One Of Us Can Be Trendy

December 11, 2009 at 9:30 am 93 comments

Hint: It won’t be me.

I’m pretty awful at being trendy. I’m the kind of girl who buys a shirt from Old Navy in 3 colors because it fits wells. I love scarves because they dress up my bland clothes. I’ve never worn boots on the outside of my jeans and I’m certain that if I do so, the world as we know it may cease to exist. And not in a good way.

Thanks to my Meme, I’m now a proud owner of one of this:

Yes ma’am. My very own Snuggie. The item that the whole world wants but everyone is too afraid to buy. Luckily I have a Meme who hooked me up. And let me just tell you this: it’s a perfect item for a blogger. I can snuggle up and stay warm whilst typing this to you! Brilliant. And also trendy… but not trendy.

I’m also the owner of a custom tie dye shirt. Custom. As in, it was made especially for me. And all of the females on my mom’s side of the family have them as well. Do you need proof of that too? I’ve got proof!

I can literally feel your jealousy seeping through my monitor.

Settle down, I can hook you up. This week’s giveaway is about 17,000 times cooler than I am. Really. If someone saw me carrying this, they’d take it away and assume I’d stolen it from someone far more fashionable than me. Someone like my trendy friend Kelly. She could rock this, no problem. Or my SIL, Courtney. She has a way with things like this. Check it out:

It’s a purse… of super, epicly cute proportions. If that even makes sense.

Designed and made by GlamourDamaged (<– that’s a link). She is the talented chick who made my laptop case. When you get a second (like… now) browse her Etsy store. I’m certain you’ll find something for someone on your Christmas list. Or for me.

Do you want that? I do. I think it’ll help “up” my trend factor. But I’m disqualified from entering… obviously. So I’ve been racking my brain trying to find a way to make me just a little bit cooler. Then it dawned on me. What are all the cool kids doing these day??

Twitter.

(I’ve just fainted.)

But because all of my blog friends tell me it’s what all the cool bloggers are doing, I’m taking the plunge. Let’s just get a few things straight though. I will be “tweeting” under my blog name, blog identity, and blog interests. Meaning I won’t be telling you lame stuff, I won’t have it linked to my facebook (as if I even knew how to do that), I wont be telling my real life friends about it unless they read R&R, etc. I’ll be writing quick snippets that would interest people who read my blog. And that’s it. I’ll be tweeting for the love of blogging. If it takes up too much of my time or I decide that I hate it, it’s gone. Even if it means that my Cool Card is revoked. And also, I have the right to make up any Twitter related jargon I feel like.

Get it? Got it? (LAUREN) Good.

Which leads me to this:

WAYS TO ENTER THIS SUPER-TRENDY GIVEAWAY
leave a separate comment for each entry

1. Leave a comment. Tell me the coolest thing about yourself. It’s okay to toot your own horn if I’ve asked you to.

2. FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. (<– That’s a link.) Seriously. If you don’t, I’m quitting Twitter.

3. Tweet about it.

4. Blog about it.

5. Go to the GlamourDamaged Etsy shop and tell me your favorite item.

In an effort to dive head first into Twit Nation, there will be no facebook entry this week.

Best of luck to you all. And may the trendiest prevail.

**Edited to add: If you follow me on Twitter, please leave a comment saying that you did… That way you’ll be entered into the giveaway.

(To see last week’s winner, keep scrolling down or click here.)

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Holidays. Tags: , , , .

Green Grass Meats – Winner Uhh… Not My Best Post

93 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Followed you already, because I’m quick as a jack rabbit. I’m turbulentmouse. (which was the name of my old blog)

  • 2. Faith  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Just followed you on Twitter. I’m f_a_h. You’re also able to put a twitter feed on the sidebar of your blog if you want.

  • 3. Faith  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:22 am

    and a cool thing about myself. I’m a reality tv star (at least in my own mind). I was an audience member for 6 episodes of Texas Justice and I was on an episode of Whose Wedding is it Anyways. The wedding one has forever ruined reality tv for me, especially wedding ones.

