Pregnant Pause – 12 Weeks

March 8, 2010 at 12:10 pm 34 comments

Goooood morning everyone.

This morning Stephen and I went to the doctor for my check up and ultrasound. We got in there and did the ultrasound (amazing, by the way) and then after I peed in a cup and was waiting in the waiting room, they proceed to tell me that they have no record of me having an appointment with the doctor today and the doctor is in surgery all day today. Brilliant. “Actually, Mrs. Hurst, you should have had an appointment last Monday based on timing, but we have no record of that either.” UGH. “Yes. That was the original plan but I was out of town last Monday so they said I could see the doctor today since I was already coming in for my ultrasound.” Crap crap crap. “Yeah, we have no record of that. It’s not in the system.” So I did the only logical thing I could think of. I cried. And then I got embarrassed so I kept crying.

They took some of my blood and sent me on my not-so-merry way.

I apologized to Stephen for my first completely irrational cry. He did the Husband of the Year thing and replied, “That was not irrational. They screwed up and you were frustrated.”

So now I have to go in Wednesday morning for my check up and hopefully to hear the heartbeat because they don’t do it with ultrasound at my office. A trip to the doctor twice in one week. Convenient.

It’s not all bad news today though. We saw our baby. It no longer looks like a blob but like an actual baby. And we were literally able to count 5 fingers on one of the hands! It was being quite the wiggle worm this morning. At this stage the baby should be between 2-2.5 inches and it’s measuring 6 cm which is right on track! YAY HURSTLING!!

And now, for your viewing pleasure, my baby.

First is a close up of the cute little face! The second is a full profile of the entire body.

You are free to make your gender judgments but just know that it’s too soon to know for sure! For now, just tell me how beautiful it is!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: , .

This Is What We Call A Filler Ten on Tuesday (21)

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    BEAUTIFUL!!! You’ll love hearing the heartbeat…but honestly SEEING the baby is even more comforting. We opted only to have 1 ultrasound during our pregnancy, so leading up to it, I REALLY counted on hearing her heartbeat every month as reassurance that everything was OK.

    And it’s FINE that you cried. Totally their mistake. And not to be all alarmist, but you can still switch doctors if you want. Personally, I’m the kind who wants to know how good at catchingmy baby you’ll be if you can’t even manage to track my APPOINTMENT. But that’s me. First-time Mama Bear🙂

  • 2. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I’m getting all choked up…that baby is the sweetest lil’ thing! Hug it for me, K?

  • 3. Lauren From Texas  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    OMG!!! THAT IS AMAZING!!!! I LOVE THAT BABY!!!!!

  • 4. Vanessa  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    So adorable!! Plus, I don’t think you did an irrational cry!

  • 5. HoustonGurly  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Awesome! So sweet.

  • 6. Autumn  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    BEAUTIFUL baby! I got teary-eyed just looking at the little thing! So happy for you!
    And there was not one ounce of irrational in your crying! You had yourself all prepared to hear that heartbeat. Their mistake and your frustration… absolutely correct! Preggo women cry… it’s not irrational!

  • 7. Clare  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Yeah that cry wasn’t irrational at all!

    OMG! at the pictures! I didn’t realize you can see the face at such an early stage! Features, and everything! SO beautiful!

  • 8. jill  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I guess girl!🙂

    AND-you are not irrational.

  • 9. Samantha  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Those photos are amazing! How beautiful. Congrats again to you both!

  • 10. Jessica  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Awww! That’s so awesome! I think it’s going to be a girl, but I can’t tell anything by that picture.

  • 11. abby  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    That stinks that they messed up your appointment!! But how fun to see your baby!! BabyH is soo cute:) I can tell already:)

  • 12. Sarah  |  March 8, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Too cute!!!

    And if that’s an irrational cry, then I’ll probably be screwed when it comes to pregnancy hormones. It’s not uncommon for me cry out of frustration at something like that, and as you know, I’m not pregnant.

  • 13. That Pink Girl  |  March 8, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    You had every right to be upset – totes NOT irrational crying! So frustrating! At least you were still able to have your ultrasound and see your little bean! What a great way to start your week! Counting fingers already and only 6 cm long. Isn’t God amazing????

  • 14. mom (nana)  |  March 8, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    GOD IS SOOOO AMAZING! How in the world can someone say that isn’t a person already??? Only 2 – 2.5 inches long and so formed already! You can cry alllll you want, my dearest daughter. It is NOT irrational. They made a mistake and that happens, but you can let it all out anytime you need to. It is part of being pregnant – go ahead….Yea, for my SIL….he did good. (Did he offer to give you a foot message later to make you feel better?)🙂

  • 15. timlinzrowland  |  March 8, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    So So sweet! I am a bit jealous though…. I haven’t gotten to see my baby since it was a blob. We go in next week to see if it is a girl or boy! Can’t wait!

  • 16. Taryn E  |  March 8, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Yay for Baby Hurst!🙂 I’m gotta guess boy, just to go against the norm.

