Seven Quick Takes – It’s a GOOD Friday

April 2, 2010 at 8:21 am 16 comments

Happy Good Friday y’all! I cannot believe I have to work today. Major bummer! Tonight we’ll be going to church for our annual Good Friday service and then hanging out at home afterwards. I love this weekend!

(Note: The Quick Takes lady isn’t hosting this week.)

1.
Tomorrow I’m making a carrot cake for Easter with my family. I’ve never been a carrot cake fan, mainly because I hadn’t ever had one and the idea of dessert that isn’t chocolate just doesn’t excite me. But I made on last year and it was fantastical. I’ve made it once or twice throughout the year and now I’m back to make it again for Easter. Here is the recipe, you should really give it a go! You will not be disappointed.

2.
Umm, so thank you to everyone for your oh-so-serious advice and consolation on yesterday’s post. Apparently it’s been a long time since I’ve written a heavily sarcastic post and nobody really seemed to get it. I’m not concerned about Rookie. She’s been around dogs since she was a pup, we just find it hilarious that she’s such a stick in the mud around groups of dogs. We aren’t concerned about our child either. There is nothing wrong with being a nerdy kid (Stephen and I were both nerdy)… it’s just not something we worry about. Of course we hope the kid isn’t a wussy kid who doesn’t like to play with anyone but us, but we’ll cross that awkward bridge when we get there. Our kid is going to be awesome. There isn’t a doubt in my mind!

3.
Does anyone want to play the “How Much Weight Has Chelsea Gained” game? I’m 15 weeks and very visibly showing. I’ll reveal on Monday. (Family, Lauren, and Lyndsey are not allowed to guess.)

4.
Note to pregnant chicks or people who may become pregnant: If you get bloody noses (which you very possibly will) don’t tell your doctor unless they are excessive. I just barely mentioned that I’ve been getting them and she rushed me to a lab for a “CBC and platelet count”… whatever that is. I didn’t even have the chance to say, “NO NO NO. I’m okay!” Ummm, 5 bloody noses in 15 weeks is not an emergency. Really hoping we don’t get a big fat bill in the mail for this test.

5.
Remember John from Fatherhoody? He wrote a post a while ago (<- that’s a link) about his pregnant wife and all of you thought it was a hint that I was pregnant. (I was pregnant, but it wasn’t a hint.) Well his wife has had the baby and he is WORN OUT. He’s looking for a few guest bloggers so I thought I’d put my feelers out. If you’re pregnant, have been pregnant, have a husband who has thoughts about babies (positive or negative), etc. and you’re interested in being a guest writer, get in contact with me.

6.
You know what’s awkward? Getting the giggles during Maundy Thursday service. Oh so awkward.

7.
I dreamt last night that I had my baby. (It was a girl, for those of you who would like to take that information and change your sex guess.) I was in the car with her and she was on my lap and I was feeding her green beans. Let me repeat. My newborn baby was on my lap in the car and I was feeding her green beans. Now OBVIOUSLY I know not to do that, but I’m wondering if the dream means that I have no idea what I’m doing. Stephen and I were thinking about not taking those classes that the hospital offers to teach you about babies. I know how to rock a baby, swaddle a baby, I can figure out how to bathe a baby, etc. I do not know how to breastfeed but from what I hear, the learning doesn’t come until the baby is here anyways. Should we take the class? Is it a waste of time and are they going to tell me dumb things like “babies have weak necks” or will it be beneficial? Should I just read books? How do y’all feel about birthing/breathing classes? We also hadn’t planned on taking that because it just seems to be something that will come natural at the time. Am I an idiot?

I hope you all have a wonderful Easter weekend! I love Easter… for more than just the ham and deviled eggs.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Pregnancy, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

But… What If…? Pregnant Pause – Week 16

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  April 2, 2010 at 8:59 am

    I was a nanny for years and I still found the classes beneficial. They teach you stuff you don’t even think about so it’s worth a few hours of your time. Not lifechanging but still got a few nuggets of info I am glad I have. Breastfeeding class was okay. Breathing/birthing was decent.

    I once had a dream that I gave birth to Jack but the way the hospital worked was that you went up to a counter and picked out a baby (it didn’t have to be the one you birthed). I chose a girl for some reason. Then I kept feeding her and then placing her back in my stomach–that’s how I thought it worked: feed the baby and then become pregnant again until she was hungry. But I kept forgetting to feed her and I couldn’t hear her cry from inside my tummy.

    Interesting…

  • 2. John  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Thanks for the feelers… People this is a good opportunity to help out a tired dad! Please please!!! 🙂

    Getting giggles during Maundy Thursday service is better than Good Friday service.

  • 3. Joy  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:28 am

    #1-Yumm
    #3-4 lbs
    #7-I thinks parenting books are more useful because you can pull them off the shelve when baby gets the hiccups or does something you want to double-check. An infant CPR class is a good idea (less for CPR, more for what to do if baby starts to choke).

