Ten on Tuesday (16)

February 2, 2010 at 8:16 am 23 comments

This week’s batch comes from Lauren from Little Loves. Go say hello!

1. What is your favorite travel destination spot?
Anything with a warm beach. Seriously, even Galveston. I also love Disney World and New York. All for different reasons, obviously. But I wouldn’t turn down a free trip to any of those places.

2. Cats vs. Dogs.
I don’t really know how this is even a question. Dogs all the way. The have personalities, they love people, they do tricks, and they don’t rip your pants for fun.

3. Do you believe in fate?
Yes and no. I believe that things are meant to happen and can happen spontaneously and look to be “coincidence.” But I believe that God has the power, the universe doesn’t. Fate didn’t bring Stephen and I together, God did.

4. Do you believe in karma?
No. But I still believe you should treat people well.

5. Everyone has a unique laugh. Do you like yours?
Not really. I usually am a silent laugher or a big smiler. I don’t have a really fun, contagious laugh. Every now and then I can have a laugh that makes noise. When I really get going, I cry and my nose turns read and my eyes turn bright bright green. It really ugly.

6. Is love really all you need?
Well, no. But yes. Since God is love, all you need is love. But in the world’s view of love, no. That’s not all you need. If that’s all you needed, why would the world constantly be trying to find other sources of happiness? So in sum, you need God and probably some chocolate.

7. What’s your take on the whole 2012 scare?
I don’t know anything about the 2012 scare. So my take on it? It’s not very scary.

8. If you won a million dollars and had to give it all away, who would you give it to? (Family and friends not included.)
I would split it 4 ways. I would give a portion to my church, a portion to our old church in Austin, a portion to the Passion organization, and a portion to Makarios (a missions organization that a friend of mine is involed in). 

9. Do you believe in God/religion/the power of prayer?
I think this is pretty obvious. I most definitely believe in God and the power of prayer. I think the word “religion” is disgusting. But I kind of don’t want to get into that. It rubs me wrong when people say, “I feel that I am a religious person.” And I apologize to any of you that wrote that as you #9 today. It’s not personal, it’s just a thing I have.

10. What New Year’s Resolution do you always make but never keep?
I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. And for that reason alone, I’ve never quit one.

Your turn!

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Because You Asked Loser 9.05: We Almost Got Rid of Them

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brandilicious  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:54 am

    kitties have personalities too. and I’ve seen my fair share of kitties doing tricks. They just have to be in the mood for them. 🙂

  • 2. Karen  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:28 am

    1. What is your favorite travel destination spot?
    I am not a traveler, I am more of a home body, but if I were going to travel it would be things to do with nature or history. I was not interested in history in school, but the older I get the more interested I become.

    2. Cats vs. Dogs.
    Love them both, but I like cats better because of their independence, just feed, water and vet checkups, they do not ask for much more.

    3. Do you believe in fate?
    Yes and no, depends on the fate of what, like death, yes that will be one day, winning the lottery, depends on me picking the right numbers. OH PLEASE, OH PLEASE lol

    4. Do you believe in karma?
    I would say yes, because it makes me feel better to believe that they will not get away with it.

    5. Everyone has a unique laugh. Do you like yours?
    Sometimes, but at times I can really have this outburst with laughing that embarrasses me.

    6. Is love really all you need?
    No, I need and really want money.

    7. What’s your take on the whole 2012 scare?
    Although we do not know when the world will end, I do not believe it is then.

    8. If you won a million dollars and had to give it all away, who would you give it to? (Family and friends not included.)
    um, um, ahh, um, wait some one give me a tissue 😦 give it away? uhh, um, get the car ready, uhh mmm, really 😦 give it away? Ok, ok I would give it to, not sure which, but like a cancer research center or other research center for children.

