Beggars Can Be Choosers

December 18, 2009 at 9:24 am 62 comments

Yesterday I picked Lyndsey up from the airport so we could go to lunch and I could see her for an hour or two. She lives across the country and we only get to see each other 2 or 3 times a year. We treasure our time together. When I got out of the car to help her with her bags (yes, multiple) she exclaimed, “Chelsea! You’re so skinny!”

Oh I love her. Although I’d allow her to greet me with, “Chelsea! You’ve put on weight!” or “Chelsea! Lay off the PW cinnamon rolls!” if it meant that I could see her. Beggars can’t be choosers, right?

How many times have you heard that? I hate that saying. I mean, it’s sort of true, but it’s still dumb. I guess maybe we should specify our begging from the beginning so that we don’t have to be choosey later. Don’t say, “I really want a pedicure.” Instead say, “I really want a good pedicure with comfy massage chairs that doesn’t cost more than $25.” Ba-da-bing! No choosing.

“I really want to buy a house with my husband.” No no. Instead, “I really want to buy a nice house in a good neighborhood with no ‘old house drama’ and a low interest rate.”

Ba-da-bing!

“I really want to see my best friend more than 3 times a year and hear her tell me how skinny she thinks I am.”

Excellent. I’m not choosing, just specifically begging. So I’m not being rude.

(Insert awkward segue here.)

This week, you get to choose your prize! Well, not entirely. But you get to choose your fabric. And we all know that appearance is everything. Right? Okay well maybe not, but it sure helps when it comes to accessories!

Baffin Bags is giving away a clutch wallet and matching key fob of your choice. So you can beg me to win, and then you can choose your prize. See? Beggars CAN be choosers. Man, it took me like two years to GET TO A POINT. (I don’t even know why I’m trying. I know you just want to see the goods.)

So you get a clutch wallet and a key fob. These key fobs are so popular right now amongst the blog world. Have you seen them?

How cute is that? Don’t you just love that fabric? Or maybe this one.

I actually bought my sister-in-law some coasters in that fabric. There’s a special place in my heart for burnt orange. Maybe there’s a special place in your heart for burnt orange too.

But you also have to consider the clutch. Always consider the clutch.

Seriously y’all. I love that. The polka dots make me smile. Do polka dots make you smile?

But wait. Not that I want to influence your decision, but I think I have found my favorite.

I love a good damask print, but it’s the pop of pink that makes me drool.

Interested? Of course you are. Why wouldn’t you be. Have I mentioned that I am this close to having a niece? Do you know what my niece needs? THIS.

Those snaps look like candies! Avery would love those snaps. Too bad you can’t win that in the giveaway and give it to me. Because I know y’all would… you know, if you could.

On to the details. There will be one winner. The winner will get a clutch and key fob in the fabric of their choice. (Fabric will be the same on both items.) The giveaway will be open until Wednesday at midnight and I’ll announce the winner next Thursday or Friday. There are 5 ways to enter:

  • Just leave a comment. Tell me a random fact about yourself.
  • Tweet about the giveaway.
  • Blog about the giveaway.
  • Add my button to you sidebar. (The code doesn’t work so save it as a jpg and just make sure it links back properly.)
  • Go to the Baffin Bags Shop (<– that’s a link) and tell me which fabric you’d choose. (Don’t worry, we won’t hold you to it!)

Since y’all aren’t the best at following directions, I’ll give you an option. (I’m all about the choices today.) You can leave a new comment for each entry (hint, this is easier for my list writing and paper cutting drawing process) or just leave one big comment. If you leave one big comment, make sure to say something like, “This is good for ____ entries lady!”

Good luck friends.

(WordPress doesn’t recognize “pedicure” as a real word. I have never been more disappointed in WP than I am at this moment.)

Entry filed under: Blogging. Tags: , .

GlamourDamaged Winner Voting, Christmas, and Hot Godly Men

62 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mrssjohnson  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Yay! I’m the first to leave a comment! A random fact about me is thaatt…I was born on Friday the 13th!

  • 2. Lauren From Texas  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

    This is my first entry! Something about me: I have in my possession a highly desired (and not easily attained) movie, but possess such incredible will power, I am CHOOSING not to watch it until you can watch it with me. How awesome am I??

  • 3. mrssjohnson  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

    AND I just tweeted about it!

  • 4. Lauren From Texas  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Tweeted! http://twitter.com/laurenfromtexas/status/6797950555

  • 5. Lauren From Texas  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:52 am

    OMG. It was hard to choose. I love all the fabrics… but I think I might like the “Coral Poppy” best: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=36905830

    Her prices are so reasonable! I’ll keep her in mind in the future!

  • 6. mrssjohnson  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Chocolate Putty/ Black Ironwork Fabric from Michael Miller for the outside of the wallet and Black cotton fabric for the lining.

    That’s the clutch I would get! 3 entries lady!!

