Ten on Tuesday (15)

January 26, 2010 at 8:00 am 26 comments

Today’s batch of questions comes from the lovely Lisa from Lisa’s Yarns. It’s a good batch!

1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
I’m pretty proud of getting into the business school at The University of Texas, apparently it’s not an easy thing to do. But mostly, I think I’m most proud of the fact that I didn’t remain the person I was when I started college. Instead I changed my life around and figured out what it meant to be a true follower of Christ. At a school like UT, it’s easy to get sucked into the party life. Although, maybe I should say that I am most thankful for this, not proud of it. Because I’m pretty certain that this has less to do with me and more to do with God.

2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
Seven pounds eleven ounces. Stephen weighed almost 11. I don’t want to talk about how that may or may not give me a preview of our future children.

3. What is your favorite perfume?
I don’t really wear perfume because it tends to give me headaches. Occasionally I use Japanese Cherry Blossom body spray from Bath & Body Works. I’m smells bueno!

4. How many siblings do you have?
Two- Older bro, Younger sis
Three in-laws- My brother’s wife and my husband’s sisters

5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
We think we’d like to have 3. If we win the lottery, we’ll have 4.

6. What’s the best class you took in college?
I had a few that I really enjoyed. Some of my higher division marketing classes were pretty interesting. I loved Children’s Literature because it was the easiest class in the world and all I had to do was read children’s chapter books. I also loved Nonverbal Communication. Oh and Interpersonal Communication. Those two classes were so popular at UT that people would go to them even if they weren’t enrolled in the class.

7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
I LOVED Skip-bo! Man, I could play that game over and over. I also loved Operation even though it always scared the crap out of me.

8. What character on Friends are you most like?
Monica – because I’m motherly, stubborn, get my feelings hurt, and I love to cook. But not the cleaning part. I’m more like Joey when it comes to cleaning.

9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
Nope. No way, no how. No siree Bob. Not at all. No.

My heart starts beating really fast if I have to call someone. I almost never answer calls from unknown numbers. I’d MUCH rather an email or text. I don’t know what it is about the phone, but it scares me. I once saw an episode of Dr. Phil and this lady was scared of the phone. He discovered that it stems from the phone call she got years and years ago saying that her mother died. As treatment, he made another one of his “patients” (a lady who called her son hundred of times each day) call her instead. They would talk about things that were fun and not scary. They were both cured.

I don’t know where my problem stems from but I plan to stay far from Dr. Phil.

10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
Well naturally I loved my honeymoon. It was a perfect week (minus the whole not-pooping-for-7-days-but-still-getting-in-a-bathing-suit-and-taking-full-advantage-of-the-free-food thing… is that TMI?). I also loved my trip to New York with my mom. We went with my aunt and uncle and cousin. It was so much fun. I loved all trips to Disney World and all cruises. Want to know what I didn’t love? The two week car trip up and down California when we spent approximately 75% of the time looking at trees. There is such thing as too many trees.

Your turn! Add your link and visit around.

———-

If you didn’t stop by yesterday, be sure to visit he Book Swap tab at the top of my blog. We’ve got a good number of people interested. And to answer the most common question: YES, it’s okay to choose a fluffy chick lit book! That’s the point. You can be sure that The Rocket Scientist isn’t going to choose something that would normally be on your list!

———-

Below are the winners of the address labels. Please take note of the giant remote control. Winners, I’ll get you in touch with the seller! Congrats.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Stephen, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Blog Ideas From A Rocket Scientist Loser 9:04: A Great Episode Without Any Good Quotes

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyssa  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Love the answer to #10…hilarious! The best college course I ever took was a Literature class on the history of rock-n-roll…very interesting!

  • 2. Taryn E  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:14 am

    1. Getting a major in Marine Biology and Art…. and then sucking it up and doing two years of grad school and getting my MFA in Medical Illustration. 6 long hard years of work!!

