There Are No Losers In This Post

February 17, 2010 at 8:30 am 54 comments

I assume you all know at this point that Biggest Loser isn’t on until the Olympics are over. So obviously, this isn’t a Biggest Loser post. We do have some very important business to cover.

Before I get into the true point of this post, we need to quickly chat about the Book Swap. I still have a book or two trickling in each day. I’m assuming that everyone has at least put their’s in the mail at this point? Yes? No? Please let me know if I don’t have your book. I have 14 books in my possession and I’m pretty sure there were a few more of you that were hoping to participate. I don’t want to make any of the assignments until I have all of the books. 

Received books from: Nora, Rachel, Alyssa, Alice (Mom), Taryn, Kathleen, Abby, Stephany, Debbie, Jen, The Rocket Scientist, Bonnie, Rebecca, and Chelsea (obviously)

Okay, moving on. Very important business to discuss today! Let me first introduce you to my parents.

This was the night we announced our pregnancy. It was pretty emotional. They are already grandparents and have already tossed and turned over the decision of what to go by. They’ve decided to be Nana and Gramps.

They aren’t the problem. Here is the problem.

Well, okay, she’s not the problem. She has the problem. This is my mother-in-law and she doesn’t know what to go by. A few people have jokingly asked if I’m going to have my blog readers give me input on our baby’s name. The answer is no. Not even a little bit. I love y’all but that’s just too much. But we would like input on this decision. Obviously my mother-in-law will have the final say but we need some brainstorming. “Grandma” is good, but we were hoping for something else. Something cute. Something fun.

Here are some things you need to know. Nana is taken. Stephen and I have grandmas that go by “Grandma” and I have a “Meme.” Of course that doesn’t mean we CAN’T use those, but why use the same name if you can come up with something else? Her name is Maureen. My vote is for MooMa but she hates that name with a passion, so you better come up with something better. We’re counting on y’all. No pressure… but we want to hear the perfect name.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family. Tags: , .

Ten on Tuesday (18) Introducing: The Pregnant Pause

54 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:43 am

    My favorite one that I have heard is “Sassy” . Neither of our sets of grandparents are called that but I heard it from a lady that I used to cut her hair. I think that is what I would want to be called many years from now.

  • 2. Paige  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:44 am

    We have a Guga (pronounced like the Georgia mascot name, Uga) and a Grammie, a Grandma and a Granny…oh, and a GrandMom, if you count the great-grandparents.

    The best is Guga because it was supposed to be Gran…but when Gran attempted to teach her name to her first grandchild (“Guh, Guh, Grrrraaan.”), the child came away with Guga.

    I guess my point would be to decide on a name, but if the kids start calling her something else for whatever reason, don’t discount the cuteness/specialness of that. I’ve never heard of another Guga, that’s for sure…

  • 3. Tiffany  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:46 am

    I like Lulu! I also like boppy and poppy. I already mentioned these to her but not sure what she thinks! Good luck!

  • 4. d.a.r.  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:51 am

    My inlaws already have two grandbabies and they go by “Nene” (pronounced knee-knee, her name is Jeanene) and Paw Paw. My niece and nephew’s other set of grandparents go by Nana and Pappy.

    Whatever happened to grandad and grandma? haha!

    Oooh, and we have a girlfriend that just had a baby, her mom wants to go by “Mimsy”. And, I also have a friend who calls her grandmother “Mimi”. Maybe that would work for Maureen?

    Ha, this is fun! I wonder what my parents will eventually go by…

  • 5. John  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:55 am

    I don’t know what you should call your lovely MIL but we have a copyright to the name Grommie (what we call my mother’s mother). It’s a combination of Grand-Mommy. Boo Yah. Beat that Roots-and-Ringers. 🙂 You could call her MaurMaw? Maybe GrandMaur? I like MaurMaw. Its like Maw but more.

  • 6. Taryn E  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Rob’s grandma was always “MomMom” because he and his sister couldn’t say grandma 🙂

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I’m waiting with bated breath on the suggestions.

    Is your mom’s name Nana like banana or Nana like NahNah?

    I still can’t come up with a name for myself. The same names are taken in our family. So no Meme, Grandma, Grandmama or heaven forbid, Granny!

    I think my husband should be Papa. Love that name on him.

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Sorry. I just remembered I had a friend in school who had a grandmother she called Dear Mommy. Isn’t that unusual? Kind of reminds me of Mommy Dearest, though. Hmm. And my children call my husband’s mother Grandma Ann. Since my mom goes by Grandma, too, it works for us. Grand Maureen? or Grand MeMe? or Grand Moe? (Just kidding.) Those sound kind of English, don’t they?

