Loser 9.06: Olympic Week So We Reward The Weakest Players?

February 10, 2010 at 8:45 am 10 comments

It’s an Olympic themed week and the contestants are going to Colorado to the Olympic training facilities. It’s cold there. Oh lookie, they all have beanies!

There will be two eliminations this week. The person with the lowest weight loss goes home automatically, then the next two lowest go to the elimination room. Not fun at all.

Alison Jones met the contestants to challenge them. I had never heard of her (I haven’t heard of most Olympians) but she was born with one leg and medaled in multiple events. Pretty cool! Then they lit the torch and people cheered.  Melissa, I hate when people say “undescribable.” Just so you know. That’s not even a word! And Lance, being fat didn’t get you to the Olympics… it got you to the building. I’m here to educate, people.

The contestants met with the nutritionists at the Olympian cafeteria. “They’ll be eating what the athletes eat”… well, not ALL of them. You’ve heard of Michael Phelps, right? Pretty sure Jillian Michaels would spaz if her contestants ate that stuff. Luckily the nutritionists are talking about this with them. Extra Sugarfree Gum. I’M SORRY, NO! Gum is not better than chocolate cake. It will never replace chocolate cake. It will never make me want chocolate cake less. The end.

The gray Koli is having a hard time with John being gone. He doesn’t think he should be there over him. He doesn’t feel like he’s worth it. He had himself a good cry and realized that he’s scared of growth and doing something for himself. I really like him.

The contestants gathered with Bob and Jillian and two attractive athletes that I don’t know. Sorry y’all, I don’t do the Winter Olympics. It just looks so… cold. So anyways, these athletes held a workout for them. They did ladders, balance balls, hula hooping (what?), and boxing. Speedy said, “You’re an inspiration to me, you better be an inspiration to yourselves. ” Yes sir! Agree.

Pop challenge. Olympic hopeful, J.R. Celcsi (I think) came to give them a pep talk and show them his nasty scar. The challenge is a slide board something (can I understand anything they say tonight??) and they have to go back and forth 500 times. Apparently it feels a lot like ice which makes them fall and the camera shake. Nice effect BL. There are three winners in this challenge. Sam and Melissa were neck and neck until Melissa fell with 10 to go. It’s hard not to smile at that.  Sunshine got third, beating Lance by about 4. It’s hard not to smile at that too. Sorry red team, but you’ve done pissed us all off. They stood on podiums and got medals and really cheesed it up in full Loser fashion.

And now, challenge time with Kelly Underkofler who only has one arm. I HATE THIS KIND OF CHALLENGE. They shoot at other team’s targets and whenever your target is full, you’re out. DUMB. What does this prove?? When will they get rid of these types of games. You should win a challenge because you’re good, not because people hate you less. Sunshine got one extra shot, Melissa got two, and Sam got three. Sunshine shot Sam’s (dumb), Melissa shot Sam’s (dumb), so then OBVIOUSLY Sam shot both of them. Smart move girls. Everyone immediately started shooting at Lance and Melissa because they’re Texans and we know how to use a gun! Y’all I hate this challenge. I can’t even express it properly. Or maybe I can. THIS CHALLENGE IS RIDICULOUS AND I HATE IT! So basically it comes down to all the weakest links. Ashley, O’Neal, and Darrell. Literally came down to O’Neal and Darrell shooting at the same time. O’Neal won immunity.

Back in California. Working out at 24 Hour Fitness (commercial) with some Olympic ice skater dude with great hair. They did a boot camp class and then headed back to the gym for a last chance workout. Lots of sweat this week. Bob got O’Neal to balance on one of those wobbly things and do a couple squats. Incase you forgot, he has terrible knees. So he accomplished it and rejoiced. Good stuff!

On to the weigh in!  We’re at individuals this week. Remember there was a red line and a yellow line. And remember that they were travelling which throws everyone off.

O’Neal (8) – Immunity (maybe you should had a few sips of water before that weigh in)
Michael (11) – 2.48% (Lost 94 pounds, didn’t break the 100  pound record)
Stephanie (4) – 1.78%
Sunshine (6) – 2.45%
Koli (9) – 2.69% Whoo hoo! Safe!
Andrea (7) – 2.67%
Darrell (5) – 1.46%
Sam (12) – 3.87% Wowza!
Sherry (3) – 1.67%
Ashley (6) – 1.89%
Daris (9) – 3.18%% I’m ready for this fella to start talking!
Cheryl (3) – 1.55%
Miggy with new hair and emotions (7) – 3.40%
Lance (9) – 2.87% Ugh.
Melissa (PLUS 1) – Gone. I just can’t figure her out. Anyone have any theories??

Cheryl and Darrell are now going head to head in a competition to see who will go home. No vote. (Which I really like because 1) it’s rewarding the stronger player and 2) they are both lovable and that’s a hard vote.) Whoever balances the torch on their head while squatting the longest stays. Darrell has bad knees so my money is on Cheryl. Up to 6 minutes. AND TO BE CONTINUED. UGH! Didn’t see that coming.

Melissa at home… She started at 233 and is now at 175. She’s taken up boxing and for some reason, that doesn’t surprise me. She’s pretty vicious. Her son said that “She looks hot” to which Stephen said, “He’ll regret that comment in about 2 years.” She looks good but I still can’t figure her out. HOW did she gain a pound. Did she do it on purpose? What do y’all think??

