Says The Girl Who Doesn’t Like Ikea

January 18, 2010 at 9:23 am 42 comments

Remember how I was anti-Twitter and didn’t see the point? Remember when so many of you encouraged me to join because it was SO COOL AND YOU’RE JUST GOING TO LOVE IT!!!…? Remember that? Well I joined (click here if you want to follow me) and I have yet to see the light. I just don’t know why it’s so cool. It’s fun to read some clever tweets from bloggers I love, but other than that, it just doesn’t make my skirt fly up.

Sue me.

Same goes with lentils. There’s quite a buzz about lentils around the interwebs. They are cheap and healthy and easy and so tasty. I freaking beg to differ. The first 4 may be true, but tasty, they are not! In fact, I made a soup with them a couple weeks ago and literally GAGGED while I tried to eat it. As in, I almost vomitted from my own cooking. Not cool. Not cool at all!

Let’s talk about this other craze.

Ikea. Seems like everyone loves Ikea. I don’t really get it. Some of their stuff is just plain ugly. Most of their chairs are made for little people, and I’m almost 6 feet tall. It’s just not practical. I like nice wood furniture. Traditional, beautiful, homey. Not skinny and plastic and short.

But I will give them this: they have cheap stuff. (Oh and their organizational items make my heart flutter.) Over New Years we spent a few nights in Austin. We spent one of those nights with some friends of ours in their new house. They had this desk and shelf get-up in their office that Stephen was crushing on. Turns out, it’s from Ikea and it’s affordable. I spent the next weekend cleaning out my scrapbook room so we could make it into a fully functioning office, television, and craft room. That desk fit those goals.

This weekend was Ikea’s semi-annual sale which meant you got 10% off of your entire purchase. Normally that wouldn’t be an incentive for me to go there, but since there was an item we knew we were going to get eventually, I figured that we might as well go get it when we could save 10%.

So we packed up and drove across town. Then we circled the parking lot for 82 hours until we could find a parking spot. We walked into the store and I made a beeline for the restroom because I have a bladder the size of a poppy seed an 82 hours in a car make me want to explode. My immediate reaction was how RIDICULOUS the design of the bathroom was. What a terrible mood to set. It stunk and it was all retarded shaped so that you had to weave through the line in order to get out. Seriously? Seriously???

We headed upstairs and got our map. Incase you’ve never been to an Ikea, the layout is sort of like one of those human mazes that you think you’ll die in. We had two goals: find the desk/shelf doo-dad and get a few of those sturdy cardboard boxes to put in the shelves. That’s it. Nothing else. Look but don’t touch.

So everything was going as planned (minus the massive amounts of people walking in strong currents like the exodus, we hadn’t really planned for them). We found the desk and shelf set and wrote down their number on our map so we could get it once we made it to the warehouse. And then we walked. And then it happened. We stumbled upon the rugs. No pun intended. Oh wait, lookie there… looks like it’s time for a quick back story.

Once upon a time a couple named Stephen and Chelsea bought a house. It had ugly red tile all over the giant living room and entryway. They immediately decided that they needed a rug, pronto. They went to their local Big Lots and found a rug that was neutral and large and cheap– all three requirements for their rug purchase. They bought it. Several months later that learned to hate the rug. It was rough and slipped on the floor. It was not a good rug. Bad rug. Bad bad rug.

And back to the present. Or not so distance past. We saw the rugs hanging brilliantly across the room. I saw this ginormous rug that looked like it would fit our living room. Two other parties were looking at this rug. I said, “Oooooh!” and “Ahhhhh!” and wandered over to get a look at the price. Rugs are expensive. Giant rugs are giantly expensive. So when I saw $299, I almost fainted. In fact, I started sweating almost instantly. A rug for $300 that I like?? Typo? I conversed with my husband. He wasn’t sold. Something about dog hair and impulse buy entered the conversation but I couldn’t hear him over the loud noise of saving money. I wanted the rug. So did other people. There were two rugs left and I was surrounded by people. I was sweating and my head was pounding. “But how do we get it home??? What if we grab it and run? Then what?? How do we get that home?” Stephen was confident he could tie it to the top of the Murano. “We’ll take it!” I yelled.

He ran over, grabbed the rug and weaved his way dangerously through the millions of bargain shoppers. It was scary. We made it down to the warehouse, gathered our other items, and checked out. Sure enough, he fit the rug on top of the car. My hero.

