Like a Book

November 19, 2009 at 9:33 am 34 comments

If you’ve read my blog for longer than 17 seconds, you’ve probably got me figured out. I don’t think anyone has ever drawn my name in a gift exchange and said, “Well crap! What the heck do you get someone like Chelsea? She is impossible to shop for.” Because I am not impossible to shop for. I’m quite easy to shop for. I’m quite easy to entertain and quite easy to please. Basically, I am easy to read… Like a book.

Tuesday was my 25th birthday. I’m not going to lie, 25 sounds *older* to me than 24. I know it is older, precisely one year older. But it just sounds like an adult age. I’m not an adult. But then someone posted a happy birthday message on their Ten on Tuesday that mentioned I am halfway to 50. Oh geez. (By the way, have y’all been reading and commenting on these ToT’s? Who knew that the whole world loves post it tab flag things?? I never use them. Apparently I’m missing out.)

Tuesday night Stephen and I went to my parents’ house. I originally thought that Stephen would make me dinner while I watched Biggest Loser and blogged. But schedules were a bit crazy for my family so we got together that night instead of our regular after-church lunch. My mom made TWO Pioneer Woman recipes! She made the Chicken Parmigiana and boy oh boy was it delicious! She made PW’s Tiramisu for dessert. I don’t think I’ve ever had a true tiramisu so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was delicious!!

Last night we went to Olive Garden with my in-laws because my stomach has been wanting salad and breadsticks for a long time now and since I am the birthday girl, they had to take me there. It was great. My mother-in-law ordered me this delicious strawberry cake with cream cheese icing from the bakery that her and my FIL’s wedding cake came from. So stinkin’ good. Of course I had to take a bathroom break two seconds after we sat down because my bladder is the size of a thimble. When I came back, this was sitting on my chair.

A scrapbook full of letters. From family, from friends, from many of you. What a gift! I was overwhelmed. See, I’m good at GIVING those types of gifts. I’m not great at getting them. So many wonderful things are on the pages of that book and I definitely don’t feel like a worthy recipient. As a “Words of Affirmation” and “Acts of Service” chick, my love cup is overflowing!

I’d like to show you a few pictures of the various gifts I received the past few days. If you’re anything like me, be prepared to be jealous.

That’s the America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook. I have never used this cookbook but my aunt loves it, and my aunt is a reliable source. And (WHOO HOO) Pioneer Woman Cooks.

Yes ma’am. Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volumes 1 and 2. Even if I never make anything from this book, it’s a must have. My collection wouldn’t be complete without it. I may attempt a few recipes but, most likely, I’ll just read it like a book. I’m weird like that. There is also a smaller cookbook called Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom. I hardly think a publisher was able to capture Julia Child’s wisdom in that tiny book, but I’ll take what I can get!

I’ve read Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Baby Proof by Emily Griffin. All were easy and entertaining reads. I’ve had Love The One You’re With on my “books to read” list for probably almost two years now! And lookie there, My Life In France. I’m going to be a Julia Child trivia beast!

Ignore the larger than life bridal portrait of me in the background, and my brother crossing his legs like a lady. Focus on the beautiful books in my hands. Swoon. Have y’all seen these? The clothbound Penguin Classics? They are beautiful!! I think they have 20 clothbound books released, I got 5! You can’t help but pet them when you hold them in your hand. I was reading a used copy of Wuthering Heights but I switched over to this one. I feel pretty classy when I hold this book!

Aahhhhh (angels singing), my very own Dutch oven! Stephen is celebrating the possibilities of what’s to come in that pot. I’m breaking a sweat just holding it up.

Stephen gave me some clothes from Old Navy (click here) (the other items aren’t online, I don’t know what’s up with that). He also sent flowers to my office. That really makes a girl feel special! My SILs both gave me Old Navy gift cards. I literally did a happy dance when I opened one of them. I just did a classy “whoo hoo” when I opened the other since I wasn’t alone. I don’t do dances in front of people. Happy or otherwise.

