This Post Is Brought To You By The Number 2

January 8, 2010 at 9:30 am 34 comments

Not THAT number 2. Gross.  The actual number 2. Why?

Not because the Longhorns are number 2. No no no. Because we’ll have TWO winners this week. I love having TWO winners!! Will it be annoying if I write TWO in all caps every time I use it today? Let’s see.

So now that it is TWO thousand ten, everyone is in a big “out with the old, in with the new” mood. Me too. I mainly want to be out with the clutter in my house and in with a housekeeper. (Does anyone know a housekeeper in Houston that works for free? Or maybe for blog shoutouts. Or for food? I can provide food!)

You might be out with the fast food and in with the home-cookin’! Or out with the procrastinating and in with the Martha behaviors. Minus the whole insider trading and prison thing… let’s leave those in the past.

One thing I know is this… You need a calendar. How about a nice clean, decluttered, beautiful one:

Or maybe a cute one to put on your desk at work.

Aren’t they sweet?

And this is totally not what I’m supposed to be promoting, but just look at her stationary! Specifically these TWO.

 

I love many more than those TWO but I just needed a reason to say TWO.

(I think this is one of those instances where I think I’m hilariously clever and you are clicking the little “x” in the top right.)

I guess I’ll get to the point. Stelie Designs is giving TWO people their calendar of choice. I’d really like the wall calendar for my office but we have glass walls and it’s really a pain to try to get thumb-tacks to stick in there. So maybe I’d rather have the desk calendar. Although it doesn’t really matter what I want, I don’t get one. You do. And so do you.

And here’s how:

Leave any ol’ comment. You can say anything but I’d prefer if you said something fun. Like a joke… or a haiku.
Blog or tweet about the giveaway. Or blog AND tweet. (One entry for each.)
Put my button on your blog and make sure that when people click it, it actually leads them here! (If it’s already on your blog, let me know!)
-Go to Stelie Designs (<– link) and tell me your favorite item. She’s giving away TWO calendars but it’s possible that your favorite item is something else. And that’s okay… you just won’t win that something else… but you’ll still be eligible to win the calendars. That was confusing. 

-Remember ages ago when we used to do the TWO word challenge? You give me TWO random words and I manipulate them into a cohesive post? Well it’s been so long since we’ve done it that I don’t know where your latest suggestions are saved. So for an EXTRA ENTRY, give me TWO random words and we’ll see about getting this going again! And if you have no idea what I’m talking about, click here for an example… or just a funny story about inappropriate church lady brownies. Ahh… good times.

So what is that, like 17 chances to enter?? Six I think. You have until Wednesday at midnight to enter. Be a peach and if you put all of your entries in one comment, tell me how many entries are included. That would be grrrrreat.

(Scroll down or click here to see the winner of the apron.)

Entry filed under: Blogging. Tags: , , , .

Avery Picks An Apron Winner That’s A Man, Man!

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. This Heavenly Life  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:55 am

    A new calendar
    For the brand new twenty-ten
    Would rock my socks off.

    Boo-yah.

  • 2. sCe  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:04 am

    out-of-date & really cheesy joke, but appropiate after last night: what do get when you take away the ‘O’ in Obama? BAMA! hahahaha! LOVE it!

    I have TWO favorite items at Stelie Designs: the Penguin Personalized Stationery & my favorite calendar is the 2010 Stelie Designs Desk Calendar with the tree on it.

    TWO random words: rutabaga & lampshade🙂

  • 3. sGe  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:16 am

    the name up top is a type-o; it’s a G, not a C.

    also, i don’t mean to offend by my joke; i hope i didn’t! i’m not a big obama fan, & the joke is what people who were/are told me during the election to make me laugh. please don’t think i’m a horrible person🙂

    my boyfriend and brother are longhorns fans, and when texas plays any other games I love for them to win, but they were playing “my boys”, so I wasn’t so keen on them winning; although I am so so sad that Colt was injured!

  • 4. Taryn E  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:58 am

    3 entries:

    Comment: I was very upset Colt McCoy got hurt; I think Texas would have won if he had been in the game. Props to the freshman QB and stepping up though. He did good!🙂

    Stelie Designs: Even though I’m already married, I love love love her Sydney Wedding Invitation in Blue/Green. Beautiful!!!

