Seven Quick Takes (vol.16)

November 20, 2009 at 9:59 am 21 comments

Has this week flown by or what??? Here’s another 7 bits of information that you can probably live without. For more, visit Conversion Diary.

1.
Do you want to know the only thing that sucked about my birthday? I spilled BBQ sauce on my Sperry’s.

Oh, and it was freaking freezing. But other than those two things, it was glorious.

2.
Lauren is out of the hospital. She’ll probably have details on her blog in the next few days. Something about a ginormous appendix or something. She had surgery so she’ll be recovering for a while. But yay!!! I’m glad the doctors finally figured it out.

3.
Whenever you get a spare 2 minutes, watch this video. It is so cool. It appeals to the inner-geek in me.

4.
Quick Take #4 is not suitable for younger audiences… or family members. Skip this one if you are my family. Please. Or don’t… but I warned you.

S- I want this CD for Christmas.
C- Okay.
S- But you have to give it to me while you’re naked.
C- Santa doesn’t bring naked wives.
S- I don’t believe in Santa. I believe in Jesus. Jesus brings naked wives.

(Stephen really wanted me to tell y’all about that.)

5.
So this Ten on Tuesday thing… Let’s talk about it. I had originally planned to do it just one week when I couldn’t come up with something to write about. But then y’all started participating in the comments and on your blogs and I LOVE reading your answers. But here’s my problem: Sometimes I have a hard time coming up with questions… especially because I know I’ll be answering them too. So here’s my idea: You come up with the questions.

You can email me a list of ten questions at any time and I’ll post them on the next available Tuesday. I’ll link to your site and you link to mine- insta traffic! How does that sound?

6.
This may be my last Quick Takes for a while. December and January are going to be exciting times around R&R. We’ll be celebrating Christmas and my Blogiversary (Jan. 5) so each Friday I will announce a new giveaway. It’ll be open for a few days and I’ll announce the winner the following Friday. There are so ridiculously cool things coming your way and I’m sure they’ll help you with Christmas gift ideas. Be excited. Be very excited!

7.
Houstonians going to PW’s book signing… the details have changed. It’s no longer at the Blue Willow Bookshop, it has been moved to Georgia’s Market (<– that’s a link). BUT here is the thing. You have to have a ticket to get in the signing line. Boo hiss, I know. Tickets are available at Blue Willow now and they’ll be available starting at 11:00 at Georgia’s on the day of the signing. I asked if there was a chance they’d run out of tickets. She said, ” I don’t think so.” I don’t know if that means that there are an infinite number of tickets, or if they are severely underestimating the fame of Pioneer Woman. She told me that tickets will be in color groups, so the later colors just have to wait in line longer. If you don’t have the book yet, you can call and reserve it with Blue Willow and they’ll also hold a ticket for you (281-497-8675). Both will be available at will-call at Georgia’s. You cannot call to reserve your ticket, those must be picked up in person.

I think Georgia’s is a restaurant. We should all meet up and eat afterward. Or before. Or during. Or whatever. Who is going?

If you have any questions, ask. If I haven’t already asked I will send you to the correct person.

I hope you all have fantastic weekends ahead of you. We have a few things on our plate this weekend but I’m hoping it’ll still allow time for some reading, writing, and maybe putting up the Christmas tree! I know, I know. I’m a post-Thanksgiving decorator too, but next weekend will be CRAZY so I’m thinking we may try to get a head start. Don’t judge us.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Marriage, Rainy Day, Stephen, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , , , , .

Like a Book The Calm After The Storm

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Promise me you will celebrate Thanksgiving and I won’t judge you. BTW please define how freezing Houston was on your birthday (aka my half-birthday).

    Yay Lauren out of hospital and on the road to recovery!!

  • 2. Pippy  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:38 am

    My husband believes in Jesus too… LOL

  • 3. Lyndsey  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:40 am

    I dont judge. I may do the same thing. I have been spraying christmas spray in my apt. it is fabulous!

  • 4. thatmarriedcouple  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Number 4 is totally something I would mention and my husband would NOT want me to!

  • 5. Lindsay  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    When you go to a book signing, there are infinite numbers of tickets, but they give them away in color groups so they have, for example, pink line up first, once pink is done, green goes, then blue, then red…so that they line isn’t ridiculous. but whoever gets there first is in the first group..duh..so get there early!

    ..that’s how it was at Barnes & Noble when I went to Jen Lancaster’s signing.

  • 6. Jimbo  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Stephen = genius. After you write your first book, can you just compile a year of his conversations and publish it?