    LOL, don’t worry… I secretly think my doctor’s office hated me, because I would call them multiple times before every appointment to make sure that I was in the system. Oh, and get used to the peeing in a cup thing… you will do that at EVERY appointment…. it gets more and more difficult the larger your tummy gets!🙂

  • 17. Ashley B  |  March 8, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    awww. he/she is beautiful chelsea (i think it’ll be a boy though). have some chocolate, ask for a foot rub (as your mom suggested), and enjoy looking at those pictures! wednesday will come soon enough

  • 18. Nora  |  March 8, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I just melted when I saw the face and the Hurstling’s foot in the air too! How adorable =)

    Super bummer about the doc twice in one week but I have a feeling hearing the heartbeat will be so worth it.

    Thanks for sharing this photo with us!

  • 19. Debbie  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    hello sweet baby!!! just WAIT until you hear the heartbeat for the first time. I remember hearing Jacob’s and just falling in love so much more than I thought I already was with him. 🙂

    ps- got your book a few days ago, woo hoo! i started it last night and am already 70 pages in! cant put the sucker down!

  • 20. Stephany  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Oh, dear. That’s something I would cry about. I mean, sometimes I’m at the gym and reading a weight loss story in Shape magazine and I start tearing up. I’m going to be a MESS when I’m pregnant. I’ll just cry all day long! So, no, it’s something I would cry about so you’re good.🙂

    HOLY CRAP! HOLY CRAP! HOLY CRAP! THERE’S A REAL, LIVE BABY IN THERE! How cuuuuuute! My totally uneducated, I’m-always-wrong-about-these-things-so-my-vote-holds-no-weight guess is BOY! So you’ll probably have a girl. Congratulations!😉

  • 21. Emmie aka Grandma Hurst  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    My heart just melted, and my eyes teared up looking at this perfectly formed little person. A miracle. And the baby is smiling! Can you see the smile? Crying while you are pregnant is not irrational, it is normal, heck, for me crying is normal anyway, all the time! Especially thinking about my precious, precious little grandbaby. I thought girl, but after looking at the pics, now I’m thinking boy.

  • 22. Southern Gal  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Yes, it is beautiful. So sorry your appointments got all mixed up. A good cry does a pregnant woman good. Remember that in the coming months.

  • 23. Steph E  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    I need to see the real pictures, so I can tell you if it is a girl or boy… 🙂 I just LOVE ultrasound pictures.

    When I was pregnant with Peyton, we had an ultrasound in our office and I would go in several times a week to peek at her. We had a new machine with Jackson, but the attachments were not for OB, so not as much peeking…

  • 24. Jenna  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Beautiful! Isn’t it amazing how fast they start to look like babies?! I can’t wait for you to hear the heartbeat – it’s the best. Sorry your doctors office messed up & made you cry, hopefully they are better on Wednesday.🙂

  • 25. Joy  |  March 8, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing. Don’t worry about the tears, pregnancy makes me weepy too!

  • 26. Debbie Flores  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Yayyyyy!!! He’s beautiful, that’s what I think, a boy🙂 I’m so happy for you, it’s really real, you’re really having a baby! I think it’s just now hitting me. Scary, exciting, and everything you can think of! I have so much faith in you and know it will be wonderful! Love you so much and I can’t express how happy I am for you! XOXO

  • 27. Kara  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I freaking love it! Ultrasound pictures make my heart smile.

  • 28. Lisa D  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    That is amazing! I love seeing ultrasound pics. Makes me grin ear to ear. 🙂

    And sometimes, the only thing you can do is cry. Especially when you are frustrated. And pregnant. not that i know from personal experience, but i can see myself also crying!

  • 29. Darla  |  March 9, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Beautiful! Beautiful!!

  • 30. Molly  |  March 10, 2010 at 8:51 am

    wow!!!! you are so lucky! we NEVER had that clear of an outline of Jack. I’d stare at it all day long if I were you too!!!! and it sounds like Stephen is going to be an awesome partner in this pregnancy—perfect wording, hubby!!!

    I can’t wait to see your little one!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 31. Karen  |  March 10, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Good Lord, look at that head. I’m just kidding. (She) is adorable, I want to say it is a boy, but some thing inside is saying girl. So, I am going to go with girl, for now.

    One of my nieces should be having her little boy next week, the doctor said that if she does not start dilating by Monday that they are going in after him, I am excited, although I hope everything goes natural and they do not have to make him come out.

  • 32. Sara  |  March 10, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    So beautiful! I think it’s a girl! I can just feel it. I’m going to make you something really great for Baby Hurst once you know the gender for sure. Don’t take my professional opinion for it. lol! Congratulations and it sounds like Mr. Hurst should be nominated for Husband of the Year.

  • 33. Kelly  |  March 11, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Beautiful baby!

    I would have cried too… I don’t think you are irrational.🙂

  • 34. Sandhya Ganesha  |  March 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    what cool sonograms! congrats!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

