Ten on Tuesday (14)

January 19, 2010 at 8:00 am 37 comments

This set of Ten on Tuesday questions is brought to you by Kim from booksnmoore. She hasn’t updated her blog since December 14, so I’m not sure if she’s participating this week. Go check her out and see.

It’s another themed week. This week: Books. This one will strike the fancy of many of you. I fear that I’m going to feel worse about myself after this. As a lover of reading, I’m shocked at how few books I actually remember. So let’s see how this goes.

1. Favorite book(s) when you were a child and why?
We answered this in another set- Mine was Josafina and the Story Quilt. Loved that book. I also loved all the Berenstain Bears books and Amelia Bedelia books. That Amelia… she was always getting herself into trouble!

2. First “grown-up” book you remember reading (i.e. written for adolescents or with adult themes, such as The Outsiders or Catcher in the Rye).
It probably was The Outsiders. I think I read that in 6th or 7th grade. I LOVE that book.

3. Favorite movie that came from a book (even if you didn’t read the book and just love the movie).
Bridget Jones- I loved those books and I think the movies are so cute! Also, Polar Express. Oh and we can count Julia & Julia even though I’ve never read Julie’s book and have no desire to. Half of that movie is based on My Life in France and I will read that one.

4. Movie that you loved so much that you WISHED there was a book out so that you could find out more about the movie.
You’ve Got Mail. I think I could read about their relationship for a few volumes because the only thing they’d fight about is what movie to rent… and really, they’d never even fight about that.

5. Worst book you’ve ever read?
If I hate it after the first couple chapters, I don’t waste my time. I’ve closed a few books in my time. The only one I can remember by title is “Confessions of a Shopaholic.” I remember the name because I tried to read it and about a year later the movie came out. I was in shock that someone wanted to make a movie out of it. Also, I read “Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination” by Helen Fielding and it was totally random. Not crappy, just odd. I was expecting something more Bridget Jones. It was not Bridget at all.

6. Book that everyone raves about that you either a) haven’t read and feel slightly dumb for not having read it or b) have tried to read and hated and so feel slightly dumb that everyone is getting something you don’t.
Harry Potter. I haven’t read a single page of any of them.

7. If you were forced to choose only 3 books that you could read for the rest of your life, which ones would they be? (Or if you were stranded on a desert island, which 3 books would you want there with you?).
The Bible, Redeeming Love, and PW Cooks (so that I could stare at pictures of her ribeye with whiskey cream sauce while I ate bugs… assuming we’re sticking with the “stranded on a desert island” scenario).

8. Name one book that if you could recommend that everyone you know read, what is it?
I’m going to make a late rule here that says “The Bible” doesn’t count because obviously I wish everyone would read this book! Redeeming Love. I just read it this year after hearing people rave about it for years. I loved loved loved it.

9. What is your “guilty pleasure” reading?
Chick Lit. I love it. Marian Keyes is my favorite. Although I can’t feel too guilty about it because it makes me laugh and laughing is a good thing. Right?

10. What book (excepting the Bible or other major document of your religion/faith) has changed your outlook on life the most?
Stuff White People Like. Baha, just kidding. I’m hilarious. Probably Five Love Languages. It was quite eye opening. Stephen and I actually talk about it regularly. “I don’t feel loved when you do that, that’s not my language. Love me in my language.” Cheesy? Maybe. But it helps. I highly recommend it.

If you’re participating add you link to Mr Linky (not just the comments). I’m looking forward to reading that week’s answers so I can add to my ever-growing List Of Books I MUST Read. I suggest you click around and do the same!

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: , , .

Says The Girl Who Doesn’t Like Ikea Loser 9.03:Alley-Oop

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brandi  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:18 am

    See I thought the Shopaholic series was funny and fluffy and I hated the movie version 🙂

    You’ve Got Mail was on TV the other day and I had to stop and watch it. Love that movie.

  • 2. fritz  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:26 am

    You’ve Got Mail is one of my sisters favorite movies and you can always hear us quoting it in the weirdest places!! Great Answer’s and i think i want to check out the Five Languages of Love! Happy Tuesday!

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:33 am

    1.Books my mama would read to me. Then when I learned to read I loved reading those books. Babar, Peter Pan, fairy tales and ballet books were my favorites.

    2. That’s hard. I really don’t remember. Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret was probably one of the first young adult books I read. I HATED IT!

    3. Ooh. Too many. Pride and Prejudice, Christy, Sense and Sensibility, Anne of Green Gables and all the Nicholas Sparks novels to start.