  • 7. Tiffany  |  December 18, 2009 at 10:03 am

    I want one! Chelsea you are so great to be doing these giveaways, especially at Christmas! I jsut hope I get to win something:)

  • 8. Emily  |  December 18, 2009 at 10:03 am

    OOO I LOVE those! I never would have thought of that for a suther clip thingy.
    Random fact about me: I watch Road to Avonlea (don’t judge)

  • 9. Emily  |  December 18, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I also tweeted about this giveaway 🙂

  • 10. Kathleen  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:14 am

    This is my entry…count it!

  • 11. Sister  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:19 am

    I usually never try to get these things because I’m your sister and I don’t know that it’s fair. BUT I want that. It’s super cute. SOOO This is my comment..Also? Aren’t mom and dad’s potential christmas presents AWESOME?

  • 12. Samantha  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:30 am

    I love those little key fobs! Something about myself… hmm… all this week, I’ve attempted to bake for the first time ever. (Besides brownies and other silly things like that). It’s been quite the experience and I’m working on writing about it, lol.

  • 13. Samantha  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:36 am

    As for fabrics, I think I like the Black Paisley or the Asian Cherry Blossoms. She has some really cute things… and good prices!

  • 14. Kate  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:42 am

    So pretty!

    Rando fact: I am the youngest of five kids (all by the same parents :))

  • 15. Kyla Roma  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Love it!

    Random Fact: I haven’t used my sewing machine since the spring & I’m hauling it out today & am going to hope for the best!

  • 16. amy  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Love the giveaways!
    Random Fact: I have ran 7 half marathons but ran 5 of them in 1 year span.

  • 17. Tabaitha Kaye  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Cute fabrics!

  • 18. Kim  |  December 18, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Chelsea! This is TWO ENTRIES:

    1) Random fact about myself….I am actually a natural born citizen of Texas, I always knew I was born IN Texas but didn’t find out until a couple of years ago the honor that this is…apparently my mom did have a “Texas Citizen” decree thing or something for me…but before I could even walk she spilled gravy on it and threw it out. But, I comfort myself that if Texas ever seceded from the US I could probably obtain citizenship to make visiting John & Molly easier.

    2) The fabric I’d choose! Is the chocolate brown & pink damask, I love brown and pink together!

  • 19. scrapper al  |  December 18, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Thanks for introducing Baffin Bags to us. A random factoid? I vermicompost (don’t be grossed out, it is good for the garden).

  • 20. Rachel  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I’ve been battling a Diet coke addiction since my junior year of high school. And by battling I mean giving in to. (this is my entry 1)

  • 21. Rachel  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    How can you pick one fabric??? They’re SO cute. I love the monkey because of Caden’s nickname… but I LOVE the green chez moi. (entry 2)

  • 22. timlinzrowland  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    My random fact about myself…… I love to learn new things like, sewing, knitting, decoupage, and the list could go on. Man would I love to know how to sew good enough to make some cute clutches like on Baffin Bags site. Oh well maybe I win one !

  • 23. timlinzrowland  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    If I win I think I would pick either the Lily in Espresso or the Blue and Brown Damask…. hard choice!

  • 24. Amanda  |  December 18, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    This is good for 2 entries 🙂

    1. I can not snap. At all.

    2. I would choose the poppy fabric! 🙂

  • 25. eleanorstrousers  |  December 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I never learned how to ride a bicycle. Isn’t that sad?

    Sad enough to make me a winner?

  • 26. ThatMarriedCouple  |  December 18, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    The damask clutch needs to be mine. Now.

    Thanks for hosting another fun giveaway!

  • 27. Heather  |  December 18, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    I LOVE the coasters (this is the SIL speaking) they’re so cute, and they are reversible, so they have a more ‘manly’ leather look side for when my boyfirend uses them 🙂

    I don’t understand this blog entry thing, but does this count as an entry?

    I’d want the last black/white fabric with the pink lining

  • 28. barbetti  |  December 18, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Random fact about me – I LOVE polka dots. I wore polka dotted undies on my wedding night. Weeeeee!

  • 29. barbetti  |  December 18, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    And um, I love everything polka-dotted in that etsy store! But I’m particularly drawn to the orange elephant with the striped fabric. I have a thing for elephants.

  • 30. Lisa D  |  December 18, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I am also a huge fan of damask!!

  • 31. Gabby  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I have bungee jumped before on a dare at Myrtle Beach.

  • 32. Gabby  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Sage green damask organizer bag.

    That’s two entries missy, and a friend that says you are skinny is a prize in itself!

  • 33. Abby  |  December 18, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    I’m thinking about starting to train for a half marathon next week!

  • 34. mom  |  December 19, 2009 at 12:37 am

    You are disappointed in me when I don’t comment but since I can’t win, I”m not commenting on your blog except to say, Lyndsey is right – you are skinny and cute and all that stuff….and those bags are cute – most of the fabric choices are cute – although I don’t know why I looked since I can’t win….okay I am not commenting on your blog today.

  • 35. Jenna  |  December 19, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    HI, my name’s Jenna and I taller than the average height man.

  • 36. Jenna  |  December 19, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    TWEETED: http://twitter.com/jen_lane

  • 37. Jenna  |  December 19, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    I died a little inside when I saw this item.

