Seven Quick Takes – I’m Back!

January 22, 2010 at 9:54 am 28 comments

After a 6-8 week Quick Takes break for the giveaway blogapalooza, I’m back. And I’m aware that I owe you the winners of the address label giveaway. I’ll get that done over the weekend, you know, to make sure you come back on Monday.

1.
I don’t know if I have ever been more excited for a Saturday in my life. I’m exhausted and dying for a morning with no alarm clock. I get to have a triple date with Lauren from Texas and Kapachino and our husbands, which is pretty great.

2.
Yesterday a guy in my office was talking to me and said, “The CFO… Chief Financial Officer, that’s what that means” in a very condescending tone. Do I really look like an idiot? Besides the fact that I went to an awesome school, I am a human being. A grown up. Who the heck doesn’t know what CFO means??? Always always assume people know what CFO stands for. If they don’t, they’ll google it.

3.
Can you believe that I still haven’t finished Wuthering Heights? I set it down sometime around Christmas and have yet to pick it up again. So far, the story is okay. Not great. If it were great, I wouldn’t have set it down. So, to those of you who haven’t read it, take that for what it’s worth!

4.
The sound on my computer at work is broken which pretty much means I get so bored and annoyed sometimes that I want to pull my hair out one by one. Sometimes a girl needs a little music in her life to block out the menfolk and that bathroom sounds. Which reminds me! My sister came to visit me at work the other day. Upon entering my office, she said, “Wow! You really are right across from the bathroom!” So, yeah. I’m not lying.

5.
How often is too often to wear my skinny jeans and cute boots? See the thing is that I dress casually to work every day. If I wore skinny jeans and my boots, I would get a lot of attention and they’d think I was going to a job interview during my lunch hour. So I typically wear jeans, a t-shirt, and tennis shoes. But tomorrow night I’m going out to dinner (as I’ve already told you) and then Sunday evening I’m going to dinner with my trendy friend Kelly and a friend of ours from college. I plan to sport my boots both night. But now I feel like that’s all I wear.

6.
Did y’all enjoy the guest post? I certainly hope so because I’ve got another one coming next week from a different blogger- one you probably don’t know yet! Sometimes I go through phases where I think that my writing is crap. So instead of throwing crap on the screen, I beg someone else to fill my corner of the internet with something funny.

7.
That’s pretty much all I’ve got for you. If it would make you feel better, I’ll post a photo of Avery! She’s not a big fan of cameras but she was trying to give us a good smile.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family. Tags: .

Finding Your Blog Soulmate. Blog Ideas From A Rocket Scientist

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mandy  |  January 22, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I would cry if the sound on my computer at work was broken. I listen to music ALL day to drown out the other sounds. Its very necessary.

  • 2. Kathleen  |  January 22, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I read Wuthering Heights for the first time in junior high, and then I failed the accelerated reader test on it. Apparently I didn’t pay close attention. I grew to love the book when my senior year English teacher had us spend what seemed like MONTHS analyzing it. And then I read it again a couple years ago to “help” my husband with an assignment.

    Can’t wait for tomorrow night!!

  • 3. Sarah  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:05 am

    1. Jealous. Maybe we should plan another blogger meet-up in H-tizzy.

    2. Sometimes I hate people/

    3. I didn’t like Wuthering Heights. I thought it was boring. But I also think it’s one of those books you should read before you die.

    4. Gross.

    5. No such thing as too often. Especially in Houston. It’s about to get hot around here so enjoy it while you can.

    6. I enjoyed it. Lauren is funny. But you are awesome too, so it’s whatever.

    7. Thank the Lord it’s Friday.

  • 4. Rachel  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I want a stylist so I don’t feel like I’m wearing the same thing all the time. I also want to be able to wear high boots and not feel stupid.

  • 5. Taryn E  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Avery is just a chunky little ball of cuteness! 🙂

    I feel ya on the whole work-attire thing… If I wear anything other than flipflops, jeans and a Legaleze polo, the guys act like i’m going to the prom or something! lol

  • 6. Molly  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:13 am

    a) your writing is awesome.
    b) prior to pregnancy, I probably wore skinny jeans and boots 3-4 times a week. Sometimes even 4-5. I love the look and I think you’re totally safe repeating it–especially just 2 times! You’re golden girl, GOLDEN!