  • 9. itsmekatie  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I don’t have any constructive names here, but I was just going to say that it makes me laugh what kids come up with. My nephew’s other grandma wanted to be called “Nana” and her name’s “Bonita.” He started calling her “Nina,” his little combination of the two, haha. He still calls her that now that he’s 10. My mom still turned out as “grandma,” though.

  • 10. Karen  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I was already for the BL last night and then I turned the channel and remembered, no BL. 😦

    She looks like a Nina or GiGi. Others are MeMaw, Nannie, or

    Modern Grandmother Names
    BeBe
    Bella
    GiGi
    G-Ma
    G-Mom
    Honey
    Lovey
    MayMay
    Mia
    Mim
    Mimi

    Grandmother in Other Languages
    Chinese: NaiNai
    Filipino: Lola
    Flemish: Bomma
    French: Grandmere
    French Canadian: Meme
    German: Oma
    Greek: YaYa
    Hawaiian: Tutu
    Hebrew: Savta
    Italian: Nonna
    Japanese: Oba-chan
    Korean: Halmoni
    Polish: Busia
    Portuguese: VoVo
    Russian: Babushka
    Spanish: Abuela
    Yiddish: Bube

  • 11. TiphanyB  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:33 am

    My mom goes by GiGi (Gorgeous Grandma!) and my MIL goes by Bedstemor (which means “Best Mom” in Danish, which is where my husband was born.)

    Good luck!

  • 12. Pippy  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I have a friend whose mom went by “Mimish” when her son was born. That’s kind of neat & unusual.

    I also like Mimi, Gigi, Granna, & Grandma.

  • 13. Aunt Bonnie  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Sheesh! There are lots of good suggestions. It’ll be interesting to see what Sophie calls me. Officially, I’m Granny Bon-Bon. Figure that’ll be shortened to Bon-Bon……
    We’ll see. Those grandkids often come up with their own renditions, regardless of what the grown ups suggest:)

  • 14. Kim  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Hey! You should look at heritages and come up with names. Before it got too confusing for us, my dad was “Opa”, because we have German heritage.

    There’s a wealth of neat names to call grandparents from other languages. And then when your baby is older and asks why you call her whatever, you can explain about heritage etc.

    Good luck!

  • 15. Jenna  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Ayla calls my mom “Grams”!

  • 16. Ashley B  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

    well i call my grandmothers gaga (that was the closest my older cousin could get to saying grandmother as a young child) and babcia (Polish for grandmother). so i’m not of much help. but matt calls his grandparents mosh and posh, which is actually cute

  • 17. Darla  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:12 am

    My parents are Grammy and Grandy.

    Bill has already announced that he wants to be Big Daddy (which I think would make me big mama and that’s not happening).

    My friends dad is G.P. and I think that is cute too. Her mom is nana.

  • 18. Alyssa  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:18 am

    YAH! Glad you got my book…hubs was in charge of mailing it-it got there fast! So I totally missed the post about you being pregnant! Congrats girl! WOOHOO!!!

  • 19. Taryn M. Peine  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:18 am

    What about MoMo? My friend calls her grandma that and I think it’s the cutest. I called BOTH sets Nana and Papa. Yawn.

  • 20. Kyla Roma  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Woah! Karen has it covered! I named my own grandparents (can you tell I’m feisty? lol) so my grandmas were called Baba (she coached me) and Nam. What a task to name yourself though, my goodness! No wonder she can’t choose!

  • 21. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:36 am

    My mom goes by Mimi and it is super easy for the kids to say. I think Mason started saying it by 9 months old. My nephews were around the same age.

  • 22. sarah  |  February 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Abuela.

    Grammy.

    Momo.

    That’s all I’ve got. We call my dad’s mom MeMe and when she got remarried I was dying to call her new husband PePe, but I lose that battle. So maybe I shouldn’t be allowed an opinion.

  • 23. Lauren From Texas  |  February 17, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Corlene’s nephew calls BOTH her parents “Bob.” No one knows why, but that’s what he decided on.

    So really, it’s up to Baby Hurstling. 🙂

  • 24. Kara  |  February 17, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    lol – I love Mooma but I can understand why she hates it!

    Want about Grandma Mo’? We used to call one set of grandparents just “Grandma and Grandpa” and the other “Grandma and Grandpa Chow.” Maybe that’s just the unoriginalness of my family though.

