Loser 9.05: We Almost Got Rid of Them

February 3, 2010 at 8:30 am 14 comments

They started with a review of the phone calls from last week. Actually, not a review of them… they replayed them. Why? I’m sure we’ll see that some sort of emotional battle is about to happen. AHHHHH I SEE. It’s last week’s episode and for some reason it’s on an hour later. Did any of you know this?? If you knew and didn’t tell me, you’re in trouble.

(Excuse my while I let my laptop go to sleep and I watch Ace of Cakes. See you in an hour.)

And we’re back. (I thought you should know that I ate a piece of cheesecake during that break. We’re all about honesty here at Roots & Rings.) So now Miggy is there without her daughter which means she’s going to crash and burn, or she’s going to need to learn to make friends. At 2 in the morning 911 was called for Miggy. She was suffering severe abdominal pain so they took her to the hospital.

UGH, why does Alison get all the cute clothes? I love her black ruffley top! Everyone gathered around outside and the blue and yellow team arrived from home. They headed to the gym to weigh in but we’re surprised with Bob and Jillian there for a last chance workout. Fun times. Now on to the weigh in. The winning team not only gets immunity but they also get the only vote in this week’s elimination. Holy cow. That is bittersweet… and not a great way to make friends.

Blue: Cherita (24) & Victoria (39) – Total weight loss: 63 pounds – 9.92%
Yellow: Sunshine (25) & O’Neal (51) – Total weight loss: 76 pounds – 11.45%

Welcome to the ranch yellow team. It’s time to work out.

I really want to see Daris succeed. I like that kid. Melissa looked like she was going through childbirth when she was doing that leg thing. She was having a freaking cow. Not like, giving birth to a cow. No, having a cow. Like freaking out. And she was screaming at Bob. Melissa, please don’t scream at Bob. We like him.

Daris rocks. I want to hug him. (Why does Jillian always wear the same gray v-neck? To show off her guns?)

Commercial music is playing. JennieO Turkey. Let’s make some chili! Where’s the Fritos and the shredded cheese?? That’s just not chili!

Challenge time! Of course it’s football themed because it’s Superbowl week. Winner gets immunity and loser gets a 2 pound disadvantage. The players had to hit the fake lineman 1000 times. This wasn’t the most entertaining challenge, to say the least. Snoozer. But at least it was based on winning because you’re good, not winning because you eliminated the good people. You know how I hate those. It came down to white and gray. White won and he immediately started yelling, “I did it mom!” even though his mom isn’t actually there anymore. I love the gray team, but I think Mike needed it.

Miggy is back. She had surgery to remove her appendix, a cyst, and something else that I couldn’t understand. That’s rough. So we’re learning that Mike and Miggy are actually friends. Who knew?

Yoplait Smoothie. Bob, don’t act like this is like a new thing that you are learning. DUMB.

Dr. H met with Miggy to check out her scar. He also told her that during surgery they poured in a bunch of salt water and she now has 8-9 pounds of salt water in her system. Shocker of all shockers: Miggy cried. Like lots of tears. But then she said some crap about how she’s a failure. Yeah, not so much.

I love last chance workout. Do I say that every week? O’Neal is a tough man. Did you see his focus eyes? Pink team has no focus eyes. They have quit eyes. Ashley finally came out with the truth- she’s suffering because of her dad’s death. Yep, that’ll do it. Can’t say I blame her.

Love love love the interaction between purple girl and Sunshine! The joy on their faces! THIS is why I love this show! (Y’all, there have been so many typos. I need to cut my fingernails in a seriously bad way.) Bob had the contestants do yoga after their workout. Bob rocks at yoga. Get his DVD, for serious. (NBC, want to pay me for that endorsement?)

On to the weigh in. Everyone is nervous about this one.

Yellow: Sunshine (5) & O’Neal (5) – 1.7% Gameplay maybe? No shame.
White: Michael (13) – 2.85% Definitely no gameplay. Why not?
Pink: Ashley (9) & Sherry (6) – 2.54% Impressive Ashley!
Red: Melissa (5) & Lance (4) – 1.73% What the what?
Orange: Cheryl (3) & Daris (12) – 3.05% Yay Daris!!
Purple: Stephanie (5) – 2.17% Stephen just said, “Is she wearing a Bumpit?”
Gray: Sam (10) & Koli (6) – 2.42% Phew! My faves.
Black: Andrea (5) & Darrell (8) – 2.10%
Green: Miggy (5) – 2.37% This actually makes me happy because it puts the red team lower.
Brown: John (6) – % Crap crap crap!

No deliberation. John is the only one below the yellow line so he’s automatically sent home. Everyone cried. I love that guy. I wish him all the best at home and hope he kicks lots of butt! Started at 484, now at 380. He shaved. Whoo hoo! Dear goodness, his son is cute!

Next week: Individuals! And some drama, of course.

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday (16) Things You Didn’t Know About Stephen and Chelsea

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bec  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:20 am

    My thoughts:
    1- yes the Yoplait Smootie ad was DUMB, but it kind of made me want to go buy it, I always fall for things like that. This show has also made me want one of those Body Bug things. See it’s because of people like me that they keep doing those ads in the show

    2- team gray is still not doing it for me…sorry!