    4. Yes, You’ve Got Mail. Saw it again the other night. My husband said, “Exactly how many times have you seen this movie?”

    5. This is hard because I totally put those books out of my mind. (excepting the book in #2) I do remember strongly disliking “A Wrinkle in Time” when I was a teenager.

    6. Same here. Harry Potter. But I don’t feel dumb or left out. I chose not to read them.

    7. Bible, Redeeming Love and Christy. Or maybe No Compromise. Hard, hard decision.

    8. I’m one of the ones who suggested you read Redeeming Love so I would have to say that one. My daughter owns it and we pass it back and forth. And this year I read Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I would recommend that one, too.

    9. Well I’ll admit it here, but no where else. I DID read the Twilight series after every blogger I know raved about it. Teeny bopperish, but a good guilty pleasure read.

    10. I’m drawing a blank here. How to Really Love Your Child, maybe? I keep thinking of child rearing books. I’ll have to think on that one.

    Denise Hildreth is from my hometown and I have to give her a shout out here. If you haven’t read her Savannah books, you really must. She’s a hoot. I read the whole series at the beach one year. Flies on the Butter will make you cry. Her newest book is coming out soon. Check her out.

    Thanks for stretching my mind.

  • 4. Sue @ SimonsSista  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:47 am

    We’ve got a few similar answers, and a lack of memory! Good set of questions though – really made me think (and link).

    Sue

  • 5. Joy  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Great bunch of questions, answers on Mister Linky.

    Will take your suggestion and put Redeeming Love on my to read pile.

  • 6. Molly  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:54 am

    First of all, You’ve Got Mail is the PERFECT answer to #4.

    Secondly, what are the odds that we both referenced “Stuff White People Like” today?

  • 7. Karen  |  January 19, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I am not in to reading, I have to say not at all, but I will give it a try, and look, I even spaced between my answers this time. I’m gettin it, I’m gettin it.

    1.Favorite book(s) when you were a child and why?
    Dr Seuss, because that was the only thing our mother bought us, but I loved them and still do, if I am at a Dr’s office, I will usually pick them up before any thing else. lol
    I also had a book with hundreds of different children stories, riddles, just everything you could think of in it, I can’t remember the name, but I took it to kindergarten class once and the teachers just raved about, I felt soooo proud of myself that day.

    2. First “grown-up” book you remember reading (i.e. written for adolescents or with adult themes, such as The Outsiders or Catcher in the Rye).
    None

    3. Favorite movie that came from a book (even if you didn’t read the book and just love the
    movie).
    I like some of the movies that you listed, but if I have to choose a book that relates to a movie, then I will have to go with “The making of the Ridley Scott epic,” which is a book that I never intend to read but it is about the movie “Gladiator” with Russell Crowe, because I think it is the BEST MOVIE EVER MADE, in my opinion of course, and how else would I fit it in to this question, if I did not choose it? 😉

    4. Movie that you loved so much that you WISHED there was a book out so that you could find out more about the movie.
    Oh, well, Gladiator, of course, with Russell Crowe mm, mm good, just like a man should.

    5. Worst book you’ve ever read?
    The book on my health insurance coverage.

    6. Book that everyone raves about that you either a) haven’t read and feel slightly dumb for not having read it or b) have tried to read and hated and so feel slightly dumb that everyone is getting something you don’t.
    I will go with HP also, and the Twilight books.

    7. If you were forced to choose only 3 books that you could read for the rest of your life, which ones would they be? (Or if you were stranded on a desert island, which 3 books would you want there with you?).
    If I was stranded on a desert island, the 3 books that I would want are:
    How to Build a Wooden Boat by David C. McIntosh
    Learning to Sail: The Annapolis Sailing School Guide for Young Sailors of All Ages by Di Goodman
    Latitude and Longitude (Rookie Read-About Geography) by Rebecca Aberg

    8. Name one book that if you could recommend that everyone you know read, what is it?
    The Pilgrims Progress by John Bunyan

    9. What is your “guilty pleasure” reading?
    I like mystery, suspense, CSI type stuff, and true stories

    10. What book (excepting the Bible or other major document of your religion/faith) has changed your outlook on life the most?
    I got nothing, drawing a blank here too, maybe it’s a southern thing.

  • 8. timlinzrowland  |  January 19, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Ok, this is the first week I have done Ten on Tuesday and I liked it alot! I might be hooked now!

  • 9. linda  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:15 am

    thanks for this 🙂
    i added my link to mr. linky

  • 10. Ashley  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Loved this survey!! I love to read so that was really fun! I left my link on Mr. Linky.