  • 25. Kim  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I’m going to have to drop out this time around. First we were snow covered and now we have the flu. Both of us.

    *sigh!*

    if you do it again, I’m definitely in.

  • 26. Kim  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Oh and CONGRATS! Babies are so exciting!

  • 27. abby  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    How about Grammy

  • 28. DeMo  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Gran!

    Side note, one of my 3y.o. nephews calls my dad “grandpa with the mustache” 🙂

  • 29. Molly  |  February 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    I love this. It is SUCH a southern thing. When my mom (a Nebraska transplant) first had a grandbaby, all her southern friends asked her what she would be called. Of course, she responded “Grandma” because there really aren’t any other options in our little midwestern minds. Her friends were appalled–Grandma was just too boring….she needed to be MeMe or CiCi or something else…she’s stuck by her Nebraskan “Grandma” but it’s so funny to me that this is a true dilemma to you true Southerners. Love it.

  • 30. osarah  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Emma calls my parents Yaya and Papa. With WIll and Julia, my parents decided to let them figure out their own names. My dad is still Papa but my mom is Gi (rhymes with “key”). When the kids were really little, they combined the two names and collectively called my parents “PapaGi.” It was uber cute.

    Sometimes I think letting the kids come up with their own names can be the cutest.

  • 31. SuzieQ  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    I have two suggestions:

    Since I work and live in Germany, the grandkids here in Germany call their grandma…”Oma”…pronounced just like it is spelled “Oh-ma”…it sounds so cute when a child is yelling for their grandma. (But, it looks like Karen’s post beat me to this one.)

    The second suggestion is from my husband’s Cajun side. A sweet Cajun French name for their grandmother is “Moma,” pronounced with a cajun accent this sounds like “Maw-maw.”

    This was fun. Thanks for letting me participate. Since this post took the place of The Biggest Loser week, what’s the prize if one wins this challenge?

  • 32. Rachel  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I agree with Lauren – it doesn’t matter what you tell kids to call people… they come up with their own names.
    We wanted Andrew’s parents to be Grandma/Grandpa but Caden chose MaMoo and Papa. He calls my mom/dad Nannie/PawPaw Ho (and never leaves off the Ho).
    My little cousins call my PawPaw Miller, “BaBaBoo” because when they were little he was always making them laugh by saying “yabbadabba do!!” When they started talking that’s just what they called him. They call Uncle Dave, “Uncle DaveBob” because their other 2 Aunt Debbies are married to Bobs and assumed that all Aunt Debbies should be married to an Uncle Bob.

  • 33. Yet to be named Grandma (Maureen)  |  February 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    WOW!!! This is fun! I’ve actually seen a couple that I like a lot so far! Thanks everyone! My great niece calls me Tia Boo. My heritage is French and Irish. I thought about “Reenie” but I’m worried I’d end up being called “Weenie.” I’m sure when I lay eyes on the Hurstling I won’t care what he or she calls me! But I would like to have something!

  • 34. mom (Nana)  |  February 17, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Sounds like some neat names. I would vote NOT for Meme since I couldn’t have that one and NOT for Papa since kurt couldn’t have that one either – you said you ALREADY had a Meme and a Papa and there could ONLY be ONE. So,.,,,take those out – I agree, the baby Hurstling will call her (and us) whatever he/she decides! I like the Reenie one – slang for Maureen – cute!

  • 35. Kristin  |  February 17, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    One of my grandmothers is: Nana, Grandma, Dedo (dee-doe), Gaga, and finally GG. My aunt wanted to be Grammy and ended up being called Mammie. My mom went with Gran. I personally like combos that include a name, like my m-i-l goes by Grandma Retta (first name Loretta), so maybe Grandma Reen. 🙂 Good luck with the decision!!

  • 36. The Husband  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    So…I’m sticking with MooMa as my favorite since I came up with it and it sounds super cool.

    HOWEVER, since we can’t use that, I like the whole Irish thing, so I found the following ones which I really like:

    – Móraí (MO ree)
    – Maimeó (MAM o)

    I like the first one personally, but you tell me.

    ****DO NOT FORGET THAT NO MATTER WHAT YOU CHOOSE, MOM, WE STILL GET TO MOLD WHAT WE REFER TO YOU AS TO THE CHILD*** ;^)

  • 37. Yet to be named Grandma (Maureen)  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    My friend suggested Lady GaGa mama! ha ha ha! Heather and I found the Irish one before, and I do like that one too Stephen…mmm, it will be fun to decide!

