The Reason My Sister In Law Deserves An Award

December 30, 2009 at 9:56 am 51 comments

The average newborn is 7.5 pounds. The average woman is 5’4. These are things to remember throughout this post. Another thing to remember: excluding C-Section (which she did not have), there is only one way for a baby to get out of it’s momma.

This is my sister-in-law, Laura. Next to her is my brother, Justin. This was on our cruise over Spring Break.

Neither of them are average, as you can see. Laura is like 5’2 and probably about negative 100 pounds. She is tiny.

She was getting pretty big the last month or so of her pregnancy. She hadn’t gained a single ounce anywhere but her belly. About two weeks ago, the doctor told her that Avery was probably about 7 pounds. Doctors can be wrong. Did you know that? This doctor was either wrong, or Avery is super-human.

Family, friends, strangers, and internet. I introduce to you…. Avery Claire.

All (not average) 9 pounds .02 ounces of her. I would say that they switched the babies in the nursery but that’s not possible. Justin saw it happen. Live and in the flesh.

Tiny Laura + Chunky Avery = … do the math. Laura needs some major recovery prayers.

Proud daddy. (Let me take a moment to gather myself…. my brother is a daddy…. oh my gosh… my brother… is a… daddy…)

Β 

Those are my parents. Mom and Dad, what are you new names? Word on the street is that my mom may go by Nana. I haven’t heard any rumors about my dad yet.

That’s my sister. And my niece.

Stephen, me, my bangs, and Avery. Have I ever told you I have tiny, bony wrists?

I’m smiling because I’m dreaming about holding her thighs. I love fat baby thighs. They are one of life’s great joys. She didn’t want her thighs squeezed last night but she told me I could do it in a couple weeks.

I know, I know. SHE’S AMAZING!

The whole family, minus Laura.

Avery,

Welcome! We’re so glad you’re here and healthy. I can’t wait to get to know you and love on you. You are beautiful and so very special to all of us.

I hope your birth wasn’t as traumatic for you as it was for your parents. The doctor thought you could use that time in there to cook a bit more but it seems like you’re quite done. The buzzer should have gone off a few weeks ago.

I hope you don’t get mad at me when you’re a teenager for putting you on the internet. It’s just that so many people wanted to see your pretty face.

Β Miss Avery, I love you so much and already miss you. Can I please pinch your cheeks?

Love,
Aunt Chelsea

Leave some love for Justin, Laura, and Avery!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old, Stephen. Tags: , , .

No Room In The Inn, So We’ll Talk About Me Instead I Think I’m In Trouble

51 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aunt Bonnie  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Already sent them my love. Can’t imagine the size of Miss Avery. Prayers for all of them, even Aunt Chelsea.

  • 2. zburrows  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:03 am

    She looks HUGE in the pic of her and laura and tiny in the one of her and justin. I want to smell her baby hair…. and kiss her baby neck.

    I got to kiss my cousin’s new baby’s baby neck at christmas. it was glorious.

    Congrats to the entire Rosenhagen clan! Nana and Grandfather with a super cute name to follow…. I know you will spoil her rotten.

  • 3. dad  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Avery is beautiful and ready to take on the world! I love her little whimper and I’m anxious to spend lots of time with her. Congratulations mom and dad!

  • 4. dad  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:05 am

    By the way, I’m grandpa until Avery comes up with another name for me.

  • 5. Nemma  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Hi. Hope you dont mind me butting in. I came across your post on the tag surfer.
    It made me smile.
    My ELdest was a whopping 9lbs half an ounce when I had him. Bearing in mind the average baby is around 50-52cms long Jack was a whopping 59cms long!!!!!!!!!
    Im a bit of a shortie too measuring 5’3. We were panicing at one point that the beautiful little newborn outfits that we had bought would have to have the feet cut off. Luckily that didnt happen.
    Jack is still very big for his age (4) and we always joke that he never looked like a newborn.

    COngratulations from England. Enjoy your new little gift and best wishes for the future

  • 6. Maureen (MIL)  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I cried looking at Kurt’s photos that Stephen forwarded to me! She is so beautiful. It is amazing that little Laura gave birth to her! John and I are so happy for all the Rosenhagens! and Laura’s family too! God Bless little Avery, she is one very blessed little girl!

  • 7. Pamela  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Love to you all.

  • 8. Clare  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:41 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    I love your dad’s comment “by the way, I’m grandpa until Avery comes up with another name for me” she already has him wrapped around her finger!

  • 9. Taryn E  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:42 am

    wow… 9lbs! Poor Laura! Avery is going to be like Luke… bypass all those cute newborn clothes, spend a week in 0-3month stuff and just decide to go straight into 3-6months sizes! πŸ™‚ She is gorgeous! Have fun being an Aunt and give Justin and Laura my love!

