Seven Quick Takes – Maybe She’ll Actually Write Something

April 16, 2010 at 8:00 am 24 comments

I currently have nothing to say which is shocking because I’ve pretty much said nothing all week. You’d think I’d be bubbling with super entertaining information. You’d think wrong. But let’s give this a shot. (Click the logo if you want to read more or participate.)

1.
Last weekend there was a man at Sophie’s birthday party. He was in his 90’s. He had an iPhone and is on Facebook. How does that make you feel? It honestly made my jaw drop and hide my non-iPhone. (PS- I don’t mean this in a “he’s creepy” way. I mean it in a “does that make you feel like an idiot??” way. He’s a wonderful man and I’m beyond shocked that a man in his 90’s can work an iPhone. I cannot.)

2.
I am awful at gardening. AWFUL. 90% of my vegetable garden is weeds… and not the sort of weed that you can sell for profit. Only a few of my plants have sprouted and I’m not sure what to do about that. How do you go about starting plants in paper towels like we did in elementary school? Is that real?

3.
Want to know what makes me feel FREAKING OLD? We registered our unborn child for day care this week. And I’ve decided I’m going to call it “school.” When I come home I will ask the Hurstling, “How was school today? What did you learn?” I will do this even when the baby is 3 months old and will only blow bubbles and fart in response.

4.
Wednesday night I had my first extremely comfortable night with my pregnancy pillow. I’m getting the hang of it finally. Stephen has a little whine-fest about how much space it takes up. He actually said the sentence, “Sit up for a second and get a bird’s eye view of how little space I have.” I told him to shut his face and that there are two people sleeping on my side and only one on his. For the record, we have a king size bed and he has plenty of space. And even if he didn’t, that’s not my problem. Until September 19, my comfort is the most important thing in our household. The end. 

5.
We are trying to rework our budget to make room for the Hurstling and all things Hurstling related. It’s really depressing. Last night we decided that we were going to cancel cable. I cried. Then I realized that since I was crying over something as ridiculous as cable, it was probably a good idea to get rid of it. So now we are just trying to figure out the cheapest internet provider. It’s looking like Clear is the way to go. (They are the people who provide internet for DirectTV.) If you have any advice on the subject, let me hear it!

6.
We got a call about a week or so ago that someone got ahold of our credit card. It was actually the debit card for a bank account that we don’t use much. I opened the account a couple years ago to keep track of the money my aunt was giving me to make my cousin’s scrapbooks. I finished the books and we kept the account open. Stephen uses it around Christmas and my birthday to buy me presents without me knowing. Anyways, someone tried to buy all sorts of stuff with my debit card number. We found out yesterday that there was someone drafting $15 out of it every month as well. Sheesh people! It’s being taken care of with very little drama, so that’s good.

7.
So it appears that I did have a lot to tell you. Hopefully next week will actually bring some quality post. And if not, I’ll just post some pictures of Avery and my baby bump and tell you to be nice to me.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Crickets Pregnant Pause – Week 18

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:39 am

    My uncle is 62 and he has an iphone. He doesn’t have a facebook though, so that at least makes me feel normal. He and my dad text each other and that’s pretty amusing. Also, you won’t like my post today it is very Aggie related. Fair warning. Happy Friday, Chelsea!

  • 2. Jenna  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:11 am

    #2 – I can’t make veggies grow. I’m going to try again this year, but can’t plant until at least May Long… too cold!

    #3 – You have to register for daycare now? That’s just crazy!

    #4 – Some nights, my husband will get up and sleep else where, due to me, the twins & the big pillow. But I think like you do, until these babies come out, my comfort is most important. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!!! 🙂

  • 3. Karen  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:12 am

    1.I want to take a baseball bat and bust him upside the head, no wait a minute, that’s my neighbor.
    It could be creepy, could be innocent, it is funny, my dad never got into technology so it is always funny to me when older people are in to it. My dad still had a rotary dial phone until about 5 years ago, my niece came over once and brought a friend with her, they were about 6 or 7 years old and the friend went inside to call her Mom and then she came back out on the porch and said, “can some one tell me how to use this phone” I laugh every time I think about it.

    3. Morse code, pop, pop, ffffttttt, pop, pop. LOL

    4. And so it begins. LOL

    5. I ditched my DirecTV about 4 years ago, mainly because the trees behind my property will not allow me to get a signal, but with the converter box, I received more channels other than the normal local channels and I can honestly say I don’t miss it, and I also like having that money that was spent for satellite in my pocket, besides it is mostly reruns on there any way. You will be ok. Not sure about the internet stuff.

    6. Some people, tsk, tsk, tsk.

    I hope you have a great weekend.

  • 4. kelly  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:26 am

    people i work with call daycare school too. maybe my company would give longer than 6 weeks maternity leave if they realized what we’re forced to do to make us feel ok with it!

  • 5. Debbie  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:33 am

    In reference to #s 5 and 6 check out my latest post! We recently switched cable and internet…drama! Recently got our credit card hacked….blahhhh! What a week!

