Ten on Tuesday (12) – And Some Very Important Information

January 5, 2010 at 8:26 am 35 comments

So yesterday I told you that today was a big deal for two reasons. About 3 hours after I published that, I realized that it was a big deal for THREE reasons because today is my one year blogaversary! Not quite sure how I forgot about that. So… happy blogaversary to me and happy blogaversary to you!

When I got into blogging, I was quite naive. I thought that I’d just have this little website and I’d write a little bit each day. I figured my family and friends would read it and thats about it. I had NO idea that there was like a whole blogging community out there. I never realized that strangers might actually read. And I definitely never would have thought that I’d actually meet others in real life. Weird.

Thanks to all of you for sticking with me and being part of my life. Every comment, every email, every bit of encouragement truly means the world to me. Thanks.

(excuse me while I put myself together… sniff.. sniff.)

Now it’s time for ToT! If you participate on your blog, feel free to use this button and add your link to Mr Linky below.

1. Are there any movies that inspire you to bake/cook?
The only one I can think of is Julie & Julia. How could you watch that and NOT want to cook??

2. What’s your favorite food blog and why?
Pioneer Woman Cooks – Why? Because it’s amazing.
Bake at 350 – She is so talented and makes me think that maybe one day I could bake like her.
Bakerella – Pure eye candy. Seriously.
Three Many Cooks – This is Pam Anderson (the chef, not the hooch with the boobs) and Pam’s daughter’s blog.
Kim’s Concoctions – I found her after PW came to town, she’s a Houstonian. I’m not sure why her blog isn’t super successful. Her recipes look fabulous and her photography is great. Check her out.

3. Who’s your favorite celebrity chef?
Ina Garten. I used to be annoyed with some of her mannerisms on television but I’m willing to look past that because she is BRILLIANT.

4. What’s your favorite kitchen tool?
Oh gosh. That’s difficult. I love my KitchenAid, although I don’t use it nearly as often as I should. I love cutting boards and spatulas. Oh Oh Oh, my knife (<– link). It’s amazing. I’m pretty much only going to buy this brand ever… for the rest of my life.

5. When it comes to cooking/baking, what’s your specialty?
I don’t have a specialty. I’m good, not great, at most things in the kitchen.

6. When in the kitchen, do you wear an apron, if so, any cute ones you’d like to share?
Normal day to day cooking, no. But when I am in the kitchen for a while or if I’m in an especially good mood, yes. I have a ton of cute aprons.

If you are one of those people without a cute apron, you probably ought to make sure you enter my giveaway (<– link).

7. Is there anything that intimidates you when it comes to baking/cooking? (ex. Pie crust, yeast breads, sauces, etc…)
Pancakes and rice. I can’t make either. I think the universe is against me.

8. What’s the weirdest gadget in your kitchen?
Apparently I posted without answering this. I skipped it at first with the intention of looking through my kitchen to find the answer. I can’t think of anything. Maybe our snow cone maker? Our table top s’more set?

9. What’s your go-to music for cooking/baking?
I like to have Food Network on the television in the background. It’s nice to know other people are cooking along with me.

10. After several failures, what do you do to motivate yourself to get back in the kitchen to try again?
I usually whine and say, “But I’m NOT a bad cook!!!!!!” and Stephen tells me that I’m not a bad cook. And then I yell at the person who put the recipe on their blog and photoshopped the picture of her dough before posting it on her blog so that her favorite reader would see it and think that her dough was wrong… over and over. Ahem ahem. (No, you will never live that down Taryn.)

(I have no segue here… deal…)

Today is a big day for another reason. It’s the season premiere of The Biggest Loser! Which means that my life now had meaning again. Dramatic? NOT AT ALL! Okay, maybe a little bit.

But MOST importantly today is my momma’s birthday. She’s pretty much the best momma in the world. She’s cute and funny and wonderfully thoughtful. She knows how to make people feel welcome and she is extremely generous. She loves Jesus, my daddy, and her kids– in that order. Just as it’s supposed to be. Her house is so cute and she has the cutest glasses in existence.

