“What’s Your Story” – Part 1B

February 25, 2010 at 9:32 am 24 comments

My intention was for Stephen to write his side of Our Story and then I’d follow with my side. However, after reading his post I realized that I didn’t need to clear anything up. He did a really good job of telling the story. But then I got to thinking… part of his post is about how he got there. About where he was in his life to lead him to that little house on Duval. So I thought it would be fun to tell you about my story and how God very specifically worked in both of our lives to bring us together at the right time. So that’s what I’m going to do.

I was a party girl in high school. It’s not something I’m proud of, but it’s the truth. When I went to college, it seemed like a natural transition. I went out a lot and drank a lot. That was my life and I liked it. I thought I was happy and I thought that’s the life I was going to lead. Then one Sunday my friend Lyndsey and I were sitting in church (we still went to church, you see… we thought it was normal to party on Saturday and worship on Sunday) and they announced this conference called Passion. We thought it sounded fun and decided we’d go. It was not a normal decision for us. I have no reasonable explanation for why we went on that trip except to say that God wanted me there in a big way.

I could make this into a really long story but that would be more like my testimony than the story of how Stephen and I met. Let’s just say, my life was changed. We came back to Austin and decided to live a different life. Then a problem presented itself. Lyndsey graduated. I was entering my junior year of college with a lifestyle change… without my best friend and her support. What’s a girl to do?

I DO NOT KNOW HOW THIS HAPPENED but I decided I was going to join a community group. There was a meet and greet after service one Sunday night to talk to different community group leaders. I went… by myself. I remember talking to two leaders. One was a single guy that was leading an all male group, I was not invited. The other was a young couple. They seemed nice. They seemed fun. Luckily I didn’t know they were Aggies or else I may not have liked them! (Texas joke, sorry.) I got the information about their group and decided I would join. Once again, let me point out… by myself.

I arrived late the first night because I couldn’t find the house. I literally showed up, couldn’t tell if I was at the right house, went home to Mapquest it, and then came back. I remember little bits of the night, but now a whole lot. It must’ve been enjoyable because I went back the next week. And that’s when I met them. The Steves. The first Steve I had briefly met the first week. He was one of those outgoing types that knew everyone. He brought his friend Steve. My Steve. We were hanging out and mingling and eating all the delicious treats the Amber had put out for us and this Steve came up to me and said, “Hey, don’t I know you from somewhere?” Um no, nice line dude. “No, I don’t think so.” Hmm. “Oh, well I’m Steve.” And then we had a conversation that I don’t remember. Not because I was dazed and in love and knew I had just met the man I was going to marry. No, I just don’t remember it because it was probably pretty boring. There was a lot of small talk that night.

Oh and also… in my defense, I didn’t think my outfit was inappropriate. I was probably coming from yoga or on the way to the gym. (I did healthy things like that back then.) If you know me at all, you know that I never wear anything that could even be considered  slightly scandalous. If I knew that the dudes would be looking at my legs, I wouldn’t have worn those shorts. And also in my defense, my legs are like 8 feet long, they are hard to hide.

Then came the next week. I don’t remember much of it except that this Steve fella was hanging around me a noticable amount. And then when he left, he turned around to me and said, “Bye Chelsea.” I knew. I knew he liked me.

After community group I went home and “friended” a few people I had met the past couple weeks. The Steves were included. It was that night that I sent a message to Stephen saying that I liked him better without his beard. His facebook showed a gruff adult with a thick beard. Not my preference. Apparently in dude langauge that means “I like you.” Which is fine. I didn’t at the time, but it didn’t hurt that he thought that.

I don’t know if people talk on AIM anymore but back then, that’s what we did. We added each other on AIM and started chatting each night. FOR HOURS. We talked about everything, including important things like “Do I have to call you Steve? Can I please call you Stephen?” and “How tall are you?” Once I learned that I could call him Stephen and that he was taller than 6 feet, I knew this was going somewhere. He was fun and friendly and cute. Although I had only seem his twice and I wasn’t sure I remembered what exactly he looked like. Do you know how that goes?

So anyways we chatted for hours and both knew that something was happening. It was the year the Astros were in the playoffs so I invited Stephen over a few nights to watch the games. (Apparently he could care less about baseball… but you know what? If you want to be with Chelsea, you have to make room for some baseball in your life. The end!) He stayed into very very late hours and we talked non-stop. We had a talk about “us.” We knew things were headed somewhere fast. I wasn’t opposed to it but it was scary. This wasn’t just some guy. This was a good guy. A good, cute, polite guy that seemed different. And I knew that if we started dating, that would probably be it… forever.

I told him I’d like us to be friends for a month before we tried dating. Deep down, I knew that was ridiculous. Plus, how would it be any different than the faux dating we were currently doing. Two weeks later, I decided I was ready. I knew this guy was it. I knew that I’d never be single again. It was scary. Very very scary. But thrilling. That was October 20, 2005. I met his mom on Halloween. He met mine a week or two after. Things were moving quickly. In December 2005, I knew I was in love.