I still won’t say that I love Ikea because, well, I’m not a liar. But I will say that we got an awesome deal and our living room and office look much better!

So here is the photo of our massive rug. Ignore the disheveled looking living room, we pushed everything to the sides of the room to unroll it. While you’re looking at this, picture a very strong carpet smell singing your nose hairs.

Not too bad, eh?

Check out the before of the office. (Not technically the “before”– I would have had to take that last week and it would look like a land pit.)

And after we Stephen put together the desk and shelves. I asked if he wanted help but he’s a man, so… no. I put together the green boxes.

I love it. I think it looks great. And I must say, it looks quite classy for Ikea furniture! Stephen spent some time yesterday setting up the monitor, printer, etc. etc. etc. It’s coming together and looking mighty fine.

And now if I can do anything about it, I’ll avoid Ikea for another 5 years. I can’t handle that much claustrophobia again for a long while.

ToT Questions will be posted shortly.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Calendar Winners Ten on Tuesday (14)

42 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bec  |  January 18, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Believe it or not, I have never been to an IKEA. Just another example of how sheltered I am.

  • 2. osarah  |  January 18, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I agree with you on Twitter.

    Lentils…can’t say I’ve tried them, but your gagging story reminds me of when I tried to make cold cucumber soup. Nasty.

    I’m glad you guys found something(s) great at Ikea. We have used it here and there. Our bed frame is from there. Our dresser is from there. Actually both our desks are from there (they’re ugly but we needed something cheap and temporary. They do the job.) Our entryway table is from there and we LOVE it. Ok. Maybe we have used it more than just here and there. We have made a goal, however, to try to buy 1 piece of “forever” furniture each year. Until then, we’ll subsist on cheaper temporary piece of furnitre.

    Oh, and I LOVE the design on the rug!

  • 3. fritz  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:03 am

    i TOTALLY agree with you on the lentils…and have had the same experiences at IKEA, but i do like their cafeteria…

  • 4. Christine  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:07 am

    The office looks awesome! I glad we inspired you to get the desk.

  • 5. Ashley  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Great desk! I don’t do IKEA because of the massive crowds… I get all nervous and sweaty and tired of dodging the carts that go anyway you want.

  • 6. Karen  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:39 am

    IKEA? I thought that was a car, never heard of them.

    I have not tried twitter either, I am not in to new tech things, it took my friends and family a while to get me in to myspace ( check me out if you like myspace.com/tuffy2tina) and Facebook which I am still not really in to now.

    The rug looks nice and the office seems cozy. Good job there.😉

  • 7. jill  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:15 am

    So Ikea. We have that same black shelf but no desk attached to it. I thought we might get a divorce over that shelf and the assembly process. Fortunately we did not. Also, I love that rug.

    A few yrs back I was in physical therapy. My PT asked what I was doing that weekend, I told him, and then asked him. He said, “Oh, I promised my wife I’d take her to Ikea…and that place is Hell.”

  • 8. Pippy  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:23 am

    You have an award on my blog! Happy Monday!

  • 9. Suburban Sweetheart  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I like Twitter a heckuva lot more than I like lentils, but possibly not more than I like Ikea. Regardless, nice rug.

  • 10. Lauren From Texas  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    You know that amazingly sexy bookcase in my office that takes up the whole wall? IKEA.

    Love the rug. Love it. It just CHANGED THE ROOM COMPLETELY. Love Ikea. Love everything.

    I am full of love for this post.

  • 11. Erin  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Well, I’ve never been to an Ikea, either. We don’t have them here. I also don’t get Twitter. And I hate lentils no matter HOW they are cooked. But I do like your rug🙂

  • 12. Southern Gal  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Sounds like I’m fortunate there isn’t an Ikea anywhere near me. I don’t Twitter nor Facebook. Blogs are enough. How would I have time for anything else?

    My son-in-law made some fabulous lentils the other night. They were SPICY and I loved them. Not usually a fan. I should get the recipe for you to try one more time??

  • 13. Jessica  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Chelsea, I love that rug! And the desk/shelves thing is really cute too. The first time I went to Ikea, all I bought was an ice tray and some meatballs. It was the first weekend they had opened. There were people evvvvverywhere.

  • 14. Ashley  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Stephany sent me over here and I’m smitten. I do have a particular fondness of IKEA, but you cracked me up.

    And I love that rug.

