Pregnant Pause – Week 16

April 5, 2010 at 8:41 am 20 comments

It’s pretty scary how quickly time is flying. I’m sure that as I approach September 19, I’ll be ready to get this baby out of me. But for now, I’m wishing time would just stay put for a second.

My allergies are still pretty bad. Saturday night I didn’t get much sleep because I couldn’t breathe if I was horizontal. Last night I used my pregnancy pillow and made myself a little throne that propped me up. It wasn’t great sleep but at least it was SOME sleep. I’m debating the neti pot. I have one but I hate it. I’m already so clogged that I know it’ll just go down my throat and gag me. The least favorite activity for a pregnant woman is gagging. Plus, my sister said she read a study that you are more likely to get infections if you use the neti pot. So I don’t know. Maybe I’ll just whine.

The baby is the size of a turnip now. He/she is about 5 inches and weighs 5 ounces.

I think I felt the baby move for the first time last night!! I felt a little movement in my belly and I freaked out. I pushed on it and bit, paused, and felt it again. So cool. I can’t wait until it’s a regular occurence.

Not many of you had a guess about weight gain. I think that’s mostly because most of you didn’t have work on Friday so you didn’t read blogs. I had gained 5 pounds when I went in for my 11 week exam and I am significantly larger than I was then. I was preparing myself for about 12 pounds and a chat from my doctor about watching what I eat. No sir! I’ve gained a total of 6 pounds!

I didn’t take my regular purple shirt weekly picture this morning. Partially because I forgot until right before we walked out the door… and partially because my purple shirt was in the dirty clothes hamper. I’ll take the photo tonight but since so many of you have said that you look forward to the weekly pictures, I took one of my in my normal clothes.  My hair is a bit frizzy, I appear to be slouching, and I’m not sure why I have such a tight fist. Regardless, here’s my bump.

Helllllo baby! If you missed Friday’s post but have some thoughts or feelings about birthing classes, “how to” baby classes, etc. please weigh in! We’ll be having the baby at a hospital via my doctor. No midwives, no at-home stuff, no natural stuff (bring on the drugs), no water baths or relaxing music. Just me, Stephen, doctors and nurses of all sorts, and screaming violently. In a clean, sterile hospital room. I tell you this so that can give me an accurate answer. Obviously if I was doing a home birth or natural birth, I’d be reading up on that stuff and sitting through lectures. But I’m not, so I’m not sure if a class would even be helpful.

That’s all folks! Hope you all had a fantastic Easter weekend! HE IS RISEN!

(ToT questions will be posted shortly. Check the button on the right sidebar.)

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes – It’s a GOOD Friday Ten on Tuesday (25)

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  April 5, 2010 at 9:19 am

    gorgeous! i love the bump pics!! only 6 lbs? you’re doing great! as far as classes go, I had signed up to go to them since they were free at our hospital and decided why not?! but, the day before they were going to start up, I got put on bedrest. I’ve heard some of them are pretty good…specifically the breastfeeding one if that’s something you’re interested in. but, if you already know most of the stuff…I’m sure you would be just fine not going to them! 🙂

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  April 5, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I missed your post. Sorry. I don’t see an older post button on your blog so I have to go back to my reader to find it or delete the date part on the address bar to get there.

  • 3. Lauren From Texas  |  April 5, 2010 at 10:24 am

    You make such a gorgeous preggo! I need to see you ASAP.

  • 4. nana (Moma)  |  April 5, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Mom doesn’t want to tell you what to do…..BUT if it were ME, I would take classes if they are offered. What can it hurt? It is nice to know some things going into parenthood (even though it won’t really prepare you totally.) Breast feeding is a major deal – since you want to do it and it is easy for some and hard for others, go for it. Also, regardless of what you have heard and who you have talked to, the breathing methods I learned in Lamaze DID HELP!

  • 5. Cousin Kim  |  April 5, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Wellll…Dan and I fully intended to take the classes…but Sophie came a bit early – and we missed our class that was a month before Sophie’s birth. We were fine. Of course we had my mom (you will, too), a C-section,…and tons of advice from books, internet, etc. It’s not rocket science. You won’t believe how natural it all will be for you. However – I agree with your mom – if the classes are free, AND you actually have the free time – it might not be a bad idea. Like I said I WOULD have done it….Oh annnnd it IS extremely important to learn how to get the baby to correctly latch on the boob. Otherwise – your gonna be hurting…and you don’t want that! My hospital showed that on little videos thru the TV in my birthing room. Maybe yours will too?
    I guess what I am saying is…EITHER WAY you’ll be FINE FINE FINE.
    I am soooo excited you felt movement! It’s soooo much fun! How would you describe the feeling?

  • 6. Katy  |  April 5, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Hey Chelsea, I don’t know if you remember me, but I was in your Stone bible study for about a year (I came with my roommates, Latane and Shelby). Anyway, I read your blog, and I just want to say you are the cutest pregnant lady ever! Hope everything is going well!

  • 7. smile steady  |  April 5, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    You look great! And I’m sorry, I have no baby experience. But a friend of mine and her husband skipped the breast feeding class and later regretted it. If she read your blog, she would recommend that you go! Hope that’s of some help.