And that’s how I came to meet my boyfriend. Next I’ll tell you how I made him my husband.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Stephen. Tags: , , .

“What’s Your Story: Part 1” Seven Quick Takes – Was This Week 12 Days Long?

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DeMo  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Ahhhh! The sweetness hits again! This makes me look forward to being in love. And the whole scary thing about never being single again? Yeah, I think that’s sort of what holds me back form some relationships.

  • 2. Kaitlynn  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I LOVE love stories….how can you not? I love when you can look back and see that God orchestrated things SOOO perfectly. He’s so awesome like that. I remember knowing my hubby was the forever kind only a couple weeks after realizing I liked him at all – what an amazing feeling! What a blessing that God has given us this love to share with our husbands 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more of the story!

  • 3. Rachel  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I remember when you started talking about some guy named Stephen. Great job telling your story. Can’t wait to read the next part. 🙂

  • 4. Aunt Bonnie  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Mostly I remember the part about not dating for a month…..funny!
    Nice work, you two!

  • 5. timlinzrowland  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I love hearing how people meet and fall in love! Thanks for sharing. I hope you are feeling good and enjoying every minute of your pregnancy!
    Oh and BTW, I also have extremely long legs and yes it makes even a decent length skirt or pair of shorts look very short! Sometimes in church I feel like my legs are all the way up to my throat when I cross them in the tight space between pews! Frustrating!

  • 6. jill  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:54 am

    LOVE! I love your honesty and sharing! 🙂

  • 7. Pippy  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I love that you are both sharing your side of your love story! So sweet!

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:08 am

    (1) Thank God for Passion and for not hindering the Holy Spirit’s work (2) she definitely is conservative in her dress so she is telling the truth in that she WOULDN’T have worn something skanky… (3) I am surprised Stephen came back after he met Chelsea’s mom and when he found out how important Baseball is to Chelsea (4) we are glad he did (5) Thank God for Passion

  • 9. Molly  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:43 am

    reading these stories brings a big old grin to my face. I like this idea!!

  • 10. Stephany  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I loved reading Stephen’s side and your side. I love reading love stories and seeing how God just puts two people together. Great story!

  • 11. abby  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Awww This is such a sweet story! I can’t wait to read more!

  • 12. Ashley B  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I definitely understand the not remembering exactly what he looks like. I met matt and we were in the same small and SING group for about a week (this was at Line Camp before college technically started). But when school began a few weeks later, I didn’t even recognize him. In my defense he got a buzz cut and was wearing pajamas

  • 13. Amanda  |  February 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    love how you love baseball more then he does!!

    Blessings-
    AManda

  • 14. Cousin Kim  |  February 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    These stories are just tooooo cute and soooo special. I am glad you put them in the blog. Thank you both for sharing of yourselves in this beautiful way. You need to write them somewhere, too. Your kids will want to know – and your grandkids.

  • 15. Taryn M. Peine  |  February 25, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Presh Chelsea! I couldn’t remember what Drew looked like after I first met him either! All I could remember were biceps…;-) Come to think of it, maybe that’s all I actually looked at?

  • 16. Clare  |  February 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I just read parts A and B and I love it! I love hearing stories of how great couples met, it helps me keep faith that when the time is right, God will make the right things happen.

    I heart Austin Stone. I plan on joining a community group just as soon as my weeknights free up from school, it for sure helps you to get more connected.

  • 17. Yet to be named Grandma (Maureen)  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Well we (Stephen’s family) are sure happy that you decided to go to that Community group that night! I told you before that I started praying for my children to be and their spouses to be from the time I was 12 years old. He was listening!

  • 18. Samantha  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Aww, I loved your side of the story. 🙂 You brought back some memories, because my hubby and I added each other on AIM and chatted A LOT after we first met.

  • 19. Southern Gal  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    It’s so nice you both are writing this out.

    And in your defense, yes, tall girls wear regular shorts and they look like short shorts. It can’t be helped.

  • 20. Charise Sprengel  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    I will agree your legs are LONG and I never knew you to dress inappropriately! 🙂 What’s weird is that Nate and I started dating Oct. 17 and I knew in January that he was IT!!!

  • 21. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Yay for love stories! But…where’s the first kiss?!? I need first kisses!

    And I like you you both ended your stories the same way…”Next time I’ll tell you how I made him/her my husband/wife.” Who’s the boss here, anyway?

  • 22. Megan  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I love you “how we met” story! I can’t wait to hear more.

    Also…it may be way too personal, but I would love to hear more about your Passion experience…

  • 23. Nora  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    you guys are so adorable.

    I am looking forward to the moment I realize that I’ll never be single again. I’ve had a few false alarms and that feeling was great for someone who wasn’t right so I can’t imagine what it must be like!

  • 24. Brandi  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    I’m really enjoying these posts! So sweet. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

