Maybe I Am Sort Of A Baker

February 15, 2010 at 8:00 am 62 comments

Settle in, y’all. This is a good one.

I have this blog friend named Taryn who likes to post about cakes and breads that she makes. She recently made a king cake in celebration of Mardi Gras. I saw her tweet about it and considered making one for our trip to Galveston last week. But then I saw that it’s not actually a cake but a bread and it involves yeast. Yeast = time and attention and details. Now I’m not necessarily scared of yeast, but I prefer not to use it if I don’t have to. Which is why I normally just make beer bread if I want homemade bread or burn my finger making chocolate cupcakes if I want cake.

A month or so ago she wrote about this book that she uses to make bread. It’s called The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. You can read a post about it here if you want. She made baguettes and cinnamon rolls and they both look amazing.

It got me thinking, maybe I could do that. Maybe I could make some sort of fancy schmancy bread thing from scratch.

She posted that on January 18. About ten seconds after I closed her post I realized that I had made something from scratch. Just a quick week before that on January 12 I found out that I had my very own little bun in the oven.

(I’ll pause and let you breathe….)

My fingers are literally trembling with excitement as I’m typing this. I’m so excited that I can finally tell you all about this! Especially after the whole Fatherhoody post when so many of you thought I was hinting. Trust me, if I knew you were going to suspect something from that post, I would never have posted it. It was definitely not a hint! In fact, the reason I’ve had so many guest posts lately is because ALL I can think about is that there is a human being in my uterus and I didn’t want to slip and ruin the surprise. That, and well, I sleep all the time and have no time to blog.

I didn’t want to keep the secret for this long but I needed to. Stephen and I took a week to soak in the news together. It was a long week. Then we planned an evening out where we needed to stop in on a bunch of family members to share the news. See how excited Avery is to have a cousin?

Then we had the task of telling certain friends and family. There were certain people we wanted to tell in person. News like this is big. Slowly we saw everyone we needed to see. The last batch was over the weekend in Austin. A couple that we love dearly was going to be in town for the Austin marathon so we made it a point to go to Austin and get our whole college group together. Little did they know, we had an agenda. Friday night we gathered and announced our news. And now we’re letting the world know.

A little Hurstling is on it’s way… scheduled to be here around September 19!

Here are a few pictures of how we announced to people. These are the frames we gave our parents. I will NEVER forget the looks on their faces.

To siblings and close friends we gave them one of these bibs and if we mailed it to them, we included a picture of me holding the pregnancy test:

So that’s my super exciting baking news! Of course we’re thrilled. A bit nervous, still sort of in shock, wondering if it’s all real. But ultimately we are praising God for this blessing. Now if anyone knows a good, free nanny… hook me up!

(Ten on Tuesday questions will be posted this morning. They may already be up, just click the ToT button on the right sidebar.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old, Stephen.

Seven Quick Takes – The Quickest Yet Ten on Tuesday (18)

62 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:06 am

    So so SO excited for you guys!!! Words really can’t adequately capture how stoked I am. You guys will be wonderful parents…and I’m sure I’m not the only one you’ll hear that from…because, you know, it’s true. CONGRATULATIONS!

  • 2. Tiffany  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:32 am

    I am SO excited for you guys! I have been waiting all weekend to leave a comment:) Can’t wait to hear about all your new adventures and for Riley to meet her new little cousin, hurry up September 🙂 Get ready your life is going to start flying by! Cngrats Stephen, you are going to make a great Daddy!

  • 3. Ucle Rory & Aunt chris  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:36 am

    What great news and what a Blessing to hear you will be parents! We are so excited for you both and know what wonderful parents you will be. Congratulations and enjoy everymoment of SHE /HE.
    Lets go shopping!
    Pops & Mimi Matthews (Rory & Chris)

  • 4. Karen  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Congratulations to the new mom and dad, I can’t wait for the pictures to start coming through and hearing all the motherhood stories.

  • 5. Maureen aka GRANDMA!!!!  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:50 am

    YIPPEE SKIPPEE!!!! Really, I am surprised people didn’t hear me screaming and send the police to the house when you all told us. You are going to be a wonderful Mommy, and Stephen a wonderful Daddy, and we are so incredibly blessed to have you as the Mommy to our grandbaby…

  • 6. Aunt Lauren From Texas  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:03 am

    I had to logout so I could put “Aunt” in my title, but I feel it is necessary! I am so excited. 🙂 Wish I could be your free nanny!