    I just (after 2 years) got a new phone. It STILL does nothing but call, text and take pictures. No web. No facebook. Nothing. I’m perfectly fine with that. That’s what computers are for. At least for the next few months until I break down and buy a data package. 🙂

  • 6. smile steady  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:34 am

    We canceled our cable several months ago and have been using netflix to cover whatever our digital converter box can’t get us. Streaming netflix lets you watch pretty much anything whenever you want, and it’s only $10 a month!

  • 7. Taryn E  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:42 am

    dang, daycare already? there wasn’t a wait list at either place we took him to… PK-3 and 4 will be a different story!

  • 8. Taryn E  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Oh, and if you have a Wii that’s hooked up to the internet, you can stream netflix thru that.

  • 9. Faith  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I don’t know how to start seeds on paper towels, but I did a bunch of mine in little solo cups. Not the big colored ones, but the smaller clear ones. Worked like a charm and gave them plenty of room to grow before I transplanted them.

  • 10. Sister  |  April 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

    It’s ok not to have cable! Your baby will grow up just like we did…cable-less

  • 11. Kara  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:09 am

    #4 made me laugh pretty hard! Not pregnant I take up enough room on the bed for two people. Pregnancy will surely be a battle in bed!

  • 12. Darla  |  April 16, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Hi Chels! Your bump is cute! Getting rid of cable is probably good … I’d watch it at 3 in the morning when I was nursing and I really don’t want to even comment on the things I bought from infomercials they show at those times. Bill couldn’t believe what he’d find when he came home so finally I stopped. I should have just cancelled cable.

  • 13. Angela  |  April 16, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    My Stephen and I have been trying to figure out ways to save money lately, so the first thing we decided to do was cut cable. I’m kind of sad about it, but we had to give them 30 days notice, so I still have 2 weeks to get used to the idea.
    We also heard of a deal that Telus (an internet provider) was having: First time customers would get a free laptop. On top of that, the first few months, our bill would be half price. Of course we jumped on that! We’re now the proud owners of a free laptop!

  • 14. Julia  |  April 16, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I’m ashamed to say that it’s been a long time since I’ve been to your blog so since I”m here I’m happy to find out you are expecting. Congratulations!!!

  • 15. Nora  |  April 16, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    within the last month alone my parents had their credit card # compromised AND my office found out there are fradulent checks with our account info on them. WTF, people!? I get times are tough, but wow. Glad it all worked out okay for you!

  • 16. exgf2009  |  April 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Your comfort during your pregnancy should be the #1 thing…period the end 🙂 agreed!

    I too am the worst gardener… I literally just hired someone to mow my yard…the weeds, umm i mean grass, (seriously all weeds) were 4 ft. tall… my dog, Deuce got lost them in… no lie.

    I totally understand…

    Happy weekend!!

  • 17. Rachel  |  April 16, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    We call daycare school too. Caden loves it and it makes him feel special since Mommy goes to school too. He has MaMoo Days, Mommy Days, and School Days. 🙂

  • 18. Stephany  |  April 16, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    I went for a year without cable, just recently! After a while, you just get used to planning your day around TV for shows you REALLY want to watch and for the others, there’s always Netflix! Plus, it makes you cut down on TV watching a LOT!

  • 19. mom (nana)  |  April 16, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    #2 – you HAVE to water!!! I know, I know, it is a pain, but still, you have to….sorry! And you have to pull those weeds out or they will over take the garden. Bummer – now you know why most people buy their veggies in the grocery store or farmer’s market! 🙂

  • 20. Mama Fuss  |  April 16, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    We did the no cable thing when I was pregnant w/ Fuss. But it ended up that since we were still using their internet and it’s all piped through the same, we still have basic cable along with our internet. (though we didn’t discover this for a couple of months, so we were watching way less TV) We also got really into Blockbuster.com and watching shows on DVD during that time. And the library. It really was kinda great. (You can watch most of your favorite shows via the internet anyway with about a week’s delay) We keep talking about doing it again, but with a 2-year-old I feel that access to Sesame Street is kind of required for sanity purposes. 🙂

  • 21. osarah  |  April 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Have you tried starting the seeds inside? That’s what we’re doing. You get these trays with peat “pods” in them and plant a few seeds in each. After the sprout (yada yada yada), you remove all but the strongest one in each pod, let them grow some more and then transplant them. That’s the quick version. There’s more to it than that, but you might want to look into trying that. It’s much easier than it sounds, too.

    I laughed out loud at Stephen’s bed comment. Sorry, Stephen, I’m siding with Chelsea.

  • 22. Emmie  |  April 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    I laughed out loud at # 4 too! Stephen, really? come on son, this is your wife who is carrying your child! And your reader who said her 62 year old uncle has an iphone and thought that was pretty amazing, must be super young! John is 63, and is more electronically inclined than most people I know! He also has a blackberry, netbook, desktop, and a facebook account! Now that I am 50, those ages are looking younger and younger!

  • 23. financial information  |  May 21, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Hi there, I wish for to subscribe for this weblog to get most up-to-date updates, so where can i do it please help out.

  • 24. free money budget  |  July 11, 2013 at 1:49 am

    Heya this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or
    if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

