Seven Quick Takes

March 19, 2010 at 8:16 am 19 comments

Hooray Friday!

1.
Remember last week when I mentioned that I wasn’t feeling right? Turns out, it’s heartburn. My coworker came into my office the other day to get some Tums (because obviously the preggo has Tums) because she had heartburn. I told her to tell me what it felt like. She said, “It hurts. A lot.” Not acceptable. I said, “No. Tell me EXACTLY how it feels.” So she explained it. She told me where it hurts and how it feels, exactly. So the bad news is that I get heartburn multiple times a day. The good news is that I get heartburn, I’m not dying of heart failure or fire throat.

2.
I’m making dinner for my brother and sister-in-law tomorrow night. What should I make? I was thinking about making the butter chicken that PW posted a couple weeks ago. Has anyone made it? Any other ideas? Sides? Help me out. Nothing that takes too incredibly long or requires a ton of ingredients. I’ll be cooking at their house while trying to stare at my niece.

3.
“You can’t handle my undivided attention.” – Dwight Schrute
“The sales department smashed my sandwich.” – Michael Scott

I love this show.

4.
Incase you didn’t hear the big news, I’m kind of famous now. A little something happened on The Twitter yesterday.

Pioneer Woman tweeted that her book Black Heels and Tractor Wheels is being picked up for a movie. So I tweeted, “Does anyone have the sneaking suspicion that @thepioneerwoman is taking over the world? I’m not complaining, just an observation.”

Good tweet, right? Right. Well then she replied. SHE REPLIED. “Not me, just my bottom.”

So that’s awesome.

5.
One of my blog friends posted this week about her adventures at a laser tag place. Which reminded me of the post I wrote about laser tag. So I sent it to her and reread it. Good times. Click here if you want to read it.

6.
I haven’t had a pedicure since before Christmas.

7.
I joined Swagbucks a couple weeks ago because I kept hearing about it. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a website where you earn points which can then be used to buy things like giftcards. You use their site for searches instead of Google. They post codes on their blog and Twitter so you can get more points. I get points just for using the toolbar. I get points every day for clicking through their “special offers.” In the 2 weeks (?) I’ve been a member, I’ve earned 655 points. Not too bad, my friends. So anyways, if you want to join, do it. If you don’t, don’t. But if you join, join through me so I get some referral points. (Yes, I just went there.) Click here to check it out.  I’m quite addicted.

That’s all I’ve got for you today. Have a great weekend. Mine should be great, minus the 18 hours I’m going to spend on my taxes. Boo hiss.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Television. Tags: , , , .

The Shortest Distance Between 2 Points Is Not A Line Pregnant Pause – With A Few Pictures

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  March 19, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Can you believe Pioneer Woman’s life?! It’s exciting, but wow! I wish I could one day decide to write a blog that one day became uber famous that one day made Sony Pictures approach me to MAKE A MOVIE on my life. Wow. Do I sound a bit jealous? It’s ok. I am. :o)

    I am also jealous that you got to meet her!

  • 2. ThatMarriedCouple  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:30 am

    PW’s butter chicken was good. And congrats on the tweet love from her!

  • 3. Pippy  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Fire throat is a very accurate description. I’ve been ‘told’ that the more heartburn you have, the more hair the baby will have when it’s born.
    I don’t know if it’s true, but it’s nice to imagine lots of pretty blonde hair to put bows in, when it feels like dragons are dueling in my esophagus.

  • 4. Karen  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:41 am

    1. You’re going to have a hairy baby. lol
    2. Can’t help you here.
    3. That was a funny episode.
    4. Congrats on your fame.
    5. Sounds fun
    6. pew
    7. Trying it out.

    Now this weekend, the weather is suppose to be fabulous as opposed to last weekend, it better be. I hope you have a great weekend too.

  • 5. Joy  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Congrats on your bit of fame.

    Several people have already mentioned the possible link between heartburn & babies with full heads of hair: true for me and Elisabeth ~ I had the heartburn and she was born with plenty of hair which she never loss.

    Have a good weekend, we are doing taxes too!

  • 6. linda  |  March 19, 2010 at 10:47 am

    i’m on swagbucks! great idea to pimp it out on your blog. maybe next 7 takes when i’m stuck on my takes, i’ll pimp too🙂

    if you do chicken, i suggest avocado potato mash!
    here’s an easy recipe:
    http://girleatsworld.curious-notions.net/2010/03/avocados-and-potatoes/

  • 7. rachieannie  |  March 19, 2010 at 11:00 am

    When I saw your little interchange pop up on my Chromed Bird my mouth dropped and I had to do a double take. I felt honored to “know” you🙂

  • 8. Erin  |  March 19, 2010 at 11:13 am

    The chicken would be good…but I’m LOVING all the pizza she’s been making lately, too.

  • 9. Courtney  |  March 19, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Ha! I saw the reply from PDub on twitter yesterday. I’m SO jealous!

  • 10. calamityshana  |  March 19, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Yup, saw that p-dub wrote you back also, you are totally so cool. So. Cool.

  • 11. Nora  |  March 19, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    My last pedicure was before thanksgiving. I think I need one stat.

    That’s awesome that PW tweeted you back. And double awesome (if that’s an acceptable turn of phrase) that she is getting her own movie.

    My best friend who is about a month away from having her baby has awful heartburn. I feel so bad for her! I hope yours doesn’t get much worse..🙂

  • 12. DebbieQ  |  March 19, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I am loving Swagbucks myself.

    And I stand in awe that you got a tweet back from PW.

    And…you never know what you might get when I send you your “having a baby package”. Feet need to be warm in the hospital you know.

  • 13. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 19, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Make PW’s Pasta alla Vodka. Sooooo good, simple, sooooo good, foolproof. And you can leave out the red pepper flakes so as not to ignite your tums craving.

  • 14. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 19, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Oh, here’s the recipe link:
    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/12/friday-night-dinner-pasta-alla-vodka/

    I repeat — Soooooo good!

  • 15. Sara  |  March 19, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Everyone’s right! You’re baby is going to have lots of hair! I just did my very first 7 Quick Takes!

  • 16. Debbie  |  March 20, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    omg…..the infamous throat burn!! ahhh! i had that SO SO bad with jacob! i wrote about it all the time on my blog. i ate tums like tic-tacs…they didn’t do jack! i finally had to get some nexium! if you like to drink milk, that worked pretty well for me (when it was ice, ice cold), too. sort of coated my throat some.

    poor girl, hope that gets better soon! i had to sleep sitting/leaning upright some nights, too. it didn’t act up as much then.

  • 17. mediumcrazy  |  March 21, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Ok I’m just going to pass on this information and you can do with it what you will. When my best friend was pregnant last year, she had HORRIBLE heartburn. Really bad, making eating and sleeping pretty unpleasant. She was taking something for it but it was still a problem. Then she went back in for an appointment, and her doctor told her to DRINK MCDONALD’S MILKSHAKES. Apparently they do not irritate heartburn and maybe even sooth it.

    Just saying.

  • 18. Jill  |  March 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    I want to be cool enough that PW tweets me back. You’re not even “big” on twitter (meaning it isn’t your fav, not that you aren’t big on there b/c hello, obvsly you are if PW tweets you back)!

    In your spare 30 minutes do my taxes?😀

  • 19. fatherhoody  |  March 26, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I can’t believe you’re pushing a pyramid scheme. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

