Seven Quick Takes With Emphasis On The “Quick”

March 26, 2010 at 8:19 am 18 comments

 Hello Friday, it’s been a while. Nice to have you back.

1.
I had very few comments on yesterday’s post but several emails. I know it was not my normal post but I felt like it was my duty to let y’all know. Like I said, I see Lucy once or twice a week, so this is a pretty big part of my life… and not something I would waste my time on if it didn’t work.

Ironically I had a headache yesterday. It could have been from the massive amounts on red onions I put in my salad… or it could be from God as a way of telling me not to give glory to Lucy, but to Him. So in an effort to clear everything up with you, me, and God I will tell you that He is the Ultimate Healer and has relieved my headaches through mercy and the hands of Lucy. (And I say that in an unjoking way because I am a firm believer that God puts people here to do His work.)

2.
I still haven’t painted my toenails. If you know me, you know how much this bothers me. I’m of the opinion that all females should have their toenails painted at all times. I’m reading The Girlfriends Guide to Pregnancy and they say that I should get pedicures because it’ll make me feel better. I think that’s brilliant.

3.
Do you also remember last week when I told you I was going to do my taxes? Well I didn’t. But that’s okay because I have serious plans to do them tonight. It’s in my planner. In ink. (That’s redundant. Everything in my planner is in ink.)

4.
Last weekend Stephen and I went to my brother and sister-in-law’s for our monthly dinner. I made some delicious alfredo, garlic bread, and Olive Garden salad. We let our bellies settle for a bit and then I fried up some funnel cakes. And the Lord said it was good. They taste exactly like the ones at carnivals, only better because you can eat them while they are piping hot and in the privacy of your own home so nobody can judge you for eating the entire thing and getting powdered sugar all over your face.

That’s my sister-in-law. The one who had the precious baby. She’s gorgeous. That’s me in the background. Please note that this is not my kitchen. Oh how I wish it was, but it is not.

5.
I think I peed about 40 times yesterday. Whoever said that the second trimester is the honeymoon period is on crack. Although it may be the honeymoon period if I was just beginning to show like the books say. But I’ve got myself a hefty belly that’s already weighing me down, upsetting my back, and disrupting my sleep. I don’t really want to complain because I think I’ve had it pretty easy, but I just want it documented somewhere that I am uncomfortable.

6.
The city of Houston is covered in a yellow layer of pollen. This means that 90% of the city is congested and sick. This also means that 90% of the city is pissed off.

7.
I’m out. I have absolutely nothing else to tell you. That may be a first.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Everyone Needs A Looocy Pregnant Pause – 15 Weeks

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  March 26, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Haha, the yellow pollen is definitely something I do NOT miss about leaving Houston! I love how you can always tell who parks their car in a garage and who doesn’t based on how powdry yellow their car is. 🙂

  • 2. ThatMarriedCouple  |  March 26, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I really appreciate your first take! And yay for funnel cakes!

  • 3. Tabaitha Kaye  |  March 26, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I have the same opinion about toenails. My mom always told me that if you ever have on any type of shoe that shoes your toes, they should be painted. But actually painting your toes when pregnant, especially several months pregnant is tough. I always made sure to get a really good pedicure close to my due date so that my toes looked pretty in the delivery room. Adam would even paint my toes if I asked him, only because he was afraid I would cry if he said no.

  • 4. Kim  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:09 am

    I totally agree with the painted toenails thing- I even get pedicures in the middle of winter because it gives me hope that spring will eventually get here.

    You tried Pioneer Woman’s funnel cakes! I had a feeling you would after the entry about not getting any at the fair. How’d they turn out?

    And holy moly you are big already. I don’t mean that as an insult, promise. Are you sure you aren’t having twins?

  • 5. Karen  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I can’t wear polish on my finger or toe nails, it feels funny to me, I can actually feel it, like a heavy feeling or something, I know you can feel your finger and toe nails but, I don’t know, too much feeling I guess, I also can’t stand the feeling of my finger nails if they grow long, I can feel them and it irritates me, I don’t know, I am the same with putting stuff in my hair, I feel it, I don’t like it, I would probably go naked if it was not against the law. Thank God for laws, eh. lol

    The pollen has not reached us yet, but I know it is coming, and yes it is very annoying, but not as annoying as what comes next…. love bugs…. ahhhh, they are the most annoying, well I would rather have them than the mosquitoes and gnats, they are coming too, it makes you wonder why we look so forward to the warmer weather, but I don’t care, I want warmth, so bring it on, bring it all on.

