Ten on Tuesday (7)

November 24, 2009 at 9:09 am 19 comments

Today’s batch of questions comes from Molly from Considering the Campbells. Molly is mostly responsible for my decision to have y’all come up with the ToT questions. Her sister didn’t like it when she participated in Ten on Tuesday, she said that Molly wasn’t funny enough. I disagree. I always think Molly is funny. But I decided that I didn’t want to be held responsible for crappy questions. Plus, you guys are creative. I know, I read y’all’s blogs.
So anyways, go visit Molly and then go down to Mr. Linky and visit the other ToTers. It would be okay if you read my answers first. 
 
1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up? 
A teacher. Don’t most little girls want to be teachers at some point? I used to teach my sister. I don’t think she enjoyed it as much as I did. But I really did teach her real things. My favorite part was making her “take home folders” where I could write grades and letters to her parents. I’d make folders for my imaginary kids too. For some reason, paperwork is fun and exciting when you’re little. It makes you feel old and responsible. I wish I could show the little Chelsea how much “paperwork” big Chelsea has sitting on her kitchen counter.
 
2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
-When other people use knives. Unless you are Iron Chef Morimoto, you probably don’t know how to use a knife properly. If I see any unsafe usage, I get nervous. If you jokingly “play” with a knife, I begin to sweat and turn red and cry. True story.
-Infertility. This is an irrational fear not because it’s not serious, but because it isn’t the end of the world. Remember, we’ve been through this. God’s plan is better than my plan.
-Never having enough money. I can’t imagine taking on anything else on right now. Kids, cars, and house drama are in our future and I have no idea how we’ll handle it. It’s irrational because we are doing okay. And because, once again, God has this covered.
 
3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be? (Nothing responsible allowed. Can’t be used for groceries or anything)
I would say Central Market. I know, I know. Molly said it couldn’t be for groceries. But what if I spend it on completely irrational groceries so I could cook fancy meals that I would never normally make? Steaks, tenderloins, fancy oils. No? Still doesn’t count? Okay fine, Old Navy, Kohls, or Target. Can’t go wrong with any of those!
 
4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment?
This is hard. I really don’t know. I get semi-embarrassed fairly easily but never anything major. I remember one time when I was in third grade, I was at softball practice and I split my shorts open. I don’t know if anyone noticed but it was terribly embarrassing to me. In college I split my jeans open when I was out to dinner. Same thing though. I have no idea if anyone saw but I was pretty embarrassed.
 
5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
Pizza. Because there are a bagillion kids of pizza.
 
6. What was your favorite toy growing up?
I loved art supplies. Boxes, scissors, markers, glitter, glue guns, pipe cleaners. I loved it all. I used to make gadgets from boxes. I knew how to make cardboard buttons. I was pretty cool. I had my very own time machine and computer.
 
7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it?
I wear jeans every day. I almost always wear Old Navy tank tops or camisoles under my shirts because almost everything I own is too short. So this makes sure that I don’t show the men at work my tummy or back skin.
 
8. Who was the best teacher you ever had?
(Y’all something weird is going on my blog today and it’s not letting me put spaces between some of the lines. I’m aware that this is almost impossible to read because there aren’t spaces. Forgive me. It’s driving me CRAZY.)
I have had a lot of great teachers so this is a really hard question. In 8th grade my English and Literature teacher was fantastic. It was hard to appreciate her at the time because she was tough. But she was brilliant and genuinely cared about the progress of all of her students. I learned a lot from her. I can think of three exceptional teachers in high school.
-Mrs. Ward: I had her for multiple classes but the one that made a real impact was a class called Novel. We read 9 novels in one semester. Each day we gathered in class and talked about the book. I had never seen someone so passionate about reading, someone who got so excited and attached to stories. She literally danced around the room when she got excited about a story. It was contagious. Not the dancing part, but the excitement part.
-Mr. Baacke: He was my biology and biology 2 teacher. He quite possibly one of the smartest men I’ve ever met. I’m not sure how his head isn’t bigger. Anyone who has had him would agree – whether you like biology or not. He had a giant iguana named Morty. Sir Morticus really, but I think he found out at some point that he was a she. So now it’s Morty. I’m not a fan of Morty. But I’m a fan of Mr. Baacke. Oh and also whenever the chalk dust ran down the chalkboard, he’d stop class to for chalk racer contests. Ahhh high school… good times.
-Mrs. Hergenrader… Who I now call Tina. She was my journalism teacher. She’s extremely special to me for so many reasons and it would take a long time to explain it. I learned a lot from her. She was my teacher for a few years and then she left to pursue a writing career and have babies. She has three really cute babies and several awesome young adult, Christian books. (Christina Hergenrader – look her up on Amazon and buy her books. For real.)
 