  • 7. Erin  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:05 am

    SO excited for you!!

  • 8. kelly  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:20 am

    YEAH!!!!! Finally got to spill the beans about your little bean!!!! I’m so pumped to meet the little H.

    Also – I made Taryn’s king cake recipe last week (but made it a Valentine’s Heart shape instead). I don’t bake, and I do not own a standing mixer….that means I made it all by hand, and it turned out fine. I totally think you can handle it!

  • 9. Sue @ Simon's Sista  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Congratulations to you both! Such a cute way to share your news with your loved ones too

  • 10. Faith  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Congratulations!

  • 11. timlinzrowland  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:42 am

    OH YEAH!!!! We are just a little more than a month apart. I am due August 7th. I hope you are feeling good and don’t get sick like I have! It is great being pregnant even though there are ups and downs! Congrats, I can’t wait to see what the next months hold for you!

  • 12. Pippy  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:49 am

    OMG Chelsea!!!!!! I am so incredibly happy for you!!! Congratulations momma! This made my morning!

  • 13. Kaitlynn  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to hear stories and see pics! What a blessing for you two!

  • 14. Debbie  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:55 am

    OMG!!!! that is such exciting news!!! awww, Chelsea I’m so thrilled for you guys. you both will make excellent parents!!! maybe baby hurst will arrive on my bday (sept 15!) go virgos!!!! 🙂

    seriously awesome news! i had an inkling you were pregnant, too! hope you’re feeling okay! can’t wait to see you pregnancy posts! 🙂

  • 15. Kelly  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Aw yay! That’s such exciting news!!! So happy for you!

  • 16. jill  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:03 am

    AHHHH!!!! Congratulations!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  • 17. TiphanyB  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:05 am

    So happy for you guys!!! Can’t wait to hear all of the sweet and funny antics involving Baby Hurst.

    And we all know that you love and appreciate your Mother now, but just wait until you become a Mommy yourself. You’ll have a whole new respect for her!

  • 18. Clare  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:18 am

    So exciting! Congratulations to you both. I haven’t “known” you for long but I can already tell you will be amazing parents. Enjoy each moment!

  • 19. d.a.r.  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:27 am

    ahhh! Congratulations!!!!

  • 20. Rachel  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:35 am

    So I started reading the post and thought… “Oh she must have decided to wait to post about being pregnant until later in the week.” Again, SO HAPPY FOR YOU BOTH!!! Congrats! 🙂 🙂

  • 21. Nora  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Congrats, that’s so incredibly exciting 🙂 I love the creative way you announced the pregnancy; you guys will be splendid parents!!!!

  • 22. mandy  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Congratulations! Thats incredibly exciting!

  • 23. John  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Awesome news and a very creative way to spill the beans. NIcely done.

    Best wishes!

  • 24. mom (Nana)  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:13 am

    FINALLY!!!!!! YEA I can now announce it to the world – I’m going to be Nana squared!

  • 25. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Congratulations! That is so exciting! Wow, it’s a the season for babies. How are you feeling?

  • 26. Joy  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Congratulations, that is wonderful news!!
    I am so happy for you both and hope you are feeling well.

  • 27. Kyla Roma  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:59 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!! Oh my goodness! Everyone in my little blog world is getting pregnant! lol This is so wild!

    You guys will be amazing parents, I can’t wait to hear all about the next year!!

  • 28. Kara  |  February 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Congratulations! That’s so exciting to hear!

    I’m amazed that you were able to keep it in for as long as you did! I wouldn’t even know where to start if I got pregnant and had to start telling people the news. My family is so wide-spread … there would be a huge long-distance bill for sure!

  • 29. Courtney  |  February 15, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Yay! I can’t wait to meet the Hurstling!

  • 30. Marie  |  February 15, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Congratulations and what a cute way to let your family and friends know!!! I love it and I’m so looking forward to the blog stories you’ll have to share, ha!

  • 31. Taryn M. Peine  |  February 15, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    YAY YAY YAY!!!! So excited for you guys!!! Umm, and BTW: what you’re baking is WAY harder than my King Cake 🙂

    CONGRATULATIONS!!

  • 32. Southern Gal  |  February 15, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Yay! How exciting! So our suspicions were right…

    You may be using ‘Rose’ soon, huh?!

    Congratulations to you and Stephen!