    9. Do you believe in God/religion/the power of prayer?
    Yes, with out a doubt, No, Yes, with out a doubt also.

    10. What New Year’s Resolution do you always make but never keep?
    I don’t make them anymore, but it use to be loosing weight and getting fit. I guess my new, New Year’s Resolution is to not make any more, that is one that I have been able to keep. 🙂

  • 3. Alyssa  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:42 am

    I like to believe in karma because when people are mean to me then I think they’ll get it in return BUT it hardly ever happens that way. RE: GO DOGS!!!

  • 4. This Heavenly Life  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I’m with Brandilicious – my cats have always had personalities. And *bonus*, they don’t jump or lick or bark. Or take my attention away from my kids. But I have plenty of friends who share your feelings, so I guess I’ll still love you.

    And with regard to Love — it IS all you need…along with hard work and commitment and a sense of humor. Which means agape love is all you need. Agape, and you’ll be good. Because your choice to show love will pervade every area of your life, until you can do nothing else BUT love. Like Jesus. At least that is the hope 🙂

  • 5. Sue @ Simon's Sista  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Some seemingly tough questions that were actually quite easy to answer. Thanks. http://simonssista.blogspot.com/2010/02/ten-on-tuesday-on-tuesday.html

  • 6. Taryn E  |  February 2, 2010 at 10:17 am

    1. What is your favorite travel destination spot?
    I live in South Florida, so I’m already living in my ideal travel destination. I do love driving up to DisneyWorld a couple of times a year and can’t wait til Luke is old enough to take there and enjoy Mickey! I also love going home to Houston.

    2. Cats vs. Dogs.
    Dogs, dogs, dogs. Cats… the other white meat. Cats… taste like chicken.

    3. Do you believe in fate?
    In my mind, fate = God’s will.

    4. Do you believe in karma?
    No.

    5. Everyone has a unique laugh. Do you like yours?
    Not particularly. I try to reign it in as much as possible!

    6. Is love really all you need?
    lol. no. I definitely need a firm mattress, air conditioning, chocolate, and sunday afternoon football. But the love from my husband and son make all that stuff that much better! 🙂

    7. What’s your take on the whole 2012 scare?
    Oh geez. Blah blah blah. The whole Mayan calendar rollover thing… blown so out of proportion. Doesn’t help that the 2012 movie was TERRIBLE.

    8. If you won a million dollars and had to give it all away, who would you give it to? Lutheran South Academy, PASSION, and EvolutionFitness.

    9. Do you believe in God/religion/the power of prayer?
    Definitely believe in God and the power of prayer. I’m kinda with Chelsea on the word religion. I believe God sent Jesus to die on the cross for us… how I feel and what I believe go so far beyond “religious.”

    10. What New Year’s Resolution do you always make but never keep?
    I don’t really make resolutions. I joined a gym last April (so not exactly the New Year) and have lost a total of 108lbs since the birth of my son 19months ago. I guess this year’s resolution is just to keep up the hard work!

  • 7. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Great questions this week!

  • 8. Samantha  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Have you had a cat rip your pants for fun? Hmm, I must have missed that post, lol!

  • 9. Stephany  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Yes, yes, yes. Dogs > Cats! But I really can’t make a qualified decision since I’ve only ever owned dogs. I just love the friendship factor of dogs and their undeniable love!

    Also, it might have been a good thing I didn’t answer the questions this week. I might have gotten a little riled up and offended people with some of my answers! 😉

  • 10. rachel  |  February 2, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I’m glad you found me again too!! Yay 🙂 Now I don’t feel like such a stalker!!

  • 11. Erin  |  February 2, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    We ARE similar! We would TOTALLY be friends if we lived in the same state 🙂

  • 12. Kara  |  February 2, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    1. What is your favorite travel destination spot?
    I haven’t been to many places, but I went to Palm Springs once and that was a lot of fun.

    2. Cats vs. Dogs.
    Dogs! I’m allergic to cats, but I still want one. But dogs give better hugs and won’t scratch your face.

