Pregnant Pause – Week 17

April 12, 2010 at 9:06 am 14 comments

Holy moly, 17 weeks! If any of you have any special ways to slow down time, please send me the “how-to” on that. Okay, thanks.

This weekend we went to south Texas for little Sophie’s 1st birthday party. There were several babies at the party, plus Sophie and Avery. I thought it might encourage my little one to kick around a bit but I guess the Hurstling wasn’t interested in meeting any friends. I was told by a couple people that I “definitely look more pregnant than the pictures on my blog.” So take that for what it’s worth.

When I got home on Sunday and went to pick up Rookie from my parents’ house, my sister greeted me by saying, “Well hello baby bump!” I swear this thing grows by the second.

This morning I woke up with a sore spot on my abs. It’s on my left side, right below my underwire. It hurts to touch it. I’m assuming its from a weird movement in my sleep that caused my already-stretched-to-their-limits abs, to stretch to even more uncomfortable limits. Has anyone ever experienced that? I haven’t looked it up in The Book yet. It’s not terribly uncomfortable, I only notice it when I touch it. And it’s not in a spot that would make me concerned about my uterus or my baby.

I’ve attached this week’s picture, I apologize for the yellowness. We will retake it tonight so it looks normal. Also, sorry about my eyes. Since we take these photos in the morning, my eyes aren’t completely open.

Hellllo belly. According to The Bump, the baby is the size of an onion now. The skeleton is hardening and the fat is building up. Which is great because not only do we like solid bones, but we also realllly like baby fat! My niece has the most precious baby fat in the world. She has arm rolls, leg rolls, wrist rolls, neck rolls. Everyone likes to grab her and squeeze her. I got to sit by her in the car on the way to the party this weekend. Before she fell asleep, we played the smiling game. It goes a little something like this: Avery looks at me, I make a face, she smiles and looks away, repeat. It is the most fun game I have EVER played. I caught a bit in a picture… just for you!

Today will be one of those days that I revisit my blog over and over just to get a glimpse of those dimples and plump fingers. Oh how I love her!!

And it also cannot go without saying that today is my mother-in-law’s 50th birthday!!!! So everyone give her a huge happy birthday!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAUREEN!

(ToT questions are posted!)

Entry filed under: Family, Pregnancy. Tags: , , .

Seven Quick Takes – Friday Snuck Up On Me Ten on Tuesday (26)

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  April 12, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Happy Birthday Maureen!

    Just looking at that picture makes me want to squeeze your niece.
    That dimple in her cheek…oh.my.goodness.

    Time. It won’t slow down. In fact it just speeds up the older you get. Enjoy every single minute of it now. I know you do.

  • 2. osarah  |  April 12, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Happy Birthday, Maureen!

    And you’re right, Avery is super cute.

    Also, wow on the baby bump! I haven’t looked back at last week’s picture yet, but I know there’s very definitely a difference. 🙂

  • 3. mom (nana)  |  April 12, 2010 at 9:52 am

    oohhhhh so dang cute! I just want to snuggle and kiss her all over that cutie patootie face!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAUREEN – WELCOME TO THE 50’s!

  • 4. smile steady  |  April 12, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Oh my word, Avery is a doll! These baby pictures are killing me!!

  • 5. Nora  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Happy birthday to your mother in law!

    That baby photo is so stinkin’ cute! Love the smile and dimples; deifnitely a Monday day brightener. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  • 6. Taryn E  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Happy bday Maureen!

    Lovin those fat little baby cheeks!!!!!

    You’ll start to notice lots of little weird aches and pains as you get a bigger baby belly…. just wait til your pelvis and hips feel like they’re about to come out of joint! All of the ligaments start to stretch and become loose (to facilitate birth), so things start to feel a little funny. Apparently even the ligaments in your feet loosen up too, which is why a lot of pregnant women complain their feet are bigger!

  • 7. Veronica  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    oh my goodness, Avery is soooo cute. and so is that baby bump!

  • 8. Laura Rosenhagen  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I think I will have to visit the blog to see Avery’s face over and over because it’s better than working and I miss her so stinking much!!!!

    Happy Birthday Maureen!!! Hope you have FUN celebrating!!

  • 9. glenna  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    ok Avery is to cute…and you look wonderfull. Just think in a few months you will have one just as cute. waiting to here what you are having,,,see ya later glenna

    Happy Birthday Maureen 50 is a great age to be….

  • 10. The old lady MIL!  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Thank you all for the birthday wishes and to Chelsea for the birthday plug! That Avery is so dang CUTE! Those dimples are to die for! I cannot wait for my little grandbaby to be here!!!

  • 11. Rachel  |  April 12, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    So I can’t decide if Avery looks like Justin or Laura there. I looked at it at first and thought she looked like Justin, then changed my mind. Either way, SO cute.

  • 12. Autumn  |  April 12, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Oh my word… that baby is killin me with cuteness!

  • 13. Joy  |  April 12, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Time speeding along: I know, I can’t believe I’m two weeks (and you are three) from the halfway point. BTW I really like the “pregnant pause’ title, do you mind if I use it too ~ I will of course give you credit as the original author.

    Avery is soo cute!!

    Happy Birthday Maureen!!

  • 14. Kyla Roma  |  April 14, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Happy birthday Maureen! =)

    You are so adorable with your belly and all these babies in your life, and I hope your sore spot heals up quickly!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