Also not picture is some Dove chocolate (delicious!), wine (also delicious!), shirts, and money to go toward my dining room chairs. Y’all, I’m one blessed chick! I think it’s funny how similar most of my gifts are. If you include the scrapbook as a book everything totals as follows: 8 books, 5 cookbooks, Old Navy gear, and food related items. So if you ever draw my name in a gift exchange or wake up just dying to buy me presents, you shouldn’t have any trouble coming up with something to get me. Although, after skimming some of the cookbooks, I’m thinking about editing my Christmas wish list to things like: a roast, wine, fine baking chocolate, and beef tenderloin. But I would be okay if you got me something you already know I love… like a book.

(That’s not a book. It’s cake. But it seemed like a good closing picture.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old, Holidays, Nights Out, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , .

Loser 8.10: That’s Like a Whole Jillian Seven Quick Takes (vol.16)

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taryn M. Peine  |  November 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

    OMG I want your whole birthday list. I had NO idea about those clothbound classics – they’re so danged beautiful!! And both editions of Mastering the art of French cooking and My Life In France! You have to tell me what you think about those cookbooks…I have visions of whipping up recipes from both of them as an apron-clad housewife, but in those visions, I’m also built like Jessica Alba, so not likely…

  • 2. Sue  |  November 19, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Wow – well done on your loot – I couldn’t help but noticing we have such similar tastes! I lust after the carribean le creseut dutch oven but I do love the red one as well. My right brain tells me to wait until I am settled in Australia (can you just imagine the international shipping on that beauty).

    Those Penguin classics have been occupying my mind since I saw them in Borders with a friend. This pic on Design Sponge just makes me lust so much more!
    http://www.designspongeonline.com/2009/10/sneak-peek-nicole-hill-gerulat.html/nicole9

  • 3. Kaitlynn  |  November 19, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday! Can you create my Christmas list for me? You really scored! Just wanted to let you know that I have that cardigan (actually I have two) and LOVE them….they are so cozy!
    I’m dying to scroll down and read about Jillian and BL, but I haven’t watched it yet! I hate when I can’t read your blog on Wednesdays b/c I’m too behind on the DVR….

  • 4. d.a.r.  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Happy birthday!!! You got good and spoiled, as you should 🙂

    I really, really, really want all of those cookbooks. And the dutch oven. Oh my gosh that gorgeous dutch oven!! *swoon*

  • 5. Ginger  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I love hardbound/ cloth bound books, and special editions that are printed on high-quality paper. I wish I was still a kid and preferred paperbacks though, because everything would be so much cheaper!

    Also, Happy Belated Birthday!!

  • 6. Jimbo  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:45 am

    A dutch oven!!! I didn’t know I wanted one until this week when every single recipe I’ve thought about making has called for a dutch oven!

  • 7. Lenae  |  November 19, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Looks like you had a fabulous birthday! That scrapbook is wonderful, and I have some major cookbook envy now 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and sending ME birthday wishes!

  • 8. Cousin Kim  |  November 19, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Yay! So glad you had a fabulous birthday. I also have the “America’s Test Kitchen” cookbook (thanks to Bon-Bon)…it is truly my go to book for everything basic. I just used it this week. I love mine!
    I can’t wait to see your scrapbook…bring it on Thanksgiving, ok?!
    Love you!

  • 9. kelly  |  November 19, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    ooohhhh i love the red dutch oven! i have one that same color. it has a permanent place on my stove bc its just too pretty to put in a cabinet! (and i’m afraid of scratching it)

  • 10. HoustonGurly  |  November 19, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Glad to hear that you had a great birthday! 🙂

  • 11. Kathleen  |  November 19, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Sorry about the halfway to 50 comment. 🙂 I love all of your gifts! I feel inspired to read a classic novel now.

  • 12. Alyssa  |  November 19, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Sounds like a great birthday with lots of gifts! Please don’t hurt me when I say this but I have no idea who Pioneer Woman is except from reading about her on everyone else’s blogs….am I now banned from BlogWorld?

  • 13. Stephany  |  November 19, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Looks like a fun birthday! You got a lot of stuff! Man. I love Old Navy! It’s definitely one of my favorite places to shop.

  • 14. Samantha  |  November 19, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    You got a bunch of great things for your birthday! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your day!