9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be?
A very large truck. Four doors. Either a Ford or a Ram, whatever Stephen wants, it’ll be his.
 
10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week? It was hard! What’s your theory on how she’s so creative? Are you going to help her?
Seriously, it is hard. Are you going to help? Shoot me an email with your ten questions if you want to participate!
 
 
You’re Turn

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , , .

The Calm After The Storm Loser 8.11: No Jennie-O Plugs The Day Before Thanksgiving?

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet in Toronto  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Great guest questions! I really must try coming up with a set….

  • 2. jill  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:34 am

    I enjoyed the questions at the ToT this week! I will try to think of some questions fer ye…hehe

  • 3. This Heavenly Life  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I’ll have to check out your journalism teacher’s stuff. As you probably know, I dream of being a writer. Don’t we all?! I’m so interested in her story of quitting work to pursue her dream. Do you think she’d be interested in doing an interview with you?

  • 4. Kyla Roma  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:41 am

    lol I love your ‘tummy and back skin’ defence – that’s thinking!

    I also marvel at your ability to come up with all of these questions- you should have a google forms link that people can submit their own to, it might ease the burden!

  • 5. Joy  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Answers on the link. Thank you for hosting, I appreciate the challenge but really enjoy participating. Will hopefully send you questions soon.

  • 6. Kim  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:17 am

    2. My friend Alaina has the exact same knife fear. It’s so bad that she won’t even allow a real knife set in her house because she couldn’t handle watching her boyfriend use it to cut things.

    7. I have to do the same thing (and have Old Navy tank tops in every single color). My body is freakishly long compared to my legs so no shirts fit correctly. My roommate and I actually measured our legs in college (we were bored) and had the exact same length of legs but she’s 3 inches shorter than me.

  • 7. Sarah  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:24 am

    It’s looking like I am going to make it to Pioneer Woman if I can get out this baby shower that I don’t want to go to for a person I hardly know! YIPEE! Of course if I knew you in real life you could see the pictures. Or if you are my Facebook friend (I am all about loopholes). 🙂

    1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up? A pediatric surgeon. Then I realized that took a lot of science class and I lost interest. Then in late junior high I decided I wanted to be a Senator. This interest lasted until the summer before I was supposed to start law school when I realized I didn’t want to go to law school and that I just wanted to be a trophy wife.

    2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
    -Cockroaches.
    -Infertility. Sometimes I think I am not sure about kids, but NOT being able to have them scares the shit out of me.
    -Heights. You could fall and die.

    3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be? (Nothing responsible allowed. Can’t be used for groceries or anything) Target. Nordstroms. Saks. J.Crew. Anthropologie.

    4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment? Last year when I got wasted at Thanksgiving and I told my fiancee’s entire family that JFK Jr. was my soul mate and I should have died with him in that plane because he loved me.

    5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose? I am so with you…PIZZA. Really good pizza. And bagels.

    6. What was your favorite toy growing up? Markers. I still love markers.

    7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it? Dresses. I love dresses. I wear them most every day with either heels or sandals.

    8. Who was the best teacher you ever had? Mrs. Rapp who was my literature teacher from 4th grade until 7th grade. She taught me to love books. Also, Dr. McFarlin who encouraged us to read what we love. I am a total book nerd and love people who encouraged it. I was also in love with some of my college political science profs.

    9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be? I want a VW V-10 Turbo Diesel Toureg. Fiancee says no.

    10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week? It was hard! What’s your theory on how she’s so creative? Are you going to help her? I’ve got nothing. I will try and work on 10 questions and get back with you.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  • 8. Taryn E  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:41 am

    1. an astronaut or a cardiac surgeon. I never wanted to be a teacher (maybe b/c both parents were) but I now seriously consider that a bad move… hello? they get 3 months off in the summer?!

    2. -cockroaches. Seriously. They make me panic. And of course I’ve lived in both Texas and Florida, where cockroaches reign supreme. ugh.
    -Being a bad mother. I don’t think I am, but I have this totally irrational fear that I could be.
    -Money. Don’t we all worry about money?

    3. Old Navy or Target. I can always find stuff there that I really don’t need🙂

    4. Getting pegged in the face with a softball during warmups before a game in highschool. (Not my fault… I was talking to my second baseman when my third baseman decided to throw the ball at me.) I don’t know how I didn’t A) cry or B) break my nose… but my nose immediately started bleeding and wouldn’t stop. I had to change my shirt right there on the field b/c it had blood all over it and I had to play the entire game with wads of tissue up both nostrils. Maybe not embarassing for anyone else, but I was mortified.

    5. Pizza. If there was food in heaven, pizza would be it.

    6. Probably a toss up between the She-Ra Crystal Castle and my enormous box of LEGOS.

    7. Super cute black and white jersey dress from Express that I got on clearance. It’s knee-length, so I can wear it with heels and a cardigan and go to a meeting for work or I can wear it with flipflops to be casual on a weekend.