    I’m still holding out hope that PW will come to Wichita Falls…still holding…

    Giveaways?! YES!!!

  • 7. DebbieQ  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    #1- Um freezing? Yeah right. And I had a pair of shoes like that a LONG time ago.

    #4 – BWAHAHAHAHA! Men are all alike.

    #7 – can I tell you how jealous, green with envy, I am that PW is having a signing someplace where you can go to it. As much as I begged, BEGGED, Cleveland or anyplace close to Cleveland just didn’t show up on the “Griswold Family Book Tour” darn it.

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Oh, I’m seriously laughing so hard at your conversation! My husband doesn’t believe in Santa either.

    PW isn’t coming close enough to me. I keep hoping that will change. I can’t do a four hour drive…

  • 9. Darla  |  November 20, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Georgia’s has a restaurant … kind of. There is a gi-normous salad bar thing with hot/cold food. I know it’s open M-Friday. Probably Saturday too. There are also several other good places right around there too.

    We should all go and invite PW. 🙂

  • 10. Jen  |  November 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    the good thing about boat shoes is the dirtier they are, the better they look! mine have been through mud, and have never looked better!🙂 happy belated!

  • 11. HoustonGurly  |  November 20, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    I am SO going to the book signing! It’s not far from home for me! YAY! Thanks for posting about it… I was wondering if she was going to make it to Houston.

  • 12. This Heavenly Life  |  November 20, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    That conversation with Stephen? Sounds like something taken right out of This Heavenly Life’s Daily Playbook. That’s where we keep all our dirty one-liners, boot-wearing jokes, and quotas for butt-pats/boob-grabs.

    As always, I am ENDLESSLY jealous that you get to MEET PW. She’ll — of course — fall in love with you and visit your blog and post a link to Hurst Castle and you’ll become famous. Don’t forget us little’uns.

  • 13. HoustonGurly  |  November 20, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I called the Blue Willow Bookshop… If you purchase the cookbook through them, you will have priority signing line position… I’m going to swing by there after work and pick one up for myself and a few up for gift-giving tonight!

  • 14. Rachel  |  November 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I started decorating today.. And I probably would have started Monday if I didn’t have a full day already. I’ve been anticipating it for a few weeks now. And yes, I feel old b/c I can remember trying ANYTHING to get out of helping my mom (aka the Christmas tree lighting Nazi). Now Andrew stays the heck out of the way when I am putting lights on the tree and he’s convinced more light comes off of that tree than all the other lights in the house.

    Also, unless it was below 30 degrees, it was not “frickin’ freezing”… Cool for Houston but not freezing.

  • 15. Rachel  |  November 20, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    PS- I was anticipating some sarcastic comments about New Moon coming out today… For maybe the first time ever, I am a little disappointed in you.🙂

  • 16. Stephany  |  November 20, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    Wow. Quick Take #4 seriously made my entire day! Soo funny!

    Since I’ve been wanting to put up a Christmas tree since early November, I so do not judge. Alas, I need to have a real one and nobody is selling Christmas trees yet. Boo!

    I’ll try to think of some questions for you! I can’t promise anything but I’ll surely try!

  • 17. Lenae  |  November 20, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    You have inspired me to break out our Christmas decorations early this year, much to my husband’s horror.

    Hooray for your blogiversary and giveaways! As for my giveaway this week: I don’t think I’ll ever have one again unless I win the lottery and can give everyone a gift. Even though I used an online generator to pick the winners, I felt like I was back in elementary school picking kids for my dodgeball team. Eek.

  • 18. Maureen (MIL)  |  November 20, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Ok, Stephen, I am going to say to you exactly what you said to me when I wrote on my facebook that Colin Firth was gorgeous about your comment to Chelsea “gross.” And not because you said it, but because you wanted Chelsea to share it.

  • 19. Ashley  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Do you love your Sperry’s? I’ve been really wanting the plaid ones but didn’t know if I’d hate them after wearing them a time or two.

    Your #4 made me think of the conversation I had tonight with the SIL. Her husband was out of town today for her birthday and left her a card that said “I may not be there for your birthday but I’m always with you because I love you and I’ve seen you naked.” She was so upset about the card… I thought it sounded like a part of a conversation The Boyfriend and I would have.

  • 20. Debbie  |  November 21, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    My husband picks Jesus over Santa any day of the week! haha😉

    r.i.p. sperrys

  • 21. mom  |  November 23, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    #4 – my SIL BETTER not deny my GRANDCHILDREN (should I have some on your side) from Santa!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

