Thanks Y’all!

November 26, 2009 at 10:00 am 9 comments

On Monday when I was reading my Google Reader, I stumbled upon a post that was titled something like 100 Things I Am Thankful For. My friend Sarah had written it. I clicked on it to read it and comment but it wasn’t there. Which we all know probably means she accidentally pushed “Publish” instead of “Save.” Oops. But it gave me an idea. I thought about making a list of things I sincerely am thankful for. But there are a few problems with that. There are a lot, I’d be sure to miss some and then feel guilty about it, and I don’t have an attention span long enough to put my mind to it. But I think it’s a great exercise and look forward to reading Sarah’s full list.

Instead, I’m going to reflect on a few things I’m thankful for that I don’t normally thank God for when we’re standing around the kitchen table holding hands during the “What are you thankful for?” exercise.

I am thankful:

-for my high metabolism.
-that Stephen is entertaining.
-that I have a job that doesn’t involve panty hose.
-for cheese.
-for cheesecake.
-that Jim, Sarah, and Lauren convinced me to use Google Reader. What did I ever do without it?
-that I don’t have expensive taste. I love Old Navy just as much as Ann Taylor.
-for excellent Mexican food.
-for my healthy finger nails.
-for my blog and all my readers. You guys are the best!
-for all things pumpkin.
-that I live in Texas.
-for sarcasm.
-for spell check.
-for wine.
-that my family loves to laugh together.
-that I love to read.
-for my LG Dare so I can read email anytime I want.
-for quality television like The Office and The Biggest Loser.
-for Chapstick.
-for good, strong, hot coffee.
-the Old Navy makes cheap, long jeans.
-for cotton dresses so I don’t have to wear shorts in the summer.
-for text messaging so I don’t have to talk on the phone much.
-for The University of Texas.

Is that enough? I’m thankful for so much more. You know… like margaritas, free things, Julia Child, office supplies, and comfy underwear. I could really go on and on but we’ve all got about 5000 calories that aren’t going to ingest themselves.

Have a great Thanksgiving!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Loser 8.11: No Jennie-O Plugs The Day Before Thanksgiving? Not The Update You Were Expecting

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa D  |  November 26, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Great list! Happy Thanksgiving! I have been reflecting on what I’m thankful for that last 10 days and it was just the tip of the iceberg! We have so much to be thankful for!!

  • 2. Jill  |  November 26, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Great post! Maybe I will do this tonight after I’m tired and sluggish from all the fooooood I eat. Except I’m going to try not to each too much. My once high metabolism seems to have slowed down! Happy Thanksgiving Chelsea!🙂

  • 3. Jessica  |  November 26, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, Chelsea!

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  November 26, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  • 5. Darla Baerg  |  November 26, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I have a Dare too! Love it … and checked email on the long ride to Arkansas. Getting ready to watch your Longhorns!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  • 6. Jen  |  November 26, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Google reader? Explain!

  • 7. Alyssa  |  November 28, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    I’m totally jealous of your high metabolism!

  • 8. Kyla Roma  |  November 29, 2009 at 11:22 am

    lol I love you add ons to the list – Julia Child and comfy underwear! Why don’t I live in Texas?? We’re clearly of the same heart =)

  • 9. Erin  |  November 29, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    This is great! Happy belated Thanksgiving🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