    2. I want to say 7lbs, 9oz… but don’t hold me to that

    3. I love Twilight Woods and Exotic Coconut from Bath and Body Works. I also love Kimono Rose by Thymes.

    4. Zero siblings, One Sister-in-law

    5. We currently have one son… we’ll definitely have two kids, possibly three.

    6. History of Baseball. We watched Ken Burns’ whole documentary and we were required to go to at least 4 major-league baseball games! 🙂

    7. Cootie, UNO, Operation, Candyland, Sorry!

    8. I never really watched Friends, so I have no idea!

    9. I like talking to friends and family on the phone. I hate having to call the doctors office and stuff like that.

    10. Our honeymoon in Jamaica was awesome! Especially climbing Dunn’s River Falls.

    From my childhood, the best trip was our family trip up to jackson Hole, Wyoming. Two weeks of camping, driving cross country, hiking, etc. It was fabulous!

  • 3. Karen  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:30 am

    1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
    Getting my degree in Accounting and Marketing.
    Being a homeowner, although it makes me cry a lot, I am very proud of it.

    2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
    I think 8lbs

    3. What is your favorite perfume?
    None, and I can’t be around it or my sinuses begin to immediately hurt.

    4. How many siblings do you have?
    Two older sisters
    One older brother
    I duh baby

    5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
    None, I have enjoyed watching my nieces and nephews grow up and I am very proud of them, that is all I need, none for me.

    6. What’s the best class you took in college?
    I liked my psychology class and literature classes mainly because of the teacher, she was fun and made it interesting.

    7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
    Hop-scotch and other games, if you call them games that me and my siblings would play. We had dirt piles in the yard for my dad to spread out and we would get behind them and throw dirt bombs at each other, it hurrrrt, but it was a lot of fun.

    8. What character on Friends are you most like?
    Not sure, I did not watch the show very often

    9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
    Not at all, my friends and family even fuss at me because I do not have a cell phone.

    10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
    Pigeon Forge TN, we went to Dolly Wood, the first time my dad road a roller coaster, it was great and we really enjoyed Pigeon Forge, there was so much to do there.

    RIP Dad

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

    1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
    Twenty-nine years of marriage and three beautiful children. All gifts of God. (Homeschooling them and surviving ranks right up there.)

    2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
    Nine pounds even. 24 inches long.

    3. What is your favorite perfume?
    Not a perfume person.

    4. How many siblings do you have?
    One – a sister

    5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
    We have three. We were opened to having as many as the Lord would give us and three was his number.

    6. What’s the best class you took in college?
    I didn’t go to college.

    7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
    Spit! (card game), Hands Down and Clue.

    8. What character on Friends are you most like?
    Umm. None of them???

    9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
    Not so much since email arrived on the scene.

    10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
    The best I’ve taken has always been the beach trips. My parents always took us. Every year. And even though the mountains were just as close as the beach, mom would always choose the beach. Nowhere else on earth can top it in my opinion. I guess that’s why I didn’t see the mountains until I was 18 and married! I’ve always wanted visit Italy.

  • 5. jnyfritz  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:40 am

    i am so jealous! i always wanted operation, but i wasn’t cool enough, i guess that is why make believe oregon trail was our best bet…

  • 6. jill  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Okay, please explain why you have this gigantic remote control. My father has one very similar. He purchased his (from Dollar General, affectionately known as “the DG”) after he lost his normal remote for the umpteenth time. He claims he lost it because it was so small. Needless to say, the DG version is solving that problem quite well.

    Oh and thanks for making me feel like a big turd by not listing my sister in law under siblings. Oops.

  • 7. Kyla Roma  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:42 am

    I WON SOMETHING? NO WAY!!!!!!!! WOO! lol Thanks Chelsea!

    And I feel like I must be the only person who has no idea what I weighed when I was born. At all lol

  • 8. johncampbell  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:46 am

    You make me laugh! I do have to ask though–why the heck didn’t you poo for 7 days???

  • 9. johncampbell  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:47 am

    (that was molly, not john. why is he logged onto my web browser. john, I’m safari. you are chrome. get it right!)