Tell Mommy happy birthday! Check her out, how is she a Nana?

So cute! I love you Momma! I’m so glad you get to see me on your birthday, I know you’re excited about it. I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that your granddaughter will be there also…

(If you’re participating in Ten on Tuesday, leave your link here. Just click on this button and it’ll give you a spot to add you link. If you aren’t participating you can still click this button and visit other people. It’s always fun to get more kitchen advice!)

Entry filed under: Family, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , , .

You’re All Winners In My Book Loser 9.01: I’m Sorry Baby, But She Is Smokin’ Hot

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jnyfritz  |  January 5, 2010 at 8:49 am

    great questions and happy bogaversary to you!!!

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  January 5, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Happy Blogaversary to you!!

    You didn’t answer #8 and I’m really curious now.

    Happy Birthday to your mom!

  • 3. Joy  |  January 5, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Happy Blogaversary to You, and many more!!

    Happy Birthday to mom of Chelsea!!

    Answers on the link,
    Happy New Year!!

  • 4. Darla  |  January 5, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Happy Bogoversary!

    Glad I’m reading it b/c I would have missed BL tonight and that would be all kinds of wrong.

    Keep pestering me until I buy the knife. It’s one of my ny resolutions.

    I made terrible, terrible pancakes until I discovered Krusteaz mix. They turn out perfectly every time. I have lots of pancake molds from Williams Sonoma. Yesterday we did the snow man and the Christmas treee (better late than never!) and they use powdered sugar and I had some red and green mini junior mints they used as balls on their Christmas tree, chocolate chips for the eyes, , etc. on the snowman. They LOVE it. So Krusteaz and cute molds and your neice will dub you “coolest aunt”. PS I just make regular old circles on school days and usually double it and freeze 1/2 for another day.

    And, last but not least … and I have no idea why I’m giving you all this info, but a few years ago I got a griddle … they kind you plug in and it’s long and you make pancakes on it. I LOVE it. I never made pancakes before I had it. Most kitchen appliances are a waste for me but this one has paid for itself over and over. I’ve never done anything but pancakes on it but they turn out perfectly everytime, I can make a bunch at one time … and I love to use it when we have guesta and I can just stand there and cook on my griddle … now I just need an new apron. 🙂

  • 5. Taryn  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Happy Happy Birthday! And if anyone should ever decide to visit my blog again and make a recipe I suggest is easy and wonderful, you will only find grainy, true-to-life photos of the process, taken under my hideous neon lamp. Chelsea, I admire your perseverance😉

  • 6. Caroline  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Happy Blogiversary!! Happy Birthday Chelsea’s mom! And I posted my answers on the link. I hope this will make me cook more. I needed this. Thanks!

  • 7. Angela  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Happy birthday to your mom and happy blogaversary to you!!

  • 8. thedailychelle  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Happy Blogaversary!🙂

    On the rice thing, I don’t know if you’ve heard of it or tried it… But I suck at cooking rice myself, and I have discovered a brilliant thing: boil in a bag rice. It’s precooked, so you just toss the bag in boiling water for 8 minutes, and it comes out perfect! I’ve only used the white rice and brown rice and I add my own sauce/meat whatever to it. It’s my current favorite invention.. haha🙂

  • 9. Kyla Roma  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Happy birthday to your mom and happy blogoversary!

    My favourite cooking blog is Smitten Kitchen and my favourite search tool is hands down FoodBlogSearch.com, SO helpful!

  • 10. Sue @ SimonsSista  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Happy blogiversary to you and R&R and birthday wishes to your Mum. I’ve added my link to McLinky but be sure to check out Hannah’s blog over at http://www.honeyandjam.com

  • 11. mom (Nana)  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Happy Blogaversary to my daughter! One whole year!
    Woo Hoo!! Have soooo enjoyed reading and laughing each day. Thanks for the sweet words on my special day. You are right, I AM glad I get to see you – as well as ALL my kids (AND AVERY) today! What a good day it will be! AND The Biggest Loser!