Next week: Blue vs. Black and it causes drama. Naturally.Can’t wait! Also, does anyone know if it’s on at the normal time next week? They said something about “after the Olympics” but I don’t know what that means.

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday (17) Good Family Fun

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  February 10, 2010 at 9:44 am

    I’m not sure about the time. I’m glad Melissa is gone. I have no idea how you can be at the ranch and GAIN weight. There had to have been some eating on the sly, right?
    Did you see the look Miggy gave Melissa when she went to hug Bob after her weigh in? If looks could kill…
    I really want to see Miggy go. Too much hostility and never a smile.
    I actually saw the whole thing this week! I really appreciate your updates though.

  • 2. Julie  |  February 10, 2010 at 9:56 am

    First time commenter on your blog🙂 But I like your recap…I don’t get Melissa either. When I saw that she gained weight this week it actually makes me think that she didn’t cheat (like I thought she did) earlier this season. Who knows? She does look great though, and her sons comment creeped me out.
    I was thinking they meant that it wont be on until the Tuesday after the Olympics is OVER. At least that is what the other shows are doing. Who knows?

  • 3. Karen  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I have a bad feeling that they are going to make us wait until after the Olympics to find out who won the challenge and before we get a new episode of BL. I know they said “catch an all new episode of the BL after the Olympics Tuesday night,” but they did not say which Tuesday night and other sites are saying that there are no new episodes until after the Olympics. I don’t know why they do this to us, don’t they know we already have too much stress in our lives. And I am not an Olympic fan either. I love my country, I love when we win, but I can’t sit and watch it.

    I really wish they would cut this show down to an hour, if they would remove some of the infomercials and other non-important stuff they could cut it down, it just seems to drag on, it maybe just that this season is kind of borrring, although I am sitting here pondering what I am going to do next Tuesday evening when there is no BL, and next Wednesday morning when there is no Chelsea’s perspective of the BL, I am feeling a bit sad.😦 But, I suppose I will survive.

    I agree that extra sugar free gum is not going to stop me from eating/wanting chocolate cake, but Bubble yum Hershey’s chocolate bubble gum may, it is good, just ask my 6 and 5 year old nieces, they had to eat the whole pack to get the fullness of the flavor, but they liked it, a lot. I know it has calories and sugar, but not as much as that cake.

    Not sure about Melissa either, some think she was game playing, but I do not see what the benefit would be, some think that she was just trying to justify herself, she wanted to prove that she was not telling a lie at all cost, but not sure, she is a confusing one. They also felt that her exit speech was a bit rehearsed. I did not listen to it, so not really sure myself. She did look good, I would not say “hot” but she has done well.

  • 4. Taryn E  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

    No, after the Olympics means AFTER the Olympics… as in, BL isn’t back on until March 2nd!! Damn NBC.

  • 5. Taryn E  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Oh, and I’m glad Melisa is gone. She annoys the hell out of me. I DVR Biggest Loser and I fast-forwarded right thru her speech to everyone. Annoyyyyyying.

  • 6. d.a.r.  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Z and I were praying that Melissa would gain weight this week…I didn’t want Darrell to automatically go home!!! But, seriously. How do you gain weight on the ranch??? You barely eat, you workout all of the time, you have nothing else to do and no other distractions. I don’t get it. I think she is a total headcase and just wanted to go home. That whole exit speech seemed awfully….planned? Now I don’t have anyone to yell at the TV about…poo.

  • 7. DebbieQ  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Wow, Mellisa is gone. There is justice in this world. I still think she gained because she is some how gaming the system and it backfired on her. And her son saying “She’s hot!”..can I just say ewwwwwwww!

    And yes, BL will be back in March. But that is OK for all of us who will now overdose on the Winter Olympics (my favorite). Bring on the Curling!

  • 8. Stephany  |  February 10, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Yep, I’m pretty sure we have to wait until after the entire Winter Olympics for another BL episode. BOO!

    Sooo happy Melissa is gone, although my mom shouted at Melissa during her entire exit speech. It was quite hilarious!

    And I will admit that I have a HUGE CRUSH on Sam. He’s such a good-looking guy and such a good cousin (?) to Koli. I really, really like him.

  • 9. SuzieQ  |  February 11, 2010 at 6:56 am

    First time to comment on this blog. Love the blog. For the time being, I live and work in Germany so my BL episodes are delayed off of iTunes. I can’t wait to learn what has happened so I read your blog. Long explanation, sorry.
    I just saw this extra clip off the NBC website for anyone interested…
    http://www.nbc.com/the-biggest-loser/video/clips/week-6-heavy-thoughts/1200195/
    In the clip, Melissa states that she ate a pancake (I would guess… with syrup…because who eats a pancake without syprup?) AND she didn’t count her calories while she was in Colorado and not working out like they usually do at the ranch. UH…Hello…she is on BL and she doesn’t count her calories??? This is not rocket science, SO is there any wonder why she gained a pound? No mystery here.

  • 10. mom (Nana)  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Dad and I FINALLY watched BL last night. I hate those challenges too – they are soooo unfair. I am glad that no one got voted off and it depends on a challenge because I do like both. I think Darrell needs to be there more than Cheryl because he still has a lot to lose but at least this is fair.kind of)

    I think Melissa wanted to go home because she knew she wasn’t going to last – didn’t have as much weight to lose – and she wants to be the “AT HOME WINNER”

    Bring on the Olympics and we will look forward to March 2nd with GREAT ANTICIPATION! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

