Blog Ideas From A Rocket Scientist

January 25, 2010 at 9:29 am 21 comments

I have this rocket scientist friend. He’s a pretty smart fella with a witty, dry sense of humor. He comes over a couple times a week to work out with Stephen and every now and then he’ll say, “Oh I have a great idea for a blog post!” A while back I told him to keep his mind open so he could guest post for me sometime. His ideas quit coming. Something about pressure or writer’s block or something.

On Saturday we went to lunch with a few friends to celebrate one of our friends’ birthdays. The Rocket Scientist leaned over and said, “Okay. I have a great idea for your blog.” And he spilled it. And friends, let me tell you, it’s brilliant. You’re going to love it. Especially since the first sentence was, “So I know your readers love to read.” Well yes. Yes they do.

Ladies and Gents, I introduce to you: The Roots and Rings Fantastical Book Swap!

Here are the details. Anyone can participate. (Probably a good time for your lurkers to show your face!) All you do is mail me a book and you’ll get one mailed to you. Not just any old book though. It has to be one you love. It can be a random book that nobody has ever heard of AS LONG AS you like it. You may receive a book that you’d never think to pick up at the book store but you now know that someone loves it. So you have to give it an open-minded chance!

If you want to participate:
-Go to the Contact Me tab at the top of my blog and get in touch with me. I’ll give you the address to mail your book.
-Choose a book! (So much pressure!)
-Write a short review and stick it in the book. Not a book report, nothing that’ll give anything away. Just a few sentences on an index card about why you love the book.  
-Mail it to me. I’ll give you two weeks to get your book here. I need all books by February 8.
-Wait for your book. I will pick one out of the stack JUST for you!
-Read your book. IN IT’S ENTIRETY. This is the only rule of the game. You must read your book from front to back.
-Review it.

I’m working on a tab at the top of my blog for all book swap related information. (It may be active by the time you’re reading this.) Then you can add a link to your review once it’s posted.

What do you think? Sounds fun, huh? We’re always looking for new books to read and what better way to test some out?  What’s fun is that we all have such different taste in books. I’ll be especially excited to see what my male readers contribute!

So talk amongst yourself… tell me what you think about this.

** Forgot to mention- ToT questions are posted!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: .

Seven Quick Takes – I’m Back! Ten on Tuesday (15)

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyla Roma  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Very cute! I’m currently being impoverished by sending things to the US so I’ll skip this, but have fun- and cute idea!

  • 2. zburrows  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:59 am

    OMG! I love this idea. I cant wait to do it! How will I ever choose which book to send you??????

    This is the same reason I love my book club. I get to read things I would never pick up on my own… it helps me branch out.

    But you know how I feel about my books. So I will just have to hit half-priced books and pick up a used copy. Or do used books on Barnesandnoble.com Have you used them before C? It is really inexpensive and the shipping is really cheap too.

    Dear Rocket Scientist,
    I love this idea!
    Love,
    Lyndsey

  • 3. Clare  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:03 am

    I am so in for this, what a great idea!!

  • 4. Pippy  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Awesome Idea!

  • 5. Taryn E  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:47 am

    ooooh… I’m definitely in! I’m waiting to see how many people mail you Harry Potter books, so you’ll have no choice but to finally read them! 🙂

  • 6. Mom (nana)  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:37 am

    FUN idea – not sure you can afford to mail all those books out though – could get expensive…..hmmmmm wondering how to get around that problem…just thinking…..will let you know if I think of something. Great idea “rocket scientist” – I won’t call him by name cause I don’t want him to become famous and then move away and not be our friend anymore…. 🙂

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:37 am

    This is a great idea! But how in the world will I choose one book? Will you narrow the field down a little? I get overwhelmed just thinking about it. Call me ‘Indecisive’.

    AND my hubby’s cousin is a rocket scientist, too, who works in Washington, DC. One more thing we have in common. Knowing a real life rocket scientist.

  • 8. Bec  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:39 am

    So, just to clarify… people will mail you the books, and then you will distribute to everyone participating one of the books that was sent to you?

    or will you be reading all the books that are sent to you?

  • 9. Kathleen  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:46 am

    I feel obliged to participate in this because you are my friend and reading is my “thing.” So sign me up – email me your address!

  • 10. Samantha  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:51 am

    This is such a great idea! I hope to participate… if I can actually choose a book! I’m so indecisive… lol!

  • 11. Stephany  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Oh, oh, oh! I am SO participating! This sounds like so much fun and I already know the book I want to send you! Yay!

  • 12. Bec  |  January 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Media mail costs about $2.50. It would be great for everybody to throw a few dollars in the book when you send the book to help pay for the one that you are going to get back.

  • 13. Alyssa  |  January 25, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    What a great idea! I have to go through my books at home now. Can’t wait to participate!

  • 14. Rachel  |  January 25, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    So we can contribute guilty pleasure chit lit? Or worse, YA Lit? B/C I have to admit those are my favorite kind of books.

  • 15. Shana  |  January 25, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    YES, PLEASE, I will participate and I already know what book I’ll be sending you!

  • 16. Debbie  |  January 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    how fun!! what a genious idea! now, to pick a favorite book….

  • 17. Abby  |  January 25, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I love this idea! I”m worried that people might think my books are too fluffly:) I’m all about chick-lit! And I’m anal retentive about keeping my books pristine…but I may need to throw my hat… er book… in the hat for this! Sounds like a great time!

  • 18. Molly  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I’m in!

  • 19. Suburban Sweetheart  |  January 26, 2010 at 1:17 am

    Love it! But… what if I don’t life my book?! I still have to read it?! Oy. And how will I know who got my book? And if they hate it, will I feel terrible? And am I overthinking this? OK, OK, count me in. 🙂

  • 20. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Yes! I love this idea! I’d love to participate, I’m just worried about how quickly I could get around to reading the book I get sent. I have a stack of about 10 books that I need to read, and I don’t know if I could get to a new book as quickly as I’d like. But I would put it high on my list. What do you think? Would it be OK to do this but not promise that I’d read it within the next few weeks/months?

  • 21. Nora  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Um, yes, I’m in. Now to decide what book to send…. I will email you shortly so that I can find out what address to send the book too 🙂 Always love new books!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