  • 12. jill  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I always manage to screw up pancakes too! I can’t get it where it’s just right for you to flip it over. Oh well, I don’t like pancakes too too much, hehe🙂 (unless of course they are chocolate chip)

    I thought of you and the BL last night as I was doing a Jillian Michaels workout!

  • 13. mom (Nana)  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:44 am

    1.The only one I can think of is Julie & Julia. How could you watch that and NOT want to cook?? Ditto…..

    2. What’s your favorite food blog and why?
    I hate to say this since I am your mom, but I don’t have one.

    3. Who’s your favorite celebrity chef?
    I still like Rachael Ray cause she is so stinkin cute! I like Alton Brown cause you learn stuff but not what he generally cooks

    4. What’s your favorite kitchen tool?
    Does the Keruig count? 🙂 I like my Pampered Chef chopper – it is THE BEST!

    5. When it comes to cooking/baking, what’s your specialty?
    I don’t think I have a specialty. Not that great of a cook, just do it. The kids would probably say, “Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins or Pumpkin Bread”

    6. When in the kitchen, do you wear an apron, if so, any cute ones you’d like to share? I WISH I had a cute apron – hint hint

    7. Is there anything that intimidates you when it comes to baking/cooking? (ex. Pie crust, yeast breads, sauces, etc) I would probably not want to tackle homemade bread (yeast) and candy is tough cause the weather is such a factor

    8. What’s the weirdest gadget in your kitchen?
    I have to say I don’t think I have any wierd gadgets. Been married long enough to get rid of those, I guess!

    9. What’s your go-to music for cooking/baking?
    Music? That would mean I would have a MUSIC SYSTEM in my house! NOT!

    10. After several failures, what do you do to motivate yourself to get back in the kitchen to try again? Don’t have much of a choice when you are raising 3 kids and have a hungry husband!

  • 14. Clare  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Blogaversary is such a strange word. Happy Blogaversary!

    and Happy Birthday to your mom! I think it’s so great that she comes and does 10 on Tuesday too🙂

    I’m really excited about reading everyone’s answers to this week’s questions.

  • 15. Faith  |  January 5, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Here’s my current favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. I just read through the comments on the post and a lot of people said to freeze it for better results. I haven’t done it yet, but it looks like I have a reason to bake cookies soon!
    http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/03/crispy-chewy-chocolate-chip-cookies/

  • 16. Emily Jane  |  January 5, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Happy blogaversary!! Thank you for doing a cooking ToT – learning to cook was one of my big new year’s resolutions and I tried my first effort this past weekend. It’s going to be a challenge, but it’s going to be fun!

    I have one apron – a big union jack print with LONDON across the front. I love it🙂

  • 17. Tabaitha Kaye  |  January 5, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I loved that it was cooking related. Happy Birthday to your mom!

  • 18. Lauren From Texas  |  January 5, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Happy Birthday Roots & Rings AND Chelsea’s Momma! I love you both.

    BIGGEST LOSER!! YEAH!!

    I am so glad you have a blog and I have a blog and now we are blog friends 4ev. Think of the horror if we had never blogged! Gasp! I love you friend.

  • 19. Rachel  |  January 5, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Has it really been only a year?? Congrats!

    You’re right, your mom is one of the most special ladies ever. Happy birthday Momma Rosenhagen!

  • 20. Rachel  |  January 5, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    You can make PW cinnamon rolls and NOT pancakes?? There is something wrong with this picture.

    I make pancakes about every 4 days because Caden is obsessed with them. He’ll wake up and say, “Pancake day, mom!” almost every day. So I make enough pancakes for that day and the next, and make enough batter for another two days of pancakes. I put the extra batter in the fridge and it keeps well!

