BFF Friends Forever

January 14, 2010 at 9:21 am 25 comments

This week has dragged on but somehow, at the same time, it has gone shockingly fast. But isn’t that the truth about life in general? Here we are and it’s January 14, 2010 and it seemed like just yesterday that we were entering the 2000’s. But how can it only have been two days since Tuesday? This week is dragging and I’m in desperate need of a Saturday with no alarm.

The funny thing about my blog-life is that I view my weeks in blog terms. Monday is usually some story about the weekend, then Ten on Tuesday (which TWENTY EIGHT of you participated in this week… amazing!), Wednesday is the Loser recap, Thursday is a day for me to stretch my imagination, and Friday is either a giveaway or Quick Takes. It keeps my week orderly which is great since it’s the only orderly thing in my life besides my planner.

It’s Thursday. According to my blogenda, that means I should be stretching my imagination. I tried to stretch it but it popped. I’m on the couch watching Stephen take over the Star Wars universe as a really cute Lego Darth Vader and thinking that you all probably wish that you could hang out with us all the time. Because really, nobody is as cool as us.

Tonight we were fortunate enough to watch about 20 minutes of the American Idol try outs… which, for the record, are the only episodes I’ve ever actually seen except that time in college that a girl made me watch a VHS tape of the episode where Kelly Clarkson won. I have no desire to watch people sing two nights a week only to hear them on the radio every 5 minutes for 2 years after the season is over. But that’s not my point. While we were watching, there were these two girls. They were very proud BFF Friends Forever and obviously don’t know what “BFF” actually stands for or else they’d know that the “Friends Forever” part was quite unnecessary. And dumb. They hugged and stared into each other’s eyes and looped arms like those girls did in the hallways of League City Intermediate before I decided to leave that school and go to a place with less arm looping and more tuition. You’re welcome, mom and dad.

What’s up with me and the run-on sentences today?

But really, it was sweet. And it reminded me a lot of you and me. We’re looping internet arms and staring longingly into each others’ web space… or something.  But then I thought, do you really know me? Sure you know me, I tell you things about me every day. But do you know me enough to be my BFF Friend Forever (not to be mistaken with Blog Friend 4 Ever, that role is already taken.) My assumption is no. Specifically because so many of you refer to me on your blogs or via google searches as “Chelsea from Roots and Wings” which is not actually my name. When you have a spare 2 minutes, click on the About Me tab there at the top. It’ll explain that my blog is actually a play on words, titled Roots and Rings (or R&R for short) and it’ll even tell you why I chose that name.

I’ve decided to nominate myself and, well, everyone in my life to answer your questions. In an effort to be your BFF Friend Forever (and more accurately, to have some fun) I’m opening up the floor. Ask away. Ask me or Stephen or my mom or my sister or my Blog Friend 4 Ever or Lyndsey. Anyone.

Stephen, why in the world do you pop Chelsea’s toes?

Momma, have you always had such cute glasses? Did you pick them out yourself?

Chelsea, tell us about this root.

Avery’s dad (Justin), how many poo diapers have you changed?

And so on. You are some of the funniest and most creative people I know… which makes me both scared and excited for my innocent family and friends (who are finding out about this at the exact same time you are, how fun is that???).

Maybe I’ll make a friendship bracelet for the person with the best questions. How’s that for incentive??

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Stephen, Television. Tags: , , , .

Loser 9.2: Is This Legal? Signed, Sealed and Delivered

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cousin Kim  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Hey…
    Why’d you ask what my degree was? I thought maybe you were gonna mention me in your blog. :o)
    Curious minds wanna know.
    I told Dan about the toe popping…maybe he will start doing that for me!? I would LOVE that! …. maybe a little foot rub to go along with it. Although…I don’t know if that would make me get up very fast…I would think I would like to stay in bed a bit longer and relish.

  • 2. Ashley  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Please have Stephen answer the toe popping question, because from where I’m sitting that is just gross! (Not that your toes are gross… feet in general are gross).

    How many of the Pioneer Woman reciepes have you made from the cookbook? And which ones would your life not be complete without?

  • 3. Karen  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Why do any of you put up with this Woman?
    Just look at what she does to you.

  • 4. molly  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:59 am

    why aren’t you coming to san antonio soon to see me?

    I realize it’s not a good enough question but I really want to know. Your night sounds like our nights–except we don’t have fun games, we have Rosetta Stone. Watch out world!

  • 5. Tabaitha Kaye  |  January 14, 2010 at 11:18 am

    What is your perfect idea of a girls weekend?

    For Stephen, at what moment did you know that Chelsea was “the one?”

  • 6. Kathleen  |  January 14, 2010 at 11:28 am

    That reminds me of how people say “ATM machine” all the time. Drives me nuts.

    David pops my thumbs, but I don’t like my toes popped. My dad used to do it when I was young and I cringed every time.

  • 7. kelly  |  January 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    who made you watch the VHS of kelly clarkson?

    oh wait, i think i might be able to figure that out.

