Seven Quick Takes – What a Week!

February 19, 2010 at 9:23 am 27 comments

It’s been quite a week here at R&R and, boy, am I glad that my secret is no longer a secret. It sure was tough to keep that underwraps for so long! And now it’s time for my weekly ramblings. Click the logo to visit our host.

1.
Sometimes I take off my wedding bands (I have two) and only wear my engagement ring. I like the simplicity of it.

2.
On Wednesday night as I was recovering from The Migraine From Hell, I asked Stephen if he’d make me something to eat. Enjoy!

C- Stephen, will you make me some mac and cheese? I’m starving.
S- Sure.
C- Thanks. I think I want the Kraft Scooby Doo shapes.
S- Okay.
(pause)
S- Wait. Is that the kind that involves boiling water?
C- Yes. They all do.
S- No, some are in cups and go in the microwave.
C- That’s Easy Mac. I don’t want Easy Mac. I want the real thing. But it’s okay, right? Haven’t we been over this whole “boiling water” thing before? You know how to do it.
S- Ugh, yeah. But I just never know when it’s boiling. There’s little bubbles and big bubbles and I just never know!!! UGH. I’ll figure it out.

(10 minutes passes. Stephen returns holding the mac & cheese box.)

C- Is there a problem?
S- I just want you to know that this isn’t as easy as it looks.
C- But… yes it is.
S- No. Look hereย on the box. At the top there is a picture of water, milk, and butter…. which would make one think that you combine all of those at the beginning.
C- Oh gosh. Is that was you did??
S- No! Well I started to. But after I put the milk in the water I just knew it didn’t look right. These instructions are awful!
C- Did you read them?
S- No. Well, now I did.
C- Do I have permission to blog about this?
S- Yes.

3.
#2 even makes me laugh. Every time I replay it in my head, I laugh.

4.
If there are any Houston bloggers out there that would like to get together for a brunch tomorrow in The Woodlands, there are a number of us gathering. Get in touch! We’re going to eat Migasย and tell the Canadians all about it. I’m still having a hard time with their “What is queso? Is it like Cheez Whiz?” question.

5.
You know how when you’re pregnant you become really sensitive to smells? You know how my office is about 6 feet from the men’s restroom? I have NO idea how I have yet to vomit during this pregnancy.

6.
Stephen is buying a bike this weekend. He’s been saving and saving so he could buy himself a nice road bike. I’m really excited for him but I’m choosing not to think about the price– which is the equivalent of like 3 or 4 car payments. I know it’ll be worth it for him to have this and I’m excited him to develop this new hobby.

7.
Things I’m currently obsessed with: apple juice, Life Savers Sour Gummies in Wild Berry flavor, root beer floats, Taco Bell Crunchy tacos, hot chocolate,ย and any food you talk about. And sleep.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Stephen.

Introducing: The Pregnant Pause Things That Will Make You Smile

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aunt Bonnie  |  February 19, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Sounds like you’re feeling better. With Dave, I loved root beer or coke floats. Funny…..and the ice cream with pickle deal….had that with Kim. Wanted the ice cream but didn’t want it to be too sweet.
    Poor Stephen! Boiling water is so difficult:) Teach him!

  • 2. Taryn E  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Ugh to #5…. I hated the smell of anything fish/seafood cooking (and i LOOOOVE seafood!) I was so sensitive to body odor smells too… I couldn’t stand being around people who had even a hint of smoke on them… made me so nauseous!

    #7… LOL. Sour gummies? ๐Ÿ™‚ I craved pizza, but had to suffer the consequences if I ate it, b/c all things tomato gave me the worst heartburn!! I also got to the point where I was drinking a gallon of milk every 3-4 days. We would go out to eat and I would order milk with my food…. I made them bring it to me in a pint glass! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 3. jessica  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:11 am

    i looove taco bell crunchy tacos! and crunch wrap supremes. have you tried those? if not, you should. they’re yummy. i’ve been having really random cravings lately. enough so that mariah asked me if i was pregnant even though she knows that’s not possible.

  • 4. Kate  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Hahahaha. Gosh, Stephen sounds like my husband. That’s hilarious. Does he also play video games all the time?

  • 5. osarah  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I like the simplicity of just having my engagement band on as well. I dont’ ever just wear it around, but sometimes I take my wedding band off and just look at my hand with the engagement band on it. I’m glad to know I’m in good company.

    I love that you shared that conversation. I miss being there for those great Stephenisms.

    And I’m so sorry you had a migraine creep up on you this week. I was so hopeful that your pregnancy/the chiropractor would “magically” take them away. I’m still hoping/praying.

    Have a good weekend! And congrats to Stephen for getting a bike (well, this weekend).

  • 6. Molly  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Yay for Stephen! I know you guys have been saving up for this for awhile…it’ll make it all the more sweet. Tell him congratulations on his new metal bundle of joy.

    That story, by the way, had me literally laughing out loud…and I rarely do that while just reading something. AWESOME.

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Your conversation with Stephen is hilarious! I’m afraid I have two men in my house who don’t cook. I won’t say can’t because they haven’t really tried.