  • 10. Darla  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Love so much that two of your fave classes were COMMUNICATION ones! I teach both of them and love them too.

    PS I think 4 kids is pretty awesome. Then when you go to Disney World everybody has someone to sit with in the ride. Of course, then you have to get 2 rooms at Disney World and you do pretty much need the lottery for that. 🙂

  • 11. Ashley  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Here are my answers (I also included it on the link list ): http://tyandashmoss.blogspot.com/2010/01/ten-on-tuesday_26.html.

  • 12. Kaitlynn  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I’m actually going to participate this week! I feel completely inadequate when it comes to cooking and books, so I’ve been laying low these last couple weeks 🙂

    1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
    Hmmmm, kind of hard to toot your own horn… Well I did well in school. I graduated from college with honors in 3 1/2 years. Looking back though, I’m wondering why I didn’t try and stay in college as long as possible!!! Oh that’s right….that little thing that makes the world go round….

    2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
    Like 8 pounds 12 ounces or something like that. Kind of huge. But I’m the baby of the family, so I hear that’s kind of how it works.

    3. What is your favorite perfume?
    Ralph Lauren Romance is my “signature” scent. But I got some Tommy Hilfiger Dreaming for Christmas and I’m loving it! Nothing like a new scent to spice up your life!

    4. How many siblings do you have?
    Three, all older – Sister and two brothers
    3 brothers-in-law…. Sister’s husband and husband’s 2 brothers. Can I just say, my husband’s brothers need to get married… I’m out numbered!

    5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
    I am a firm believer that this question cannot be answered until you actually start having kids. You just don’t know until you have that first one. That being said, I’d like to have at least 2 and if all goes well maybe 4? I’d really like to have each gender, but I think I’d stop trying after 4. When I met my husband he wanted a whole football team, but I’ve talked some sense into him since then.

    6. What’s the best class you took in college?
    Probably my web design classes. The teachers were always super laid back and the projects were always fun. Once, we had to take two celebrities and show what their kids would look like (If they mated…”). I used Paris Hilton and Steve Buscemi…. yeah, feel free to throw up in your mouth a little bit. But seriously, how fun is that? And you never really had homework because we used the special computers in the design lab.

    7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
    Oh my gosh Chelsea, I had totally forgotten about Skip-bo! That game was so awesome! We would play until the wee hours of the morning until someone won! I also had an old school handheld Lion King video game that I adored. I can still hear the theme song in my head.

    8. What character on Friends are you most like?
    I don’t know….. Monica I guess? But I’m really not that neurotic. But I’m not as ditzy as Phoebe and not as fashionable as Rachel…. so…..

    9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
    No, not really. I am so guilty of screening my calls, my husband gets so mad. It’s not because I don’t want to talk to that particular person, it’s just that I don’t want to talk on the phone at that particular time. Sometimes I’m just not in the mood to talk, you know? But since I moved away from all my family and friends, I do make exceptions so I can keep up with them.
    Your Dr. Phil story was funny! 😛

    10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
    I think I’ve gotta say honeymoon. We spent a week in Acapulco. Beach and brand new husband, how can you go wrong? I think I’ll always choose tropical over any other vacation.

  • 13. Vanessa  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I loved operation but I was never any good. I’m not patient or still enough!

  • 14. Clare  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:56 am

    I’m so jealous of all the cool classes people get to choose from at American universities. I went to school in England where it is already totally narrowed down before you even start college so you don’t get to take any fun general classes. A couple I took for my major were fun, but we didn’t have a lot to choose from.

    hahahahaha at Dr. Phil’s solution. I bet lady #2’s son was the most thankful of the bunch for that one.

  • 15. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  January 26, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Great batch of questions from Lisa!

    I had to laugh out loud that you rarely answer the phone. LOL. I hate the phone, but not quite that much 😛

  • 16. Stephany  |  January 26, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Haha, I do that too! If I get a call from a number I don’t know, I let it go to voicemail. Even if it’s a number in my area code.

