Not The Update You Were Expecting

November 30, 2009 at 9:37 am 10 comments

I hope everyone had a calorie filled Thanksgiving and that you ate and shopped to your heart’s content. I apologize for the lack of post on Friday. I had one started and planned to complete it but we didn’t have internet as expected. We spent Wednesday through Saturday in deep south Texas at a hunting camp. I have all sorts of stories to tell you about our few days 11 miles south of border patrol, but I’ll get to that tomorrow Wednesday Thursday. I don’t have pictures yet and it’s just not the same without pictures.

So today I’ll update you on my 101 in 1001 progress. I imagine I have a lot to check off the list but I have no idea. We’ll see!

6. Do something new with my hair.
I cut some side bang things. They aren’t much different but they add a little bit of interest to my hair. I haven’t colored my hair in months and months. I’m not sure why but my husband likes looking at my grays. I’ll keep it as is for now, but I’ll color it eventually… these grays are really getting out of control.

26. Host a Pampered Chef Party
Done! It was great. I got tons of great items. I’m specifically thrilled about my pizza stone. I’ve only made biscuits on it so far but I plan to make a pizza from scratch. It’ll come in handy.

37. Try a new shampoo.
Every now and then there is something that goes on in my life that I choose not to share with you. It’s part of that real life/ blog life balance. Starting a few months ago I started getting really itchy. Like out-of-control, stay-up-at-night, make-you-want-to-die itchy. It’s a long story but we think we narrowed it down and found out I was allergic to Gain laundry detergent. That eventually turned into dermagraphia and the itching got worse. However, in the process of figuring it out, I changed everything. New soap, deodorant, detergent, lotion, etc. etc. So with that, I tried a new shampoo and conditioner. I got Head and Shoulders because it’s for sensitive skin and helps itching, not just dandruff. Turns out, I really like it. I’m almost done with my first bottle of each. I’ve already clipped a coupon for my next set.

40. Host a dinner party for my in-laws.
I guess our trip to Galveston could count for this. I made some delicious food for dinner one night while we were there. Although I think I’ll do this again. Next time I’ll host it at our house. It may have to wait a while though because we need chairs first. Dinner parties aren’t very fun without dining room chairs. Unless we do a picnic theme.

47. Make 3 Pioneer Woman recipes.
I’ve gone above and beyond. I’ve now made the following (each item is a link):

Potato Bundles
Yellow Cupcakes with Sticky Chocolate Icing
Roasted Garlic and New Potatoes
Grilled Ribeye with Onion Blue Cheese Sauce
Cinnamon Rolls
Simple, Perfect Chili – I don’t think this one is online. I can’t find it. Here’s a picture. P Dub, feel free to use this for your blog, it’s top quality.

54. Sponsor a child during Christmas.
I have three Christmases during this 1001 challenge so I suppose this could be a task for any of the Christmases. This Christmas we are donating to an organization instead of adopting a family. Mostly because we missed the adopt a family deadline, but that’s okay because this organization is a great cause.

62. Finish the bathroom.
This is as done as it’s going to get. There is still no vent cover or hand towel hook. But who needs those anyways?? Right??

64. Buy a black belt.
I bought a cheap belt a month or so ago when Oprah did that 50% off Payless deal. I don’t love it but I like it enough for the price I paid.

87. Go to a Christian concert.
A few months ago we went to see The David Crowder Band. In a couple weeks we are going to see Chris Tomlin. I love them both!

88. Read 3 classic novels.
I’m in the process of reading Wuthering Heights. So far, I love it. I’m only halfway through though. I’m having a hard time finding time to read since I keep choosing to cook or read cookbooks or blog. I’ll get it done eventually!

99. Renew and add money to our CD when it matures.
It matured about a month ago so we added a bit more to it and renewed. That is such a great feeling! I love untouchable money.

I have now completed 19 items. I have quite a ways to go!

Ten on Tuesday questions are posted! Click the button on the right to see the list. Feel free to email me anytime with your 10 questions to be added to the queue. chelsea.hurst (at) hotmail (dot) com.

Entry filed under: 101 in 1001, Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: , , .

Thanks Y’all! Ten on Tuesday (8)

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jill  |  November 30, 2009 at 10:29 am

    That is awesome! You’ve gotten a lot checked off the list. Meanwhile, I’ve yet to start my list! Perhaps I’ll add making that list to my holiday break list of things to do! and ps I’m also working on some q uestions for you ToT–they’re in my drafts right now🙂

  • 2. Lauren From Texas  |  November 30, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Testing, 1…2…3… That chili looks YUMMO.

    I love your blog & it doesn’t suck🙂

  • 3. Stephany  |  November 30, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I’ve been working on my 101 in 1001 days list. I need to finish it and I think I’m only up to 60 or 70 things.

    You’re doing good! I really wish I loved to cook as much as you do. It’s just not in my genes.🙂

  • 4. Maureen (MIL)  |  November 30, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    I love the adopt a family for Christmas! We did that when the kids were younger. We called Star of Hope and they gave us the name of a family who had just moved out of the shelter. We got a list of things they needed, and brought it to them. This year, my co-worker and I are getting a family from the Children’s minister where we work. It is a family with 8 children whose dad just lost his job. I love your list! ESPECIALLY, hosting the in-laws for dinner! I think you should have that as your monthly goal!!!! 🙂

  • 5. mom  |  November 30, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    How about hosting the “parents” for dinner? I’m jealous! 🙂

  • 6. The Husband  |  November 30, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Yay hosting a dinner party for husband every night!

  • 7. Ashley  |  November 30, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Congrats. The idea of a dinner party indoor picnic reminds me of Will and Grace. I’d go for it, but I don’t know about in-laws!

  • 8. Jimbo  |  December 1, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    “I love untouchable money!”

    Isn’t that an un-American thing to say?

  • 9. Kyla Roma  |  December 1, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Okay, thank you for those recipes!! I love cinnamon rolls but my recipes for them have always been lacklustre, that one looks amazing!

    Your coupon clipping is so cute! I’m glad I’m not the only deal addict.

  • 10. Debbie  |  December 3, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    JEALOUS! i love Chris Tomlin!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