  • 4. Emily Jane  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I TRIED Twitter. And failed. I couldn’t keep up!! So I resign myself to being a non-Twitter blogger (and still trying to feel cool). A cool thing about myself? I (with the help of a very devoted friend) once made an entire World of Warcraft Night Elf costume for me to sew myself into (and not be able to sit down in), complete with purple body paint and floating yellow question mark. My only trip to Minneapolis has been with the sole purpose of going to s Star Trek convention. And I also buy 3 of the same thing in different colours just because it fits well. Oh wait, you said cool…

  • 5. Kaitlynn  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:30 am

    The coolest thing about me is that I don’t have twitter. And, in fact, I don’t really even get it. Oh wait, is the the most uncool thing about me? woops.
    hmmm coolest thing about me? Well, like you, I think that studying God’s word is pretty darn cool. Currently I teach the Bible to 1st and 2nd graders. They are AMAZING. They understand concepts that I just recently figured out for myself! Pretty cool.

  • 6. Taryn E  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:48 am

    I love love love the Fall of 1973 Zipper Clutch… white and shades of brown… super cute! 🙂

  • 7. Taryn E  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:50 am

    oh, and the coolest thing about me…. that I have some great artistic skills, both with traditional media and with the computer.

  • 8. Samantha  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Sorry, no twitter for me! I’ve never tried it and really have no desire to. You’re so much cooler than me. 😉

    The coolest thing about me is probably my handwriting. I ALWAYS get compliments on it.

  • 9. Joy  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I have so far avoid tweeting but I may have to follow you into that new world

    The coolest thing about me is that I know how to deliver babies

  • 10. Joy  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Entry#2
    I would love the Fall Frenzy clutch, with Fall 1973 a very close second as that is the year I was born.

  • 11. Samantha  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I really like the Fall of 1973 Zipper Clutch. The fabric is so pretty!

  • 12. abby  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:36 am

    First things first… The first paragraph in this post? You just described me. I’m pretty sure we’d be best friends in real life! LOL.

    I just followed you on twitter.

    And I think you are giving away the cutest purse on the Etsy site. I like it better than the others…which means I need it! 🙂

    The coolest thing about me? 2 things that I can think of is: One, my office at work. Since I’m new, someone didn’t know who I was the other day and when he heard my name he was like… oh you’re the girl with the cool office! So i guess that makes me cool (but just because I have one of those cool friends that can wear her jeans in her boots and she made my office cool.) My other cool thing is that I have a pair of red 5 inch heels that I get tons of compliments on and I think that when I wear them with a boring black knit top that they make me look like I am one of those cool kids!

  • 13. mrssjohnson  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:40 am

    My sister is getting a Longhorn Snuggie for Christmas-
    And the coolest thing about me is my wrapping paper for this year!

  • 14. Lauren From Texas  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:53 am

    The coolest thing about me is that I FINALLY CONVINCED YOU TO JOIN TWITTER. Go me!

  • 15. Lauren From Texas  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Followed you on twitter (I hate doing all of these seperately… annoying)!

  • 16. Lauren From Texas  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Tweeted: http://twitter.com/laurenfromtexas/status/6571964467

  • 17. Lauren From Texas  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:57 am

    My favorite item in her Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=35639729

    LOVE the little touch of zebra 🙂

  • 18. Lenae  |  December 11, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Coolest thing about me? I learned Arabic a few years ago. It’s fun. And I met my husband in class, so not only do I know a language not many others do, but I also got a sweetheart out of the deal!

    I’m jumping on the Fall of 1973 bandwagon. It’s just too cute not to 😀 Have a great weekend, Chelsea!

  • 19. DebbieQ  |  December 11, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Fine, fine, fine I have followed you on twitter. But now you have to follow me my friend

    https://twitter.com/stopherknitting

    And, I have had a snuggie for a year but never tell anyone. My progeny and HHBL make enough fun of me for it. I don’t think I need anymore ridicule.

    Now I just have to figure out this twitter thing.

  • 20. Tabaitha Kaye  |  December 11, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I’m following you on twitter!

  • 21. Michelle (thedailychelle)  |  December 11, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I was going to say that the coolest thing about me is that I have an iPhone AND a blackberry (so I can be in both Cool Kid Phone clubs)… but that’s pretty lame and then I remembered the REAL coolest thing about me:

    I’m in the top like 0.5% or 1% of women based on height! 🙂 People stare at me, ask me questions, compliment me, etc all the time based on that. (I’m sure you know the feeling). I like to tell myself that I’m famous, because it helps me deal with all the stares and gawking 😉 I was also in the top 2% of my class in law school. I am a top percentage girl, apparently 🙂

  • 22. Michelle (thedailychelle)  |  December 11, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Oh, and my favorite thing is actually the item you are giving away, but my second favorite is a three-way tie between the two fall clutches and the sweet pea one. I love her stuff!