  • 38. mandy  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I have a Nan. My stepbrothers kids call my mom nana. I have friends who have MiMi’s and a Mamaw.

  • 39. Frances  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I like Honey, Maureen. I had a friend who called her grandmother Honey. I like GiGi too!! I love reading all of this! cute

  • 40. HoustonGurly  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I like GG or Gaga. ❤

  • 41. That Pink Girl  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I had a friend growing up, she called her grandparents Honey and Grumpaw. :0)

  • 42. Courtney  |  February 18, 2010 at 12:00 am

    I like Gigi and Morai – please pick an awesome one, Mom, or I will train my future children to call you Moo 🙂

    love (s-i-l) Courtney

  • 43. Michele  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:17 am

    How about the Spanish for Grandmother…abuela….or abuelitta……Litta or lita for short……at least it is staying in the same language as Tia!!!!

  • 44. Melanie Knapp  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Here are my suggestions coming from a “Mia”…..

    I love Reenie….and Maureen, Taylor calls her sitter Reenie and I have never heard any of the kids call her Weenie…really…
    Landon used to call Maureen……..Maureneneneneneny when he was 2.
    GITA- stands for Grandmom In Training…..Ahhhh! But I think our sis Michele is taking that one.
    I like Lita…Michele’s suggestion..
    Reena ???? cute
    And did you notice I did not use any of the “MO” names:)

  • 45. Ann  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:34 am

    How about “M”?, pronounced “em”. My choice for myself was just “grandma”, but, my sweet first grandchild called me “Mimi ” , and I was so honored (because my MIL was Mimi and she was the best), that I went along. I don’t think “P” would be good for John, though. “M” could stand for so many things…..marvelous being one. Anyway, this precedent setting grandchild will likely make the choice……no pressure, sweet one!

  • 46. Clare  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I’m late to this, but I called my one surviving grandmother (sadly no longer surviving, I miss her so much!) “grandmommy”

    Also, my book will hopefully get there today, it’s been in the mail a few days!

  • 47. Candi  |  February 18, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    My cousin’s daughter was calling my aunt, Ma! I swear every time I hear this I picture Will Ferrel screaming at the top of his lungs – Ma where’s the meatloaf?

  • 48. Cousin Kim  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:34 am

    I like Ya-Ya. “Y” is one of the first sounds babies make…and Sophie is already calling lots of things Yaya…so it will be easy to pick up. Plus – Stephen’s mom IS a YA YA. She just is. It’s easy to see – easy to believe and easy for baby. Done. :o)

  • 49. Nora  |  February 20, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Being Italian, I like Noona as well 🙂 It just sounds lovely.

    So excited for the book swap and doubly cool that your mom is participating!

  • 50. Tina  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Our moms are Grandma (Mike’s mom) and Gigi (Grandma Ginny), my mom. I’m surprised how underrated Grandma is–especially here in the South. I love cute grandparent nicknames, but no one ever tells you that most of the world still uses “Grandma.” As in… “Who’s someone you love, as much as your GRANDMA” and “It’s GRANDMA’s Day at School!” And don’t even get me started on trying to find a Gigi Valentines Day card.

  • 51. Rory & Chris  |  February 22, 2010 at 6:58 am

    You could go by what our Grandmother was called Mimi..
    We love the name…..

  • 52. Debbie  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Jacob’s grandmothers go by Mimi and Nana. But, I did hear a cool one. Not sure if anyone mentioned it…a friend of mine’s mother goes by one pronouced gee-ma (Gma), short for grandmother. not sure how they spell it though.

  • 53. Britni Boyette Ray  |  February 24, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    My husband call his Grandma “N-N” (pronounced Nin Nin. My nephew & niece call their dad’s parents “Momo” (pronounced Maw Mo) & “Dado”

  • 54. Mylène aka frenchie :D  |  March 3, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    In France we usually call our grandparents ” mamie” and “papi” I think it’s super cute, ( watch out with the pronunciation though, we don’t say A like u guys do, and the I and the end is like an E ) anywho CONGRATULATIONS guys, i can’t believe i missed the news, i was on break and didn’t go on your blog as often as i usually do! U r gonna do an amazing job and r gonna b great parents 😀 i’m really planning on coming back to texas for a couple of weeks at the end of june, i wanna c your belly, hihihi this is so great, your family is so blessed, little Avery is gonna have so much fun with her cousin, lots of love

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

