Seven Quick Takes – With A Picture of Avery

February 5, 2010 at 9:29 am 25 comments

Was it just me or was this week 18 days long? I think God is messing with us. Hey God, it’s not funny.

Click the logo below to visit the other Quick Takers.

1.
I don’t know how the weather is in your parts, but here in Houston we are experiencing The Great Flood Part Deux. As of this morning, it has settled down a bit but it’s still cold and dreary and spitty. It’s really starting to annoy me. It’s February… which means that we should be expecting a few random warm days here. But no. Instead it’s cold with a few random freezing days. This is not okay.

2.
Every morning when I’m getting ready for work, Rookie lays behind me at my vanity. When I blow dry my hair I point the blow dryer at her to annoy her. She gives me about 3 seconds and then runs away to tell on me to her daddy. Yesterday morning she was a bit feisty. I aimed it at her and she shook her head. I laughed and did it again. She itched her ear and shook her head. I laughed and did it again. Over and over I aimed the blow dryer at her and over and over she shook her head, scratched her ears, and threw herself on the ground to wiggle around upside down. It totally made my morning!

3.
Sometimes I reread blog posts and think, “Hey, that was kind of funny!” But then sometimes I reread them and think, “Why does anyone care? What am I doing?” Blogging is weird.

4.
Side note on yesterday’s post. We’re not rich. Please don’t misread. And the Star Trek doors are just sliding doors, apparently those were cool in the ’60. As were brick floors, wallpaper, and push button stoves.

5.
I’ve been seeing my chiropractor on a regular basis. She’s a friend of mine and lets me come to her house and see her for free. (Praise God!) I have noticed a significant improvement in my headaches and carpal tunnel. If you suffer from either, get yourself a GOOD chiropractor. And if you’re in Houston, let me know because I’ll hook you up with mine. I used to get headaches on a daily basis but I’m down to about once a week now. It’s incredible!

6.
I still haven’t figured out what’s wrong with my Contact Me tab. Every now and then I’ll get a message from it but it’s pretty random. So let me repeat this: if you need the address for the book swap, leave a comment to tell me to send it. Also, if you have a batch of Ten on Tuesday questions for me, you’ll need to email them to me. If I’ve ever responded to one of your comments, you have my email address. If not, just leave a comment that says, “Email me lady!” and I’ll do it. Or you could just email me at chelsea (at) rootsandrings (dot) com… that works too.

7.
I have an exciting weekend ahead of me. Mardi Gras parades begin in Galveston this weekend so my family is going to go to a few. We’ll stay at my parents’ beautiful house down there and celebrate my SIL’s birthday. On Sunday, Stephen and I are going to drive halfway across the state of Texas to watch the game eat good food with Lauren and Michael. Which probably means I’m going to be exhausted on Monday and be dying for another weekend.

I’ll leave you with a picture of my beautiful niece! (Oh and my brother and sister-in-law. They are beautiful too!)

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Galveston, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Things You Didn’t Know About Stephen and Chelsea Even Bloggers Get Tired

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kaitlynn  |  February 5, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I love the story about Rookie – how cute! My dogs are always so curious about the hair dryer. This morning I was bending over drying my hair upside down and one of my dogs tried to attack the hair dryer! I think he was just trying to protect me 🙂

  • 2. The Stephanie  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I’m with you on the weather. It’s been the same thing in SA and I’m SO over all of this rain!!

    Have a fabulous weekend!

  • 3. Karen  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Here, here about the weather too, I am sooo tired of all the rain, wind and cold, it is so depressing, especially when it is sunny all week while I am at work and then raining all weekend, I hate that.

    It is 100% rain today, but the wind is the most annoying to me, it would not be half as cold if the wind would not blow.

    I do intend to move further south in my old age, I want warmth 24/7.

  • 4. mandy  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I hope you have a very fun weekend! It sounds as if it will be a whirl wind.

  • 5. Caroline  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Knox hates the hairdyer and your posts are funny!

  • 6. Clare  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Is the deadline for the book swap still February 8?!

    The rain/cold has made itself at home in Austin, too. I hate it! This is NOT what I signed up for when I moved to Texas!

    Have a great weekend =)

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Yes, this week has been looonnnnggg.

    Your brother’s family is beautiful. We found out we’re going to have a granddaughter in June. My youngest was so wanting to be an uncle to a nephew. He’s getting OK with the fact that it will be a niece instead. Oh, the life of an 8-year-old.

  • 8. Taryn E  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:22 am

    awww…. great picture of Justin, Laura and Avery! 🙂

  • 9. Samantha  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Haha, what a great story about Rookie! I am easily amused at all the silly little things my pup does. 🙂

  • 10. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Hope you have a great weekend and that the sun at least shines one of the days.

  • 11. jessica  |  February 5, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Justin makes that baby look so tiny! And how does Rookie respond to vacuum cleaners?

  • 12. jenferlouise  |  February 5, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    The weather is crappy in West Virginia too! Cold, rainy, windy. And now its going to turn into ice and snow. I can’t wait for SUMMER! (well, except for that whole bikini thing)

  • 13. rachieannie  |  February 5, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Miss Millie always runs when I pull out the hair dryer and the vacuum. She is just not a fan!

    And yeah, I’m not such a fan of winter either. However, we get snow instead of rain. Lots and lots of snow. Like dumpings of snow. We got five inches yesterday/last night and yet here I am, still at work. Hubby and I are always so hopeful for snow days … but no 🙂

  • 14. HoustonGurly  |  February 5, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I see the sun, finally! Praise the Lord!

    TGIF! I hope you have a great weekend.

  • 15. Christina  |  February 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Re: #3 … I totally do the same thing! Blogging is a bit odd, isn’t it? But boy is it a blessing for stay at home moms – it’s like adult conversation without ever leaving the house! (or, um, actually talking to anyone. Hmmm…)

  • 16. Kristin  |  February 5, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    That photo is just precious! And it’s monsoon time here in Tampa too! I’m heading to a wedding next weekend. So Texas better get it together and give my girl some good weather!

  • 17. Debbie  |  February 5, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    SO OVER all this rain! geeez!!! depressing!

  • 18. DebbieQ  |  February 5, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Better rain than what is currently falling from my sky! SNOW and we, for once, aren’t even supposed to get the worst of this storm.

    And Avery is just precious.

  • 19. Kelly  |  February 5, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Love your blog! I am a huge baseball fan too.

  • 20. This Heavenly Life  |  February 5, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I know what you mean about blogging being weird…why are we so interested in other people’s boring details anyway? But, when they’re such engaging and funny writers like you, we just can’t help ourselves.

  • 21. Autumn  |  February 6, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Enjoy the weekend! The pic of your niece is beautiful! (and her parents too!)

  • 22. Ashley  |  February 6, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Avery is adorable and I’m a self-professed lover of rain who currently wishes it would just go away! I miss my California sun.

  • 23. Mother-in-law  |  February 6, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    You are funny! I love aiming the blow dryer at the dog too, but poor Pepe le Pew is so blind and deaf now it doesn’t seem to bother him. Avery is so perfect and beautiful.

  • 24. Stephany  |  February 6, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I thought this week went by so fast! But that’s just me. It’s usually the opposite. 🙂

    And the story of Rookie is so, so cute. I totally love doing funny things to my dog just to annoy him. It makes me laugh.

  • 25. jill  |  February 8, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Are the Star Trek doors called pocket doors? If so, I like them. I think they are charming. I re-read my blog posts many days and think, “I’m so dumb, why do I write this for the world to see, like anyone cares” and other random thoughts. But, I like your blog. So its all good 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