    Randomness: Coke and Fish

  • 5. osarah  |  January 8, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    3 entries

    1. Funny story – I put your button on our blog today before I’d even read this post. I couldn’t get everything to look right, so it’s gone now, but yeah, I put it on there unprompted!

    2. My favorite design is the second personalized stationery you posted.

    3. Two words: art and angel

  • 6. mom (Nana)  |  January 8, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    (1) We might have won with Colt but unfortuntately we will never know…so proud of him and his interview last night – he DEFINITELY has his priorities right.
    (2) I love both of those stationary designs. Cute!
    (3) ewwwww and heels

  • 7. abby  |  January 8, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    I think you sould have posted pics of the brownie pops. Although I was trying to figure out how you’d really eat one… I think you’d most likely take the stick out and eat the rest like a normal brownie.?

    Anyway…. I LOVE the green dot notepad! It would go perfectly in my office with all of my green and black circles on the wall!

    Two words… Starbucks and boots (two of my favorite things…)

    That = 3 entries!

  • 8. Sister  |  January 8, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I LOVE THAT WALL CALENDAR.. seriously.. obsessed. (entry 1)

    potatoes and wallpaper
    (entry 2)

  • 9. Courtney  |  January 8, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Ummm…does the count if I say it’s all lovely stuff? I wanna be indecisive today and not have to choose anything. Including what I wore to work, it’s just thrown together. I don’t even know if I’m wearing matching socks.

  • 10. Kathleen  |  January 8, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I really really really love those calendars. Here’s my entry!

    (And I tweeted! http://twitter.com/kapachino/status/7528351719)

  • 11. Debbie  |  January 8, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    i love calendars!
    especially cutesy ones!
    colt made the right choice.

  • 12. Debbie  |  January 8, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    i am LOVING the olive stationary and the penguin stuff!🙂

  • 13. Debbie  |  January 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    lets go with…..grey poupon and little people. cant wait.🙂

  • 14. Ginger  |  January 8, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    1)Your TWO reminds me of the “But Wait! There’s MORE” gimmick on infomercials, haha!

    2)Blog: http://gengarsmyth.blogspot.com/2010/01/its-brand-new-day.html
    Tweet: http://twitter.com/GengarSmith

    3) I’m in love with Olive the Owl! So cute!! I love the notecards, even though I rarely write notes…

    I found my Lisa Frank Trapper-Keeper last night and I’m think about using it for school this semester…kinda excited about it actually.

  • 15. Amanda  |  January 8, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    One entry (cuz I’m lazy!)
    1. A haiku:
    Damn, in that tube-top
    You make me almost forget
    You are my cousin

    I googled “haikus” and a website for redneck/trailerpark haikus came up. I couldn’t resist. I’m sorry.🙂

  • 16. David, The Rainmaker  |  January 8, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Hello! You’re friends with my sister, Kapachino. I more or less just wanted to tell a joke:

    “One killed, six injured in pie factory explosion. Blast heard up to 3.14159265 miles away.”

    Ha!

  • 17. Karen  |  January 8, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Not really trying for the calendars, I am not an organized person, so let some one who would use them, win them.
    But I will give you two words:
    miserable- because I am fighting off a cold
    gassy- well, because I am very gassy today, and here is a funny story to go along with that informative information.
    One of my co-workers walked in to my office and told me it smelt like some thing was burning in my office, I played along and looked around with her, then after she left I laughed and laughed and I am still laughing. Hey at least she did make me feel less miserable. LOLOLOLOLOLOL
    Sorry if that is too much info, but it is cold, it is Friday and I am miserable.

  • 18. TiphanyB  |  January 8, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    3 entries-

    1. Q: Why don’t Oklahoma Sooners fans let their kids play in sand boxes? A: Because cats keep covering them up.

    2. My favorite item on the site is the calendar with the tree that you posted first. Very chic.

    3. Penetralium and shampoo.

  • 19. Stephany  |  January 8, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    (1) Even though I already bought a wall calendar, day calendar, and a planner – I could always use more! Especially ones as cute as those!