    Pssst, I’m up to 114 swagbucks, I can’t wait until I can buy some thing for free.

    Well, I hope you have a great weekend, it is suppose to be good weather, with some rain, but mostly good and I am ready, lets go. C’mon 5:00.

  • 6. mom (nana)  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Amen to #1.
    #2 Do you think Sophie could work on my ingrown toenail that I have had since DECEMBER?????????? It is driving me crazy!!! We could try for pedicures tomorrow morning while the guys are riding bikes? Just saying…..
    #4 I am jealous you got a good funnel cake and all I have is the awful memory of the YUCKY COLD STALE one from the rodeo… I’m not bitter. 🙂
    #6 And I am sooo thankful I don’t have Spring allergies – have Fall ones real bad but not Spring. EVERYONE seems to be struggling this year….
    Everyone have an awesome weekend…

  • 7. Erin  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I LOOOOVE my chiropractor and I’m pretty sure I’d get fewer migraines if I would go in more often, so I’ve scheduled more frequent appointments. I had one yesterday and got the best night’s sleep I’ve had in FOUR months.

    And for me, the 2nd half of the 2nd trimester was honeymoonish. I’ve felt more like myself and thrown up less 🙂 And I felt “cute” pregnant. Now, with only 1 week left before my 3rd tri, I’m starting to feel like a cow. I even caught my husband just STARING at my tummy yesterday. It’s pretty large on my 5’4″ frame.

  • 8. DebbieQ  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:12 am

    You are a brave woman to write in your planner in ink. Always pencil for me. But since I now do only an electronic planner neither one applies.

  • 9. Joy  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:14 am

    So glad you got your funnel cake, even you had to make them yourself.

    Funnily we also will be taxes this weekend because we only managed to find and sort papers last weekend

    Pedicures in pregnancy are wonderful, and my main complaint about early second trimester was that I wasn’t exactly showing so much as I looked as I had put on weight, it took great restraint to not randomly announce my pregnancy to people on the street!

  • 10. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Mmmm…funnel cake.

    I never paint my toenails, but I always wish they were painted. And I’ve never had a pedi. Am I gross?

    I don’t think I had a ‘honeymoon’ phase at any point in my pregnancies. There was always SOMEthing worth complaining about 🙂

  • 11. Linda  |  March 26, 2010 at 11:01 am

    oh my god! I have to find out how to make funnel cake!!!!! coming up with 7 takes is always hard. i um emulated your plug for swagbucks from last week! thanks for the idea 🙂

  • 12. rachieannie  |  March 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

    I also had problems with this week’s quick takes! You would think that since this is the only blogging I do these days it would be easy, but no. Sheesh. I actually had to walk away from it and hope that inspiration strikes soon!

  • 13. Jessica  |  March 26, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Ironically, when I was in Houston was when I didn’t feel sick. I left my car in front of your parent’s house when we were to Galveston and when I came back my windshield was yellow. I’m not really used to that. I cleaned it off while stuck in traffic on 146 on the way home.

  • 14. Jenna  |  March 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    What in the world is a funnel cake? You’ve talked about it twice since I’ve been reading, so it must be good!! Fill me in!

  • 15. Debbie  |  March 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Yummm…still craving a funnel cake here! Glad you finally got to eat yours! 🙂

    How do you like The Girlfriends Guide so far? I zoomed right through the book, I found it to be so helpful and great! 🙂

  • 16. Courtney  |  March 28, 2010 at 12:35 am

    OMG everyone I know has been sick at some point in the last 2 weeks. As soon as it got pretty, everyone got snotty 😦

  • 17. Jill  |  March 28, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I do not have painted toenails either (only sort of), and it is also driving me crazy. I had big plans for a pedicure this weekend, but then signs fell on my foot and nearly broke it and it hurts so bad NO ONE is going to touch my foot for awhile.

    I would happily take that kitchen, as it is quite beautiful.

    Also, just a side note but I read where your mom said she has had an ingrown toenail since December?! WOW. Your mom is a better lady than I. When that happens I get tweezers and perform surgery. Which could explain why I’ve had to have real surgery 3x. I don’t know how she is dealing with that!

  • 18. Stephany  |  March 28, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    I am so, so bad about keeping my toenails painted. I’ve put off painting my toenails for the past 3 weeks. So, right after this comment, I’m going to paint mine! I need to take more pride in my toes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