  • 10. Cousin Kim  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Loving everything! (except that Laura isn’t feeling well….) Love to all of you! There’s NOTHING like a new baby…they just make everything feel new. :o)
    Chels –
    YOUR TURN!

  • 11. Martha  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:55 am

    She is absolutely gorgeous, just like her momma.. I’m so happy for you all, I’m sure she will be a major blessing to the family.. Thank you so much for sharing the pictures. Please tell them I’m praying for them and congrats!!

    Many Blessings..

  • 12. Debbie Flores  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Laura and Justin,

    Congratulations!!! Avery is beautiful and such a little blessing and miracle. I can’t wait to meet her! I’m always here for you guys if you ever need anything. Everyone looks so happy!!! Yay, welcome to the world Avery, there is so much love surrounding you already…

  • 13. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Let me take a moment for the requisite AWWWWWW!!

    And now, let me take a moment for a serious question: can you honestly say that holding that sweet little girl in your arms didn’t make your uterus sing?

    She’s perfect πŸ™‚

  • 14. fritz  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:59 am

    yes your sister in law is my new hero! many congratulations to everyone!!! have an awesome new year as an aunt!!

  • 15. Southern Gal  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Amazing. She is gorgeous. Thanks for posting all the pictures. And just a word of advice. Thigh pinching may be OK, but most don’t like the cheek pinching thing. Just sayin’.

    And yes. Doctors can get it wrong. Scheduled induction with my last yielded a 10 lb. 7 oz. boy. (The first was 8lb 12oz and the middle 9lb 5oz. They get BIGGER just like my feet!!)

  • 16. Sister  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I already miss her too! I want to spend the whole day with her! Justin is going to have SOOOO much fun squishing her face. I’m so glad the torch has been passed from me to her.

    Oh, and Dad wants to go by Grandpa..I think Grand dad (sp?) is better, but he practically refuses to go by anything by Grandpa.

  • 17. Caroline  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Congratulations!

  • 18. Faith  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:27 am

    My SIL weighed 100lbs and had a 10lb baby. They had to break his collar bone to get him out and that poor kid literally ripped her a new one so I feel for your SIL. Ouch! Enjoy being an Aunt!

  • 19. Jen Lynn  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Oh my word what a big sweet blessing she is!!! How cute, I love love love chubby babies…do you think Laura and Justin would let me come over and squeeze her thighs and arms?? I am VERY impressed with Laura, I can only imagine how hard that must have been. Lots of love and prayers for them and their new baby girl Avery!

  • 20. Adrienne Wells  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I kept telling her she was going to have a monster sized baby, but I was only kidding. She did NOT look like she had a 9lb baby in her. She had almost as much weight in one baby as I had in two! Laura is more amazing now than ever. I’d like to send her a cyber high five.

  • 21. mom (Nana)  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    My precious little granddaughter has entered our lives! She is amazing – just like her parents – and will be showered with lots of love. Yes, she will probably be spoiled, but hopefully not spoiled ROTTEN. My son is a daddy….just hard to take that in. He’s going to be an awesome daddy and Laura is going to be an amazing mom. Welcome to parenthood and enjoy the ride!

  • 22. Tabaitha Kaye  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    She is beautiful. Congratulations to your family.

  • 23. Vanessa  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Awww! Congrats! She is absolutely precious! I love big babies. My niece was 9 lbs 6 ozs. LOVE big babies!

  • 24. osarah  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Yay! She’s beautiful! Congrats to alll again, and Laura, we hope you recover quickly!

  • 25. scrapper al  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Congratulations Aunt Chelsea! You have a beautiful niece and family.

  • 26. mrssjohnson  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Awesome! Congrats!
    Laura- get well soon!
    Chelsea- you’re such a great aunt (not great aunt but great -take a breath- aunt)! Jimbo and I are close with our aunts and it’s a special relationship!

  • 27. mrssjohnson  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    By the way I was 8lb 8 oz! But my Momma had C-sections… so this comment is pretty worthless now.

  • 28. kristin cole  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Holy cow! How did 9 lbs even fit inside of laura! Wow….she does deserve an award! =) she is so beautiful though. Congrats aunt chelsea

  • 29. Amanda  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Congrats! What a cute baby, and your SIL is a *champ*

  • 30. Tiffany  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Congrats Aunt Chelsea and Uncle Stephen!! She is such a cutie!! Take tons of pictures she will change so fast! Riley needs a new little cousin to play with πŸ˜‰

  • 31. Angela  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Wow, Avery is adorable! Sending some love and prayers to your sister…she needs it after giving birth to Avery!! Congrats! πŸ™‚

  • 32. Lisa  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    We praise you, God, for your glorious work you have done creating and bringing beautiful Avery into this world. She is born in to very special family and will be very blessed to have so many people love her. May she always know your love, God, and may you always keep her safe. God bless Justin and Laura as they embark on the most joyful relationship of a lifetime with their daughter. Amen.