  • 8. Darla  |  April 5, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I loved having my babies … in the hospital, with drugs (one was too quick though … OUCH!) with lots of medical personnel nearby. I also took the birthing and breastfeeding classes. Bill became very worried however … when I yelled IN THE CLASS when they showed the video of the lady getting her epidural. He knew the real deal was gonna be bad … but I did ok and am SO thankful for epidurals!!!

  • 9. Autumn  |  April 5, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    You and your turnip look beautiful!
    And AMEN to clean sterile hospitals, screaming, nurses, and drugs! I am glad to see some folks out there still go about things this way! 🙂
    The breastfeeding class is probably a wise choice. We went to the labor/delivery classes, but the teacher failed to stress one important thing… not everyone’s epidural works!

  • 10. Emmie (aka mother-in-law)  |  April 5, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    You look gorgeous! I gained everywhere! You just have the tummy. It might be beneficial to take the classes. In addition to learning a thing or two, I met one of my best friends in the Lamaze class that John and I took when I was pregnant with Stephen.

    Easter with the Rosenhagen’s was tons of fun! Thanks again!

  • 11. Stephany  |  April 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    You have a gorgeous bump, lady! I love it!

    One of the things I’m not looking forward whenever in the far, far future I get pregnant is not being able to use drugs when I get sick! I have a pretty terrible immune system and drug myself up whenever I get so much as a sneeze…and I’m a huge baby when it comes to pain and prolonging it…I need my drugs!😉

  • 12. Lisa  |  April 5, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    It has been almost too many years to remember and things have changed alot, but I do remember how frustrated I was about breastfeeding because every nurse told me something different and it wasn’t until I got home and relaxed with that baby that it worked out for both of us. We went to birthing classes and it was a special time. I agree-you are so cute pregnant! Love you bunches!

  • 13. Jill  |  April 5, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Six pounds, you go girl!! You look great pregnant and I’m not just saying that. Your fist in that pic sorta looks like a “hurry up or I’m gonna punch you” first! hehe🙂

  • 14. Erin B.  |  April 5, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Obviously, I don’t have my own experience to share…and it wouldn’t help since we’re doing things exactly the opposite of each other🙂

    My cousin wishes she had realized that drugs do not equal a pain-free delivery…as in, you may need a few techniques for dealing with contractions until you can get your epidural. My friend’s epi wore off & she was too far into labor to get another one, so she wishes she had been a little more knowledgeable about natural birth, because her doctor was of no help by the time the baby was on her way out. I’m not trying to scare you, just to encourage you to be prepared for the unexpected! Even though I’m using a midwife at a birthing center, I’m also trying to prepare for the possibilty of ending up unexpectedly at the hospital…not my first choice, but I’ll totally do it if it’s medically necessary!

  • 15. Tabaitha Kaye  |  April 5, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Girl, you look so good! We took the birthing classes offered at the hospital. I had an epidural both times and didn’t feel anything. I didn’t have really long labors, and had to have poticin administered the first time because I was induced and the second time because I needed a little umph to push me along. For me, the scariest part was getting the IV and the epidural. I don’t like needles but I will do it again and again, because it made it that much more enjoyable for me.

  • 16. brandy0408  |  April 6, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Congratulations on your pregnancy. You still look pretty even though your bumps is getting bigger.

  • 17. abby  |  April 6, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I love your cute little bump! And how cool to feel the baby move for the first time. I can’t wait!!! See, I get to watch you go through all this stuff a few weeks before I get to, so I get a preview! Although right now I’m 9 weeks and I swear I’m already showing. That worries me a lot about the whole weight gain thing. oh well! I’d rather be fat than not be prego:) right?

  • 18. rachieannie  |  April 7, 2010 at 12:06 am

    You are SO gorgeous! Love this picture (clenched fist and all ;-))

  • 19. Zburrows  |  April 7, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Your hair isnt frizzy! You look like a beautiful basketball thief

  • 20. Mama Fuss  |  April 7, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Here is my advice on labor and delivery for the first time (it served me well). Take a class, probably the one your hospital provides (they usually do some sort) and then have NO expectations. I went into L&D knowing that I knew nothing. I had no idea what it would feel like, what I would want as far as comfort, etc. I planned to go with the flow. I have to tell you that from the minute I heard about the concept of epidurals (around age 16, maybe?) I had always said “as SOON as they let me have one, I’m there!” because I tend to have a weak vagal nerve and pass out with intense abdominal pain. BUT I did way “better” during the process than I expected to, and was able to hold off a lot longer (I’d heard that it can slow down the labor process and I wanted that kid OUT).

    If you have no real expectations and a supportive husband, you can manage so much better than if you plan everything out and it all goes to Heck in a Handbasket… (like a friend of mine who had a “all natural” plan and ended up with an emergency C-section and is still complaining to anyone who will listen 2 years later…)

    You look great and seriously, this is the time when you’re supposed to be showing. And since you’re skinny to begin with, you should expect to put on more weight throughout your pregnancy than the “perfect averages” that the books mention. Trust me, your dr will tell you if you have a problem.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

