1. What are some of your family traditions?
    My family has a lot of traditions. My parents are those typles of people who do the same thing in the same order everyday. They do the same thing each week on the same day at the same time for years and years.

    One of my 101 goals in 1001 days is start a family tradition. I might steal the PJ idea.

    2. Do you know how to change a flat tire?
    I know how in theory. But I have never done it.

    3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites?
    Every Friday my people magazine comes, and I sit on my couch and read it cover to cover from back to front. Then I look at it again about 20 times throughout the rest of the week. I also get shape and lucky. I used to get domino but it no longer exhists.

    4. What are your top three favorite office supply items?
    Sharpies, post its, and crayola crayons. Wait… do crayon’s count as “office” supplies? If not, then Dr. Grip

    5. Are you a good public speaker?
    I am a shockingly good public speaker. I seem all calm and poised, but really I want to throw up.

    6. How do you feel about acronyms?
    My industry LOVES aconyms. I dont mind them very much.

    7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done?
    When I was in second grade I did a science project of planets. My teacher gave me a really good grade and praised me endlessly… even though my project was ugly and looked like a 2nd grader did it and everyone elses were clearly perfect and completed by their parents. I never forgot that.

    8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
    -go to the lady doctor
    -walk up to an attractive man and start a conversation
    -wake up and go to work when it is still dark outside and there is snow on the ground (oh wait I did that this morning)

    9. What company has the best advertising?
    I LOVE commercials where the iPhone is in the land of misfit toys. It is so funny. I also think the rebbock commercials for those fit shoes are pretty hilarious.

    10. When is your birthday?
    December 28th. It is dumb, but alas it is the day of my birth.

  • 12. Sarah  |  November 17, 2009 at 11:44 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    1. What are some of your family traditions? Every Christmas Eve we have homemade chili, tamales, etc. On Christmas Day, we always open stockings LAST because we are awesome. On the Friday after Thanksgiving (with Steve’s family) we go to a Missouri winery.

    2. Do you know how to change a flat tire? Absolutely not. I am a lady. Ladies don’t change tires.

    3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites? I read Vogue every month but I refuse to subscribe because I don’t want it to get bent in the mail.

    4. What are your top three favorite office supply items? Markers. Those post-it flags with cute designs. Medium ball point pens. And calendars. (I know that’s four, but I couldn’t help it)

    5. Are you a good public speaker? Yes. But I hate the sound of my voice on a microphone.

    6. How do you feel about acronyms? Not a fan. If the name is too long, give it a new name, not an abbreviation.

    7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done? This is random…my mom broke her fibia in April (long story) and we had to find a way to get her inside my little sister’s new first floor apartment (and we didn’t have a wheelchair). It was way to far for her to have to struggle, so I went and found an office chair and pushed her around the complex and into my sister’s apartment.

    8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
    Sit with someone who chews with their mouth open.

    9. What company has the best advertising?
    I love the UPS guy with the whiteboard.

    10. When is your birthday? In less than one month. December 9!

  • 13. Cousin Kim  |  November 17, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Happy Birthday my sweeet sweeeeet cousin!
    Now to all the Glee-bashers….
    What the heck is sooooo wrong with Glee? It happens to be my favorite show (am I supposed to be embarrassed?!) I DVR it and… ahem….even rewind and watch some of the musical numbers over and over again and again. (Like last weeks song from “Wicked”!) Any show that has Kristin Chenoweth as a guest star… C’mon! It’s a great show – seriously! I really like it because there is NOTHING else like it on TV. Maybe you had to be in choir to appreciate it??! I don’t know… All I know is….it works for me!
    Soooo….you guys PLEASE stop bashing Glee… There are a whole lotta folks that reallly like it! REALLY!!

  • 14. Lindsay  |  November 17, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SISTER!!!

    1. What are some of your family traditions?
    Welll I’m in Chelea’s family so her answer is my answer. It isn’t Christmas OR Thanksgiving without sweet potatoes and I don’t like the marching. That was introduced to our generation a few Christmases ago….
    .
    2. Do you know how to change a flat tire?
    Nope. That’s what boyfriends and AAA are for. I’ve had one flat and I was a block from my house on my way to school..so I just slowly went back home and took my mom’s car.

    3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites?
    The only magazine I ever was subscribed to was Zoo Books when I was little…and that’s only because they were educational.

    4. What are your top three favorite office supply items? (If you don’t share the love of office supplies with me or if you are male, you may skip this question.)
    SHARPIE PENS! OOO How I love Sharpie Pens!! And Post-its!

    5. Are you a good public speaker?
    Yes. I am my father’s daughter.

    6. How do you feel about acronyms?
    They are too cheesy

    7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done? (Bloggers, feel free to include pictures!)
    YAY! This is my question!
    hmmm…Probably the calendar I just made in graphics. we each had a month (i had october), it had to be vertical, 12×17, and it had to have images of a hand, feather, and bird. Oh, and we had to set Sat and Sun apart..
    I would post a picture but dunno how.

    8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
    -sing when there’s no music and people around
    -dance when i’m sober
    -go to printmaking class
    -drive in the snow
    -walk in the snow
    -be out in the snow
    -draw

    9. What company has the best advertising?
    e*trade..that baby is HILARIOUS
    “Frank, it was on the cart path. Why don’t you try reading the rules, shankapotomus!”