  • 8. Lauren From Texas  |  January 14, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    WHEW. I started to sweat when you started talking about BFF’s and whatnot. I was hoping you would remember where your loyalties lie (lay?).

    We should make friendship bracelets pronto.

  • 9. Taryn E  |  January 14, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Chelsea:
    When did you know that Stephen was the guy you wanted to marry?
    Did you ever consider any other colleges besides UT?
    What is your favorite pair of shoes… that you could never, ever, ever live without?
    Favorite flavor of Blue-Bell? (I’m just making the assumption that Blue-Bell is your favorite brand of ice cream!)
    Do you have a favorite artist (as in paintings)?

    Stephen:
    When/where/how did you ask Chelsea to marry you?
    Seriously, what’s with the toe-popping?
    What’s your favorite video game? I only ask b/c Chelsea mentioned Lego Star wars, which I love! 🙂

    Justin:
    How many diapers have you gotten to change in the last two weeks?
    How is Avery sleeping for y’all? (If you say she’s sleeping thru the night already, I may kick you… Luke has just started sleeping thru and he’s 18 months old!)
    What’s it like to be married to Wonder Woman? (No, seriously… Laura gave birth to Avery… Laura’s gotta be part super-hero!)

    Laura:
    No questions… just congrats on being a new mommy! Hope you’re loving every second of it! 🙂

  • 10. zburrows  |  January 14, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Tabaitha Kaye – Her idea of a perfect girls weekend is one that includes me 🙂

  • 11. jill  |  January 14, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Stephen, what is the one thing Chelsea does that annoys you beyond belief? How do you feel about Chelsea blogging? Chelsea, what is your favorite food/color/song/smell/place/etc/all the other things a BFF Friend Forever would know about you?

  • 12. zburrows  |  January 14, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Chelsea: What is your favorite George Strait Song?

    Stephen: Which of your physical features do you hope your children get? Which of chelsea’s?

    Alice: What is the best thing chelsea got from you?

    Lindsay: What made you decide to help Chelsea dress cuter?

    LaurenfromTexas: When did you know that you and chelsea would be Best Blog Friends 4 Ever instead of just Blog friends or Best Blog Friends?

  • 13. Mother-in-law  |  January 14, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Chelsea: What do you REALLY think of your mother-in-law? (hee hee)

    Alice: Is being a grandmother the absolute BEST THING IN THE WORLD????

  • 14. Stephany  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    What was the best non-fiction Christian book you’ve ever read?

    Who is your favorite author?

    And why do you like cooking so much? I just…can’t get into cooking. I wish I could. What is it about cooking that you love so much?

  • 15. Maki (barefoot chic)  |  January 15, 2010 at 9:33 am

    First time visiting here, but my question to you:

    Do you get along with your in-laws? If so, what’s your key to a successful relationship?

    I saw your comment/entries for giveaway on BonBon and wanted to wish you good luck! Hope you win a fab item or my painting:) FYI, I’m offering 40% off for everyone who mentioned about wanting my painting for the giveaway in case you didn’t win!

    Stay in touch!
    xoxo

  • 16. fritz  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    do you two ever think about living any place other than texas?

  • 17. Darla  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    How did Stephen propose?

  • 18. Southern Gal  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    How did your dad get into the bible study thing?

    Or

    How did you come up with Roots and Rings?

    I realize I could probably find these answers in your archives. Sorry.

  • 19. timlinzrowland  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Oh I was going to ask how did Steven Propose??? but someone else did. So I guess I will ask ….What kind of car do you drive???? What kind of car would you really like to drive one day?
    Right now with a third baby on the way I am thinking a mini van is for me but, I am loving the Dodge Challengers…..if only three carseats would fit in the backseat safely!

  • 20. Vanessa  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    What is yours and Stephen’s story?

    What is your Favorite Starbucks drink?

    Favorite thing about blogging?

  • 21. Rachel  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Chelsea – What was your favorite assigned reading book in high school or college? (So boring I know… but this interests me.)

  • 22. Rachel  |  January 15, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    And kind of going along with the ATM Machine & BFF Forever – It drives me nuts when people add “s” on the end of Kroger.

  • 23. This Heavenly Life  |  January 15, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Chelsea – What’s your favorite book/movie/dessert? How’s that book coming along? WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO GET PREGNANT? (Do you need help figuring out when you’re ovulating?? Will you breastfeed??) Baking or cooking? Flora or Fauna? Fruits or Veggies?

    Stephen – Have you thought any more about buying a bicycle? WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO IMPREGNATE CHELSEA? Just HOW good at ping pong are you? Clark Kent wants to know.

  • 24. calamityshana  |  January 16, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    My question is, how did you pick the company that designed your blog? I bookmarked their page, as I am looking for someone to develop my blog and am wondering how you came to work with that developer?

  • 25. mom (Nana)  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    To zburrows (lyndsey) – the best think Chelsea got from me? If you mean qualities, I would guess it would be that she is very committed when she volunteers for something.

    To Mother-in-law – YES, being a NANA is the best!!!! Woo Hoo!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