    3. Do you believe in fate?
    Not really. I believe the choices you make in life will determine who/what/where you are.

    4. Do you believe in karma?
    Yes. I’ve witnessed it myself (both to others and personally!)

    5. Everyone has a unique laugh. Do you like yours?
    I suppose so, until I’m laughing so hard that I’m just shaking and snorting. Not pretty!

    6. Is love really all you need?
    No. As much as you’d like it to, love doesn’t pay the bills. It does make life a lot nicer though!

    7. What’s your take on the whole 2012 scare?
    I think it’s being hyped up the same way Y2K was. Personally, I think the Mayans just got sick of keeping track of everything. Ha!

    8. If you won a million dollars and had to give it all away, who would you give it to? (Family and friends not included.)
    I would donate it all to charities I believe in – Vancouver Children’s Hospital, various cancer research groups and the BC SPCA.

    9. Do you believe in God/religion/the power of prayer?
    I can’t say I do. I believe in spirits but I wouldn’t call myself religious at all.

    10. What New Year’s Resolution do you always make but never keep?
    Be more positive. It’s hard when you have to deal with crabby customers and clients all day long.

  • 13. mom (Nana)  |  February 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    1. What is your favorite travel destination spot?
    Love sunny beaches – Hawaii was great, Destin Florida was awesome….south padre…..beaches, beaches, beaches. (Oh and Alaska!)

    2. Cats vs. Dogs.
    Dogs for sure – especially my molly – not a cat person – to say the least.

    3. Do you believe in fate?
    I believe in God

    5. Everyone has a unique laugh. Do you like yours?
    not so much

    6. Is love really all you need?
    Chelsea’s answer is right on. However, if you mean in the worldly sense, no. Love can’t pay the bills….

    7. What’s your take on the whole 2012 scare?
    I must be dense cause I am totally clueless on this one. If it means something about the world ending, well so be it. God is the only one who knows when that is going to take place and if He says it will be in 2012, then that’s when it will be. I know where I’m going if that happens. Do you?

    8. If you won a million dollars and had to give it all away, who would you give it to? (Family and friends not included.)
    Gloria Dei (our church), First Presbyterian in Alice (the church I grew up in), Lutheran South Academy and St. Jude’s Children’s hospital.

    9. Do you believe in God/religion/the power of prayer?
    I believe in God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. I definitely believe in the power of prayer.

    10. What New Year’s Resolution do you always make but never keep?
    Yuk! Don’t make them. That way I don’t have to be sooooo disappointed in myself when I don’t keep them! 🙂

  • 14. Courtney  |  February 2, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Dogs rule and cats drool!

  • 15. Ten On Tuesday « The Rowland Family Blog  |  February 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    […] also completely forgot about Ten on Tuesday. I am posting this later than usual but late than never […]

  • 16. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  February 2, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    My cat is cuddly! Mine!

    I loved your answers to the fate thing! I don’t believe in fate either, I believe in COINCIDENCE. I think I’m going to write a more in-depth blog post about it tomorrow.

    I also really enjoyed your answer to #9. I’m starting to become a more spiritual person and I really want to build a relationship with God through prayer etc. but I don’t believe in or support organized religion. At all. And I don’t like the word religion either.

    You SHOULD write a post about it, I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts!

  • 17. hyperactive lu  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Just found this on Lindsey’s blog and thought this would be fun! Decided to join in today!

  • 18. Ashley  |  February 2, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    As always, I’ve left my link on Mr. LInky 🙂

    http://tyandashmoss.blogspot.com/2010/02/ten-on-tuesday.html

  • 19. Jessica  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    I missed 17 this week. I’m kind of sad about that

  • 20. Lisa D  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only person who had no idea what this 2012 scare was all about!

    Great answers, totally agree on things appearing like coincidences but all being part of His master plan.

  • 21. timlinzrowland  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:02 am

    FYI…. I cracked up when I saw your husband’s comment on my blog! Tim laughed too! Thanks for commenting!

  • 22. Clare  |  February 3, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    oh look, I’m late again! good questions!

  • 23. mandy  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    These were great questions this week! Very thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