  • 33. That Pink Girl  |  February 15, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    This IS good news! Congratulations – what a wonderful blessing!!!
    James 1:17

  • 34. Courtney  |  February 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    oh wow oh wow OH WOW! How exciting!!! Congrats on this new found baking adventure!

  • 35. Emily  |  February 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    How wonderful and exciting!! Get lots of rest…and enjoy every moment, it is such a miracle.

  • 36. Kimberly  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Aww Congratulations!!! That’s amazing news!!! I’ve found, even with the fact that I can no longer sleep all day, I wouldn’t trade having Amelia for the world or days and days of sleeping all day.

  • 37. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I’m so glad I can say this out loud now! (Out loud being: to the internet :)) CONGRATULATIONS Chelsea and Stephen! You’ll be wonderful parents. I’m so excited to follow your progress and emotional outbursts!

  • 38. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! So happy for you guys 🙂

  • 39. Angela  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Congratulations! I am so excited for you!!!

  • 40. Jenna  |  February 15, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    YAY!!! Congratulations Chelsea and Stephen!!!!
    Looks like you are due only a couple weeks before me…! 🙂
    All the best to you both!

  • 41. Stephany  |  February 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I am so excited for you, Chelsea! And I love, love, love the way you announced your pregnancy with your family. YAY!

  • 42. HoustonGurly  |  February 15, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Congrats to you both! ❤

  • 43. Darla  |  February 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Congrats!!!! What wonderful news!!! You and Stephen will be great parents!! So very happy for you!

  • 44. Ashley  |  February 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Yay!!! Congrats!! That’s very excited, make sure you keep us updated on the nine month journey!!

  • 45. Autumn  |  February 15, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Yeah!!!! So happy for you!!!!! Best wishes and many prayers for a healthy and safe “baby growing” time! Enjoy it and rest and lots of whatever you want!!

  • 46. Let’s make babies. « Lauren From Texas  |  February 15, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    […] Friend 4Ever, Chelsea at Roots & Rings, is currently baking a little niece or nephew. Remember that night we all went to dinner? That was […]

  • 47. DeMo  |  February 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Congratulations! This seems to be the season for bloggers announcing their soon-to-be babies!

  • 48. Vanessa  |  February 15, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Ahhh!! Congrats!!!!!!!! I’m so excited for you!!!!

  • 49. rachelheather  |  February 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Congratulations! This is so exciting!!!

  • 50. brandilicious  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYA!!!!! So excited for you both! Totally cannot wait to read about your new adventure!!!!!

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  • 51. Abby  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    YAY!!!!! Congratulations!!!! How exciting! Now you have a whole new blogging topic… baby room, baby clothes, baby bump. It’s a whole new world:)

  • 52. Ashley  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Congratulations!! Many happiness to both of you and I so look forward to reading about this new amazing adventure in your life 🙂

    Also, the way you told friends and family is positively ADORABLE!

  • 53. Lisa D  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Congratulations!!! That is just so exciting! You two are going to make amazing parents – and how fun that he or she will be close in age to your niece!

    Congrats, congrats, congrats, and God Bless You!

  • 54. Sarah  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I’m not going to lie. This made me teary.

    SO EXCITING.

  • 55. Samantha  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Awww, congratulations to you both! 🙂 So excited for you!!

  • 56. mediumcrazy  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    WHOA. Wow. Congratulations!!! Looking forward to the pregnancy posts to come. I suspect you and your husband will be awesome at this.

  • 57. itsmekatie  |  February 16, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Awww! Congratulations. 🙂 The announcements are just too adorable.. especially the picture frames!

  • 58. DebbieQ  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Finally!! You have made the big announcement and I don’t have to be quiet any longer. And I have now ordered the yarn for the baby gift(s). I can hardly wait for it to get here……

  • 59. Erin B.  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I am so behind!!! CONGRATULATIONS! I’m incredibly happy for you and have been hoping the Lord would bless you with a little one soon. Entirely overwhelming, isn’t it? I love how you told your families – I, too, will never forget the looks on my parents’ faces. Utter shock. Then tears. Doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂

  • 60. Kate  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Congrats on your soon-to-be new addition! I haven’t read your blog in a few days, and then bam, baby news!

  • 61. Jimbo  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Yay and yay and yay! YAY!

  • 62. Week(end) update | She Writes Words  |  July 2, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    […] Kamloops so Reba wanted to see her before her baby came! (BTW – It seems like there’s a lot of baby talk going around the blogosphere!) She’s due in about four weeks too, so it was […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