  • 23. Amanda  |  December 11, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Cool things…cool things….I read really fast? I speak French? I make a mean double chocolate chip cookie? That’s all I got 😉

  • 24. Amanda  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I followed you on Twitter! I’m @teasingdiverse (it’s protected, but I add pretty much everybody, lol) That’s my blog twitter…

  • 25. Amanda  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    And my favorite? (they’re all SO cute!) The Fall of 1973 clutch…I love the colors.

  • 26. rachel  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    i followed you on twitter!

    (rachieannie)

  • 27. rachel  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    and the coolest thing about me? probably my pink kitchen-aid mixer.

  • 28. rachel  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    and I like the Fall Frenzy

  • 29. DebbieQ  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    And now I have blogged about it. You made me do TWO blog posts in one day. Gads!

  • 30. Rachel  |  December 11, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I still love you even if you gave in to Twitter. 🙂 I don’t get it and I don’t think I’ll ever join. Then again, I didn’t get the allure of Facebook at first either. 🙂

  • 31. Rachel  |  December 11, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    That said… I’m now following you (I can be a stalker without joining). 🙂

  • 32. Rachel  |  December 11, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I definitely dig the City Life Wristlet… ANd I may have just knock myself out of the running for trendiest by using the term dig.

  • 33. Jenna  |  December 11, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    The coolest thing about me (my mind) is that I have synesthesia 🙂 THAT purse is soooo me 🙂 haha.

  • 34. Jenna  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I am now following you on twitter: https://twitter.com/jen_lane/following

    You’re even the first person listed! Isn’t that exciting!? 😉

  • 35. Jenna  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I tweeted all about it! Hopefully everyone will read all about it! http://twitter.com/jen_lane

  • 36. Jenna  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    So I may or may not have had a conniption fit when I clicked the Etsy link, because I was mad I couldn’t own every single thing on there, but this one is definitely my favorite: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=35639729

  • 37. Jenna  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    And because I’m an over achiever, I wanted to blog about it for some extra cushion in the name drawing: http://jennalane8.blogspot.com/2009/12/blogtastic-memories.html

  • 38. This Heavenly Life  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    I’m a follower on Twitter! HOOray! Except, I barely ever get on there. Maybe since I have a ‘friend’ I’ll keep up with it better. But if you find a tweeting tutor, you have to share the love. I know not what I’m doing over there.

    You KNOW I’m not trendy 🙂

  • 39. Cio  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Coolest things about Me…
    umm….I get to travel during the holidays and take fun photographs!

  • 40. This Heavenly Life  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    The coolest thing about me…is my hot husband. Does that count? I mean, he’s like, crazy sexy. It’s GOT to count.

  • 41. Cio  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    um, i blogged about you yesterday….not pretaining to this, does that count? lol

  • 42. Cio  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    annnnnnnnnnd I just “followed” you on Twitter. : D
    Welcome aboard!

  • 43. This Heavenly Life  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I love the Sweet Pea zippered pouch…I would look GOOOD with that pouch.

  • 44. Angela  |  December 11, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    The coolest thing about me is…I like to throw parties. All the time, for no reason.

  • 45. Angela  |  December 11, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I’m following you on Twitter, I’m pink_punch1.

  • 46. Angela  |  December 11, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    The Nostalgia Zipper Pouch is pretty dang cute!

  • 47. Cousin Kim  |  December 11, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Those tie-dyed shirts ROCK! I bet a REALLY cool and trendy person made them!

  • 48. mom  |  December 11, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I am cool because I am your mom

  • 49. Veronica  |  December 11, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    i just caught up on your blog – wednesday through friday in one sitting. it was glorious. few things:

    1. BL – i’m sad Rudy didn’t win – he was my fav. But Danny did look really really good. And Rebecca’s mini skirt, just awful. She looks too old now with that haircut. I’m also so excited for the next one. Glad it’s only a few weeks away. Don’t really know what I would do with a whole month of no biggest loser.

