Signed, Sealed and Delivered

January 15, 2010 at 10:07 am 41 comments

Want to hear something embarrassing? We still have our Christmas decorations up. Want to hear something even worse? We still have a pumpkin on our porch. I hang my head in shame… but I also laugh a little. I like it. I think Christmas decorations should stay up as long as it stays cold, or at least until the end of January. They are just so fun. It’s depressing to take them down. The house looks plain and I can no longer pretend that it’s the holiday season. But the economics side of me recalls the Law of Diminishing Returns. At some point, those decorations aren’t going to make me happy anymore. So the moral of this story is: All good things must come to an end.

Our blogapalooza has reached that point. Sad day. I hope you’ve enjoyed it because I’m fresh out of giveaways for about 7 years.

For the final giveaway, I’m giving away something that I know many of you will be totally thrilled about. Our nature as bloggers and blog leaders is that we love to write. Our hearts flutter when we think about stationary. We get warm and fuzzy when we send mail. So here’s a perfect pair to your favorite set of crisp, personalized stationary.

Isn’t it glorious?? Custom address labels. So beautiful!

If elegant isn’t your thing, maybe you’ll like this one.

Do you love it? I’m partial to the first one but this one is super cute too! It reminds me of my friend, Lyndsey. She loves black and white with a pop of hot pink or turquise. And she’s wild. Wild like a zebra.

Want some of your own? AKM Designs is going to make that happen! She’s offered a set of custom address labels to a R&R reader. One set is 3 sheets of 30 labels. Since I’m a genious, I know that equals 90 labels. However, she’s given me the option to break it up. We could have 3 winners, each winning one sheet of 30 labels. Although I’m aware that 30 labels isn’t as cool as 90 labels, I also know that 3 winners is greater than 1 label.

So here’s the deal, I need your vote. You decide this one, folks.

Here’s how to enter:

-Leave a comment. Tell me why you love mail.
-Check out AKM Designs (<– link) and tell me your favorite item in her shop.
-Blog or tweet about the giveaway.
-Leave a question on yesterday’s post. If you’ve already left one, you will be counted.

Good luck! Whoever wins has to mail me a card. Because I said so.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: , , .

BFF Friends Forever Calendar Winners

41 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pippy  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:08 am

    LOL our Christmas decoratoins are still up & we still habe a pumpkin on the porch! I was laughing at myself last night. Glad to know I’m not alone.

  • 2. Kyla Roma  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Oh cool! Count me in for this =)

    My favourite is:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=31682171

    When we took down our decorations I was really sad about how stark the house looked too. So I’ve been making pies. It helps.

  • 3. zburrows  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:30 am

    i am so glad you are my BFF friend forever

  • 4. Tiffany  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:44 am

    One of the reasons I love Christmas time so much is to open and see friends and family Christmas cards! I also love birthday cards adn just for the fun of it cards, it means so much more than emails!

    I love both of those designs but the zebra is really fun!

  • 5. Tiffany  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:44 am

    One of the reasons I love Christmas time so much is to open and see friends and family Christmas cards! I also love birthday cards and just for the fun of it cards, it means so much more than emails!

    I love both of those designs but the zebra is really fun!

  • 6. fritz  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:58 am

    i love real mail, i still get excited to check it, even if it is bills, because there is a small chance that there is a card from someone and that is just cool!

    and p.s we just took our christmas stuff down…

  • 7. abby  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I love getting mail! It’s so much fun to find a cute envelope with something special in it inbetween all of the bills!

    I love the Black Circle (with the green). That is soo cute and soo me! I’ve never had address labels aside from the ones we print off of the computer and they are never centered! 🙂

    I tweeted about the giveaway!

    That is 3 entries for 3 chances to win!! Whoohoo!!!

  • 8. Emily  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I love getting real mail because it really doesn’t happen very often-generall holidays or birthdays and you know it will be from someone special or that you haven’t had contact with in a long time. I love Christmas cards and especially all of the fun picture cards everyone sends out these days!

