Pregnant Pause – Yeah… Again

March 11, 2010 at 8:30 am 23 comments

Second Pregnant Pause of the week. Sorry friends. I’ll blog a bit more often when someone can convince my body that it’s in the second trimester and I shouldn’t be feeling more sick thanย I was in the first.

Things just aren’t feeling right the past few days. At first I thought it was my new prenatals because I’d start feeling bad shortly after taking the pills. But last night I started feeling bad before I took them. So now I just don’t know. Maybe it’s because I have a parasite in my body (according to my husband… who also says that when the baby it is born it will no longer be a parasite, but a roommate. He’s so funny I forgot to laugh…)

I have been compiling my Seven Quick Takes throughout the week, so I promise to have something for you tomorrow.

Do any of you know if pregnant women can eat canned tuna? I vaguely remember my doctor saying to only eat the Albacore kind… I need to call and ask. Have any other random preggo tips? I’m all ears today!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: .

Loser 9.08: For Some Reason I’ve Always Wanted To Pull A Semi Seven Quick Takes – Does My Blog Make Your Ovaries Sing?

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ashnmatt2011  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Having never been pregnant, I’ve got nothing myself. But there is a whole variety of stuff on The Bump. Check it out if you haven’t already:

    http://www.thebump.com/

  • 2. Amanda  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Tip: If you are going to need child care, put your child on a wait list now. Ian still can’t get into any schools that I want. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    If the prenatals make you sick, take them at night and eat something like yogurt before you take them.

    I could write a whole blog on this topic… so I’ll leave you with that.

  • 3. Erin B.  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Personally, I try to stay away from canned tuna because of the mercury…I’ve read a lot of sources that take that approach, as do my doctor and midwife. Just one more thing to add to the list – it’s not forever, though!

    My first bought of morning (which was actually afternoon and evening) sickness lasted until I was 17 weeks…and started up again in Week #24! Some women have it their entire pregnancy!

  • 4. karen  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:54 am

    A parasite? mmaaannnn, what’s up with that. lol

    This website talks about the mercury stuff,

    http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/psafe/0,,qpx7,00.html

    I hope it helps and I hope that you feel better.

  • 5. deiala  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Sorry, I can’t help you with that, never having been pregnant. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll fell better soon. In the meanwhile, just take a rest…

  • 6. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Oh Chelsea, I just hope you feel better soon! There’s nothing that sucks the fun out of pregnancy like morning sickness. You’ll feel baby Hurst dancing around in there before too long, and it’ll be way better.

    I ate chunk light tuna, just not very often. Once a month or so? I think I remember chunk light being legal. But I could be way wrong, so check those links someone else left.

    Feel better, girly!

  • 7. Taryn E  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:15 am

    You can eat canned tuna.. 12oz a week of light tuna in water (not albacore, it has more mercury.) Or you can have salmon, shrimp, etc.
    http://www.parents.com/pregnancy/my-body/nutrition/ has a lot of good info. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 8. Autumn  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Hoping and praying you feel better soon.

    I would ask the doc again about the tuna… you hear so many mixed messages these days.

    I also vote for taking the vitamins in the evening and always with food. But when I was preggo… I was always “with food!”

    Naps always made me feel better!!

  • 9. jenn  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:45 am

    keeping a little something in your tummy at all times…crackers, fruit, pretzels (anything you can)…can help. also peppermint things helped me, so i always had gum or some mints on hand. a friend of mine swore by ginger lollipops? but i never tried those.

    hope it helps! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 10. Clare  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Obviously I have never been pregnant so I can’t really help with “I’ve been there” advice, but I hope you feel better! The thing about the ginger lollipops that jenn above me posted about sounds weird but I can actually see how it might help, ginger supposedly stops people from throwing up. Crystallized ginger would (allegedly) have the same effect.

  • 11. Southern Gal  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I hope you feel better soon. I wasn’t sick with my first two and was nauseous for six weeks with my youngest. I remember the feeling, but didn’t really have anything that helped. Ginger snaps? Ginger Ale? Peppermints? Remember this too shall pass. That little roommate will be here before you know it.

  • 12. Kim  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I read in a couple of different places that yes you can eat tuna, 6oz (i.e. a can) a week. I didn’t eat it every week but I did crave it sometimes so would have my one can a week haha.

    The thing I missed the most while pregnant was feta, they say not to eat soft cheeses like feta, bleu cheese etc while pregnant due to listeria bacteria, also not to eat deli meat, luckily I developed an aversion for those while pregnant.

    Also, if your baby is going to be in daycare PART TIME, start looking now as most of them don’t accept part timers, and the ones that do often charge almost full time prices. I lucked out and had a friend from high school who runs an in home day are and at the time Amelia was born was really only doing before and after schools, so was flexible for part time hours at part time prices.