  • 21. Jessica  |  January 5, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Happy Birthday Mrs. Rosenhagen!

    I actually knew about BL starting today and I’m excited because at least I get to see a few episodes before I have to go back to life without a tv.

    Happy Blogaversary!

  • 22. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  January 5, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    You have so many aprons!!! Happy Blogoversary🙂

  • 23. bridget {bake at 350}  |  January 5, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!!! And thank you so much for the mention!!! Happy New Year!

  • 24. Samantha  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Happy Blogoversary to Roots & Rings (here’s to another great year of blogging for you!), and Happy Birthday to your mom! =)

  • 25. Taryn E  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! And Happy Birthday to the new Nana in town!🙂

    I literally just got back from Passion2010, so I’m a bit of a zombie, so I’m apologizing in advance if my answers aren’t the most… coherent.🙂

    1. Are there any movies that inspire you to bake/cook? Julie and Julia… I’d say I’m more inspired by all the awesome TV shows out there.

    2. What’s your favorite food blog and why? PW, duh. Cuz she’s awesome

    3. Who’s your favorite celebrity chef? I love all the Iron Chefs, esp Cat Cora

    4. What’s your favorite kitchen tool? my good knives and my spatula/whisk

    5. When it comes to cooking/baking, what’s your specialty? I make awesome cakes

    6. When in the kitchen, do you wear an apron, if so, any cute ones you’d like to share? i don’t think I’ve ever worn an apron

    7. Is there anything that intimidates you when it comes to baking/cooking? i suck at omelets

    8. What’s the weirdest gadget in your kitchen? I don’t have a lot of gadgets… we have two fondue pots for some reason, tho

    9. What’s your go-to music for cooking/baking? whatever is on the TV, except sports b/c I get too distracted🙂

    10. After several failures, what do you do to motivate yourself to get back in the kitchen to try again? I haven’t had too many fails in the kitchen lately, but I don’t need alot of motivation when I do… it’s just food. Try and try again!

  • 26. Courtney  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Happy Bloggyversary! Happy Birthday Mom! Happy Tuesday!

  • 27. Kim  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    2. I’ll try out Pioneer Woman, I was wary before because the only people I saw recommending it had massively large families and I thought all the recipes would be huge. But if you like it and there’s only two of you…

    3. Love her. My husband loves her food.

    6. I’ve been meaning to tell you after seeing it in your Christmas pictures that your Santa apron is the most adorable thing ever.

    7. I’m right there with you on rice. When it burns, it’s done. That’s my method right now, which is not the best. Really? Pancakes? Not even a box mix?

    8. I never understood table top smore sets. Just buy a big candle with three wicks.

    10. It’s back already??? It just ended.

  • 28. Megan  |  January 5, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Happy blogaversary!! I just did my first ToT and will make it a point to continue it.

  • 29. Autumn  |  January 5, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Happy Bloggin’ Anniversary!!! I have been trying to link to Ten on Tuesday… but my brain is stuck in 2009. Hopefully, I will join in soon!

  • 30. zburrows  |  January 5, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    http://zburrows.wordpress.com/ten-on-tuesday/

  • 31. DebbieQ  |  January 5, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Happy Bloggyversary!!!

  • 32. Lisa D  |  January 5, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I couldn’t come up with a random/odd kitchen gadget – a snow cone maker is odd, but wonderful! I love snow cones!!

    Happy Birthday to your mom & Happy Blogoversary to you!!

  • 33. Ashley  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Happy Blogaversary!!

  • 34. Jimbo  |  January 6, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Happy Blogaversary Chelsea! R&R is the bright spot of my blogging world!

    Happy Birthday Nana!!!

    (sorry that both of these are a day late)

  • 35. scrapper al  |  January 6, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday Nana! Hope you had a great day!

    And Happy Blogaversary Chelsa! I’m so glad I found you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