  • 9. Southern Gal  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Written letters delivered in the mail make my heart sing. The main reason is my grandmother. She was an avid letter writer and I have so many letter from her. I come across one every now and then that I stuck back in a book or some nook. It brings tears to my eyes and joy to my heart to ‘hear’ her words in my head as I read them. What a legacy. It beats email any day of the week.

    I haven’t had labels in YEARS. Sweet of you to choose this as your last giveaway.

  • 10. Darla  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    I love the round Christmas labels … only I’m not sure why they are called Christmas labels. I’d use them now…and I don’t even have Christmas decorations up anymore! 🙂

  • 11. Darla  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Oh, and I love mail because remember one of my new years resolutions …. write more letters!!! So I need labels. 🙂

  • 12. Amanda  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    i love mail because it makes me feel special! (assuming it is not a bill!)

  • 13. Angela  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    If I left my Christmas decorations up as long as it stays cold, there’s a good chance mine would stay up until at least April.
    Anyway, this is a fun giveaway! Snail mail is so much fun, it’s like opening a little envelope of sunshine!

  • 14. Vanessa  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    I’m shaking my head at your Christmas decorations still being up, just so you know. 😉

    I love getting mail. I think it is so much more personal to know someone took time out of their day to send something to you, and not just typing on the computer. It brightens my day!

  • 15. Vanessa  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Oh! & my favorite is the Red Blue Argyle! Super cute!

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33350411

  • 16. Vanessa  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    I also Tweeted!

    http://twitter.com/CaramelPhotos/status/7796894258

    I’m off to write a question. Can you tell I’m really hoping to win??? 8 )

  • 17. timlinzrowland  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    getting mail is like getting a unexpected package. It makes me smile and feel all warm inside!
    I think my favorite is the zebra pink one but the black circle one I love too. Tough choice !

  • 18. ThatMarriedCouple  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Cute! I would have to go with the teal or argyle myself.

  • 19. Tabaitha Kaye  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I love mail because it is so personal. It always brightens my day when I get a hand written note or card in the mail. No one does that any more. I try to send at least one out to a friend or family member, each month.

    My favorite label on her site is the black circle. Right now most of my kitchen is in black and white and that same green. It’s chic!

  • 20. Rachel  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    The teal “casey” one is my fav… but I’m obsessed with that color.

  • 21. jill  |  January 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I love mail, especially when it ISN’T junk or a bill. I love cards but no one really sends them anymore unless it is a holiday. But then again it isn’t like I’m sending cards left and right or anything. Maybe if I would do better I’d get some good mail! Oh I also love getting mail because I love magazines and getting a new one in my mailbox gives me a little bit of joy! 🙂

    (ps I only took my pumpkins off my porch when I put up my Christmas wreath. And I forgot to take my Happy Harvest sign out of the ground for awhile. Till like a week before Christmas).

  • 22. Taryn E  |  January 15, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I have lots of girlfriends with babies now, so it’s fun to get their cute little pictures in the mail 🙂 It’s always fun to have a surprise little handwritten note as opposed to email or facebook!

    I personally like the orange circle address labels.

  • 23. Courtney  |  January 15, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Mail so personal. Especially the mail that says, you owe us money. Aren’t those letters the nicest?!? And I could send them a nice (or nasty) note back with a FANCY return label (that didn’t come free in the mail from some charity).

    Seriously though, I wouldn’t was these labels on bills!

    I like the black circles with the green spot. Lovely!

    (my christmas decorations are down, minus the lights outside, but I too also have a pumpkin on my porch. but it’s a little white pumpkin holding down one end of the lights…)

  • 24. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  January 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Umm I LOVE this giveaway! I would totally mail you a card too, by the way 🙂 You have had some freaking awesome giveaways lately, I’m sad they are ending!!

  • 25. This Heavenly Life  |  January 15, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I love mail — real mail — because…who doesn’t!? It’s exciting and mysterious and thoughtful. It’s nice to think someone thought of me 🙂

  • 26. Clare  |  January 15, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Real mail (not bills and other junk) is the best! I went to boarding school from 11-16 and every day the rush to the mail boxes to see if you got any was the biggest thrill. Even more so when you actually got mail! I still get that jolt of excitement when I see a real piece of mail in amongst all the crap 🙂

    those address labels are so cool!