    2. I LOVE THE SNOW ON YOUR BLOG!!!

    3. Loved the stockings post. Super cute that your MIL has all those stockings up there.

    4. I’m cool because I live in Austin. I know that’s not the COOLEST thing about me, but it’s the first thing I thought of. And well no one will have your mom beat on what makes her cool 🙂

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  • 50. Alyssa  |  December 11, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Is your blog snowing? I’m with you, if I win this, everyone would stop and look for Armageddon! Hmmm…the coolest thing about me, I think I read this about someone else above, but the coolest thing about me is I don’t Tweet or text but I love blogging!

  • 51. Lisa D  |  December 11, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I am honesty always cold so I should invest in a snugglie myself!

    The coolest thing about me? Hmm. I honestly never think of myself as cool, but if I had to pick something, I’d say that I think it’s pretty cool that I went bungy jumping in New Zealand!

  • 52. angie  |  December 11, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I just added you to my GR!

  • 53. Pamela  |  December 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    really Chelsea, you gave into peer pressure? I thought you set the standard for everyone else? I’m cool enough to know my limitations with spell check on that tweet thang.

  • 54. jenferlouise  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    I am following you on Twitter. yay!

  • 55. jenferlouise  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    And I blogged about it …. ( http://pearlsandpolitics.wordpress.com )

  • 56. jenferlouise  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Coolest thing about me? I like to make cards (Christmas, birthday, etc) from scratch with construction paper … and even though they may look like a third grader’s work, they are always person-specific, witty and fun. 🙂

  • 57. jenferlouise  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    And I tweeted about it. 🙂

  • 58. jenferlouise  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Thanks for the links to GlamourDamaged’s Etsy. Love, love, love the winter sun zipper clutch. May have to order that one.

  • 59. mediumcrazy  |  December 12, 2009 at 12:15 am

    I would just like to say that I followed you on twitter BEFORE I knew about this giveaway, so you know that I had truly pure motives as your twitter follower.

    And also consider me entered.

  • 60. kathy  |  December 12, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    oh mannnnn. I am soooo jealous! I don’t know anyone irl that has a snuggie, you ARE a trendy thang! I am convinced though that it will probably take me another few years for me to embrace(or understand) that twittering thing. (I could possibly be your least-trendy friend) BUT…… I CAN text…..huh, huh?…….cool……. right?

  • 61. Christine  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    I am following you on twitter!
    Coolest thing…you get to stay with me on NYE! Woot!

  • 62. Meghan  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    I just followed you on Twitter. I am Meggiemarin. Woopeeee!

  • 63. Meghan  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    And I also blogged it at http://singsthemagpie.blogspot.com

  • 64. Meghan  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    The coolest thing about me is that I work retail at Christmas and even though I complain, I secretly love it. It’s like crack to me. Even though someone hit me (in a not so genial manner) with a book today, I still love my job and the action that comes with it.

    Who knew that working at a bookstore would be so fun?!

  • 65. Meghan  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    … and then I just tweeted about it. No, seriously, I really like that dang purse!

  • 66. Kathleen  |  December 12, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    I already followed you on Twitter, and it wasn’t even for the giveaway! I love you JUST for you. (But I’d better get an extra entry anyway.)

    The coolest thing about me is my friends. I am not cool.

  • 67. Stephany  |  December 13, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Yay, so happy you joined Twitter! Also, if I don’t receive a Snuggie for Christmas, this entire holiday season will be a wash. There have been SO MANY TIMES I’ve been sitting at home and think to myself, “I could REALLY use a Snuggie right about now.”

    And I’m not afraid to admit how much I like it. (Plus, I think everyone’s just jealous they didn’t create it first! Such a simple idea!)

    Anyway, LOVE THE BAG! I want.

    So…

    1) I followed you on Twitter.
    2) I’m leaving a comment. The coolest thing about me? I have great hair? I don’t know. I’m not cool at all.

  • 68. marthaboswell  |  December 13, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I like the Fall of 1973 clutch! Super cute!

  • 69. marthaboswell  |  December 13, 2009 at 9:38 am

    The coolest thing about me…well…thinking…I’m involved with all 3 of my kids activities and their school? I say it as a question, because I’m not so sure it is cool. I do have great hair. Not my doing…genetic.