  • 7. Sister  |  January 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I LOVE AVERY!

  • 8. kelly  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    oh my…look at those cheeks!!

    i say rock the boots…pretty soon it will be too hot/sticky to warm them (aka 8 months out of the year here), so get all the mileage you can out of them.

    can’t wait to see you sunday. hope i live up to my trendy rep..but sometimes sundays are hard. i do have a headband with a peacock feather on it i got on sale from urban i might wear though!

  • 9. kelly  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    and by warm…i mean wear 🙂

  • 10. Tabaitha  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Baby pictures are the best! Avery is precious, precious, precious! Have fun on ya’lls triple date tomorrow:)

  • 11. Kristin  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I don’t think you can ever where skinnies TOO much! Check out BonBon today. You’re a winner!

  • 12. Ashley B  |  January 22, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    wow. avery is getting big so quickly. she is so cute!

    ps it is NEVER wrong to wear skinny jeans and boots. they are the easiest/cutest thing to wear when it is remotely cold. plus you live in houston. it’ll be hot in like a week.

  • 13. jill  |  January 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Chelsea, you work with guys…they are not going to remember if you wear the same thing over and over. They’ll just know you look hot, haha.

    Next time that guy says something like the CFO thing…totally dead pan him and say Really? I had no idea? maybe he’ll get the poinT!

  • 14. DebbieQ  |  January 22, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Well now, isn’t Avery a little butterball of cuteness.

    And Wuthering Heights…. you know how much I read and that just isn’t one of my favorites.

  • 15. This Heavenly Life  |  January 22, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I’m so jealous of your triple date! Can’t wait to hear all about it. Wait — you WILL tell us, won’t you? For those of us living fabulous lives vicariously through you?

    Also, I’m a very VERY big fan of classic literature, and I still haven’t been able to finish Wuthering Heights. Maybe I’m just too cheery for all that dreary. Ness. You know?

    Yes, I liked Lauren’s guest post…but…I like your posts too!

  • 16. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  January 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Jealous of your triple date and you can never wear skinny jeans and boots too much!

    Have a great weekend 😀

  • 17. Southern Gal  |  January 22, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    What a sweet baby!

  • 18. Debbie  |  January 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    maybe that guy in your office knows the chicks from American Idol..ya know BFF, Friends Forever! 🙂

  • 19. Maki (barefoot chic)  |  January 22, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    What a beautiful baby…. So precious!! I can’t wait to paint something for her/you 🙂

    xpxp

  • 20. Maki (barefoot chic)  |  January 22, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Oops, I meant type “xoxo” not “xpxp” – LOL. Sorry!

  • 21. Kyla Roma  |  January 23, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Have fun today with your girls! I SO wish that there was a way I could meet you guys lol

    I will live vicariously through the blogs in the mean time =)

  • 22. johnalism  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I’m sure the guy didn’t *mean* to condescend (which means talk down to) but that’s just how it came out.

  • 23. Alice Rosenhagen  |  January 23, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I am that precious girl’s Nana!!! Woo HOO!!!
    Wear the jeans – wear the boots – it won’t be much longer cause it will be too stinkin hot!

  • 24. Vanessa  |  January 23, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Aww Avery is SO cute! My desk is right across from the bathroom too. I HATE it.

  • 25. Meghan  |  January 23, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    CHEEKS! Cutest baby.

  • 26. Mother-in-law  |  January 23, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Aww, Avery is just SO BEAUTIFUL! I love those cheeks! Stephen had cheeks just like that.

  • 27. Anna  |  January 24, 2010 at 1:13 am

    I think the rule on skinny jeans and boots is:

    As often as you can because the won’t always be in style and you paid good money for them and gosh darn it, you gotta look good!

  • 28. Kimberly  |  January 24, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Surprisingly enough…I listen to audio books at work…and when my cd player breaks down (my comp is too old there to have a sound card, I’m waiting for it to die to get a new one blah) omg, I feel lost without the sound of narration in my ear, and then I get distracted and bored.

    I’d recommend getting a cheap cd player (they also have cheap mp3 disk players now too)…it’ll set you back only about 25 and sometimes they last FOREVER…I had one that lasted with me leaving it on pause all night and weekends for two years.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