    Mmm, and I’ve made PW’s chicken parmigiana, and it IS delicious! I made her lasagna last night and that was awesome, too. 🙂

  • 15. Maureen (MIL)  |  November 19, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Well, I am only FIVE MONTHS from 50! It’s better than the other alternative! Glad you enjoyed the scrapbook, I thoroughly enjoyed putting it together, and of course I couldn’t have done it without your mom emailing everyone, and everyone who sent letters. I am looking forward to eating something delicious from that dutch oven too!

  • 16. Aunt Bonnie  |  November 19, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    WOW! Chels, you scored big time! Just my cup of tea…..cookbooks and books! See, I told you we’re very similar:) Glad you had a great day. Sorry I missed you but see you less than a week! Can’t wait!
    Love you, honey.

  • 17. Courtney  |  November 19, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I think it’s funny that I didn’t realize that my sister and I both got you Old Navy gift cards until I read it on your blog! Haha, I guess we both like ON as much as you do 🙂

  • 18. Grace  |  November 19, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    25 is older! It means we can rent cars without that nasty extra insurance 🙂

  • 19. Darla  |  November 19, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I have ALWAYS wanted a Dutch oven. And I’m 17 years older than you … where did I go wrong?!?

  • 20. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  November 19, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY and what a GREAT, GREAT gift – the scrapbook especially – but everything else too! Looks like you got spoiled!!

  • 21. Veronica  |  November 19, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    awesome gifts!! looks like had an amazing birthday 🙂 And I agree with you, 25 does sound much older than 24. grown up. yea, i don’t feel grown up yet.

  • 22. Karen  |  November 19, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Your wish list is so similar to mine it’s spooky!
    It’s not my birthday yet, but I did treat myself to the clothbound Jane Eyre edition in the new Penguin series – they are so, so lovely.
    Nice to find your blog…

  • 23. Lisa D  |  November 19, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Wow – what an awesome birthday. That scrapbook is awesome. Those cloth covered books are already on my christmas list. And I am pretty sure we now have the same Dutch Oven! I love mine!!

  • 24. Ashley  |  November 19, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    What a great birthday lot!

  • 25. Jill  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Looks like you had a great birthday! You made out like a little bandit, hehe 🙂

  • 26. Corlene  |  November 20, 2009 at 1:00 am

    Chelsea! I got the same to books for my birthday 3 months. My Life in France and the little wisdom book. I have yet to cook anything from it. I’m hoping I get the movie for Christmas. Happy Cooking!

  • 27. Amanda  |  November 20, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Happy Birthday!! I want ALL of your presents 🙂 I actually have 2 of those Penguin books and they just make me feel smart and special! I love the way they look!

  • 28. Kyla Roma  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Happy birthday, it looks like you were positively showered!! So much fun! =)

  • 29. Gabby  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:30 am

    I am green about your Dutch oven, and red!!
    Happy Belated Birthday!
    LOVE THE BOOKS!

  • 30. Gabby  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:31 am

    PS if you buy a zhu zhu pet I will be forever grateful, but I seriously doubt you are gonna find one in Texas. I appreciate the offer, though! Big time!

  • 31. Mylène  |  November 20, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Yeah for the French cookbooks 😀 i’m sorry but i had to comment on those otherwise I wouldn’t b a very good Frenchgirl would I ?? I hope u had a great bday, I’m kinda jealous of all your presents though, specially the super cute cloth covered books, i want one 😉 grrr it’s so hard to find nice english books here ( i mean u can but most of the time it’s so expensive) i just orederd weathering heights from my bookstore cause i figured it was such a classic i HAD to have it on my bookshelf, however had I known such a cute version existed i guess i would have waited until my next visit to Texas, oh well 😀

  • 32. Tina  |  November 22, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Ahhh. Those books you read and loved. Aren’t they mine? =) Time to come and visit the Hergenraders! I miss you!

  • 33. Julia  |  November 30, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I remember turning 25 and how I thought it seemed so old. It did seem like a turning point way back then.

    Awesome presents!

  • 34. Sara  |  December 14, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I love love LOVE the clothbound books!!! So jealous!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

