Seven Quick Takes – I’ve Lost Count So You’ll Get More Random Titles Now

January 29, 2010 at 9:41 am 19 comments

I love Quick Takes Friday – it allows me to compile all my random bits into a nice package I can give you. You’re welcome. Click the logo below to visit my Quick Takers.

1.
I feel that I should address this, even though I don’t want to. I’d rather make you squirm and email me with winky faces. I’ve been on a guest post kick lately because I know so many talented, funny people. Each guest blogger is allowed to write about whatever they wish and promote their blog however they want. John is an almost-daddy who writes about almost-daddy things. So that’s what his guest blog was about. But if you want to think otherwise, be my guest. I can out-wink you any day.

2.
I’m making a dark chocolate cheesecake tonight. Tomorrow I’m going to Lauren’s house to hang out in our PJ’s and drink wine and eat cheesecake. Doesn’t it sound like bliss? She rented Shop Around the Corner and swore she wouldn’t watch it without me. I’m super excited!

3.
I don’t want to talk about how much laundry I need to do this weekend. See. This is me… not talking about it.

4.
I’m considering taking a knitting class or a sewing class. I can’t do both because I just don’t have that much time in my day to devote to two different hobbies. I think knitting has a great appeal because you can take it with you. But sewing seems fun because you can do more with it. But then there’s the whole problem of not having a sewing machine. So now, you see, I’m confused.

5.
Last night I made this spaghetti sauce I saw on Smitten Kitchen. It’s just canned tomatoes, butter, and onion. Everyone swears it’s the best. So I thought I’d give it a go. My review? Delicious taste, a bit runny. I think next time I’ll add an extra can of tomatoes but DRAIN it so there is less juice.

6.
Normally I’d show you a picture of Avery right now since I saw her last night. But I was a bad aunt and didn’t take any pictures. I will now put myself in the corner.

7.
If you still need the address for the Book Swap, use the Contact Me tab at the top. Or just leave a comment in this post and I’ll email it to you. Make sure you read through the Book Swap tab to learn all the details. You should participate because you have the chance to get a book from my very cool aunt. Wouldn’t that be fun? I’ve heard from a few of you that you are waiting on Amazon to ship your book. Please let me know if you need me to push the date back a bit. I have no problem doing that if it means that more of you can participate. I bought my book at Half Price earlier this week. It’s chick lit fluff!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family. Tags: .

Handling a Pregnant Wife Because You Asked

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:22 am

    And, in the corner you shall remain.
    The cheesecake sounds lovely, I hope you enjoy.

  • 2. Kim  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:22 am

    3. I’ve already done 6 loads of it. 6. And I’m not at the bottom of the pile yet.

    4. Many of the sewing classes have sewing machines at the class for you to use. It doesn’t help you practice I guess, unless you can borrow someone elses but at last it teaches you the fundamentals.

    7. Can you send me the address?

  • 3. fah  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I just signed up for a knitting class myself through one of the local school districts. We’ll see how it goes!

  • 4. Molly  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:34 am

    I vote for sewing…but I too need a machine. I just use my mom’s.

    Sorry my husband’s post got all those eyebrows raised about your babymaking.

    I am once again so jealous of Lauren. That night sounds INCREDIBLE!

  • 5. Lauren From Texas  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:41 am

    You forgot to mention: Lauren is AWESOME because she has had this movie in her possession since BEFORE THE HOLIDAYS & has restrained herself from watching it & her husband from returning it to Blockbuster.

  • 6. Jessica  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Shop around the corner is SO GOOD! You’re going to love it! It’s one of my favorite old movies.

    You should totally pick knitting. You can make fun winter stuff and stuff for babies and blankets and such. It’s just awesome.

  • 7. mrssjohnson  |  January 29, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    I’m really excited about the Book Swap, but I feel that I cannot take on one more thing so I can I join in May once I graduate??

  • 8. Dad  |  January 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Squirt – I’ll make you a deal if you go with sewing lessons. We’ll buy you a sewing machine if you take care of our sewing needs.

  • 9. abby  |  January 29, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    You should totally take a sewing class! I did a couple years ago and it brought all of my high school sewing class days right back! It was fun AND we got to use $7000 machines at the store to make our cute bags. (I still use my bag btw) There are some great inexpensive machines (Mine was less than $300.) that are good machines and will sew through a lot of fabric (I make bags and purses that are really thick.) Anyway, I totally think you should do it. It’s way fun to carry something with you that you made!

  • 10. Clare  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I vote sewing, so that I can live vicariously. I wish I could sew.

    I don’t have the address yet and want to participate in book club…and would like it if the date was pushed back because I need to finish reading the book I’m going to send! But I will force myself to finish it in time either way.

    I loved the guest bloggers, it’s helped me discover 2 awesome blogs I didn’t previously know about!

  • 11. Angela  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    This is the part where you’re supposed to invite me over for cheesecake and wine in my pj’s!
    I kid, I kid. But seriously, sounds like so much fun!

  • 12. Darla  |  January 29, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    You and Lauren have fun!!

  • 13. Kathleen  |  January 29, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    It’s one of my goals to take a sewing class, but I don’t own a sewing machine either. Forget about knowing the first thing about sewing. I was thinking that eventually I’d take a class at SewCrafty, because they have everything there.

    Your date with Lauren sounds perfect.

  • 14. This Heavenly Life  |  January 29, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I need to know about Shop around the corner…what is it? Enjoy your dark chocolate and wine…

  • 15. Nora  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Laundry. Ick. Thanks for the reminder though🙂

  • 16. Ashley  |  January 30, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Sewing does seem to be a bit more expansive, but knitting is surprisingly detailed and intricate. I love both, but the methodical nature of knitting calms me somehow. But again, i agree with everyone when they say you can use the machines at the class and there are definitely some inexpensive machines you can buy!

  • 17. Samantha  |  January 30, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Bleh. For as much as I like keeping my house clean, I really, really, REALLY despise laundry. I don’t mind putting it in the machine and such, but FOLDING IT. UGHH!

    I’ve always wanted to try knitting. If you took it up, you could make something adorable for your niece to wear. That would totally make up for not taking any pictures of her from your last visit.😉

  • 18. Stephany  |  January 31, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Hm, it seems you didn’t quite answer the question to #1 but kept me guessing. Interesting.

    Also, I haven’t received an e-mail for your address for the book swap. I wanted to send out my book yesterday but couldn’t. Boo. So I need it so I can make it to your house by Feb. 8th!

  • 19. Sarah  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Being out of town for a week makes me get really behind in reading blog posts, but inquiring minds want to know…have you decided knitting vs. sewing? I wish I was in Houston. I’d help you out with both!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