  • 11. Clare  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I love books! I’ll have fun doing this one for sure.

  • 12. Taryn E  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:34 am

    1. Professor Wormbog and the Search for the Zipperumpazoo by Mercer Mayer. I absolutely loved all of his books (he also writes/draws the Little Monster books.) I also loved Bunnicula, Ramona Quimby, Amelia Bedelia, anything by Richard Scary… I was cool with pretty much anything my parents wanted to read to me! 🙂

    2. ‘Lord of the Flies’ and ‘The Hobbit.’ Think I read them both around the 5th grade mark. I still own my Lord of the Flies copy from that english class.

    3. Stardust and Dune. Loved the books, loved the movies!

    4. The Fifth Element. There was so much going on in that movie, I wish there was a book to expand on it even more.

    5. ‘Atlas Shrugged’ by Ayn Rand. It’s 1100+ pages of repetitive philosophical crap.

    6. ‘Heart of Darkness’ by Joseph Conrad. I have read it and understand that it’s supposed to be this amazing novel, but I was absolutely bored to death with it….Blah blah blah blah. Go see Apocalypse Now instead.

    7. ‘IT’ by Stephen King. ‘Chronicles of Narnia’ by CS Lewis. ‘Lord of the Rings’ by JRR Tolkien.

    8. ‘Quiet Strength’ by Tony Dungy. Read if even if you’re not into football. He is a very humble person and deeply religious… one of the best books I’ve ever read.

    9. I don’t read romance novels/chick lit/etc, but I guess all of my reading is a guilty pleasure… sci-fi, horror, fantasy, etc. If I had to categorize anything as a guilty pleasure, I guess it would be reading stuff from the tween genre – my cousin Hannah has got me to read a lot of stuff like that… Twilight series, Percy Jackson series, Dark is Rising series, Inkheart, Pretties/Uglies series, etc….

    10. ‘A Grief Observed’ and ‘The Four Loves’ by CS Lewis

  • 13. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Oooooh the Bernstein Bears! LOVED THEM! The first book I ever read all on my own was a Bernstein Bear book!

  • 14. Nora  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:07 am

    i haven’t read a single Harry Potter book yet either. Or Gone with the Wind and apparently that’s kind of against some people’s religion 🙂

    My guilty pleasure? It’s’ really awful and I can’t believe I’m admitting it here but the series by J.R. Ward called the Black Dagger Brotherhood. It’s mystery + a bit of romance + vampires. (Please don’t judge! It’s called a guilty pleasure for a reason, right!?)

  • 15. jill  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I loved Shopaholic. I’m surprised you didn’t like it! Do you like shopping? Maybe that is why I enjoyed it…I love shopping…but not to that extent…

    I’m trying to get through the Five Love Languages. I like what I’ve read so far, I just don’t have a lot of time for leisure reading anymore.

  • 16. zburrows  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:51 am

    http://zburrows.wordpress.com/ten-on-tuesday/

  • 17. mandy  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I love questions about books. I have a hard time remembering what I’ve read as well. Thank goodness for Goodreads.com
    I ve never read Confessions of a Shopaholic. I’m not a huge fan of chicklit and I try to not read too much of it. Every once in a while though, I definitely reach for it.

  • 18. Kim  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Haha, I have broken my blog back out. Darn Christmas/traveling season getting me out of the habit *shakes fist*

    I talk a lot on there about books I read, so that’s why I picked the questions.

    I went ahead and answered them, link on Mr Linky 🙂

    Kim

  • 19. abby  |  January 19, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I love Chick Lit too. If you haven’t before, you have got to read Kristin Billerbeck’s books. They make you laugh out loud and she is a Christian author. (I can never find good christian chick lit books!) Anyway, Kristin’s books are amazing!! Very light and fluffy:) And her blog is hilarious too! 🙂

  • 20. Jessica  |  January 19, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I seriously think I’ve been number 17 on the Mr. Linky thing for the past several weeks now. Crazy.

  • 21. Kyla Roma  |  January 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Ms. Keyes is a fav. of mine too and my feelings on shopoholic are exactly the same. I was flummoxed by the people I knew who liked them, but they were super popular. I have no idea.

  • 22. Stephany  |  January 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    OK…now I want to read Redeeming Love! Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  • 23. Courtney  |  January 19, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Redeeming Love… That’s the one… Wait, no, I’m thinking of the Last Sin Eater. Redeeming Love is on my list to read as well as the Mark of the Lion (?) series.

  • 24. Kristin  |  January 19, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Ohhhhhhh, You’ve Got Mail. I’ve watched it a zillion times and will keep on watching it. I have a feeling I would re-read the book like I do Emma!

