Why Don’t People Read Blogs Over Christmas Break?

December 24, 2009 at 10:34 am 15 comments

Answer me this. Why don’t people read blogs during vacation? Doesn’t vacation mean that you have more time to do what you want? Seems backwards to me.

Answer me this too. Why is it that on my wonderful and oh-so-rare day off of work, it rains cat and dogs and gives me a headache? I’m actually blogging in bed people. Trying to muster up the strength to get up and do something productive like wrap my brother’s present or make a cheesecake. I’m just not feeling it though.

Today I want you to do three things. I don’t ask much of you, so hear me out.

1. Prepare your mind and heart for tomorrow and what it’s really all about.
2. Do not sing or listen to Hark the Harold Angels Sing. (For reasons we have discussed. <– link It’s worth rereading.)
3. Listen to this song. You will not be disappointed. You don’t have to watch the video, it’s just words and pictures. But definitely listen.

I’ll be back later to announce the giveaway winner!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Holidays. Tags: , , .

Rookie Mistake Merry Christmas From The Family

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maureen (M.I.L)  |  December 24, 2009 at 10:43 am

    That was beautiful. Hope you feel better! Don’t worry about making all the stuff for tomorrow if you don’t feel well! Take care of yourself. xxxooo

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:28 am

    And answer me this: Why is it supposed to rain here on Christmas day?

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. Thanks for the music. Love Chris Tomlin. I’m going to post a video tomorrow that I love. Hopefully…since it is Christmas and I try to stay off the computer. Does that answer one of your questions?

  • 3. Pippy  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Sorry you’re feeling bad!

    You may not know it yet, but you saved my husband’s Christmas. So Thank You!
    I blogged about it, I figure you will find it amusing.

    Have a Merry Christmas!!!!

  • 4. Kyla Roma  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I think there are so many people who live away from their families that they end up having to travel, so a lot of people really just aren’t at home to read. And I think too that work gets really nuts right before the holidays so people lose their ability to browse at work. But for me, I’m with you! This is the time to catch up on reading!

    Merry Christmas!

  • 5. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:47 am

    I’ve been wondering the same thing about a lack of readers. My guess is that we’re all busy wrapping and baking and driving. But…it still makes me sad.

    I’m so glad you posted today, because hardly anybody is! (Not even ME!) I’m all lonely.

    Feel better soon! And Merry Christmas!

  • 6. Southern Gal  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I just read the Angels We Have Heard on High link and it makes me giggle. Now I’ll be singing about your day bed in my head. Your dad sounds like a great man.
    My dad does the same thing. He also used to take me and my sister to the grocery store when we were young (and teenagers). While going down the aisles he would sing at the top of his lungs, “Oh, yingle bells, yingle bells, yingle all the way…” It was NOT Christmas. We would run over his heels with the grocery cart!

  • 7. DebbieQ  |  December 24, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Hope you feel better soon. Look at it this way, you can actually blog in bed. How wonderful is that!!

    I have also wondered about the lack of readers…and I don’t have that many to begin with. We are all just wrapped up in playing with out kids or in my case watching my 20somethings with their friends baking in my kitchen. Oh the MESS! But oh the laughter.

  • 8. scrapper al  |  December 24, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Blogging from bed, that sounds like fun! I hope people are reading blogs this week or next week since I plan on updating mine.

  • 9. Ashley  |  December 24, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I’m not reading a lot of blogs, because I’m at home WITHOUT wireless, so commenting on blogs means ignoring my family for a while. It’s hard to keep up. But, I hope you have a Merry Christmas and start feeling better!

  • 10. Kathleen  |  December 24, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    I’m confused. Why shouldn’t we listen to Hark the Herald Angels Sing?

  • 11. zburrows  |  December 28, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Because….. some people go to Jasper Texas during their holiday and the internet connection is so slow that it makes them cry.

  • 12. Cousin Kim  |  December 28, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” and “Angels We Have Heard on High” are two DIFFERENT songs. Both are VERY good! One just has a little less discomfort attached to it for you…. :o) And therefore let us all sing “…comfort and Joy”. I hope you had a Merry Christmas! Avery’s on her wayyyyy less than 24 hours! Hang in there Auntie!

  • 13. Lisa D  |  December 28, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I didn’t read blogs since I was home w/ an extremely SLOW internet connection. If I was actually on a real Christmas vacation where I had more than Christmas Eve/Day off, I totally would have taken advantage of the down time & read blogs!!

  • 14. mom  |  December 29, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    You listed the wrong song….Hark the Herald Angels Sing is NOT polluted by your dad….

  • 15. calamityshana  |  December 29, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I left my laptop at home over Christmas break, on purpose. It was like internet Christmas when I got home, catching up on old blogs and finding new ones, HI!, and finally feeling the right amount of inspiration to start my own!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