  • 33. Stephany  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Aw, all those photos remind me of the day my nephew was born! It’s such a special day! I’m so happy for you and your family. New babies are GREAT! πŸ™‚

  • 34. Erin  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    PRECIOUS. Congrats, auntie!

  • 35. Molly  |  December 30, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    She’s beautiful!!! Although a nine pound baby has me shaking in my maternity pants right now…

    Your SIL looks fantastic too! Congrats to everyone!

  • 36. Jenna  |  December 30, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a couple weeks now, and LOVE it! I think you are extremely entertaining. πŸ™‚ I figured today would be a perfect day for my first comment, since I love new baby pictures!!! Congratulations to you and your family. Avery is a perfect bundle!

    I’m not an auntie yet, but I hear Auntie-land is the best! Enjoy it!

  • 37. Brandy  |  December 30, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Congrats on your new niece. She’s absolutely precious. I don’t know, but I think that small people just make big babies. My younger sister is like a size 0 or 1 and her son was huge. When I see her carrying him it almost seems like he should be carrying her instead, lol.

  • 38. Lisa D  |  December 30, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Congrats on being an auntie! The baby is adorable & I love the name! I hope your SIL heals fast. Big babies are tough on the body – esp when the mommy is petite.

    My mom deserves a medal or something. She had 5 kids, and I believe 3 of us were over 9 lbs. I was 10. She only had an epidural w/ 1 of us. She obviously has a WAY higher pain tolerance than I do!!

  • 39. Kim  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    She’s absolutely beautiful- congratulations! I am in awe of your sister in law.

  • 40. Veronica  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    what a CUTE little girl! congrats to your entire family! you will love being her favorite auntie!

  • 41. Big W-D  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Congrats and good job to Justin and Laura. She looks like a champ!

    Now, to Chelsea and Stephen – I don’t know anything about being a parent, but I do know about being an uncle, and it is awesome. You get to hang out with the kid and play with him (or her – I’ve got a nephew) and buy ’em all the awesome stuff that you really want to play with, and then when they get fussy or tired or create one sort of mess or another…. you can go home! And of course, when they get older, you’re the “cool” one they want to hang out with, since kids always think that their aunts and uncles are soooo different from their mom and dad (even though they’re related). So being an aunt or an uncle is definitely the way to go. Have fun!

  • 42. Dottie  |  December 31, 2009 at 12:05 am

    So sweet! Congrats to both families!

  • 43. Ashley  |  December 31, 2009 at 1:02 am

    She is so adorable. My nieces are now 7 and 10, and let me tell you, being an aunt only gets more awesome! Also, I laughed at “me, my bangs . . . .”

  • 44. Meghan  |  December 31, 2009 at 1:34 am

    So cute! Congrats all around! I hope she heals up quickly, as well. Holy crap, 9 lbs is big.

    P.S. I got the purse in the mail today!! The guy at the post office gave me the weirdest look when he handed it to me. Anyway, it’s lovely!

  • 45. Uncle Rory and Aunt Chris  |  December 31, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    We are so pleased to hear that there is another Miricle From God. She is beautiful and Avery will bring such joy and Love to the Family…
    You both will be such great Aunt and Uncle…enjoy every moment and
    every detail of her life……
    Love to you both and the Family,
    Uncle Rory and Aunt Chris

  • 46. Debbie  |  January 1, 2010 at 12:05 am

    she is precious. love all the pictures! i loooove the name avery, too. enjoy her, they grow up so fast!!

    ps- o.m.g. poor Laura! prayers for a speedy recovery!!

  • 47. Sara  |  January 2, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Congratulations, Aunt Chelsea! Being an aunt is SO wonderful! She’s beautiful!

  • 48. Sarah  |  January 3, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    OMG. I am so jealous that you were in the presence of BABY FEET. I love baby feet. So wrinkly and adorable!

    Congrats to everyone.

  • 49. Rachel  |  January 4, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Congrats to the whole fam! She’s SO cute. Don’t worry, she won’t hate you for this Chel… I wish I had someone to do that for me on Caden’s birthday… Everything goes so fast.

  • 50. Jimbo  |  January 6, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Congratulations to everyone!

  • 51. Because At This Rate, I’ll Have No Memory At All «  |  January 6, 2011 at 9:36 am

    […] turned one on December 29. Do you remember her birth last year? If not, you may want to visit this post. And then this post. And it was a few days after that when many of you started asking me if I was […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