    I think it’s funny how none of us are really phone people. I guess we just have to now know that the person we’re calling on the phone is just as nervous as we are!

  • 17. abby  |  January 26, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    WHOO HOO!!! I WON!!!! Sorry if i’m too energetic about labels… but I am:) Thanks so much:)

  • 18. Kathleen  |  January 26, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Okay, David and I were hoping to be able to drive down the California coast next year. Are you saying that you wouldn’t recommend the trip?

  • 19. Jessica  |  January 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Dude, I’m telling you. Number 17 again!

  • 20. Kara  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
    Graduating from university with a degree! I never thought I’d be able to do it, but it’s an amazing feeling.

    2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
    Six pounds, unknown ounces.

    3. What is your favorite perfume?
    I own one bottle of perfume, and it’s Ralph by Ralph Lauren. I hardly ever wear it.

    4. How many siblings do you have?
    One brother and one step-brother. There’s a step-sister in there too but she’s disconnected herself from her father.

    5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
    2 or 3 I think. The bf isn’t quite sold on the idea of kids yet, but he’s slowly warming up to it.

    6. What’s the best class you took in college?
    I loved my Photography class (with REAL film and a REAL darkroom!) and my art culture class. Amazingly, both of those were electives.

    7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
    I played a LOT of Nintendo, especially Super Mario. Board game wise, I’d say Candyland!

    8. What character on Friends are you most like?
    I like to think I’m a combination of all six! Nerdy, crazy, OCD … yep!

    9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
    The only person I ever have long conversations with on the phone is my mom. When I first started the journalism program at school, I HATED calling people up for interviews. (Think, nervous sweating, stuttering and fist-pumps when they didn’t answer). Now it’s not so bad.

    10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
    There’s two – One would be my trip to Palm Springs when I was in Grade 9 to visit my grandparents and great-grandma, and the other would be the trip Kyle and I took to Vancouver a couple summers ago. After 5 years of dating, it was our first “big” trip together!

  • 21. Mother-in-law  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
    my marriage, and my 3 children

    2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
    9 pounds 5 ounces

    3. What is your favorite perfume?
    Beautiful by Estee Lauder

    4. How many siblings do you have?
    6, 2 older sisters, 3 older brothers, and 1 younger brother, 1 brother–in-law on my hubby’s side, and 1 bro-in-law on my side, and 4 sis-in-laws

    5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
    3, 2 daughters and 1 son (your husband) and one DIL, Chelsea!

    6. What’s the best class you took in college?
    My alegbra, because I was so scared of it, and with my kids help, I learned to love it.

    7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
    Monopoly, cards…battle, uno, skipbo, crazy 8’s

    8. What character on Friends are you most like?
    mmm, don’t really know

    9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
    I used to be, but not so much anymore. I prefer email.

    10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
    the trip to england in 2002 when all 5 of us went, the trip to NYC that Heather and I took in 2002, and the trip to Paris that John and I took in 2006 when Heather was in the HEC there for school.

  • 22. Lisa D  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    So I don’t think anyone likes the phone. So maybe we can just do away with it completely!!

    I laughed outloud at your Operations comment – it really scares me, too! Kind of cringe thinking about the noise!

  • 23. Courtney  |  January 27, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Better late than never! I got it done. And it passed about 30 minutes of my slow afternoon. 🙂

  • 24. brandilicious  |  January 28, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    11 lbs! Yikes. I really hope your kids are a happy medium. Like 8 lbs 🙂

  • 25. Nora  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    One of my very petit friend’s is worried because her husband and his brother were both 10 pound babies. I can’t even imagine…

    congrats to the winners 🙂

  • 26. Ten on Tuesday (4) « Life At A Difference Pace…  |  May 18, 2010 at 8:54 am

    […] mentors me and they have awesome kids!), Lauren from Texas- I love her takes on life and stories! Roots and Rings because I love Chelsea and can’t wait to meet little Jansen! Meegan Weaver did our wedding […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