  • 27. mandy  |  January 15, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I love sending out mail and getting mail that isn’t a bill, is all sorts of wonderful.

    This is my favorite one! http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=35638756

  • 28. Stephany  |  January 15, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Oh, how cute! I want to win! Hm…why do I love mail? I don’t, really. Mainly because all I get in the mail is bills. Now, I do love getting fun stuff in the mail I wasn’t expecting!

    And my favorite design is: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38506247

  • 29. Big W-D  |  January 16, 2010 at 12:18 am

    I’m a fan of mail. Checking the mailbox is one of the little highlights of my day. All of the neat stuff I order shows up in the mail. 🙂

    I was actually an official Postmaster of the Day when I was in high school. Got a certificate and everything. I think being a mailman would be a great semi-retired gig.

  • 30. Joy  |  January 16, 2010 at 7:11 am

    I love sending and receiving mail, my family jokes that I have stock in Hallmark. All of the labels are lovely but my favorite is the sea-flower.

  • 31. osarah  |  January 16, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Just catching up on your blog. We didn’t finish BL until late this week, so of course, I couldn’t come to your blog 🙂

    Anyway, I love mail because it makes me feel closer to people we’re so far away from. Also, in this digital age, receiving something tangible seems extra special.

    My favorite labels are the green teal dots and the orange circles!

  • 32. calamityshana  |  January 16, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Hi there! I found you again and I bookmarked you this time! About your Christmas decorations – you must start collecting snowpeople, so that when you do put away the Christmas stuff, the snowmen will be out and will carry you through winter. The possibilites are endless, many stores sell non-Christmasy snowmen. Instead of telling you why I love mail, let me say that the holidays are my favorite time of year because of the Christmas cards that come in the mail! I typically write at least one hand written note a week to someone I love, I have a whole plastic tub devoted to my letter writing. I checked out that etsy shop, and would love to say the rubber stamps are my fave, but I didn’t see any, and I kinda have an obsession with rubber stamps.

  • 33. glass of sweet tea  |  January 16, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    A friend left a link about these on facebook! How cute are they!?!?!?!?
    I love sending and receiving letters and these monograms would be such a cute addition!

    I received a sweet note and a Christmas ornament from friend last month- on a day that had been very difficult. It’s funny how one little unexpected note can cheer you up! I love sending and receiving letters (especially on pretty stationary). It’s amazing how a small guesture can make your day!

  • 34. Alyssa  |  January 17, 2010 at 12:40 am

    I love mail because then I KNOW someone took an extra few minutes to think of me. I REALLY love address labels because I’m too lazy to write my own address. When we switched insurance companies, I made hubs ask if they sent out free address labels and sure enough they did…so I was in love!

  • 35. Jen  |  January 17, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I love mail of any kind, but I prefer snail mail. What is better than coming home after a long day of work to find an envelope with a hand-written “To:” address. It’s what makes me happy. Unfortunately, I only have one friend who sends me snail mail … and that only happens once or twice a year. Boo to that.

  • 36. Jen  |  January 17, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I love, love, LOVE her baby shower invitation sample. Makes me want to have a baby. …. Or throw a baby shower. You know, either one.

  • 37. Kate  |  January 17, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Getting mail is so fun and personal. It definitely requires more work than an e-mail.

    My favorite address label is the blue sea flower one. So pretty!

  • 38. Christine  |  January 17, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I love sending mail because it always brings a smile to someone’s face…unless they are bills.

  • 39. Christine  |  January 17, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    My favorite address label is the black circle with green.

  • 40. Nora  |  January 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    I finally took down our Christmas lights today; we had a nice day and so it got done. The tree was up last weekend, so don’t feel bad. It happens to the best of us.

  • 41. Stephany  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    So, I wrote about your contest on my blog: http://stephanywrites.blogspot.com/2010/01/ten-on-tuesday-vol-10.html

    Also…I tweeted: http://twitter.com/stephanywrites/status/7972225897

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