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37038686

  • 38. Angie  |  December 20, 2009 at 1:29 am

    oooh, love this!! My favorite fabric is that damask print. Gorgeous.

  • 39. Angie  |  December 20, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Random fact about me: I was born on Father’s Day

  • 40. Fifteen « Road to Anywhere  |  December 20, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    […] in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment Before I start for today, I’d like to mention an awesome giveaway! <- That’s a […]

  • 41. Jessica  |  December 20, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Ok so for my random fact: I couldn’t touch type at all until I started talking to my friends on aim almost everyday after school. My wpm is about 80 now.

    I really like the carnival bloom print! It’s so cute!

    That’s 3 total. I think my blog link is posted in the comment above.

    I wish my friends called me skinny!

  • 42. Ashley  |  December 20, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    I need friends who call me skinny, what a great friend!

    Random fact: I got in a word fight in Kindergarden with 2 other girls because we were all certain we couldn’t have the same first name… only child, yes I am! 🙂

  • 43. Jill  |  December 20, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Random fact: I got put on blood pressure medication on Friday 😦 Am not happy about this!

    Tweeted you! Check your @ replies 🙂

    Added your button!

    Fabric…I think I like the Leopard on Hot Pink!

    Gotta go to bed now, but I’ll try to blog you tmrw 🙂 I think this so far makes me good for 4 entries.

  • 44. Christina  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Random fact about me: I refuse to eat food with nuts in it because the texture of nuts makes me feel like I’m eating my own teeth!

    (First Entry)

  • 45. Christina  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Entry Number 2:

    I like the pink corriander fabric – so cute!!

  • 46. Taryn E  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Entry #1: Love the Brown-Blue Damask… oddly enough, i think it matches my guest bedroom 🙂

  • 47. Debbie  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:33 am

    omg those are awesome!!! i love damask!!

    random fact: when I was 8, I had to have stitches in my knee from being thrown on a slip-in-slide. apparently it wasnt fun enough for us to run and slide, we wanted my dad to throw us. 7 stitches later…running was, in fact, the better option.

  • 48. Taryn E  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Entry #2: Random fact….I am good friends with 4 people that all have the same birthday as me, March 28th. Noel was born in 1980, Teresa and I in 1978, Steve in 1976 and Jason in 1974.

  • 49. Taryn M. Peine  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    SUCH cute stuff Chelsea!! Here’s a random fact about me: I used to be a DJ at a radio station and my biggest event ever was doing a live broadcast from the opening of Bartlesville’s Golden Corral. Yay for a buffet!

  • 50. Christine  |  December 21, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I would LOVE a new purse!
    random fact about myself: i love looking up the weather on weather.com…nerdy I know!

  • 51. TiphanyB  |  December 21, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Entry #1:
    Random Fact: I was born Tiphany Amber Myers, with the initials TAM, representing Texas A&M University. My Dad was class of “80 at TAMU and in the Corps. And yes, I still love reading your blog even though you have such an affinity to burnt orange.

  • 52. Alyssa  |  December 21, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Those are super flippin’ cute! Random fact…going off Tiphany’s random fact about you and burnt orange, my wedding dress had burnt orange in it…it was pretty awesome! As for what kind of fabric I would choose, I really like the white with the green design on it.

  • 53. TiphanyB  |  December 21, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Entry #2:
    Baffin Bags Shop Fabric Choice: Chocolate Brown Spa Blue fabric from Joel Dewberry

  • 54. TiphanyB  |  December 21, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Entry #3:
    Tweeted about it… http://twitter.com/tiphany81

  • 55. TiphanyB  |  December 21, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Non-Entry:
    You should check out http://www.thelittlelasso.com/ These are great for baby shower gifts, and they are handmade in Austin!

  • 56. Sarah  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Those are too cute, Chelsea!

    Random fact: I experienced -20 degrees F this weekend and seriously thought I might die…or lose a toe or finger.

  • 57. Sarah  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:16 am

    That shop is great. I will have to bookmark it for next year’s birthdays!

    My favorite is a tie between the green damask print clutch and the burnt orange stuff you featured.

  • 58. Joy  |  December 22, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Entry #1
    Random fact: I’m half-Belgian so while I’ve lived my whole life in the U.S, having grandparents in Belgium allowed for some cool summer vacations

  • 59. Joy  |  December 22, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Entry #2
    Lime Green / Turquoise Blue floral fabric please & thank you

  • 60. Joy  |  December 22, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Attempt at #3
    Your button is on my blog but I can’t get it work either, sorry 😦

  • 61. Suburban Sweetheart  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Good God do I love damask. Fact about me: I secretly want to be way girlier than I am, & all the damn blogs I read aren’t helping! I just don’t know how to do it! Help me out? 😉

  • 62. mediumcrazy  |  December 23, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I’m a late enter-er. Super super cute stuff though. Random fact about me: My middle name is Elizabeth. Ugh…could I have given you a more boring random fact!? Maybe it would help if my middle name were more exciting than Elizabeth. But hey, I don’t worry about the things I can’t control.

    Also I have been meaning to add you a whole bunch of other people to my links page that I still haven’t gotten around to completing yet…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