  • 25. Faith  |  January 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    I just got asked to join a Book Club and Redeeming Love is next on the list.

  • 26. TiphanyB  |  January 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    1. Favorite book(s) when you were a child and why?
    The Lorax by Dr. Seuss, because when I was a child I was a hippie/ tree-hugger.

    2. First “grown-up” book you remember reading (i.e. written for adolescents or with adult themes, such as The Outsiders or Catcher in the Rye).
    Well, the first one I really liked was The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan. I even went to a book signing with my English teacher, Ms. Difatta/ Schlie, when the author came to town.

    3. Favorite movie that came from a book (even if you didn’t read the book and just love the movie).
    Wow… so many… The Princess Bride, The Shawshank Redemption, and The Green Mile to name a few.

    4. Movie that you loved so much that you WISHED there was a book out so that you could find out more about the movie.
    Seven Pounds, starring Will Smith. If you haven’t seen that movie, I HIGHLY recommend it. Bring tissues, lots and lots of tissues. (My husband cried.)

    5. Worst book you’ve ever read?
    I need to go back and try this one again (I was in high school), but I was completely bored with Insomnia by Stephen King. My mom owns every single book he has written and I’ve read quite a few of his that I have loved, but I could not get into that one.

    6. Book that everyone raves about that you either a) haven’t read and feel slightly dumb for not having read it or b) have tried to read and hated and so feel slightly dumb that everyone is getting something you don’t.
    It took me forever to read The Davinci Code, and once I did I was still confused by the appeal.

    7. If you were forced to choose only 3 books that you could read for the rest of your life, which ones would they be? (Or if you were stranded on a desert island, which 3 books would you want there with you?).
    The Stand by Stephen King, The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, and In Shark Years I’m Dead (The Second Treasury of Sherman’s Lagoon Comic Strips) by Jim Toomey.

    8. Name one book that if you could recommend that everyone you know read, what is it?
    Aesop’s Fables

    9. What is your “guilty pleasure” reading?
    Anything by Anne McCaffrey

    10. What book (excepting the Bible or other major document of your religion/faith) has changed your outlook on life the most?
    Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth about Pregnancy and Childbirth by Jenny McCarthy… all of the things the doctors don’t tell you about pregnancy… I laughed, I cried- I share this with all of my pregnant friends.

  • 27. rachelheather  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    OMG, I cannot WAIT to hear what you say about Jillian ripping into Migdalia right now!!!

  • 28. Lisa D  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Ok, how random that we both want You’ve Got Mail to be a book! I just adore that movie!!

    I love all your ToTs but this one was a fave since it was about books! Which I adore!

  • 29. Kimberly  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Nora, I too fell into the J.R. Ward trap! then the latest one bored me so I gave up on them. Just wanted to let you know you weren’t alone haha.

  • 30. Ashley  |  January 20, 2010 at 12:50 am

    You’re killing me with the Harry Potter admission.

  • 31. Alyssa  |  January 20, 2010 at 8:11 am

    My mom used to dress up like Amelia Bedelia!!! I thought I was the coolest kid on the block.

  • 32. notmadewithcheese  |  January 20, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    http://notmadewithcheese.blogspot.com/2010/01/tot.html

  • 33. Ashley  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:36 am

    First, I LOVED Amelia Bedelia books! I still have all of them on my shelf, and I can’t bear to part with them. Second, I completely agree that You’ve Got Mail would make an excellent book. And, Marian Keyes! I just recently discovered her, but I’ve already read three of her books and have another on my nightstand ready to be picked up. I love her stories.

  • 34. americanising desi  |  January 26, 2010 at 3:45 am

    love ur meme and participated for the first time!

  • 35. torrent sites down  |  May 20, 2013 at 9:14 am

    This was a good sign, even as we we had not supposed to
    find greatly fine gold inside the stone. The breaking-in of young wild steers to operate in the team seemed somewhat cruel.

    Juni, als Bombenanschläge in Kathmandu und anderen Städten
    Nepals acht Tote und 22 Verletzte forderten.

  • 36. Pirate Bay Proxy  |  July 3, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    Make your trip complete with a taste of Khopa Dhau, Bhaktapur.
    The tradeoff is basically that you will have to let torrent seed for some while before you
    close it. You can begin to play the DVDs on your large
    screen LCDs using DVD players.

  • 37. Ten on Tuesday | She Writes Words  |  July 2, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    […] Here’s another Ten on Tuesday brought to you by Roots and Rings! […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