    Bless your heart! I cannot imagine having to smell the men’s room everyday. One of the first symptoms of my second pregnancy involved smells. Donnie and I were off to the movies and I was wearing a cowl neck sweater (the style in 1990). I had sprayed my favorite perfume on my neck. That cowl neck made the fragrance waft up in my nose. I was so sick I had to get Donnie to take me back home to change. No idea I was pregnant. STill hate that perfume.

  • 8. Ashley B  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:11 am

    i think my body acts like it’s pregnant sometimes (even when it obviously isn’t). in my calculus class, there are these two guys on the other side of the room. one has bad b.o. and the other smokes. normally it’s not a big deal b/c they are on the other side of the room, but today i could still smell both of them and spent the entire class wanting to throw up

  • 9. mrssjohnson  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:48 am

    That conversation with Stephen is hilarious- did you ever get the mac n cheese though?

  • 10. Kara  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Okay, so I had to Google queso, but it definitely doesn’t sound like Cheez Whiz (which is only good in very VERY small doses.) It looks delicious, or at least the images did. Now I want nachos. I may have to fly to Houson now and crash the party.

  • 11. HoustonGurly  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Hilarious about the mac and cheese! My daughter did the same thing when she was about 9. ๐Ÿ™‚

    When I was pregnant, I loved the tacos from Jack-In-The-Crack. Yum!

  • 12. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    The key to not getting sick and throwing up during the first trimester is to eat a lot of small meals or snacks frequently. Make sure to include protein in there as well. Also, I have found that if I take my prenatals at night before going to bed, it helps. Otherwise it would make me sick in the morning or mid day.

  • 13. Vanessa  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    HAHAHA! #2 still has me laughing!

  • 14. Kristin  |  February 19, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    WHAT??? No vomiting? You lucky lady! I puked from the beginning to the end. What? TMI? Ah ha ha

  • 15. DebbieQ  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    #2 – WAY too funny. Those kinds of things are why I do not let HHBL cook anything.

    #7 – with the oldest progeny I couldn’t get enough oatmeal. With the middle progeny it was green olives (which drove the doc nuts). With the youngest it was Burger King Jr. Cheeseburgers and fries.

  • 16. Yet to be named Grandma (Maureen)  |  February 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    OK, I am still laughing out loud about the mac and cheese conversation! And, I will take full responsibility for not teaching my son to cook. I did all the cooking, however, he did start doing his own laundry and ironing in 8th grade. That was after he found a pair of my mother’s granny panties in his underwear drawer. I hope he has recovered from that by now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 17. Samantha  |  February 19, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    #2 really had me laughing! How funny. I have a feeling that you’re going to have lots of funny Stephen & Chelsea stories throughout your pregnancy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 18. Stephany  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Oh, man, #2 is great! Too funny and I love that you asked permission to blog about this! Haha.

    Yay for no vomiting yet. I know my mom was sick as a dog throughout her entire pregnancies which makes me REALLLLLY nervous for when I get pregnant.

  • 19. mom (Nana) Alice Rosenhagen  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I can HEAR that conversation out of Stephen’s mouth as I read it….

    So funny cause I too had cravings for root beer floats when i was pregnant. And also Coke floats. Not sure which pregnancy that was…..and of course, it was definitely after the vomiting part of the pregnancy… ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 20. Erin B.  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Loving #2 – poor, sweet guy. My husband made me dinner for the first time in 4 years last night necause I had another migraine, too! Chicken and a bag of veggies from the freezer ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for #1, we decided we liked the simplicity of my engagement ring, so it became my wedding ring at our ceremony.

  • 21. Jill  |  February 20, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Gosh Chelsea, you really don’t let Stephen in the kitchen do you? hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can’t believe you have to smell the men’s restroom everyday. That is nasty. You should hire a maid to come clean the bathroom and put it on an expense report. Or submit it to your insurance as a health related expense.

  • 22. Jill  |  February 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    ps I’m currently sitting in the airport and your talking about queso is making me consider walking up to the Chili’s for some chips and salsa. I know it isn’t queso but it’s along those lines…

  • 23. That Pink Girl  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Your mac n cheese story is hilar! It’s usually easier for me to just do it myself, Hubs asks so many questions. The directions are on the box for even children to follow. Do they think we are just BORN with this knowledge? Boys!

  • 24. Nora  |  February 20, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    The mac & cheese story is pretty funny; glad he let you post it!

    I don’t know how you handle being that close to the bathroom even when you aren’t pregnant! i always hold my breath when I walk past the men’s room at my office.

    Sleep, you can’t go wrong with sleep!

  • 25. Lisa D  |  February 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Ok, I seriously laughed out loud when I read the mac n cheese thing. That is hillarious!!!!

  • 26. Debbie  |  February 22, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    omg that’s awesome. for the record, i think I consumed about 742 blue boxes of mac and cheese during my pregnancy. i was obsessed with anything cheesy. looooooved mac n cheese especially! ๐Ÿ™‚

    i also craved root beer floats….YUM! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 27. Jennifer  |  March 4, 2010 at 12:58 am

    Oh My Goodness… I am laughing out loud! That is hilarious! :)”Do I have permission to blog about this?”… TOO funny! I found your blog through the Conversion Diary blog… I am so glad I did!
    ~Jennifer
    http://www.studiojru.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