  • 70. Natalia  |  December 13, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    “The item that the whole world wants but everyone is too afraid to buy.” You should submit this to the Snuggie people to use in one of their commercials! Hysterical!

  • 71. Maureen (MIL)  |  December 13, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    You have no idea how close I came to buying you a snuggie! Glad I didn’t! It’s much better coming from your sweet Meme. I LOVE the picture of Rookie looking at the measuring cup full of names. The coolest thing about me? I’d have to say my 3 kids, and my D.I.L.

  • 72. Leah  |  December 13, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    The coolest thing about me is that I’m really good with animals – from dogs to owls to river otters.

  • 73. Lauren  |  December 14, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Coolest thing about me is my awesome Beagle…

  • 74. osarah  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Ok here’s my entry…the coolest thing about me is that I stopped using Twitter. 🙂

  • 75. osarah  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Oh, and just for you, I logged back into Twitter and added you as a friend. That does not mean that I’m going to start Twittering again, though!

  • 76. Lauren From Texas  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Blogged it: http://laurenfromtexas.com/2009/12/13/bad-luck-charms/

  • 77. scrapper al  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:57 am

    I’m pretty sure I’m not cool, lol. But I follow PW’s blog and now yours since I found you from her blog. Does that make me cool now? Or just a stalker?

  • 78. Sara  |  December 14, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    GlamourDamaged does GREAT stuff! I would LOVE to win!!

  • 79. Meg  |  December 14, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I’m pretty sure the coolest thing about me right now is that you’re benefiting from my procrastination. This is so much more fun than writing a paper.

  • 80. Meg  |  December 14, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I’m following you on twitter (megbelle0610). More procrastination!

  • 81. Meg  |  December 14, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    My favorite item in the shop is everything…but if I have to choose I’d say the Italian Crush zipper clutch. Love it.

  • 82. Megan B.  |  December 14, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Okay, I’m entering this giveaway because I LOVE this purse, and I am no longer one of the vendors involved in a giveaway, so I can enter – congrats to Steph who’s grass-fed beef is on it’s way to her! 🙂

  • 83. Taryn M. Peine  |  December 14, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Love this purse!! Can I say this is my favorite thing of hers? I also like the Fall 1973 one, but the other Taryn already said that and I don’t want to look like a copier.

    The coolest thing about me is I can sing every word and all four parts of Bohemian Rhapsody and if the people at karaoke bars would just give in and let me DO IT instead of always saying it’s too long, everyone would get to see an amazing show. Because I’m not just a singer. I’m a performer.

    Also, I’m following you on twitter. 😉 Is that all the criteria for this giveaway??

  • 84. Kim  |  December 14, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    The coolest thing about me?

    I can give a good book recommendation based solely on two or three titles you’ve read in the past and liked. Now whether people go and read them is a different story…but hey..I do try.

  • 85. Darla  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Following you on twitter.

    (84 COMMENTS?!? Is this all from PW? WOW!)

  • 86. Darla  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Oh … and I followed you on twitter. Welcome to the club!

  • 87. Kelly  |  December 15, 2009 at 7:13 am

    The coolest thing about me is that I ALSO buy old navy shirts in 3 colors if I like them…haha. See, I have to win the purse or I will never be trendy!

  • 88. Kelly  |  December 15, 2009 at 7:14 am

    I now follow you on twitter! It took me a really long time to get used to it, but it is starting to grow on me, haha

  • 89. TiphanyB  |  December 15, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    The coolest thing about me… http://paigeaddisonbode.shutterfly.com/

  • 90. TiphanyB  |  December 15, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    I follow you on twitter- I just retweeted you… https://twitter.com/tiphany81

  • 91. TiphanyB  |  December 15, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I told all my followers (not many) to follow you! https://twitter.com/tiphany81

  • 92. TiphanyB  |  December 15, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    And my favorite item was the Italian Crush Zipper Pouch. 🙂

  • 93. Stephany  |  December 15, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Three more entries for me:

    1. I blogged about your giveaway: http://stephanywrites.blogspot.com/2009/12/ten-on-tuesday-vol-7.html

    2. I tweeted about it: http://twitter.com/stephanywrites/status/6716976305

    3. And my favorite item from GlamourDamaged is probably the City Life wristlet: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=32629652

    (Yes. I really want to win this!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