    8. Mr. Baacke: Bio 1, Bio 2 and Astronomy teacher. He’s also my dad, so maybe I’m a bit biased!🙂 He’s an awesome dad, but he’s also a pretty cool teacher. Beastie Hunting and jump-roping with mink intestines are definitely the highlights of Bio1 class.

    9. Either a large pickup (one with 4 doors and a real backseat) or another CR-V… either one would be for Rob. I already have a CR-V and I love it!

    10. I have no idea. I’m trying to come up with a set of questions and it’s proving to be rather difficult.

  • 9. Angela  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Hi! Just discovered your blog the other day through Just a Titch. I was already doing Ten on Tuesday, but from another blog that I wasn’t too happy with, so I figured I’d give yours a whirl!
    Looking forward to reading more!

  • 10. Sister  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:45 am

    First off, I decided to change my comment name to Sister..I thought that would be better….Secondly, I COME HOME TODAY!

    1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?
    a teacher. but that was probably because at the time that is what my mom was, plus my sister always got to ‘teach’ me and i always wanted to be what she was. then it was a professional softball player. then it was nothing until i found out what i really wanted to do.

    2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
    -Having a bad reaction to a medication. I don’t know if this is irrational but it really really scares me
    -Driving on snow. I almost died a few times the first time I had to do it a few weeks ago.
    -scary movies. HATE THEM. which is dumb because they aren’t real…but they are to me!

    3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be? (Nothing responsible allowed. Can’t be used for groceries or anything)
    Target.

    4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment?
    I don’t remember ever getting embarrassed. I lived in the same house as my dad and brother so I was pretty much immune to any kind of thing that could embarrass me.

    5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
    I’d have to agree with my sister….pizza

    6. What was your favorite toy growing up?
    home made play-do..or however you spell that

    7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it?
    jeans and a tank top with a zip up jacket

    8. Who was the best teacher you ever had?
    -Mrs. Palmquist…same as Chelsea’s number one. She was AMAZING. I loved her ever second I had her. She taught me grammar. I LOVE grammar. She lives in my neighborhood so I would take my paper to her house for her to proof…
    -Mr. Baacke. Same as Chelsea’s. He’s brilliant. He make me LOVE bio. I also got to have him for golf so that was super awesome. My favorite moment of bio was when he threw this girls purse across the room because she kept messing with her phone in it.
    -Mrs. Hergenrader..same as Chelsea’s..she introduced me into journalism. She made me love it. Yearbook was always my favorite class and it all started with her.
    -Mrs. Crawford..she made me grow in design. She pushed me when I didn’t know my creativity could be pushed. She was also the one who told me I should consider Graphic Design and that is what I’m majoring in now.

    9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be?
    Honda CRV

    10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week?
    She asks Stephen for help.

  • 11. Lyndsey  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I would just like to say that answering the questions ahead of time makes me realize how exactly alike we are and how polar opposite we are.

    1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?
    I wanted to be a veterinarian. I also wanted to play professional basketball. I never played basketball.
    2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
    I am irrationally afraid of attractive men. I am irrationally afraid of crowds. I am extremely claustrophobic.
    3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be?
    Target. Because you can buy anything at Target.

    4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment?
    When I was a junior in high school, I asked my HUGE crush to prom. He said yes, but the experience did not go well (scared me for life). Afterwards we ordered prom pictures. He got the phone call that they were ready and he told me he would go pick them up. A week later all my friends already had their pictures and I was waiting on him to pick them up and I told him I would just go get them. I picked them up and drove to the gym he worked out at every day. I planned to put his half of the pictures on the windshield. When I got there I saw that his window was open. So I threw my car into park, flung open the door, and threw his pictures in his front seat. (I would like to take a moment to mention that the entire gym was windows.) I turned around to get back in my car and realized that I had not put it in park at all. I had put it in reverse and it was rolling toward the side of the gym. I scrambled around and jumped in the front seat and slammed on the breaks hitting the horn in the process. It was humiliating. I never found out the crush saw this happen through the windows of the gym or not, but the idea that he might have was crushing.

    5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
    Pizza

    6. What was your favorite toy growing up?
    Jimbo. He was a monkey that one of my parent’s friends gave me before I was born. He went everywhere with me and he still hold a very proud spot on a shelf in my bedroom (here in KC).

    7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it?
    Jeans, t-shirt, rainbows (from my college days in Austin). And here in KC: Jeans, sweatshirt, uggs.