  • 15. abby  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    LOL! You had me rollin! Ikea is weird, but we’ve found some really great priced things. If you ever need light fixtures or faucets, they are cute and WAY cheaper at Ikea! I LOVE the rug!! Go you!

  • 16. Courtney  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I must admit, I’m an IKEA lover. The place makes my heart sing. Maybe because I’m single and living on one income, so cheap = good. And I love the desk! I saw it and started trying to figure how I could get it to fit in my office/guest room…

  • 17. amy  |  January 18, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    good for you with your Ikea finds! I have to say, I feel the exact same way about Ikea but maybe a little more on the dislike side b/c I won’t even step foot in there anymore. And as for Twitter, ya, I can’t do it.

  • 18. Taryn M. Peine  |  January 18, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    I can’t believe yall were there this weekend! We drove by on I-10 and just LOOKING at the parking lot gave me a panic attack!

  • 19. mrssjohnson  |  January 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Chels! I LOVE the rug! And I LOVE the desk. And I LOVE ikea! I’m suprised to hear you non-affection for it, but completely understand.

  • 20. Rachel  |  January 18, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I have never been to an Ikea… but I am obsessed with how cheap their stuff is. In fact… that shelf contraption with the desk was one of the things I was eying via the internet. I wanted it for Caden’s playroom so he could draw or eat or whatever. I ended up finding cheap organizational things like it w/o the desk since we didn’t get to go to Ikea in Chi… and the closest one to me is Dallas. And I LOVE the rug.

  • 21. knottywood  |  January 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Normally I don’t comment because the words just seem to lie there in black and white, with no Idea if the words were in jest or serious.I only clicked because I thought you would flame on IKEA. IKEA is against my religion! First off it is a big box store. How many small Mom and Pop stores did it kill or will kill to be there. It’s a supermarket of disposable junk. Even if it is cheap, trendy, it is still junk. Junk that WASN’T made in the USA, but will end up in the land fill in the USA at some point. Never underestimate the ignorance… and worse the stupidity of the American public. We have been brainwashed by big corporations to think this new widget or that is cool or hip. “Cheap=Good”????? Gag me with lentils. I forget that people don’t know how to cook either. I’ve ever followed a recipe or opened a cook book in my life, but I could fix a different lental dish every day that would kill. Brown rug? Taste in in one’s mouth. The pattern is OK, but in brown? Blue is my favorite color, but I wouldn’t have it in blue if you paid me $300. Maybe a shade of green and $600. Naaah, it’s from IKEA=Purgatory. Hell is living with it until you can transport it to the land fill.

  • 22. scapper al  |  January 18, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Lentils, twitter, Ikea, who else but you could combine them into a coherent post. Not a huge fan of twitter. I mostly use it to enter contests, lol. Lentils get cooked because they are cheap and healthy and the other occupant of the house likes ’em. I’m still looking for a recipe that will wow me. And Ikea? If I want something for the house that is cheap, but stylish, I’ll shop there. But it isn’t one of my go-to stores.

  • 23. Vanessa  |  January 18, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I hated twitter, then bloggers told me to get it. I did, now I love it. I’ve seen the light. I love how it gives an easy way to get to know other bloggers.

    As far as lentils, I’ve never tried making them myself. I’ve only ever had them in a soup from Carraba’s and it was quite delicious. I’m sorry you gagged on your own cooking, how horrible. Haha.

    As far as Ikea, I’m in love. Not with everything. I do adore that rub AND the desk! I say try going back when there isn’t the extra discount. I’ve never been to Ikea during that time but I don’t ever have problems with large crowds when I go.

  • 24. mandy  |  January 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I am a fan of Ikea. I can almost always find cute little things to tuck here and there to make my space seem more cozy or mine. And its cheap. Which makes me happy.

  • 25. kelly  |  January 18, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    ikea….eeeeeek!

    i made pdub’s white chili last night. it was easy and cheap, although i made a few changes/substituations. you should try it!

  • 26. Margarita  |  January 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    It looks amazing!!

  • 27. Ashley  |  January 18, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    You guys are crazy for going during a sale. I avoid IKEA like the plague during sales. IKEA is very hit or miss for me, but most of the furniture in my first apartment was from there because it was cheap and easy to get into my apartment (I didn’t know any big dudes with big trucks at the time–still don’t, actually).

  • 28. Stephany  |  January 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    That rug is so, so cute! I love it!