    3- ugh Melissa sucks…we were so close to saying “buh bye”

  • 2. Karen  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I knew nothing about the re-run, but was kind of glad they did that because I was eating dinner with my nephew and missed the first half of the show, but I knew nothing, so no trouble for me.

    I was rooting for the blue team, but I do like the yellow too, both teams seem to have a positive fighting attitude. I can’t wait to see the blue team at the finale.

    Miggy does not seem to be so tough with out her daughter. I must say that she impressed me a little this episode, (or either NBC loves to edit for drama effect) she seemed to smile more and was a lot more positive and friendly towards the other players. And no clue about her and Michael’s friendship.

    I thought for sure that one red would be gone, but no, it was John. I hope that John succeeds at home, but I do not have a very good feeling that he will.

  • 3. Samantha  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:32 am

    I can’t believe how close we were to getting rid of someone from the red team! Eh, the way I see it, even if they had been under the line, Melissa probably would have stayed anyway.

  • 4. Clare  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I loved, loved, LOVED the interaction between Stephanie and Sunshine on the treadmill. And Stephanie’s whole motivational thing with the running 5 minutes, so sweet. It made her my new favorite, even though she has less to lose than a lot of the others.

  • 5. Kaitlynn  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:52 am

    I was unaware of the time change…what was that about? Was it just this week? I almost freaked when I saw my DVR wasn’t recording….
    I LOVE the yellow team – I was so glad it was them that stayed, though I do like the blue team too. I’m glad Yellow didn’t actually have to vote anyone off. They got lucky!!
    I was so hoping the red team would fall below – especially b/c they usually win immunity and this week they didn’t! I wanted to be like HA! But then it was John instead😦 But hey, I totally called it last week – I said one of the individuals would go home!
    Miggy cried a ton this episode! And how did she manage to lose 5 pounds? Didn’t that seem a bit odd?

  • 6. thedailychelle  |  February 3, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I was happy for the re-run because it enabled me to watch American Idol first, then Biggest Loser, all the while recording LOST!!!🙂 I used to not watch TV much at all, and all of a sudden I am really into a lot of shows right now. It’s so bad!

  • 7. Karen  |  February 3, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I was looking at NBC’s schedule because I thought it may have had some thing to do with Jay Leno for last nights weirdness, but no Sherlock Holmes moment there, but, because I don’t want no trouble, I did notice that BBL is scheduled to come on Sunday night, 2 times.
    Now don’t go gettin excited, because they are most likely re-runs.

  • 8. Lauren From Texas  |  February 3, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    This week was pretty boring. I missed the Miggy/Migdalia drama, to be honest. Come on people! Fight! Turn against each other! I’m so bad.

    I too loved the interaction between Sunshine & Purple Girl (still don’t know her name, bad sign). I got a little teary. Not that that’s a big deal for me to get teary. Pretty much a daily occurrence.

    I wanted the blue team to stay so badly! When the mom was proud of her daughter (AND HOW – she lost so much in a month!) I got teary again. I am a big sobby mess.

    I was glad Sunshine & her dad didn’t have to vote. That would’ve sucked. John was cool but he seems to be doing well at home.

    Those are all the thoughts & feelings I have for now, thanks.

  • 9. Southern Gal  |  February 3, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    I missed the last 15 minutes so thank for filling me in. I didn’t see last week’s show and was glad they replayed it. Though I didn’t love all the hating going on. Those crossed arms and bad attitudes from the green team made me want to turn off the set. I didn’t though.

    Sorry John had to leave. I was really hoping it would be Miggy.

  • 10. Stephany  |  February 3, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    I was so annoyed with Melissa’s “I’m disappointed in him.” REALLY?! She has the nerve to say that after she had TWO WEEKS of losing no weight at all? She’s annoying and needs to go home, like yesterday.

    Also, when I saw the Yoplait Smoothies, I just had to laugh. SO BADLY DONE!

  • 11. Sister  |  February 3, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    I told you the yellow team would win! I called it!

  • 12. Ashley  |  February 4, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I’m glad the yellow team won! The dad is so positive on that team! And also, I am hoping and praying that the red team gets sent home soon. They remind me so much of Tracy from last year. So full of drama and the wife ‘swears’ she is trying her ‘best’ to loose weight. Bull crap!

  • 13. mom (Nana)  |  February 4, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    FINALLY watched the show today. Sad that both the blue and yellow couldn’t stay on but was so proud of the blue team. Nice ladies and they will do well at home.
    HATED that John went home. I cried this week. I know he will do fine – looks like he will be a great help to James, his brother, so that is good. However, I REALLY like him and wanted him to stay. Was getting almost giddy when it looked like the red team would be below. Oh well….
    Miggy kicked butt after having surgery???? Way to go Miggy for not giving in. (STill not my favorite by any means but hey, she did it so she deserves some praise!)

  • 14. DebbieQ  |  February 5, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I couldn’t watch this week, that out of the country thing put a real crimp in the TV watching (I was at the beach on Tuesday). What would I do without your recap, especially as I forgot to set the DVR before leaving.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