  • 13. mom (nana)  |  March 11, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    I am sorry you are feeling worse. Make sure you ALWAYS have something to snack on – ALWAYS – and NEVER EVER take vitamins (or any meds) on an empty stomach. Also, I agree with the sipping on ginger tea, ginger lollipops, etc. ALthough, if you are like your mommy, you will be sick – it is just a fact of pregnancy – and hopefully you will be over it soon. I do think foot rubs, back rubs, etc help! (STEPHEN!) Hugs!

  • 14. timlinzrowland  |  March 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I am so sorry you are feeling worse. I was hoping you wouldn’t be sick at all. It sucks I can tell you that since I have only been over it for a few weeks.
    I eat canned tuna when I am pregnant but only a can a week or less. I would still call your doc since there are so many different rules by each doc.
    Nothing helped my sickness this time exept Zofran (a prescription from your doc….it was great). You might think about asking for it, they have generic…ondansetron. It doesn’t make you feel like a million bucks but it knocked a huge edge off it, to were I could at least stand up without getting sick.
    Good luck soon the baby will be moving and it helps take the focus off the sickness.

  • 15. Joy  |  March 11, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Previous posters have covered the tuna question well, and provided excellent tips about pregnancy nausea~the only other thing I would offer is to remember that the nausea is not gastric related so if a food appeals to you~you will probably keep it down without a problem.

    Feel better:-)

  • 16. Debbie  |  March 11, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Poor thing, I’m sorry you’re feeling so yucky! As far as the tuna, my Dr said it was fine. But, I couldn’t have more than about 4-6 ounces of tuna/fish a week. I didn’t eat the albacore tuna, though. You may want to check with your Dr on that since everyone’s different. But, I definitely didnt eat sushi. I was told not to eat shrimp or any kind of shelled things. No shark (like I ate any?!).

    Have you tried the nausea band you wear on your wrist? My SIL loved them. It didn’t work for me, but, wanted to suggest it. Or eating ginger snaps? Peppermint and ginger are supposed to help nausea a lot. The preggie pops at BabiesRUs helped a tad. Also, I took my prenatals right before I went to sleep at night, so if I felt weird it was while I was sleeping. Also another suggestion I got was to eat a piece of toast or some crackers (just something small/bland) before you even get out of bed in the morning. That way something’s in your tummy before you start walking around and start your day? Stephen can help you with that one. Lastly, I always had small snacks with me. I seriously think I had to eat something tiny like every 30 minutes without feeling faint/sick. So, eat up!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hopefully something in there helps! I hope you feel better soon!!

  • 17. Debbie  |  March 11, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    ps – thought of one last thing. best tip I got…stay off of babycenter and all the baby websites. you can drive yourself BANANAS reading about all these symptoms and concerns. best bet is to just take it day by day and if you think anything’s going on, just call your Dr. that’s why they get paid so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 18. Jessica  |  March 11, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    I think canned tuna is supposed to be bad for pregnant women from what I can remember from my biology classes. I think you could probably eat the tuna that’s in the bags though.

    Broccoli is supposed to be really good for the baby. It prevents something that I can’t spell.

  • 19. Nora  |  March 11, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    I’m sure someone else has already suggested these but I hear Preggy Pops are life savers especially in terms of not feeling well. Other than that, I don’t have a single pregnant tip for you since I’ve never been with child. Sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hope you feel better soon!

  • 20. Veronica  |  March 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    such a bummer you’re not feeling well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have heard that it’s a quick change for women that felt sick the first trimester. so maybe tomorrow you will wake up and feel fabulous. i’ll pray for that.

    and i read that canned light tuna is okay, but to limit it to once a week.

    look forward to seeing y’all and that cute little baby bump!

  • 21. Mama Fuss  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    One problem I run into when I am pregnant is constipation. And I am not typically a constipated person (I will leave it at that) so I end up taking a regular dose of softeners (once you’re allowed to take them – I’m sorry. I can’t keep track of where you are in the pregnancy – too many pregnant friends and online friends) and I can’t always tell what it is right away, so the ache in my belly goes on for a day or so and THEN I figure it out. Up your water intake, avoid too many foods that block you, etc. For me, a Jamocha shake from Arby’s always gets me going again, but I don’t know if that works for everyone.
    I don’t like the smell of tuna when pregnant, so I never thought about whether it was okay or not. Just watch your mercury content.

  • 22. Erin  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    My doctor told me not to eat more than 8 oz of fish per week because of the mercury that’s in it.
    *ALSO* I saw you mention something about not drinking coffee, and I find myself putting my two cents in a lot with pregnant people (smack me please? I’m not as smug as I sound… PROMISE!)- I really mourned the lack of coffee when I was pregnant, but doctors say that you can have one or two cups per day (and that totally saved my life). OK! Shutting up now. You really can smack me.

  • 23. Erin  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    ALSO (cringing while i write this. SORRY!) you-can-have-cheese-as-long-as-it’s-pasturized. REALLY shutting up now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