    8. Who was the best teacher you ever had?
    That question is so good, but way too hard. My kindergarten teacher was the best because she thought I was the smartest kid she had ever taught and she encouraged all of my crazy ideas. Like when I wrote a poem about being president or when I wrote and illustrated my own book, invented things.
    My first grade teacher was the best because she knew that she had to keep me very busy or I would be in trouble all the time, and she really tried to keep me engaged.
    My high school English teacher junior year was the best because she taught me to open my eyes and see past my own circumstances (like the time she marked off a square in the hall the size of the cable car the Jews were transported in during the holocaust. She made us all stand in that square for 15 minutes while she explained the conditions they would have been facing. Or the time we all made butterflies that were our interpretation of poems written by Jewish children during the holocaust and she hung them from the ceiling. The next class she took scissors and cut down the butterflies that represented people who died.) Her lessons brought it all to life.
    My college history professor was the best because he told stories as his lectures and never taught from a book. His exams were always the same. “Tell me what you’ve learned so far in essay format” I had him 2 semesters and I never missed his class (that is saying A LOT).
    My college Sport Management professor was the best because she taught life lessons, like “everything is a choice.” We were not every allowed to say “I couldn’t come to class”, or “I don’t know why I did poorly on the exam.” She forced us to say. “I chose not to come to class because my grandmother’s funeral was more important to me” or “I did poorly on the exam because I chose not to study hard enough.” It was eye opening and life changing.
    I have a great respect for educators and what they each bring to the table.

    9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be?
    I have the only realistic car I could want. I’ve wanted it since I was 12, and I’ve driven it since I was 22.

    10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week? It was hard! What’s your theory on how she’s so creative? Are you going to help her?

  • 12. thedailychelle  |  November 24, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    How did you fix the spaces thing? I’m having that problem too.

    I used to make fake take home folders a lot too! I’ve always been in love with office supplies. The supply room at work is my FAVORITE!❤

    And lastly, I've had multiple pants-splitting or slipping down but not sure if anyone noticed moments as well. (including the time I pulled my pants down in the library. I was too embarrassed to look around and see if anyone noticed. I just pulled em back up and booked it out of there!)

  • 13. mom  |  November 24, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?
    a teacher for a split second. Then I wanted to be a Mom and then I wanted to be a model or an airline stewardess (that’s what they were called back then)

    2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
    -Getting lost while driving
    – Large Cockroaches that fly
    – Snakes

    3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be? (Nothing responsible allowed. Can’t be used for groceries or anything)
    Target or Kohls

    4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment?
    I can’t share – it isn’t blog friendly 🙂

    5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
    pasta

    6. What was your favorite toy growing up?
    played outside all the time so I guess my bike

    7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it?
    jean capris and a shirt

    8. Who was the best teacher you ever had? Mrs. Kay – 4th grade – she taught geography in a whole new way – loved it; and Mrs. Pierce, my typing (yes typing) teacher in high school.

    9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be?
    not sure – I like mine right now

    10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week?
    She’s brilliant!

    P.S. I KNEW YOUR ANSWERS TO THE TEACHER QUESTION – PEGGED IT PERFECTLY!

  • 14. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  November 24, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Hahaha, I love how you are afraid of other people using knives. That is awesome.

    I think my irrational fear of Snakes is irrational because I always wake up thinking there are snakes in my bed and then I hold really still so they don’t bite me. Ya, that’s how scared I am of snakes, nightmares on a regular basis!!

  • 15. Darla  |  November 24, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    Got my PW ticket today. You had to buy a book there or go to the back of the line so to speak. There are 80 (ish) tickets (2 groups of 49) for book buyers. Then they’ll let the rest of us go. They ask me where I got my ticket and I said “Amazon” … and I kid you not, there was an audible gasp.

    I’ve spent tons of money in their store though so I don’t feel badly … except for the part about being 2 groups back.

  • 16. rachel  |  November 24, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    i just remembered my last irrational fear:

    i am afraid that if there is a serious situation happening, i won’t have the voice to scream about it. whether its to yell for help or to tell someone that something needs to change, i will only be able to open my mouth and no sound will come out.

    i have this dream all the time and it scares the bejeebus out of me every time!

  • 17. Stephany  |  November 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    I hate scary movies, too! I just don’t understand the point to them and would rather laugh my tooshy off than tremble in fear at a movie…thankyouverymuch!

  • 18. Lisa D  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    I’m glad I am not the only person who has split their pants open. So embarassing.

    I’m glad someone helped you come up w/ questions already! I am starting to mentally formulate them, I will send them to you this week! Promise!

  • 19. Kaitlynn  |  November 25, 2009 at 12:25 am

    Hi Chelsea! I just wanted to let you know (because I know it’s keeping you up tonight) that I actually watched BL tonight! yay! So I don’t have to avoid your blog tomorrow! It’ll be a much needed respite from my frantic cleaning and cooking🙂
    OH! And I am SO excited to see the BL special tomorrow! What a treat!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