    Ikea is one of my favorite stores! I love going there…just to look around. It’s such a fun place so I’m respectfully disagreeing with you.😉

  • 29. Meg  |  January 18, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Love the rug! Although I”ve never actually been to Ikea.

    Half the fun of twitter, in my opinion, is following stores/companies you love, because sometimes they post discount codes. I’m cheap, so I appreciate this.

  • 30. Big W-D  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I have no problem with Ikea… I got some neat lights and bookshelves from there. (My futon too, but that wasn’t as great a purchase.) Two other friends told me they were hitting or did hit Ikea this weekend so I was afraid it’d be a madhouse… guess I was right.

    Rug looks nice too.

  • 31. Megan  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I can’t get into the whole twitter thing either…but I’m trying.

    I like to organize (see: OCD) so I enjoy IKEA. Fortunately for my huz, it’s REALLY far away.

    On another note: check out this link…http://bit.ly/7CXaIM notice any we may have the same living room furniture. No red tile here, though! But your new rug is a fantastic buy, impulse or not!

  • 32. Nora  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Never been to Ikea. ever. We don’t have one in StL and I’ve not yet made the trek to the Chicago ‘burbs just to go the store.

    I LOVE the rug and the green boxes. Definitely add some pop to the brown shelves.

    This post makes me want my own house. now. =)

  • 33. mom (Nana)  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Can’t wait to head over and see the new look!

  • 34. Ginger  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I LOVE your new bookcase/shelf thing…I need my whole room to have something like that! Your rug is also cute too! I’m not a big fan of rugs but I know how much they can add to a room, so yeah.

  • 35. Clare  |  January 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

    IKEA is a nightmare but you can find some good stuff at amazing prices! growing up, my bedroom was always filled with IKEA stuff and it lasted a long time.

    My current apartment is pretty much all IKEA, because my mom came to visit me 2 months after I moved in to discover my apartment empty save for a mattress on the floor in the bedroom and a tiny tv (sitting on free maps from AAA) and floor cushion in the living room. She felt sorry for me and off we went to Houston (this was before IKEA came to Austin). We got a couch, living room chair, desk, desk chair, TV stand thing and floor lamps all for like $800! 5 years later and it’s all still in great condition. I have since bought an actual bed and proper mattress (not from IKEA) so it’s like an actual adult lives here, which is always a good vibe for the home of a 27 year old I think. I’m not saying that if I had more money I’d still furnish so MUCH of my place from IKEA, but it definitely serves it’s purpose and for just a few items (such as your desk and rug) it can be fabulous.

    And they have great swedish meatballs in the cafeteria. And they should totally pay me to endorse them or something.

  • 36. Clare  |  January 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

    p.s. LOVE that rug!

  • 37. Mama Fuss  |  January 19, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Love the rug and desk. And they do have SOME nice wood furniture. I have the greatest bookcase from them. But then, I’ve gotten away from the the traditional look in the last few years and want a more contemporary look, so Ikea is perfect for me. (but I hate their plastic chairs, and I am average sized)

  • 38. zburrows  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:25 am

    OMG! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the rug. AMAZING!!!!!

    The desk is spectacular as well. The green boxes are super fun! IKEA is a scary place, but worth the awesomeness

  • 39. Kyla Roma  |  January 19, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    So beautiful! I love that you found such a great….find? lol

    Let’s talk lentils!

    If they taste like anything other than the sauce that you put them in, something has gone wrong. Seriously wrong.

    Lentils are pretty much like rice, just non offensive and they make something a little more filling. I would try something like this or this as a way to try them. But, honestly, I’m vegetarian and was raised on Indian food and I usually leave lentils to the professionals.

  • 40. brandilicious  |  January 19, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Love your new desk! I’m a huge fan of shelves that are boxy like that – so you can put baskets and such in them. Now I want to rearrange our home office! It looks like a college dorm.

    Sigh…one day

  • 41. Kristin  |  January 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Ikea is CRAZY every time we go…yet I keep going back. Ah ha. LOVE the desk!

  • 42. Tina  |  January 21, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Chelsea, usually we agree, (and we do about Twitter and lentils), but I was stunned that you didn’t love Ikea. And then I remembered that my love affair with it didn’t start until I had kids. When you’re ready, I’ll take you on the Insiders Tour–which includes how to navigate the bathrooms and feed a family of five for less than $10.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