    (2) My favorite item is the Willow Wedding Invitations, even though I’m not engaged or nowhere close to being engaged. But I can’t handle how gorgeous those wedding invitations are!

    (3) My two random words are: snowflake and asteroid

  • 20. mrssjohnson  |  January 8, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    2 Entries for now- I’ll blog and tweet next week:
    (1)- I really love the Paisley notecards – and I love writing notes! http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33952222

    (2) a funny joke: Two women friends had gone out for a Girls Night Out, and had been decidedly over-enthusiastic on the cocktails. Incredibly drunk and walking home they suddenly realized they both needed to pee. They were very near a graveyard and one of them suggested they do their business behind a headstone or something. The first woman had nothing to wipe with so she took off her panties, used them and threw them away. Her friend however was wearing an expensive underwear set and didn’t want to ruin hers, but was lucky enough to salvage a large ribbon from a wreath that was on a grave and proceeded to wipe herself with it. After finishing, they made their way home. The next day the first woman’s husband phones the other husband and said, “These damn girls nights out have got to stop. My wife came home last night without her panties.” “That’s nothing,” said the other. “Mine came back with a sympathy card stuck between the cheeks of her butt that said, ‘From all of us at the Fire Station, Well never forget you!’

  • 21. John Campbell  |  January 8, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    I have added you to my blog list. You should feel special as your only one of two “Non-Dads I Follow”.

    John

  • 22. scrapper al  |  January 9, 2010 at 12:10 am

    No clever entries here, sorry. (that’s one entry, lol)

    Thanks for introducing us to Stelie Designs. I love the penguin design; the notepad would be perfect for a friend of mine. (that’s TWO entries)

    minimum and dollhouse (how’s that for random? three entries, woo hoo!)

  • 23. Meghan  |  January 9, 2010 at 1:04 am

    1. Any ol’ haiku:
    My mom is baking
    Orange rolls – oh, so tasty
    Lovely late night rolls!

    2. Two words: Weasel gun.

    P.S. I know this is silly, but how do I get the button on there? I should know this!

  • 24. Michele P.  |  January 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Sorry but I I can’t haiku
    which makes me quite blue,
    I wish it weren’t true-
    instead I did a poem for you!

    lol, corny but better than nothing. Hope you enjoyed your weekend.

  • 25. Michele P.  |  January 10, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I like the desk calendar with butterflies here: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37781026

  • 26. mediumcrazy  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:32 am

    I love the calendars. I will make my comment more interesting by saying: monkey monkey underpants. (A wonderful phrase whether or not you get the reference.)

  • 27. Stephany  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I just tweeted: http://twitter.com/stephanywrites/status/7641615680

  • 28. Jimbo  |  January 11, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    1. My joke: What do you get when you drop a piano down a mine shaft?
    A Flat Miner (haha, I crack myself up)

    2. Two words: Blueberry horse

  • 29. Samantha  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Ooooh, what a great giveaway. Yet again. I loooove calendars and anything of the sort… and hers are adorable!

  • 30. Samantha  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:34 am

    On her site, I really like the desk calendar with the tree on it. It would look good on my desk.🙂

  • 31. Stephany  |  January 12, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I blogged on my Ten on Tuesday post about your giveaway: http://stephanywrites.blogspot.com/2010/01/ten-on-tuesday-vol-9.html

  • 32. Megan  |  January 12, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    3 entries:

    a:
    My blackberry curve
    is both my sunshine & rain
    works fine….or freezes

    2:
    Your button is always on my blog sidebar & I tweeted about it. (check your @replies)
    I’m loving this desk calendar, but for our red microwave.

    and d:
    hogwash and spatula

    * a little shout out to some Home Alone verbage there =) *

  • 33. DeMo  |  January 13, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I just found your blog today from suburbaneuphoria and I really like it here! I also would loooove a calendar. Have you seen the calendars from http://catsletnothingdarkentheirroar.com/ ? Love.

  • 34. calendar give away | Stelie Designs  |  November 12, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    […] giving away 2 calendars to 2 lucky winners here. quick head on over there and enter, who doesn’t love free stuff?!? i do, but then i already […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

