Uhh… Not My Best Post

December 14, 2009 at 9:51 am 20 comments

So I’d really love to sit here and write a fun post that’ll entertain you or make you chuckle once or twice, but I’m just not able to do that. I had a great weekend and I’m sure there are a few posts hidden in there… but I just don’t have the time to find them.

I spent my Sunday evening wrapping Christmas presents. Is it just me, or does wrapping take 15 times longer than buying the actual presents? I’m one of those fancy paper/ sparkly wire ribbon people. Wrapping is a project. A very long, messy project. And now my carpet is covered in glitter and we all know that’s not good. It’ll probably be here until 2017. Glitter is a freaking mess. I’ve always wanted to send someone a card and fill it with glitter. I think it would be hilarious. But I’m not sure that I have any friends that would find it funny… and I’m really not ready to ruin any friendships I have just so I could get a good laugh.

Ohhh look at the glitter…

I also spent my Sunday evening watching my stats. Did you know that if PW puts a link to your blog on her blog, you get a ton of hits? Really, it’s true. It’s not quite as high as the ridiculousness of Halloween or the night before the Harry Potter movie came out, but it’s up there. Maybe a few of you will STICK AROUND. Especially you Houston bloggers. Let’s all become best friends and meet up and try to get free stuff. Sounds like fun, huh?

(By the way, if you don’t know what I’m talking about, Google “harry potters scar.”)

So after two episodes of Grey’s Anatomy and two glasses of wine, this is what I’ve accomplished.

Not so great. If you happened to stop by Roots & Rings today with the intention of hearing about something other than nonsense, visit Lauren (<– that’s a link). I know I tell you to visit her all the time but I especially mean it today. You’ll get a glimpse into the weekend I had. And you’ll get to read something funny. Who doesn’t like something funny??

Also, be sure to enter my giveaway. It closes on Wednesday at midnight… which I realize now that I forgot to put on the actual giveaway post. Oops.

Also, Ten on Tuesday questions are posted. Click on the TOT button on the right sidebar. There are some bonus questions this week. Be creative!

Wow, this post was lame. I apologize from the depths of my html. Or maybe just from the depths of my heart.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Holidays. Tags: , , , .

One Of Us Can Be Trendy Ten on Tuesday (10)

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Despite the fact that you think this post is lame, I liked it! I always love seeing how other people wrap their gifts!
    I only wish I could get PW to link to my blog, ha! Hopefully the new readers will stick around for you 🙂

  • 2. Kathleen  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:29 am

    You are way ahead of me. Haven’t bought a single gift yet!

  • 3. osarah  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I saw your link on PW’s blog. You’re famous!

    Also, what beautiful wrapping paper. You’re much more patient than I to wrap gifts so well. I get too frustrated!

  • 4. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:52 am

    What’s this?! I thought you LOVED the nicely wrapped gifts sitting under the tree?? (I think i remember that from a ToT question…) No complaining from you, missy.

    They DO look nice, though, despite your malaise. I’d almost pay you to wrap my presents. Except, they’re mostly for kids who don’t appreciate the hours of work it took to get there.

    I love your posts — both well planned out stories, and random thoughts pulled from you head. Never fear.

  • 5. Kaitlynn  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Your gifts look awesome! I love beautifully wrapped presents. I always get so excited to do the wrapping, and then about one gift in I remember how much work it is. So props to you, because I have yet to purchase a single gift!!! And now I’m having a panic attack….

  • 6. Faith  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:07 am

    My husband calls glitter the herpes of the craft world. Yeah, I got 80 million hits from PW as well, but only one comment on my post. Bunch of losers. I guess people didn’t like that I made fun of the girl that had her ass hanging out of her pants the whole night. I don’t know.

  • 7. jill  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Wow, will you please come wrap my presents?? Yours look great! Mine use those store-bought ribbons but you’re the second person thus far this season who has inspired me to do a better wrapping job…dang

  • 8. abby  |  December 14, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Your presents are beautiful!!! I hate those premade little ugly bows that people use. I always use raffia (sp?) and try to make the presents look pretty. Yours are really good!!

  • 9. DebbieQ  |  December 14, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I saw the link on PW’s site and thought, “Hey, I know her!”. Not PW but you. I would like to be able to say that I know PW but I don’t think that is happening any time soon.

    Girl you put way more effort into wrapping gifts than I do or ever did. Gave that up when I had kids and they so didn’t care what the gift looked like. Half the time they wanted to play with the box and not the actual gift.

  • 10. sammylee253  |  December 14, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I looooove wrapping presents! You did a great job on all of yours. I’m definitely one of those fancy paper/ribbon people, too! And if it doesn’t come out well, I will untie and unwrap and do it again until it looks good, lol.

  • 11. Maureen (MIL)  |  December 14, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Well, now I know who I can pay to wrap gifts when I am tired of doing it. Very very very pretty!

  • 12. Lauren From Texas  |  December 14, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Your gifts are lovely! Now come do mine.

  • 13. Molly  |  December 14, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Is it wrong that I have an insatiable urge to send you a card filled with glitter now? Be careful if you get anything in the mail from me.

  • 14. Veronica  |  December 14, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    good wrapping job!!! love the presents. i’m also one of those fancy wrapping people. this year, though, i didn’t put a bow on every gift. i still spent a good amount of time wrapping gifts – i want more to wrap. haha.

  • 15. Stephany  |  December 14, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Wow…can I pay you to wrap my presents? I’m just excited when I can wrap my presents with somewhat clean corners. But you actually turn it into an art form! Go you!

  • 16. Alyssa  |  December 14, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed by the wrapping. FYI-as part of my job, I “help” Santa write letters and we used to put glitter in the envelopes until the next year when their letters said, “My mom asked if you would mind not putting as much glitter in my letter.” I have about 60 to write before the end of the week plus whatever comes throughout the week….yikes!

  • 17. Lisa D  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Your presents look SO much better than mine. I am ok at wrapping, but SUCK at bow tieing. So I just skip it and my presents look sort of sad as a result!!

  • 18. Sarah  |  December 15, 2009 at 9:39 am

    You are a better present wrapper than I am.

  • 19. Ashley  |  December 16, 2009 at 1:06 am

    Everything looks so pretty. I will be handing people gift cards in envelopes and presents all wrapped in teh exact same paper. I am very impressed that you used real ribbon. You’re putting me to shame.

  • 20. Ashley  |  December 20, 2009 at 10:36 am

    You’re like a wrapping queen!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