    I would recommend you and Stephen reading “Birthing from Within” and once you guys have a sense of how you hope the birth to go, you can then find the right class be it Bradley, Hypno-birthing, or your local hospital class depending on what tricks you want come labor day

  • 4. Taryn E  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:59 am

    #7… i relied on books. like Joy said, you can easily pull the book off the shelf and look it up if you’re unsure. Rob and I didn’t do any kind of classes… however, we did take a tour of the maternity ward of the hospital I gave birth at, and that was VERY helpful! They’ll let you pre-register (to make delivery day easier… no paperwork) and give you all sorts of tips on what to bring to the hospital (and what NOT to bring!!)🙂

  • 5. Karen  |  April 2, 2010 at 11:18 am

    1.Not to crazy about the spicy taste, but I am sure it will be good, I hope everyone enjoys the cake.
    2.Well excuuuse me. lol
    3. 5 lbs
    4.My niece did, not sure if she told the doc.
    5.Congrats John and Molly, Junior is adorable, looks like the cupid doll. lol
    6.Been there, done that during the most awkward of times.
    7.Three peas in a pod, maybe? You, Stephen and baby.
    I don’t know anything about those classes, but I bet they will make some fun memories and pictures of you and Stephen at the classes would be fun to see, I say give them a try.

    I hope that you and your family have a great Easter and enjoy all that great food.

  • 6. Tabaitha Kaye  |  April 2, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I’m going to guess that you have only gained 8lbs. You are tiny to me and what little bump you have is all belly. So I’m guessing it’s a boy. I never had bloody noses when pregnant and I asked my girlfriends who are moms if they did and they had never heard of that. Something to ask the doctor next time around. My luck I’ll get them all the time.

  • 7. Sarah J.  |  April 2, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    My cousin was diagnosed with preeclampsia and was hospitalized and didn’t get to go to the classes and they are just fine. She read the book “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” and has also loved “What to Expect When You’re Expecting:The First Years”- they have been the so helpful!!

    One thing to consider, though, is that some hospitals offer discounts on the medical bills if you go through the classes.

  • 8. Jill  |  April 2, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Obviously I have no clue what to tell you as the only babies I have are of the furry variety. I’m going to guess you have gained 9 lbs, but only because you seem to think you’ve gained a lot. I don’t think you look like you’ve gained weight anywhere except your belly…quite possibly could be a Thanksgiving food baby for those who didn’t know you were pregnant, haha🙂

  • 9. Mom (nana)  |  April 2, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    The Carrot cake is AMAZING!

    I was wondering about all those comments about Rookie – I thought it was just me – glad to know I had you pegged.

    Your momma wasn’t there to snap your leg when you got the giggles. I hope your husband did!

    I know how much you have gained but I won’t spoil it.

    He has Risen! He has Risen indeed!!!! Hallelujah!

  • 10. Kathleen  |  April 3, 2010 at 10:11 am

    A CBC stands for complete blood count and platelets are the component that cause your blood to clot. I’m sure yours is normal. This is the most standard blood test out there, so I’m sure it will be cheap! In fact, your insurance will probably cover it completely.

  • 11. Veronica  |  April 3, 2010 at 11:13 am

    im guessing you’ve gained 10 pounds! btw i love your monday posts with the belly pictures. you’re one of those people that looks awesome pregnant. hopefully i’ll be like that.

  • 12. Nora  |  April 3, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    As usual I can’t help out on the baby front!

    I once got the giggles during the silent prayer portion of the service I was attending. So, so awful.

  • 13. Emily  |  April 5, 2010 at 11:05 am

    My husband and I took the birthing basics class-I got the giggles and he was embarrassed by me:) I couldn’t help it, it was so weird to pretend to be in labor and pretend to breath…made me laugh, but it was helpful and not a waste of time…we also took the caring for the new baby class and this was fun only because it increased our excitement to meet our baby and sort of gets you in the mindset that yes, you are definately going to be parents soon! I would get some books-they are good references once you are home and have questions-if you really want to BF I would read “So that’s what they are for”…or something like that-very funny, very easy to read and very imformative-BUT it is very biased about BFing and not using formula. I tried to BF my first dtr and it was miserable and difficult but the book was very helpful. I used formula for my second dtr and felt so much better emotionally because I wasn’t so stressed. You will figure it all out-you just have to have faith that things will work out. When you are in labor you will figure it out too, you will breath and move and do what you need to do to remain comfortable and sane-it is amazing how your body knows what to do as well! I had an epidural for both girls and things went great and I would do it again in a heartbeat. So that was a my long winded way of saying-take the classes because they are sort of fun and get a good book about BFing. I also had the Mayo Clinic guide for birth to 5 years and this book is very very helpful as well!

  • 14. Lisa  |  April 5, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Mike was reading the books on delivery in the delivery room with the first one, so tell Stephen to pack a bag. Ha ha.

  • 15. Rachel  |  April 6, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I’d recommend the classes… Ours were really helpful.

  • 16. Zburrows  |  April 7, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I would take classes and read. No such thing as too informed

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