    10. When is your birthday?
    August 31…there is a lovely post all about me for that day!

  • 15. Autumn  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Happy Birthday my young blog friend!!
    #6 was a hoot to me… in the Army world where I live… I am always LOST about what anyone is sating because of all the acronyms!

  • 16. Autumn  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    oops… I meant ‘saYing”

  • 17. Alyssa  |  November 17, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Happy birthday Chelsea! I, for the record, love acronyms-that’s how I passed college! They would always be crazy and cheesiest and everyone loved them.

  • 18. mrssjohnson  |  November 17, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Happy Birthday Chels!
    And, the intel commericial is pretty awesome!

  • 19. Kyla Roma  |  November 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Happy birthday!!

  • 20. Taryn M. Peine  |  November 17, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Happy Happy Birthday!! And I just noticed you have another Taryn who comments on here. Two in the same place! You have the luckiest blog ever😉

  • 21. Christine  |  November 17, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Happy Birthday Chelsea!!

  • 22. Southern Gal  |  November 17, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Happy, happy birthday!!! I remember 25. I was about 11 weeks pregnant with my first baby (after all those years of trying). Time flies. That baby is going to have a baby now. Wow.

    1. What are some of your family traditions?
    One tradition for Christmas that I started with my kids is I cut out their handprints, label them, laminate them and hang them on a separate tree. They make me quit at around 16. My seven year old still has a few years left.

    2. Do you know how to change a flat tire?
    Yes, but I’ve been blessed enough to have someone do it for me everytime. And I can’t begin to tell you how many flat tires I’ve had in my life. Too many.

    3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites?
    No, because I hate to throw them away and I end up drowning in them. I have relatives who subscribe to different ones and I read theirs. Oh, I’m lying. I forgot my husband subscribes to National Geographic.

    4. What are your top three favorite office supply items? (If you don’t share the love of office supplies with me or if you are male, you may skip this question.)
    Don’t buy too many. I do love Post-Its though. Right now I only have black which is a pain since I have to search for a pen that shows up on them.

    5. Are you a good public speaker?
    No. I get tongue tied. I remember speaking at our church when I found out I was expecting Rebekah. I was going to say, “The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (Talking about speaking in public by the way.) I said it backwards. Awkward. Started out with a bang, but there wasn’t a dry eye in the church when I was finished. It was Father’s Day and all the men were dabbing their eyes and their runny noses. So I must be a little effective???

    6. How do you feel about acronyms?
    Hate them. I don’t text either.

    7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done? (Bloggers, feel free to include pictures!)
    My sewing. My favorite item is a pink smocked dress I made for Rebekah when she was 6. Still have it waiting on a granddaughter.

    8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
    Run
    Clean bathrooms
    Watch or listen to Taylor Swift perform live….I hide my eyes and mute the TV
    Be in a room full of undisciplined children (Wanna a little cheese with that whine.)

    9. What company has the best advertising?
    I’m drawing a blank right now.

    10. When is your birthday?
    July 25, 1963

  • 23. HoustonGurly  |  November 17, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  • 24. rachelheather  |  November 17, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Happy Birthday!

    My answers are in the Linky.

  • 25. Kathy  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Happy Birthday Chelsea! Wow…..25, I think I remember that decade…maybe🙂
    So glad I got to see you this weekend! Next time hope we get more time to visit🙂 Bet you enjoyed your yummy dinner & dessert…..aren’t moms the best?
    love you ~ kathy

    ps….had such a great time @ Bella Rose

  • 26. Lisa D  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Happy birthday!!!!!

    Good call on the new crayola crayons. We had them growing up, but since I was the 4th child, they were always a used box. And there is nothing better than sharp, never-been-used crayons!

  • 27. Ashley  |  November 18, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I know how to change a tire, but still can’t imagine doing it. Luckily, my dad pays for my AAA.

    Happy Birthday! 25 is a great age. I should know–I’m almost done with it!

  • 28. Kapachino  |  November 18, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I added my answers to the linky…better late than never, right? Great questions this week!

  • 29. tiphanyb  |  November 18, 2009 at 11:43 am

    1. What are some of your family traditions?
    The only thing that we really do anymore is spend Christmas Eve with my mom’s family.

    2. Do you know how to change a flat tire?
    Yes, and I have done it many times.

    3. Do you subscribe to any magazines? What are your favorites?
    I do not. I’d rather read a book.

    4. What are your top three favorite office supply items? (If you don’t share the love of office supplies with me or if you are male, you may skip this question.)
    Post-its, white-out tape, and highlighters (of all colors.)

    5. Are you a good public speaker?
    Yes, and no. I do better speaking in front of strangers than I do at church or at work meetings.

    6. How do you feel about acronyms?
    Necessary for my job. I’d rather say I work at the TEES State Headquarters rather than at the Texas Engineering Experiment Station State Headquarters.

    7. What’s the most creative things you’ve ever done? (Bloggers, feel free to include pictures!)
    When I was little I used to make drawings of a “new race” and they lived on islands in the sky that had spanish moss hanging from the edges. They had their own putt-putt courses and everything.

    8. I’d rather jam a pen in my eye than…
    -see my daughter sick/ injured/ in pain, etc.
    -deny my faith.

    9. What company has the best advertising?
    I hate to say it, but our local cable company in College Station, Suddenlink, has really BAD commercials, but they have a really catchy tune and it captures my 1 year old daughter’s attention, so they must be doing something right.

    10. When is your birthday?
    July 15, 1981- I will be 29 for the first time.🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

